فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / السودان / وُجوه من السودان / نائبٌ جديد للرئيس في السودان بينما كافح الرئيس للحفاظ على نفوذه

نائبٌ جديد للرئيس في السودان بينما كافح الرئيس للحفاظ على نفوذه

Sudan- Awad Ibn Ouf
Photo: Sudanese Army’s Facebook page

“الفارسُ الحقيقي لا يُبدلُ حصانهُ أثناءَ المعركة،” حسب مقولةٍ سودانيةٍ قديمة، لكن الرئيس السوداني عمر البشير، أثناء مواجهته لأحد أعظم التهديدات على زعامتهِ للسلطة منذ ثلاثة عقود، تخلى عن هذه القاعدة وعيّن وزير دفاعه الفريق أول عوض ابن عوف نائباً أول لرئيس الجمهورية في محاولة للبقاء في السلطة.

حل ابن عوف محل صديق البشير القديم وحليفه الفريق بكري حسن صالح، الذي كان نائبه الأول لرئاسة الجمهورية لستة أعوام، وأول من تقلد منصب رئيس الوزراء عندما إستولى البشير على السلطة في إنقلابٍ عسكري في 30 يونيو 1989. وهو أحد الضباط الخمسة عشر الذين شاركوا في الإنقلاب العسكري، وكان صالح أيضاً الوحيد الذي بقي بجانب الحاكم الجديد.

جاء التعيين في 23 فبراير 2019 في وقتٍ دخلت فيه الإحتجاجات الشعبية المتواصلة ضد الحكومة شهرها الثالث. إنفجرت الإحتجاجات في 19 ديسمبر 2018 بسبب الازمة الاقتصادية وشح الخبز والوقود، لكنها سرعان ما إنتشرت في طول البلاد وعرضها وارتفع سقف مطالبها لتنادي بتنحي الرئيس البشير عن السلطة.

فمن هو الفريق أول عوض ابن عوف؟ ولماذا راهن عليه الرئيس البشير بقوة؟

شَغل ابن عوف سابقاً منصب وزير الدفاع لأربعة أعوام، لكنه آثر البعد عن الأضواء وفضل تجنب الإعلام على حد وصف الصحف السودانية . ولد عام 1954 في منطقة قري، التي تبعد 70 كيلومتراً شمالي الخرطوم، إلا أنه ينتمي لمنطقة الشمال النيلي التي إنحدر منها جميع رؤساء السودان منذ الإستقلال بمن فيهم الرئيس البشير نفسه.

تخرج ابن عوف من الكلية العسكرية السودانية برتبة ملازم في العشرين من العمر وخدم في سلاح المدفعية، تلقى بعدها دورات عسكرية متخصصة في مصر. تولى مناصب عسكرية مختلفة خلال مسيرته المهنية. عُينَ مديراً للأمن الإيجابي في جهاز الأمن الوطني، ثم عُينَ مديراً لهيئة الإستخبارات العسكرية وهي مؤسسة في غاية الأهمية في بلد يحكمها جنرال في الجيش كان يخوض حرباً أهلية في أربعة جبهات لعقود من الزمن. أصبح ابن عوف نائباً لرئيس هيئة الأركان المشتركة للجيش قبل أن يحال للتقاعد سنة 2010.

واصل الفريق أبن عوف إنشغاله بالسياسة والعمل العام بعد تقاعده من الخدمة العسكرية حيث عين سفيراً في وزارة الخارجية ومديراً لإدارة الأزمات في الوزارة ولعب دوراً مهماً في تسوية الخلافات وتحسين العلاقات بين السودان وأريتريا كرئيسٍ للجنة الامنية في مفاوضات الطرفين عام 2011. ثم عين قنصلاً في السفارة السودانية في القاهرة، مصر، وهي وظيفة سياسية ودبلوماسية وأمنية في بلدٍ بالغ التأثير على السياسة السودانية. إنتقل بعدها إلى عُمان حيث شغل فيها منصب سفير. إستقال من المنصب بعد أقل من عام، ولكن بسبب تسميته وزيراً للدفاع في اغسطس 2015.

