فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / السودان / وُجوه من السودان / إبراهيم الصلحي، أيقونة الفن العربي الأفريقي الحديث

إبراهيم الصلحي، أيقونة الفن العربي الأفريقي الحديث

يُعد الفنان التشكيلي إبراهيم الصلحي أحد أهم رموز الفن التشكيلي العربي الأفريقي الحديث. فقد أهّلته سنوات عمره الثماني والثمانون، وما يزيد عن سبعين عاماً من ممارسة فنون الرسم والتلوين والكتابة عنها والتنظير لها، لنيل لقب “شيخ التشكيليين السودانيين”.

وُلد الصلحي بمدينة أم درمان في الخامس من سبتمبر 1930، وفي ذات المدينة تلقى تعليمه العام، ثم درس الرسم والتلوين في مدرسة التصميم بكلية غردون التذكارية التي أسسها المستعمرون الانجليز في العاصمة السودانية الخرطوم، كما درس في معهد الخرطوم الفني. وفي النصف الثاني من خمسينات القرن العشرين تم ابتعاثه لبريطانيا حيث واصل دراسته لمدة ثلاث سنوات في مدرسة سليد للفنون بكلية لندن الجامعية. ثم درس التصوير الفوتوغرافي في جامعة كولومبيا في نيويورك (1964- 1965).

ويرى زميله التشكيلي والكاتب السوداني الدكتور حسن موسى أنه “من الصعب اختزال التدريب الفني للصلحي على التعليم النظامي وحده، كون الرجل يعتبر التعليم ممارسة حياتية تندمج في المسار الوجودي للشخص بشكل عضوي”، ويؤكد أن “الناظر في أعمال الصلحي القديمة والحديثة يلمس بسهولة أن الرجل لم ينقطع أبداً عن تعلّم التقنيات والأساليب الجديدة واستكشاف الرؤى الإبداعية المخالفة لكل ما عهد عنه في أوقات سابقة.”

قبضة من تراب

Sudan- Ibrahim El-Salahi
Photo SudaneseCulture / Twitter

يروي الصلحي في كتاب سيرته الذاتية الذي أسماه “قبضة من تراب،” والذي نُشر عام 2012، أنه، وعقب عودته من دراسته بكلية لندن، أصابته صدمة أثرت كثيراً على مجرى حياته كرسام عندما فوجئ بعزوف الجمهور عن تذوق أعماله الفنية. توصل حينها إلى أن ذلك ناتج من أن الأعمال المعروضة لم تكن تعبر عن الموروث التشكيلي للسودانيين، ما دفعه إلى الانتباه إلى القيم التصويرية في البيئة الثقافية السودانية، وقاده ذلك إلى توظيف فنون الخط العربي والرموز الإسلامية والزخارف الأفريقية في لوحاته مع توظيف تقنيات الفن الأوربي الحديث. ومن هنا بدأت مرحلة ما أطلق عليه منذ أوائل الستينات اسم “مدرسة الخرطوم التشكيلية” التي أُعتبر الصلحي أبرز مؤسسيها وروادها.

إضافة إلى القبول الشعبي، وجد تيار مدرسة الخرطوم قبولاً رسمياً في السودان، فسّره حسن موسى بأن عرض الصلحي لتأسيس “فن تشكيلي سوداني” “وجدت فيه السلطات نوعاً من محتوى ثقافي مفيد على صعيد مشروع بناء الوحدة الوطنية.” وقال “وهكذا تحول الصلحي مع بداية السبعينات (…) إلى نوع من أيقونة وطنية، حتى أن صورته كانت تزين بعض ملصقات وزارة السياحة بوصفه فنان السودان القومي.”

ويقول الكاتب البريطاني أدريان هاملتون إن الصلحي وعلى الرغم من أنه تأثر بالفن التشكيلي الغربي إلا أن الصور النابعة من وطنه هي التي تثير الدهشة والإعجاب في أعماله، ويصفه بأنه “فنان محدِّث ذو رؤية،” وأحد رواد نهضة الفن الأفريقي، ويلاحظ أن لوحاته “تتواتر فيها ألوان الأرض، والوجوه الشبيهة بالأقنعة،” وهو ما يصفه هاملتون بأنه “سمّة إفريقية للغاية.”

