فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / السودان / الاقتصاد في السودان / الذهب في السودان: نعمة أم نقمة؟

الذهب في السودان: نعمة أم نقمة؟

Sudan- Gold sudan
سودانيون ينقبون عن الذهب في قرية العبيدية في شمال السودان. Photo AFP

تزايد انتاج الذهب في السودان خلال عقد واحد من الزمان بأكثر من 1200%، ليقفز حسب تقرير لإدارة المسح الجيولوجي الأمريكي من 7 أطنان عام 2008 إلي أكثر 90 طناً عام 2017. وأكد وزير المعادن السوداني أن انتاج الذهب في النصف الأول من عام 2018 قد تجاوز63 طناً وأن الدولة تعول عليه كثيراً في الخروج من الأزمة الاقتصادية الراهنة. وأشار إلى أن قطاع التعدين ساهم العام الحالي بنسبة 6% في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بمعدل نمو 14%.

تحول التعدين لأهم قطاع في الاقتصاد، حيث بلغت قيمة صادرات الذهب عبر البنك المركزي السوداني العام الماضي 1,87 مليار دولار وهي تشكل حوالى 57% من اجمالي صادرات البلاد لعام 2017 إضافة لمبالغ ضخمة أخرى تدخل الاقتصاد دون المرور على البنك المركزي. ويحتل السودان المرتبة الثانية افريقياً والتاسعة عالمياً في قائمة منتجي الذهب.

تحديات ومخاطر

بالرغم من التحديات والمخاطر الأمنية والبيئية والسياسية والاقتصادية المرتبطة بصناعة واقتصاد التعدين، وفر التنقيب عن الذهب، الذي بدأ بشكلٍ واسع قبل حوالى عقدٍ من الزمان، فرص عمل دائمة ومؤقتة لحوالي 1,5 مليون شاب سوداني في المئات من مواقع التعدين في كل مناطق السودان التي لا يعرف احد عددها بدقة لتنقل الشركات والمعدنين الافراد من موقع لآخر.

ينشط في التنقيب عن الذهب في السودان اكثر من 400 شركة وطنية واجنبية، أقدمها شركة أرياب للتعدين، التي أسستها شركة فرنسية كندية في مرتفعات البحر الاحمر شرق السودان عام 1991 ثم انتقلت ملكيتها لحكومة السودان. ومع ذلك، تنتج هذه الشركات 20% فقط من كمية الذهب سنوياً فيما ينتج المعدنون التقليديون 80%.

يستعين العاملون في التعدين الأهلي التقليدي بأجهزة بسيطة ورخيصة للكشف عن المعادن تستورد اغلبها من الصين، وحين يشير الجهاز اليدوي الذي يعمل بالبطاريات لاحتمال وجود معادن في الصحاري والوديان التي يجوبونها، يحفرون الموقع ويجمعون الصخور وينقلونها لمطاحن أقيمت قرب مواقع التعدين لطحن الحجارة ومعالجتها بالزئبق والسينايد لاستخلاص الذهب، ومن ثم يبيعونها لوسطاء في مواقع الإنتاج أو في المدن.

مزيد من الذهب، مزيد من التضخم والتهريب

تصاعد انتاج الذهب حوالي عام 2010، وخفف لحدٍ معقول من عواقب صدمة انفصال جنوب السودان عام 2011 وخسارة السودان لـ70% من انتاجه النفطي. ومع ذلك، كان تأثيره على مجمل الاقتصاد معقداً ومربكاً لأسباب كثيرة منها تضارب السياسات الحكومية وتعدد الأطراف ذات المصلحة. ولتعويض النقص الحاد في العملات الأجنبية، دخل بنك السودان المركزي إلى السوق المحلية كمشترٍ للذهب من المعدنين عبر وسطاء محليين لتصديره بنفسه. ولأن المصرف المركزي لا يملك موارد مالية حقيقية لشراء الذهب، اضطر للاستعانة بمطابعه مما ضاعف من عرض النقود وفاقم من التضخم ووصل به إلى 63%. وبالتالي ارتفعت أسعار السلع الاستهلاكية والأغذية والأدوية خاصة المستوردة منها إلى الضعف وفي بعض الحالات تتضاعفت ثلاثة أضعاف.

