فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / السودان / الثقافة في السودان / الإسلام والدولة والهوية

الإسلام والدولة والهوية

South Sudan separation السودان - الإسلام والدولة والهوية
سكان جنوب السودان يحتفلون بالانفصال الذي طال انتظاره عن السودان في جوبا في 8 يوليو 2011. Photo riccdina/Flickr.

يعتبر الإسلام دين الغالبية العظمى من السودانيين، ولطالما كان جزءاً أساسياً من السياسة السودانية منذ عهد المهدية. فالهيمنة العددية لا تعني توافق الآراء بشأن دور الإسلام في السياسة والسُلطة. هناك اختلافات بين الأحزاب التي تتبنى المواقف الإسلامية.

قبل صعود الإسلام السياسي في منتصف السبعينات من القرن الماضي ، سعت الحكومة العسكرية التي قادها الجنرال عبود في أوائل الستينات من القرن الماضي لتعريب وأسلمة جنوب السودان ، باعتبار أن في هذا وسيلة لخلق هوية وطنية وتقييد لحركة التمرد.

muslims السودان - الإسلام والدولة والهوية
مسلمون يُصلون في شهر رمضان في أحد المساجد في قرية أم ضواً بان، خارج العاصمة الخرطوم. Photo Mohamed Nureldin Abdallah/REUTERS

ظهور الحركة الشعبية لتحرير السودان (ح.ش.ت.س) وهي الحزب الذي تأسس في البداية في عام 1983 باعتباره الجناح السياسي للجيش الشعبي لتحرير السودان (ج.ش.ت.س) في المناطق غير الإسلامية وفي الغالب في جنوب السودان ، وكذلك إعلان تطبيق الشريعة الإسلامية في نفس السنة ، أديا إلى جلب قضية الهوية إلى الواجهة السياسية. ومنذ ذلك الحين برز الارتباط بين الحكومة في الخرطوم وبين الإسلام والنسب العربي والثقافة العربية ، في مقابل الجيش الشعبي ، الذي ارتبط مع الافريقية والمعتقدات المحلية والثقافة الأفريقية ، والمسيحية إلى حد ما في نظر النخب الجنوبية. وقد بدأت العديد من المجموعات العرقية غير العربية في شمال السودان ، ولاسيما في جبال النوبة ، وجبال الأنقسنا ودارفور في الغرب والبجا في الشرق في إدراك أن الحدود الاقتصادية – الاجتماعية والتنموية لا تكاد تتميز عن الحدود العرقية والثقافية ، حيث يهيمن المسلمون الناطقون باللغة العربية في وسط وشمال السودان على المجالين على حد سواء. وقد أدى هذا الإدراك إلى إشعال أزمة الهوية الوطنية.

وقد فصل الكتاب الأسود الشهير ، والذي يعتقد أنه نشر في عام 2002 من قبل حركة العدل والمساواة ، وهي جماعة متمردة في دارفور ، مدى اختلال توازن القوى وتوزيع الثروة في السودان ، وكيف أن الشمال قليل السكان يهيمن على الجنوب سياسيا واقتصاديا ، بما في ذلك التجنيد في السياسة والخدمة المدنية والجيش.

وساهمت أزمة الهوية في تصعيد التوترات العرقية والصراعات المسلحة على الأطراف المهمشة من البلاد ، مما أدى إلى انفصال الجنوب في عام 2011 وإلى الحرب الأهلية المستمرة في دارفور وجبال النوبة وجبال الأنقسنا في محافظة جنوب النيل الأزرق.

وقد بدأ كثير من المثقفين، وحتى من بين النخبة الشمالية المهيمنة بالتساؤل حول مسألة الهوية الوطنية و الأصالة والجوانب العملية للإصرار على أن يكون السودان دولة عربية ويفرض الهوية العربية الإسلامية على الشعب السوداني.

الإضافة إلى تأثير ويلات الحرب الأهلية ، بدأت العديد من النخب الشمالية إعادة النظر في أمر عروبتهم بعد ان واجه مئات الآلاف من المغتربين السودانيين في المملكة العربية السعودية ودول الخليج التمييز ، حيث تم رفض اعتبارهم عرباً بسبب بشرتهم الداكنة ، على الرغم من كونهم مسلمين أتقياء ويتحدثون العربية جيدا.