تجربة السجن

تعرض الصلحي للاعتقال السياسي لمدة ستة أشهر (من سبتمبر 1975م إلى مارس 1976) إبان عهد الرئيس السوداني الأسبق جعفر النميري بسبب مزاعم عن أنشطته المناهضة للحكومة. تركت هذه تجربة أثراً مهماً في ممارسته التشكيلية. ويحكي أنه وخلال أشهر السجن كان يقطّع الأوراق التي يُلف فيها الطعام المقدم إليهم إلى قصاصات صغيرة ويرسم عليها بقلم كان يحتفظ به سراً، ثم يجمع تلك القصاصات لتصير لوحة كبيرة تضم لوحات صغيرة مختلفة.

ويقول إن هذا الأسلوب “نال فيما بعد رضى الرسامين في الغرب، وكان أسلوباً مبتكراً وجديداً عليهم (…) وجاءت من خلال هذه الناحية عدة موضوعات أنجزت بها أعمالاً كثيرة يتم تركيبها بتكوينات مفصلة كانت في نظري على غرار نمو عضوي للصورة.”

تجربة السجن هذه حيث لم يكن يستخدم سوى قلم رصاص أدت أيضاً إلى اهتمام الصلحي بالرسم باللونين الأبيض والأسود، الذي مثل نمطا بارزاً من أعماله منذ أواخر السبعينات وحتى منتصف التسعينات: “اتجهت إلى التركيز على اللونين الأسود والأبيض في معالجة الصورة بحثاً عن درجة رمادية (…) مع الإبقاء على كثافة الأسود ونقاء اللون الأبيض دون مزج.”

المساهمة في الفن الإفريقي الحديث

في إشارةٍ إلى الأثر الصوفي في أعمال الصلحي التشكيلية يقول التشكيلي السوداني حسين جمعان إن: “أعماله تُفسر بالإقناع والإيحاء والتأويل في كثير من الأطر الفلسفية والتأملية التي يتخيلها ويستلهمها في انفعالاته ويتحكم فيها ويظهر بأسلوبه المتمكن، الذي يتسم بقدر عالٍ من الصدق والإتقان والكمال.”

وبالنسبة لموسى، فإن “ممارسة الرسم عند الصلحي لا تقتصر على البعد الجمالي العملي وحده بل تتعداها نحو السعي الفكري لتأسيس إشكالية فلسفية حول دور الفنان في مجتمعه.”

كما وصفه صلاح حسن أستاذ الفن الأفريقي في جامعة كورنيل الأمريكية في تقديمه لكتاب السيرة الذاتية للفنان الصلحي: “تكمن مساهمته الجوهرية التأسيسية في حركة الحداثوية الأفريقية في الفنون المرئية والبصرية في استمرارية إنتاجه الفني، وفي اشتغاله المؤثر بفضاء الفكر والتنظير. كما يمكن أن نعزي ريادة مساهماته إلى إرثه العظيم ككاتب وناقد وأعماله الفنية التي نهضت بمهمة سبر أغوار كل ما يمكن استكشافه من استراتيجيات التلوين و الرسم”. وأضاف: لقد نجح الصلحي في خلق لغته وتطبيقاته الخاصة المتفردة في التلوين، مما ترك أثرا لا ينمحي على مشهد الفنون الراهن.”

مسيرته المهنية

شغل الصلحي عدداً من الوظائف، وتبوأ عدة مناصب، إذ بدأ مسيرته المهنية مدرساً بالمرحلة الثانوية، وعمل، عقب عودته من الدراسة في مدرسة سليد البريطانية، مدرساً في كلية الفنون الجميلة بالخرطوم في النصف الأول من ستينات القرن العشرين، ثم أبتعث للعمل في الملحقية الثقافية بالسفارة السودانية في لندن. وفي عام 1969 تم انتدابه لشغل وظيفة مدير مصلحة الثقافة بوزارة الإعلام السودانية إلى جانب القيام بإدارة المجلس القومي لرعاية الآداب والفنون، ثم تم تعيينه وكيلاً لوزارة الإعلام.

غادر الصلحي وطنه السودان عقب خروجه من السجن في 1976، فأختار دولة قطر مستقراً له، حيث عمل كخبير استشاري بوزارة الإعلام القطرية في السنوات من 1977 إلى 1982، واختارته منظمة اليونسكو في 1984 للقيام بإعادة تنظيم وزارة الإعلام بالصومال، ثم عاد إلى عمله بوزارة الإعلام القطرية، ثم بالديوان الأميري حتى عام 1998. وابتداءً من عام 1998 تفرغ الصلحي بشكلٍ تام للعمل التشكيلي واستقر بمدينة أكسفورد بالمملكة المتحدة ثم عاد للسودان عام 2015 حيث يعيش الآن.