وفي محاولةٍ للحد من الغلاء والطلب على العملات الأجنبية، عمدت الحكومة لتجفيف السيولة في السوق بإجراءاتٍ إدارية قيدت بموجبها حق الشركات والمواطنين في سحب الأموال النقدية من حساباتهم منذ مارس 2018. أدى هذا الاجراء المتعسف إلى المزيد من الطلب على النقد المحلي والاجنبي واستعار حمى السوق السوداء وزعزعة الثقة في النظام المصرفي وخلق دائرة مفرغة من الإجراءات وردود الفعل المعاكسة. فقد اعلنت الحكومة عن سياسة جديدة في أكتوبر 2018 تطرح بموجبها سندات (أوراق) مالية للجمهور بأرباح عالية لتمويل شراء الذهب من منتجيه بموارد حقيقية حسب تعبير رئيس الوزراء السوداني معتز موسى.

نتج عن هذا الوضع، وأدى اليه في نفس الوقت، حقيقة مريرة وهي أن نسبة لا تقل عن 35% من الذهب الذي ينتج في السودان يتم تهريبه للخارج خاصة إلى دبي في دولة الامارات العربية المتحدة، التي صارت بسبب ذلك اكبر شريك تجاري للسودان متفوقة على الصين. وتشير الأرقام الرسمية إلي ان انتاج الذهب عام 2017 بلغ 90 طناً فيما بلغت حصيلة صادراته 1,87 مليار دولار، مما يعني ان اكثر من مليار دولار من الذهب قد تم بيعه خارج القنوات الرسمية. وتشير بعض المصادر إلى نسب تهريبٍ أعلى من ذلك بكثير وقد يتجاوز نصفه، حيث تفتقر الأجهزة الحكومية المسئولة عن انتاج وتجارة الذهب للموارد والقدرات والأدوات اللازمة للسيطرة الكاملة على القطاع.

وقد نشرت وسائل الاعلام السودانية والعالمية عشرات التقارير عن تهريب الذهب من السودان فيما اعلن جهاز الامن والمخابرات في السودان عن احباط الكثير من محاولات تهريب الذهب منها محاولة لتهريب 245 كيلوجراماً من الذهب في عملية واحدة، حيث تتم الكثير من عمليات التهريب عبر مطار الخرطوم. وقد ضبط واعتقل سودانيون يهربون الذهب حتى لدول بعيدة جداً عنها مثل الهند حسب تقارير صحفية سودانية وهندية.

مليشيات الذهب

صاحب الحراك السكاني الواسع لأكثر من مليون ونصف من الشباب لمواقع التعدين الأهلي تعقيدات امنية وسياسية عديدة حيث بدأ بعض السكان المحليون في بعض المواقع الاحتكاك بالمعدنين الغرباء والتنازع على ملكية الأراضي ومواقع التعدين مما أوقع الكثير من الضحايا.

تشير ورقة أكاديمية نشرت مؤخراً إلى ان التهريب عبر منافد سودانية او في الدول المجاورة يحدث لتفادي الضرائب والرسوم الحكومية وتجاوز أسعار الصرف الحكومية المتدنية مقارنة بأسعار السوق السوداء التي تسمى في السودان السوق السوداء الموازية. ويمكن ان يستهدف تهريب الذهب أيضاً أغراض أخرى اكثر ضرراً بالاقتصاد والمجتمع مثل تمويل الحروب الاهلية وغسل الأموال القذرة لتجارة المخدرات والسلاح مسببة مشاكل امنية وسياسية حساسة ومعقدة.

فقد أكد تقرير لمجلس الامن الدولي أن موسى هلال، زعيم احدي الميلشيات المتورطة في الحرب الاهلية في دارفور، قد حصل على 54 مليون دولار من عائدات التعدين الأهلي. ويضيف التقرير ان 123 مليون دولار من عائدات الذهب قد وجدت طريقها لجيوب زعماء فصائل أخرى متمردة على الحكومة في إقليم دارفور المضطرب.

وكان وزير الداخلية السوداني آنذاك، الجنرال عصمت عبد الرحمن، قد حذر، في 5 يناير 2017، من وجود ثلاثة آلاف اجنبي مسلح في منطقة جبل عامر في دارفور، لكن اتضح فيما بعد ان هؤلاء المسلحين يتبعون الزعيم القبلي موسي هلال الذي كان يحتكر انتاج الذهب في جبل عامر ولديه سند ومنفذ اجنبي قريب ومضمون يتمثل في الرئيس التشادي ادريس دبي زوج ابنته. خسر هلال صراعاً دامياً سقط فيه الكثير من القتلى وانتهى باستيلاء الجنرال حميدتي قائد احدي المليشيات الموالية للحكومة على المنطقة، وهو الذي يستثمر مناجم جبل عامر لحسابه حالياً.

