فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / السودان / وُجوه من السودان / قائد المليشيات المثير للجدل يصبح الرجل الثاني في السودان

قائد المليشيات المثير للجدل يصبح الرجل الثاني في السودان

Sudan- Hamidati
Photo: mubasher.aljazeera.net ©Facebook

أصبح المستقبل السياسي للواء محمد حمدان دقلو، المعروف باسم حميدتي، غير مؤكد في أعقاب الفض الدموي لاعتصام المتظاهرين في العاصمة السودانية الخرطوم في 3 يونيو 2019. أسفرت حملة القمع، التي يتهم زعماء الاحتجاج حميدتي، نائب رئيس المجلس العسكري الانتقالي، بشنها، عن ما لا يقل عن 108 قتيلاً ومئات الجرحى.

لمع نجم الجنرال المثير للجدل محمد حمدان دقلو، المشهور بـحميدتي، في المشهد السوداني في السنوات السبع الأخيرة من الحرب في إقليم دارفور. وارتبط اسمه بمليشيات الجنجويد، التابعة للقبائل العربية في دارفور، المناصرة لحكومة الرئيس المخلوع عمر البشير. سرعان ما تغيرت حياة الرجل من تاجر صغير إلى مقاتل في صفوف الحكومة البائدة تحت إمرة أشهر رجل في حرب دارفور زعيم قبيلة المحاميد العربية، موسى هلال، أبرز المطلوبين لدى المحكمة الجنائية في لاهاي عن جرائم حرب.

في عام 2016، عمد البشير لتنصيب حميدتي قائداً لقوات الدعم السريع المُشاركة في حرب اليمن ضمن التحالف السعودي. مقابل خدماته الجليلة، منحه البشير رتبة لواء مع أنه لم يتدرب يوماً واحداً في الكلية الحربية ولم يتدرج في الترتيب المعروف في سلم القوات السودانية المسلحة. ثم قفز بزانة مليشيات الدعم السريع ليصل لرتبة فريق أول قبيل تعينه نائباً أول لرئيس المجلس العسكري في السودان بعد الإطاحة بالبشير من الحكم في أبريل 2019. يسخر معارضوا الرجل بأن حميدتي يكاد يكون العسكري الوحيد في السودان بل ودول العالم أجمع الذي وصل لرتبة فريق أول دون التدرج الطبيعي في سلم العسكرية.

البدايات

ينحدر حميدتي من قبيلة الرزيقات العربية المتمددة في ولايات شرق وشمال دارفور غربي السودان. على الرغم من أنه لم ينجح في إكمال تعليمه لكنه أظهر قدرة واضحة على التعلم. فقد أظهر ميوله التجارية منذ الصغر ودخل في المجال التجاري منذ العام 1991. عمل في تجارة الإبل والقماش بين السودان وليبيا ومصر حتى اندلاع الحرب في إقليم دارفور عام 2003.

لم يكن انضمام حميدتي إلى العسكرية مُرتباً له، لكن سريعاً ما تغيرت الأوضاع في الإقليم واضطربت الأوضاع، حيث استقطبت حكومة البشير القبائل العربية لتُقاتل في صفها ضد المتمردين وغالبيتهم من القبائل الأفريقية في دارفور لتأخذ الحرب مُنحنى عرقياً قبلياً في الإقليم.

بدايةً، شاركت القبائل العربية بشكلٍ عشوائي تحت مسمي قوات الدفاع الشعبي ضد التمرد، إذ لم يكونوا جنوداً نظاميين بملفات ورواتب وحقوق. وعليه، قاد حميدتي وفد ممثلي المجموعات المُقاتلة في صف الحكومة إلى الخرطوم وطالبت المجموعة بتجنيد هذه القوات في الجيش رسمياً، وتمت الموافقة على ذلك بعد اخضاعهم لتدريب قصير.

النجاح العسكري

تم في عام 2003 تعيين حميدتي في حرس الحدود، المألفة إلى حدٍ كبير من أعضاء من قبيلة المحاميد.  حققت قوات حرس الحدود بالفعل نجاحاتٍ عسكرية ضخمة ضد المتمردين وسرعان ما رجحت المليشيات كفة القتال لصالح الحكومة وأجبرت المتمردين على الانقسام ودخل بعضهم في مفاوضاتٍ مع الحكومة في العام 2004.

تشكلت قوات الدعم السريع في العام 2006 ودخلت بنجاحٍ في معارك لقمع قوات حركة العدل والمساواة المتمردة بقيادة خليل إبراهيم. بعد النجاحات المُتتالية للدعم السريع تم استيعابها تحت قيادة جهاز الأمن والاستخبارات.