المعارض والمؤلفات

عرض الصلحي أعماله التشكيلية في عشرات المعارض الفردية في مختلف أنحاء العالم. وحالياً، تقتني العديد من المتاحف أعماله، من بينها متحف الفن الحديث ومتحف الميتروبوليتان وغاليري الشيز مانهاتن في نيويورك، ومتحف الفن الأفريقي بواشنطن، ومتحف جوجنهايم أبوظبي، ومكتبة الكونغرس، والناشيونال غاليري بسيدني، وغاليري لامبير بباريس، والناشيونال غاليري في برلين، ومصلحة الثقافة بالخرطوم وفاز بجائرة الأمير كلاوس الهولندية المرموقة عام 2001.

والصلحي مبدعٌ متعدد القدرات والمواهب، فهو ليس رساماً فحسب، بل كاتب وناقد وشاعر أيضاً، ومعد ومقدم برامج إعلامية متميز، إذ حققت برامجه التلفزيونية في السبعينات، وخاصة منها برنامج “بيت الجاك،” شعبيه واسعة في السودان. وفي ذات الفترة خاض تجربة ناجحة في التمثيل عندما جسد شخصية “الحنين” في فيلم “عرس الزين” للمخرج الكويتي خالد الصديق والمأخوذ عن رواية بذات الاسم للروائي السوداني المعروف الطيب صالح.

بالإضافة إلى سيرته الذاتية، صدر في عام 2005 كتاب “بيت الجاك” الذي ضم حواراً طويلا أجراه المؤلف فتحي محمد عثمان مع الصلحي. وهناك مشروع تبنته جامعة كورنيل في نيويورك تم من خلاله توثيق شامل وكامل لكافة أعمال الصلحي منذ الخمسينات، وتضمن إصدار كتابين عن تجربته التشكيلية، إضافة إلى كتاب آخر يحتوي على حوار وسجال بينه وبين الفنان حسن موسى امتد لما يُقارب الـ13 عاماً تقريباً.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Twitter | ©Twitter

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Sudan / Faces of Sudan / Ibrahim El-Salahi, an Icon of Modern Arab-African Art

Ibrahim El-Salahi, an Icon of Modern Arab-African Art

Sudanese artist Ibrahim El-Salahi is one of the most important figures in Arab-African Modernism. Aged 88 and with a 70-year career spanning plastic art, painting, writing and theorization, he is Sudan’s oldest active artist.”

He was born in the city of Omdurman on 5 September 1930 and was educated in the same city. He studied painting and colouring at the Gordon Memorial College School of Design, founded by the British colonialists in the capital Khartoum, and later at the Khartoum School of Art. In the second half of the 1950s, he went to Britain where he spent three years at the Slade School of Fine Art. He then studied photography at Columbia University in New York from 1964 to 1965.

Fellow Sudanese artist and writer Hassan Musa said of him, “It is difficult to summarize the artistic training that El-Salahi received from regular education only because he believes that education is a life practice integrated into one’s existential path in an organic way.” He added, “One who contemplates El-Salahi’s works, whether old or modern, will quickly realize that he has never stopped learning new techniques and styles and exploring new creative visions that are different from his past techniques and styles.”

Handful of Dust

Sudan- Ibrahim El-Salahi
Photo SudaneseCulture / Twitter

In his autobiographical book, Handful of Dust, published in 2012, El-Salahi said that after he completed his studies in London, he was shocked to realize that the public had not appreciated his artistic works. He concluded that such a departure was because available art did not express the cultural legacy of the Sudanese people, prompting him to focus on the value of images in Sudanese culture. He began integrating Arabic calligraphy, Islamic symbols and African decorations into his paintings, while employing modern European art techniques. This new visual vocabulary became known as the Khartoum Schools, of which El-Salahi was considered one of the most prominent pioneers.

In addition to popular acceptance, the Khartoum School was officially accepted as well. According to Musa, this was because the authorities “found in it cultural content that would be useful for building national unity” in the newly independent state. “In the early 1970s, El-Salahi became a national icon, and his pictures were posted on the walls of the Ministry of Tourism as Sudan’s national artist,” he said.