وفي حادثة أخرى اندلعت اشتباكات بين قبائل سودانية وتشادية قتل فيها تسعة اشخاص على الأقل وجرح العشرات بسبب التنافس على مواقع تنقيب حدودية في ديسمبر 2017.

كما حدثت اضطرابات امنية أخرى في مناطق كثيرة، منها حادث في منطقة الباوقة شمال السودان في مارس 2018، حيث قتل شخص وأصيب ستة آخرون برصاص حراس شركة روسية تعمل في التنقيب في ارض يعتبرها سكان المنطقة ملكاً لهم. أثار الحادث غضباً واسعاً لأن الضحايا قالوا ان الروس هم الذين اطلقوا النار عليهم. وقتل شخص آخر في مدينة كالوقي جنوب السودان في نوفمبر 2017 في احتجاجاتٍ مماثلة ضد شركة تعدين.

مخاطر بيئية وصحية

اصدر البرلمان السوداني تحذيراً من اخطار التعدين الأهلي بعد نفوق اعداد كبيرة من الحيوانات والاسماك في حلفا ودنقلا اقصى شمال السودان بسبب استخدام مادة السيانيد الشديدة السمية في عمليات تنقية الذهب في مناطق التعدين الأهلي.

يقول الخبير السوداني هاشم سيد حسن، المتخصص في جيولوجيا المناجم، أن غالبية العاملين في التعدين الأهلي يستخدمون الزئبق في استخلاص الذهب فيما تستخدم الشركات السينايد، وكلاهما شديد السمية وخطر على الصحة والبيئة، ويضيف أن السينايد أكثر خطورة، حيث تؤدي كمية لا تتجاوز 0,2 جرام منها إلى الموت خلال ثوانٍ قليلة بعد شللٍ كامل لكل أجهزة التنفس بسبب نقص الأكسدة الذي يصيب الخلايا.

وقد جاهر المواطنون في العديد من مناطق التعدين للتصدي بمعارضتهم لأنشطة شركات التعدين التي تضر بالبيئة وتدمرها. ويحذر ناشطون من أن الحكومة تمنح الشركات المحلية والأجنبية حقوق استثمار وتنقيب عن الذهب لا تراعي مصالح السكان وتضطر الحكومة للتدخل لمصلحة المستثمرين بأشكال مختلفة بما فيها استخدام القوة مما يسبب مشاكل امنية وسياسية.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ASHRAF SHAZLY ©AFP | ASHRAF SHAZLY ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Sudan / Economy of Sudan / Gold in Sudan: Blessing or Curse?

Gold in Sudan: Blessing or Curse?

Sudan- Gold sudan
Sudanese men pan for gold at the village of al-Abidiya in northern Sudan. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ASHRAF SHAZLY

Sudan’s gold production has increased by more than 1,200% in a decade, according to a report by the US Geological Survey, from 7 tons in 2008 to more than 90 tons in 2017. The Sudanese Minister of Minerals confirmed that gold production in the first half of 2018 exceeded 63 tons, and the state is counting on it heavily to overcome the current economic crisis. He pointed out that the mining sector accounted for 6 per cent of GDP in 2018 and had a growth rate of 14 per cent.

Mining has become the most important sector in the economy. In 2017, the value of gold exports through the Central Bank of Sudan amounted to $1.87 billion, accounting for about 57 per cent of the country’s total exports, in addition to other large amounts that feed the economy without going through the Central Bank. Sudan ranks second in Africa and ninth in the world on the list of gold producers.

Challenges and Risks

Despite the security, environmental, political and economic challenges and risks associated with the industry, gold production, which began a decade ago, has provided permanent and temporary employment opportunities for some 1.5 million Sudanese youth in hundreds of mining sites across the country. No one knows the exact number of sites because the companies and individuals involved move from one location to another.

More than 400 national and foreign companies are active in gold exploration. The oldest of these companies is Ariab Mining, founded by a Canadian-French company in the Red Sea Heights in eastern Sudan in 1991, although its ownership was later transferred to the Sudanese government. However, these companies account for only 20 per cent of the total amount of gold produced each year; traditional miners produce 80 per cent.

Traditional miners use simple, inexpensive metal detectors, most of which are imported from China. When the battery-powered devices indicate the possible presence of metals in deserts and valleys, the miners dig the sites, collect rocks and transport them to mills near the mining sites. The mills grind the stones, treat them with mercury and cyanide to extract the gold and finally sell them to intermediaries at production sites or in cities.