كان التحول الكبير في مسيرة حميدتي في نوفمبر 2017، بعد الانقلاب على رئيسه موسى هلال بعد رفض الأخير الانصياع لقرار جمع السلاح بعد الضغوط الكبيرة من المجتمع الدولي على حكومة البشير بتجريد المليشيات من السلاح وقصره على القوات النظامية فقط.

كلفت قوات حميدتي بجمع السلاح من رئيسه السابق هلال، ومن ثم دخل الطرفان في مواجهاتٍ أسفرت عن مقتل شقيق هلال. بعدها كانت المعركة الفاصلة، حيث تمكنت قوات حميدتي في معركة قصيرة من القبض على موسى هلال. عندما تمت الإطاحة بالبشير في أبريل 2019، أوردت التقارير أن هلال لا يزال يقبع في السجن.

انتقادات محلية ودولية

واجهت قوات الدعم السريع انتقادات واتهامات واسعه من داخل السودان ومن المجتمع الدولي. ووجه السيد الصادق المهدي، رئيس حزب الأمة، انتقادات حادة لقوات الدعم السريع آنذاك ووصفها بأنها مليشيات مسؤولة عن انتهاكات إنسانية في دارفور مما دفع الحكومة للزج بالمهدي في السجن إثر تلك التصريحات. وهناك جهات دولية وأحزاب مدنية معارضة وحركات متمردة مسلحة، زعمت أن الدعم السريع هي امتداد لـمليشيا الجنجويد سيئة السمعة، وتعتمد في مكونها على العنصر العربي في دارفور، لكن حكومة البشير، ظلت تنفي عن هذه القوات صفة القبلية، وأكد المسؤولون الحكوميون مراراً أنها قوة نظامية قومية.

فقد شهدت عدة مدن سودانية بعيدة عن دارفور في الآونة الأخيرة، احتفالات بتخرّج الآلاف من مجندي هذه القوات، وهو ما اعتبره حميدتي “تأكيد على قوميتها وأنها لا تمثل قبيلة واحدة كما يروج الأعداء.”

في مايو 2014، دخلت قوات الدعم السريع في جدل مع البعثة الأممية المختلطة “يوناميد” في دارفور، ووجهت اتهامات لقوات البعثة “بأنها تتربح من وراء الحرب الدائرة بالإقليم، وتسعى لتمديد أمدها،” وجاء ذلك رداً على تقارير أممية اتهمت قوات الدعم السريع بارتكاب “جرائم فظيعة” في دارفور.

مراكمة الثروة

في خضم الاضطرابات السريعة في المشهد السياسي السوداني، عمل حميدتي أيضاً على جمع المال ومراكمة الثروة بالانخراط في صناعة تعدين وتجارة الذهب في منطقة جبل عامر في دارفور حيث انتزع بالقوة مناجم التعدين الاهلي الذي كان يهيمن عليها منافسه موسى هلال. إضافةً إلى ذلك، كان يقوم بأعمال تجارية أخرى تحدث عنها دون أن يفصح عن طبيعتها. كما حصل على اموال طائلة لا يعرف مقدارها من مشاركة قواته في الحرب في اليمن. وقد أكد ذلك بنفسه قي مؤتمر صحفي عقب تعيينه نائباً لرئيس المجلس العسكري الانتقالي الحكم في السودان، مشيراً إلى أنه قد سلم البنك المركزي السودان مبلغ 27 مليار دولار لاستيراد الوقود والقمح.

ومع ذلك، لم يكن حتى أكثر المتفائلين يتوقع أن يخذل حميدتي، الرئيس المخلوع عمر البشير، ويصطف الى جانب حركة المحتجين التي انبثقت في ديسمبر 2018. وفي الوقت نفسه، أثار رفضه لقرارات البشير ودعمه لمطالب المتظاهرين جدلاً جديداً حول شخصيته وولائه.

رفض حميدتي التورط في فض المظاهرات التي أطاحت في نهايتها بالبشير، وأقر بأن للمتظاهرين مطالب مشروعة خرجوا للتعبير عنها. وكانت نقطة التحول الكبيرة عندما خاطب حميدتي قواته العائدة من الحدود السودانية الليبية إلى منطقة طيبة الحسناب، جنوبي العاصمة الخرطوم، حيث انتقد الرجل في خطاب شهير سياسات الحكومة التي تسببت في الازمة الاقتصادية ودعا لمحاسبة كل من يعمل علي تخريب الاقتصاد من الفاسدين أيَاً كانت وجهته.