سيرة مثير للجدل

هذه الخلفية العسكرية والأمنية والدبلوماسية والسياسية الثرية والمتنوعة، نادراً ما توفرت لنواب الرئيس السابقين، لكن سجله يُظهر أيضاً صفحاتٍ أخرى قاتمة تنم عن يد غليظة.

في عام 2005، أسس خلال رئاسته للإستخبارات العسكرية السودانية، وفقاً لصحيفةٍ مواليةٍ للحكومة في الخرطوم، قوات حرس الحدود التي قننت وضمت أعداداً كبيرة جداً من مليشيات الجنجويد للجيش السوداني. وقد أُتهمت مليشيات الجنجويد، المؤلفة من السودانيين العرب، بإرتكاب إنتهاكاتٍ واسعة النطاق لحقوق الإنسان في منطقة دارفور ضد سودانيين من أصولٍ إفريقية أبان الحرب الاهلية .

فقد كانت لجنة تقصي الحقائق التابعة للأمم المتحدة عام 2005 قد وضعت إسم ابن عوف ضمن قائمة المسؤولين عن تدهور الأوضاع في دارفور. ونتيجةً لذلك، قامت الولايات المتحدة بتجميد أصولة منذ مايو 2007، ولايزال إسمه في القائمة الامريكية السوداء، مما يمكن أن يشكل عائقاً لأداء مهمته ويعيد للأذهان فصلاً من التاريخ السوداني التي عكفت الحكومة على طيه طويلاً. علاوةً على ذلك، حملته تقارير صحافية لمعارضين سودانيين مسئولية التعاون مع جيش الرب للمقاومة الاوغندي الذي إرتكب بدوره إنتهاكاتٍ جسيمة في أوغندا وجنوب السودان أثناء الحرب.

حكومة المطلوبين دولياً

عُين ابن عوف في نفس اليوم الذي أعلن فيه البشير حالة الطوارىء، وحل الحكومة الاتحادية والولائية (حكومات الولايات) وتعيين ولاة عسكرين بدلاً عنهم. وقد بادر الفريق ابن عوف بتأكيد دعمه للرئيس البشير مراراً وتكراراً منذ اواخر يناير الماضي بلقاءات متعددة بضباط الجيش السوداني شدد فيها على أن الجيش لن يسمح بانزلاق البلاد إلى حالة من الفوضى .

وقال “إن الذين يتصدرون المشهد في المظاهرات هي ذات الوجوه التي ظلت تعادي السودان وتشوه صورته امام العالم، و تؤلب عليه المنظمات وتوفر الدعم للحركات المتمردة التي ظلت تقاتل القوات المسلحة على مدى السنوات الماضية، سلوكهم اليوم يثير الشكوك في وطنيتهم.”

وفي خطوةٍ أخرى تُنبئ بمخاوف البشير، قام بتعيين أحمد هارون نائباً له في رئاسة الحزب الحاكم، حزب المؤتمر الوطني، وتفويضه كل صلاحيات الرئيس، بدعوى أن الرئيس يريد أن يحتفظ بمسافة واحدة من كل القوى السياسية ويساعد على إدارة حوار وطني.

إن أهم ما يجمع أحمد هارون والبشير أن كلاهما مطلوبٌ لدى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية في لاهاي بتهمة إرتكاب جرائم حرب وجرائم ضد الإنسانية والإبادة الجماعية أثناء الحرب الأهلية في دارفور. حيث كان هارون آنذاك وزير دولة بوزارة الداخلية السودانية ورئيساً للجنة أمن ولاية دارفور التي تولت ادارة عملية التصدي لمتمردي حركة تحرير السودان الدارفورية. تولى هارون العديد المواقع الحكومية الهامة كوالٍ (حاكم) لولايات غرب السودان، وإدراج إسمه ضمن لائحة المطلوبين دولياً في أبريل 2007 لم يستبعده من تولي مناصب سياسية.