British writer Adrian Hamilton said that although El-Salahi was influenced by Western plastic art, the images of his homeland are surprising and impressive. Hamilton described him as a “modernist artist with a vision” and one of the pioneers of the renaissance of African art. He noted that El-Salahi’s paintings “reflect the colours of the Earth and mask-like faces”, which Hamilton described as “something very African”.

Experience of Imprisonment

El-Salahi was imprisoned for six months (from September 1975 to March 1976) during the reign of former Sudanese President Jaafar al-Nimeiri for alleged anti-government activities. The experience had a major impact on his work. During his months in prison, he would cut food wrappers into small pieces and draw on them with a pencil that he kept secretly. He collected these pieces and created a larger painting with the small paintings embedded in it.

He said that this style was later well received by painters in the West, who saw it as new and inventive. “[The style] was used to express several topics in many works of art that are fitted with detailed components that, to me, were similar to an organic growth of an image.”

His time in prison where he had access only to pencils also led him to pay attention to black and white painting, which was a prominent feature of his work from the late 1970s to the mid-1990s. “I focused on black and white in images, looking for a grey colour … yet I maintained the thickness of black and the purity of white without mixing the two.

Contribution to African Modernity

Referring to the mystical effect in El-Salahi’s plastic works, artist Husayn Jamaan said: “His works are explained through persuasion, inspiration and interpretation in many philosophical and contemplative frameworks that he imagines and invokes in emotions and that he controls and shows in his powerful style that is highly honest, accurate and perfect.”

For Musa, “The practice of painting for El-Salahi is not limited to the practical aesthetic dimension. Rather, it extends to the intellectual pursuit to establish a philosophical question about the role of an artist in his or her community.”

In his introduction to El-Salahi’s biography, Salah Hassan, a professor of African art at Cornell University, wrote, ‘[El-Salahi’s] fundamental contribution to African modernity in visual arts lies in the continuity of his artistic production, as well as in his influential works in terms of thought and theories. Moreover, his pioneering contributions are attributed to his great legacy as a writer, critic and to his artistic works that have had a strong impact on new colouring and drawing strategies.’ He added, ‘El-Salahi has succeeded in creating his own language and unique colouring applications, leaving a lasting impact on the current artistic scene.’

Artistic Career

El-Salahi has held a number of positions and posts. He began his career as a high school teacher. After returning from the Slade School, he worked as a teacher at the Faculty of Fine Arts in Khartoum in the first half of the 1960s, and then as the cultural attaché of the Sudanese embassy in London. In 1969, he was appointed director of the Culture Department at the Sudanese Ministry of Information, in addition to working as director of the National Council for the Care of Culture and Arts. Later, he was appointed undersecretary of the Ministry of Information.

He left Sudan after his release from prison in 1976. He settled in Qatar, where he worked as an adviser at the Qatari Ministry of Information from 1977 to 1982. He was chosen by UNESCO in 1984 to reorganize the Ministry of Information in Somalia. He moved back to the Qatari Ministry of Information and then worked at the Amiri Diwan government office until 1998. He settled in Oxford in the United Kingdom and started painting full time before returning in 2015 to Sudan, where he still lives.

Exhibitions and Books

El-Salahi has had dozens of solo exhibitions around the world, and hiss work can be seen in the collections of, among others, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Chase Manhattan Gallery, all the four, in New York, the Museum of African Art in Washington, the Guggenheim Museum of Abu Dhabi, the Library of Congress, the National Gallery of Sydney, the Gallery of Lambert in Paris, the National Gallery of Berlin and the Cultural Department of Khartoum. He won the Prince Claus of the Netherlands Award in 2001.

Besides painting, El-Salahi is also an acclaimed writer, critic and poet and the creator and presenter of high-quality media programmes. His television programmes in the 1970s, especially House of the Jack, were widely popular in Sudan. In the same period, he made a successful foray into acting, portraying the character of ‘Nostalgia’ in The Wedding of Zein, a film by Kuwaiti director Khaled Siddiq based on a novel of the same name by Sudanese author Al-Tayyib Salih.

In addition to his autobiography, a book titled House of the Jack was published in 2005, which included a lengthy conversation between El-Salahi and the writer Fathi Mohammed Osman. A project sponsored by Cornell University in New York comprehensively documented El-Salahi’s works since 1950s, resulting in two books about his experience in plastic art. This is in addition to another book on his con-versations and discussions with Musa, which lasted for almost 13 years.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.