أرسل حميدتي عدة رسائل سياسية خلال ذلك الخطاب، وأكد أن الدعم السريع يقف بالمرصاد للمندسين والمتمردين و المهربين والمخربين، لافتاً الى أن مهمة قواته هي حماية البلاد والحدود وليس قمع المحتجين. ويقول شهود عيان أن قوات حميدتي تدخلت في الايام الاخيرة الحاسمة من اعتصام المحتجين في الخرطوم لحماية المعتصمين من هجمات المليشيات المسلحة الاسلامية الموالية للنظام.

معادلة سياسية جديدة

بعد الإطاحة بالبشير واصل حميدتي إثارة انتباه الرأي العام، حيث انحاز مجدداً إلى جانب المعتصمين الذين رفضوا تولي وزير الدفاع عوض ابن عوف رئاسة المجلس العسكري، وأكد رفضه لأي حلول لا ترضي الشعب السوداني. كما طلب من قادة الانتفاضة فتح باب الحوار والتفاوض للوصول الى حلول ترضي الشعب السوداني وتجنب البلاد من الانزلاق والفوضى.

بعد الرفض الشعبي الذي قوبل به مجلس أبن عوف سارع حميدتي للاعتذار عن المشاركة فيه، وأعلن في بياٍن رسمي انحيازه لخيارات الشعب السوداني، وأكد انحيازه وقواته لخيارات الشعب السوداني بكافة اطيافه. أثارت تصريحه تشويشاً داخل المجلس العسكري، حيث أعلن أن ابن عوف قد استقال من منصبه بعد أقل من 24 ساعة من تعيينه وتعين الفريق اول عبد الفتاح البرهان الرئيس الحالي للمجلس العسكري في السودان خلفاً له

لم يجد قادة الجيش مناصاً من تعيين حميدتي في منصب نائب رئيس المجلس العسكري في السودان برئاسة البرهان لأن قواته التي استدعاها البشير لحمايته هي التي لعبت الدور الحاسم في اسقاطه. اضافةً إلى أن حميدتي كان مقرباً من الفريق عبد الفتاح برهان منذ تعاونهما معاً في الحرب الاهلية في دارفور اعوام 2004 الي 2008، ومؤخراً، كان مسئولاً عن ملف القوات السودانية في عاصفة الحزم باليمن، والتي تعتبر قوات الدعم السريع أكبر مكوناتها.

الفريق اول حميدتي متزوج من زوجتين ولديه عدد من الاطفال.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Facebook

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sudan / Faces of Sudan / Controversial Militia Leader Becomes Second in Command in Sudan

Controversial Militia Leader Becomes Second in Command in Sudan

Sudan- Hamidati
Photo: mubasher.aljazeera.net

The political future of Lieutenant General Mohamed Hamdan Dagalo, commonly known as Hemedti, has become uncertain following the bloody dispersal of protesters in Sudan’s capital Khartoum on 3 June 2019. The crackdown, which protest leaders accuse Hemedti, deputy chairman of the transitional military council, of ordering, left at least 108 people dead and hundreds injured.

Lieutenant General Mohamed Hamdan Dagalo, commonly known as Hemedti, became a high-profile and controversial figure during the last seven years of the civil war in Sudan’s Darfur region. His name was associated with the Arab militias, known as Janjaweed, that supported the government of now ousted President Omar al-Bashir. From a small trader, he quickly rose through the military ranks under the command of the notorious Musa Hilal, leader of the Mahamid tribe and wanted by the International Criminal Court in The Hague for war crimes.

In 2016, al-Bashir appointed Hemedti as commander of the Rapid Support Forces supporting the Saudi-led coalition in the war in Yemen. In return for his services, al-Bashir promoted Hemedti to the rank of major general, although he had never received any formal military training or progressed through the ranks in the usual order. He then jumped to the rank of lieutenant general before being appointed deputy chairman of the transitional military council after al-Bashir’s ouster in April 2019. Hemedti’s opponents ridicule him for being almost the only military figure in Sudan, and perhaps the world, who became lieutenant general without going through the usual military ranks.

Early years

Hemedti descends from the Arab Rizeigat tribe that lives in the western states of East Darfur and West Darfur. Although he was unable to pursue his education, he showed a clear ability to learn. He became a trader at a very young age, a profession he has held since 1991. He traded cloth and camels between Sudan, Libya and Egypt until the outbreak of war in Darfur in 2003.

He had not planned on joining the military. However, as a result of the growing instability in the region, al-Bashir called on the Arab tribes to fight the rebels, the majority of whom were from African tribes, turning the civil war into a tribal and ethnic one.

The Arab tribes initially mobilized as the irregular Popular Defence Forces, which had no official records, salaries and rights. Hemedti led a group of representatives from these forces who went to the capital Khartoum to demand that they be officially incorporated into the army. The demand was approved after the group received basic training.