بإختصار، الرئيس ونائب الرئيس الأول ونائب رئيس الحزب الحاكم من المطلوبين دولياً. وهذا وضع غير مسبوق سياسياُ، لكنه يؤمن ظهر البشير من أي محاولةٍ قد يقدم عليها الحزب الحاكم لتقديمه ككبش فداءٍ في ظل تنامي الإحتجاجات. وقد أظهر بعض قادة الحزب الحاكم بالفعل تأييداً علنياً لدعوات تنحي الرئيس، منهم الأمين العام الأسبق للحزب الحاكم الشفيع أحمد.

إستعادة القبول الإقليمي

كوزيرٍ للدفاع ونائب لرئيس الجمهورية الآن، أكد ابن عوف مراراً أن قواته ستبقى تقاتل بجانب التحالف السعودي في اليمن، مما يعزز من فرص القبول الإقليمي لحكومة الخرطوم خاصة أن التغيرات الاخيرة وإعلان حالة الطوارئ في السودان باعد بالسودان إلى حدٍ كبير من التحالف القطري التركي الإسلامي، التي هي الآن في خصومةٍ مع السعودية وعدة دولٍ أخرى حول مزاعم دعم قطر للإرهاب.

بدا ذاك التوتر في العلاقات واضحاً في الحملات القوية التي تشنها قناة الجزيرة القطرية على القيادة السياسية في السودان بالتركيز على مهاجمة الفريق صلاح قوش، مدير جهاز الامن والمخابرات ورجل النظام القوي في الخرطوم.

 

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sudan / Faces of Sudan / New VP Appointed in Sudan as President Struggles to Hold on to Power

New VP Appointed in Sudan as President Struggles to Hold on to Power

Sudan- Awad Ibn Ouf
Photo: Sudanese Army’s Facebook page

‘A true knight does not replace his horse in the battle,’ according to an old Sudanese saying. However, Sudanese President Omar al-Bashir, who is facing one of the greatest threats to his leadership in three decades in power, has abandoned this rule and appointed General Awad Ibn Ouf as first vice president.

Ibn Ouf replaces al-Bashir’s old friend and ally Lieutenant General Bakri Hassan Salih, who was his vice president for six years and the first prime minister when al-Bashir seized power in a military coup on 30 June 1989. Of the 15 officers who participated in the coup, Salih was also the only one to stand by the new ruler.

The appointment on 23 February 2019 came as the popular protests against the government entered their third month. The protests broke out on 19 December 2018 in response to the economic crisis and the shortage of bread and fuel. However, the protests soon spread across the country, and the calls for economic reforms became a demand for al-Bashir to step down.

So, who is Ibn Ouf? Why is al-Bashir betting so heavily on him? And can he bring an end to the current unrest?
Ibn Ouf previously served as defence minister for four years, but he kept a low profile and preferred to stay out of the media, according to Sudanese newspapers. He was born in 1954 in Gerri, 70km north of the capital Khartoum, but his roots lie in the northern River Nile state, from which all Sudanese presidents, including al-Bashir, have come since independence.

Ibn Ouf graduated from Sudan’s Military College as a lieutenant at the age of 20. He served in the artillery unit and later received specialized military training in Egypt. He assumed different military posts throughout his career. He was appointed director of Positive Security in the National Security Apparatus and then director of the Military Intelligence Agency, which is a critical organization in a country that is ruled by an army general who fought civil war on four fronts for decades. Ibn Ouf became deputy chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff before his retirement from military service in 2010.