هكذا صارت قضية الهوية الوطنية في السودان جزءا راسخاً من النقاش حول السياسة والحرب والسلام والوحدة والتفكك. وقد بدأت الحكومة الإسلامية في الخرطوم في قبول هذا الأمر وجعله جزءا من الأجندة .السياسية

إن الاعتراف بالتنوع الثقافي والعرقي في البلاد والاعتراف باللغات والثقافات والجماعات العرقية الأخرى واحترامها سيكون عاملاً رئيسياً في تحقيق سلام دائم وضمانة وحيدة أن لا تستغل جماعة عرقية أو ثقافية منفردة الدين واللغة كي تعطي ميزة لوضعها الاجتماعي والاقتصادي.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sudan / Culture of Sudan / Islam, State and Identity

Islam, State and Identity

Sudan Islam State Identity
South Sudanese celebrating their long awaited separation from Sudan in Juba on 8 July 2011. Photo riccdina/Flickr

Islam is the religion of the vast majority of Sudanese, and has been a key part of Sudanese politics since the Mahdia era. Numerical dominance does not, however, mean that there is a consensus regarding the role of Islam in politics and power. There are differences between parties that adopt Islamic positions.

Sudan Islam State Identity muslims
Muslims pray during Ramadan at a mosque in Umdowan Ban village, outside the capital Khartoum. Photo Mohamed Nureldin Abdallah/REUTERS ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ REUTERS/Mohamed Nureldin Abdallah

Before the rise of political Islam in the mid-1970s, the military government of General Aboud sought to Arabize and Islamize southern Sudan in the early 1960s, as a way of creating a national identity and restricting the rebel movement.

The emergence of the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM), a party initially founded in 1983 as the political wing of the Sudan People’s Liberation Army (SPLA) in mostly non-Islamic South Sudan, and the proclamation of sharia law in the same year, brought identity to the political forefront. The government in Khartoum has since been associated with Islam and Arab descent and culture, in contrast with the SPLA, which is associated with Africanism, indigenous beliefs, African culture and, to some extent, Christianity, in the eyes of the southern elites. Many non-Arab ethnic groups in northern Sudan, particularly in the Nuba Mountains, the Ingessana Hills, Darfur in the west and Beja in the east, began to realise that the boundaries of socio-economics and development were indistinguishable from ethnic and cultural boundaries, with the Arabic-speaking Muslims of central and northern Sudan dominating both. This realisation triggered a national identity crisis.

The famous Black Book, believed to have been published in 2002 by the JEM, a Darfur rebel group, detailed the extent of the imbalance of power and the distribution of wealth in Sudan, and how the less populated north dominated the south politically and economically, including in recruitment into politics, the civil services and the army.

The identity crisis contributed to a flare-up in ethnic tensions and armed conflicts at the marginalised edges of the country, leading to the secession of the South in 2011 and the continued civil war in Darfur, the Nuba Mountains and the Ingessana Hills in the southern Blue Nile province.

Many intellectuals, even among the dominant northern elite, began to question the issue of national identity and the authenticity and practicalities of insisting on being an Arab country and forcing an Arab Islamic identity on the Sudanese people.

In addition to the horrors of civil war, many northern elites began to reconsider their Arab-ness after hundreds of thousands of Sudanese expats in Saudi Arabia and the Gulf states were confronted with discrimination, being rejected as Arabs because of their dark skin, despite being devout Muslims and speaking Arabic well.

The issue of national identity in Sudan has become an entrenched part of the debate around politics, war and peace, unity and disintegration. The Islamic government in Khartoum has begun to accept this and to make it a part of its political agenda.

Acknowledging the cultural and ethnic diversity of the country and recognizing and respecting other languages, cultures and ethnic groups will be a key factor in achieving lasting peace, and the only guarantee that no single ethnic or cultural group exploits religion and language to their socio-economic advantage.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ REUTERS/Mohamed Nureldin Abdallah

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.