Military success

In 2003, Hemedti was appointed to the Border Guard, which was largely made up of members of the Mahamid tribe. The Border Guard was instrumental in tipping the balance of the war in favour of the government, causing the rebels to become divided and pushing some of them to engage in negotiations with the government in 2004.

The Rapid Support Forces were formed in 2006 and successfully subdued the rebel Justice and Equality Movement (JEM) led by Khalil Ibrahim. This and other achievements saw the Rapid Support Forces incorporated into the National Intelligence and Security Service.

The major shift in Hemedti’s military career came in November 2017, after Hilal refused to hand over his weapons in response to international pressure on al-Bashir to disarm militias and restrict the use of weapons to regular forces only.

Hemedti’s forces were tasked with collecting Hilal’s weapons. The two sides engaged in confrontations that resulted in the death of Hilal’s brother. Following a short battle in November 2017, Hemedti’s forces captured Hilal. When al-Bashir was deposed in April 2019, it was reported that Hilal was still in prison.

Local and international criticism

The Rapid Support Forces faced widespread criticism from within and outside Sudan. Sayyid al-Sadiq al-Mahdi, head of the Ummah Party, described them as militias responsible for humanitarian violations in Darfur, comments that led to his arrest. International players, opposition civil parties and armed rebel movements claimed that the Rapid Support Forces are an extension of the notorious Janjaweed militias and rely on the Arab components in Darfur.

However, the regime denied these forces were tribe-based and repeatedly asserted that they were nationalist regular forces.

Several Sudanese cities outside Darfur recently celebrated the graduation of thousands of recruits to the Rapid Support Forces, which Hemedti considered to be “proof of the nationalist identity of these forces and evidence that they do not represent a single tribe as the enemies claim”.

In May 2014, the Rapid Support Forces accused the United Nations Hybrid Operations in Darfur (UNAMID) of profiting from the conflict in Darfur and seeking to prolong it. The accusation was in response to UN reports accusing the Rapid Support Forces of committing ‘heinous crimes’ in Darfur.

Amassing a fortune

As Sudan’s political situation became increasingly unstable, Hemedti was able to accumulate significant wealth by engaging in gold mining and cross-border trading in Darfur’s Jebel Amer area, where he forcibly seized national mines that had been dominated by Hilal. This was in addition to other trading activities that he referred to but not in detail. He also received huge but unspecified amounts of money from the participation of his troops in Yemen. He confirmed this information at a press conference following his appointment as deputy chairman of the military council, noting that he delivered $27 billion to the Central Bank of Sudan to import fuel and wheat.

Yet not even the most optimistic people would have predicted that Hemedti would align himself with the protest movement that emerged in December 2018. At the same time, his rejection of al-Bashir’s decisions and support for the demands of the protesters sparked new controversy about his personality and loyalty.

Hemedti refused to be involved in dispersing the demonstrations that eventually toppled al-Bashir, and he acknowledged that the demonstrators had legitimate demands that they had come out to express. The major turning point came when Hemedti addressed his forces returning from the Sudanese-Libyan border to Tayyibat al-Hasnab, south of Khartoum, criticizing in a now famous speech the government’s policies that brought about the country’s economic crisis and calling for those seeking to sabotage the economy to be held to account.

Hemedti sent several political messages in the speech and stressed that the Rapid Support Forces are on the lookout for rebels, insurgents, smugglers and saboteurs, pointing out that the task of his forces is to protect the country and borders and not to crack down on the protesters. According to eyewitnesses, Hemedti’s forces intervened in the final days of the protests in Khartoum to protect the protesters from attacks by Islamist armed militias loyal to the regime.

New political equation

After the ouster of al-Bashir, Hemedti continued to attract public attention, again siding with the protesters who were against Defence Minister Awad Mohamed Ahmed Ibn Auf’s appointment as chairman of the military council and rejecting any solutions that would not satisfy the Sudanese people. He also asked the leaders of the uprising to engage in dialogue and negotiations that would prevent the country from slipping into chaos.

After the popular rejection of Ibn Auf’s appointment, Hemedti was quick to announce that he would not join the military council and claimed in an official statement that he and his forces support the choices of the Sudanese people. His statement created confusion within the military council, which announced Ibn Auf had resigned less than 24 hours after his appointment and been replaced by Lieutenant General Abdel Fattah al-Burhan Abdelrahman.

The army commanders had no choice but to appoint Hemedti as deputy chairman of the military council because his forces, which al-Bashir had called on to protect him, had played a decisive role in his overthrow. In addition, Hemedti is close to al-Burhan, who was also involved in the civil war in Darfur between 2004 and 2008 and, more recently, oversaw the Sudanese forces engaged in Operation Decisive Storm in Yemen, of which the Rapid Support Forces were the largest component.

Hemedti has two wives and a number of children.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.