He continued to engage in politics and public work after his retirement. He was appointed as an ambassador in the Foreign Ministry and director of the ministry’s Crisis Management Department. He also played an important role in settling disagreements between Sudan and Eritrea and improving relations between the two countries in his capacity as head of the Security Committee during negotiations in 2011. He was then appointed consul at the Sudanese embassy in Cairo, Egypt, an important political, diplomatic and security post in a country that plays an influential role in Sudanese politics. He then moved to Oman where he served as ambassador. He resigned from the post after less than year, however, because he was named defence minister in August 2015.

Controversial biography

This rich and varied military, security, diplomatic and political background is rare in other vice presidents.
However, his biography also shows evidence of his heavy hand.

In 2005, as head of the Military Intelligence, he established, according to a pro-government newspaper based in Khartoum, the Border Guard forces, which were regrouped and included large numbers of Janjaweed militias. These militias, made up of Sudanese Arabs, were accused of committing widespread human rights abuses in the Darfur region against Sudanese of African descent during the civil war.

A United Nations fact-finding mission in 2005 put Ibn Ouf on the list of those responsible for the deteriorating situation in Darfur. As a result, the US has blocked his assets since May 2007, and his name remains on the US blacklist, which could be an impediment to his mission and recall a chapter of Sudanese history that the government is keen to gloss over. Moreover, press reports by Sudanese oppositionists claim that Ibn Ouf collaborated with the Ugandan Lord’s Resistance Army, which committed serious abuses in Uganda and South Sudan during the war.

Government of internationally wanted officials

Ibn Ouf was appointed on the same day that al-Bashir declared a state of emergency, dissolved the federal and state governments and appointed military governors. Ibn Ouf has repeatedly confirmed his support for al-Bashir in several meetings with senior military personnel since January, stressing that the army will not allow the country to slip into chaos.

“Those taking the lead in the demonstrations are the same faces that [were] hostile to Sudan and distorted its image before the entire world, instigating organizations and providing support to rebel movements that have been fighting the Sudanese armed forces in the past years. Their behaviour today raises doubts about their patriotism,” he said.

In another move that indicates al-Bashir’s vulnerability, he appointed Ahmed Harun as vice president of the ruling National Congress Party (NCP) and delegated all the powers of the party’s president to him, allegedly so that al-Bashir could keep his distance from the various rival factions within the party and help manage national dialogue.

Al-Bashir and Harun are both wanted by the International Criminal Court in The Hague on charges of war crimes, crimes against humanity and genocide during the war in Darfur. At the time, Harun was a minister of state at the Interior Ministry and chairman of the Darfur State Security Committee, which was in charge of handling confrontations with the rebels of the Sudan Liberation Movement (SLM). Harun has since assumed several important government positions such as governor of Western Sudan, and his inclusion on the list of internationally wanted persons in April 2007 has not excluded him from holding political office.

In short, the president, the first vice president and vice president of the ruling party are all wanted internationally. This is an unprecedented political situation. However, it protects al-Bashir from any attempt by the ruling party to make him a scapegoat in response to the growing protests. Some senior members of the ruling party, including al-Shafi Ahmed, former secretary general, have already publicly supported calls for the president to step down.

Regaining regional acceptance

As defence minister and now vice president, Ibn Ouf has repeatedly stressed that his forces will continue to fight alongside the Saudi-led coalition in Yemen, which enhances the chances of Khartoum regaining regional acceptance. This is especially because the recent changes in the regime’s top positions and the state of emergency have distanced Sudan from the Turkish-Qatari Islamist alliance, which is currently at loggerheads with Saudi Arabia and several other countries over Qatar’s alleged support for terrorism.

These strained relations were evident in the strong campaigns launched by the Qatar-based al-Jazeera broadcast network against Sudan’s leadership, notably Lieutenant General Salah Gosh, director of the National Intelligence and Security Service and the regime’s heavy hand.

Al-Bashir may be able to buy some time by using the army to rule the country, intimidate and silence opponents and reduce the threat to his rule. However, it remains to be seen how long this strategy will work since the government does not have a solution to the economic crisis that triggered the protests in the first place.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.