More Gold Equals more Inflation and Smuggling

The production of gold increased around 2010, which alleviated the consequences of the secession of South Sudan in 2011 and Sudan’s subsequent loss of 70 per cent of its oil production. However, the impact of gold on the overall economy is confusing for many reasons, including the conflicting government policies and multiple interested parties. To compensate for the acute shortage of foreign currency, the Central Bank started buying gold from miners in the local market through intermediaries for the bank’s own export purposes. However, because the Central Bank did not have the financial resources to buy the gold, it had to print additional currency. This increased the supply of money and pushing inflation up to 63 per cent. The prices of basic commodities immediately doubled and in some cases tripled.

In a bid to curb high prices and demand for foreign currency, in March 2018 the government imposed restrictions on cash withdrawals intended to reduce the circulation of money in the country. The measure served only to increase demand for domestic and foreign cash, invigorated the black market, shook confidence in the banking system and created a vicious circle of actions and adverse reactions. The government announced a new policy in October 2018 to issue high-profit bonds to the public to finance the purchase of gold with real resources, according to Sudanese Prime Minister Moataz Moussa.

At the same time, this situation has led to an undeniable fact, namely that at least 35 per cent of the gold produced in Sudan is smuggled abroad, especially to Dubai in the United Arab Emirates, making it Sudan’s largest trading partner, superseding even China. Official statistics show that gold production in 2017 amounted to 90 tons, while gold exports amounted to $1.87 billion, which means that more than $1 billion of gold was sold unofficially. Some sources point to much higher smuggling rates, which may exceed half of the gold produced. This is because government agencies responsible for the production and trade of gold lack the resources, capacity and tools necessary to effectively control the sector.

National and international media have published dozens of reports on gold smuggling from Sudan, while the Security and Intelligence Service claims to have thwarted many attempts to smuggle gold, including one operation to smuggle 245 kilograms of gold. Many smuggling operations go through the Khartoum Airport. Individuals have been arrested while trying to smuggle gold to countries as far away as India, according to Sudanese and Indian press reports.

Gold Militias

The movement of over 1.5 million young people to the mining sites has entailed many security and political complications, including disputes – some violent – over the ownership of land and mining sites.

A recently published academic paper noted that smuggling through Sudanese rivals or neighbouring countries aims to evade government taxes and fees, as well as the low government exchange rates compared to black market prices. Gold smuggling can also serve other purposes that have negative social and economic impacts, such as funding civil wars and laundering money generated by the drug and arms trade.

A report by the UN Security Council said Moussa Helal, leader of one of the militias involved in the civil war in Darfur, had received $54 million in civil mining revenues. The report added that $123 million in gold revenue found its way into the pockets of other faction leaders fighting the government in the troubled Darfur region.

General Esmat Abdel Rahman, then interior minister, warned on 5 January 2017 of the presence of 3,000 armed foreigners in the Jabal Amer area in Darfur. It emerged that these gunmen were after Helal, who was monopolizing gold production in area and has foreign and guaranteed support from Chadian President Idriss Deby, who is married to Helal’s daughter. Helal lost in a bloody conflict that left many people dead and also saw the capture of General Hamidati, the leader of one of the pro-government militias in the region, who is currently investing in the Jabal Amer mines.

In another incident in December 2017, clashes broke out between Sudanese and Chadian tribes over control of mining sites in the border areas. At least nine people were killed and dozens injured.

Security disturbances occurred in many other areas, including an incident in Bauqah in northern Sudan in March 2018, in which one person was killed and six others wounded by the guards of a Russian company engaged in mining on land considered by local residents to be their property. The incident sparked widespread anger because the victims said the Russians were the ones who shot at them. Another person was killed in the southern city of Kaluqi in November 2017 in similar protests against a mining company.

Environmental and Health Concerns

The parliament issued a warning of the dangers of domestic mining after the death of large numbers of animals and fish in Halfa and Dongola in the far north because of the largely uncontrolled use of cyanide in the purification of gold.

According to Hashem Sayyid Hasan, an expert in mining geology, the majority of traditional miners use mercury to extract gold while companies use cyanide. Both are highly toxic and dangerous to human and animal health and the environment. Hasan added that cyanide is more dangerous, with only 0.2 grams needed to kill within a few seconds after complete paralysis of all respiratory organs due to the lack of oxidation in the cells.

Residents in many mining areas have clearly expressed their opposition to the activities of mining companies that harm and destroy the environment. Activists say that the government gives local and foreign companies rights to invest in and explore for gold without considering the interests of residents, and that the government intervenes in favour of investors in various ways, including using force, causing security and political problems.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ASHRAF SHAZLY | ©AFP ⁃ ASHRAF SHAZLY

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.