فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / السودان / وُجوه من السودان / المطربة ندى القلعة: جدلٌ مستمر حول السيرة والمسيرة والأنوثة

المطربة ندى القلعة: جدلٌ مستمر حول السيرة والمسيرة والأنوثة

في ساحةٍ تحتشد بالمئات من المطربين، تحظى الفنانة السودانية ندى القلعة بالقدر الأوفر من الشهرة. في بلدها، لا تشتهر فحسب بسبب ما تقدمه من أغنيات، بل أيضاً بسبب الجدل المستمر الذي ظلت تثيره من خلال أغنياتها وإطلالتها وبعض تفاصيل حياتها الفنية والشخصية، ولحضورها أيضاً في الحياة العامة.

أسمها ندى محمد عثمان، أما “القلعة” الذي اشتهرت به كلقبٍ، فهو اسم منطقة بالخرطوم كانت تسكنها عندما ظهرت كمغنية في منتصف تسعينات القرن العشرين.

ولدت في الأول من فبراير 1975، واحترفت الغناء منذ 22 عاماً. تزوجت مرتين، ولكن كلا زوجيها توفيا. زوجها الأول هو عازف الأورغن وليد حجازي الذي اقترن بها وهي في السابعة عشر من عمرها وقدمها للغناء وأنجب منها ولدها وائل، أما الثاني فهو أحمد الفكي الذي توفى في عام 2009 بعد أن أثمر زواجهما عن بنتهما ود.

أغاني البنات الهابطة

تحتوى مكتبات الأغاني السودانية بالانترنت نحو 240 أغنية لندى القلعة، منها 200 أغنية خاصة بها، أما البقية فمعظمها من الأغنيات الشعبية والأغنيات التراثية وأغنيات الحقيبة المسموعة من قبل.

تعاملت القلعة مع عدد من الشعراء والملحنين، لكنها لحنت لنفسها أيضاً 32 أغنية حسب ما أفادت إدارة الصفحة الفنية الرسمية للفنانة في الفيسبوك في تصريح لـفَنَك.

Sudan- Nada Al-Qalaa
Photo: Nada Mohammed Osman /Facebook

يميل الكثيرون إلى تصنيف أغنيات ندى القلعة ضمن ما يسمى أغاني البنات، وهو ضرب من الغناء الشعبي في السودان تؤلف أغنياته البنات وتتغنى بها، وتؤدي العروس رقصات مرسومة على إيقاعاته ونغماته كطقس من طقوس الزواج. وعلى الرغم من أن القلعة قدمت عدداً من الأغنيات من هذا النوع، إلا أنها لا توافق على وضعها في إطاره، وتقول إنها لا تميل كثيراً لهذا النوع من الغناء.

وهي بالفعل تودي أغنياتها بمصاحبة الآلات الموسيقية الحديثة بخلاف أغاني البنات التي تؤدى غالباً بمصاحبة آلات شعبية مثل “الدلوكة” و”الشتم.” كما أنها لا تمارس الغناء لترقيص العروس مثلما تفعل جُل مطربات أغاني البنات، وهي ترفض بشدة اتهامها بأداء “الأغنيات الهابطة.”

تميل ندى القلعة لأداء ما يعرف في السودان بـ “أغاني الحماسة،” وهي نوع قديم من الغناء الشعبي يتم فيه تمجيد قيم الرجولة والفروسية والشهامة والكرم عند الرجال، وغالباً يؤلف كلمات هذه الأغاني النساء. كما اشتهرت القلعة بتقديم نوع من أغاني النصح الاجتماعي الموجه غالباً للنساء والشباب، وتعد أغنيتها “راجل السترة” من أشهر ما قدمته في هذا الإطار. وأثارت أغنيتها “خبر الشوم” التي وصفت فيها سلوك المثليين الرجال وهاجمتهم بشدة، ضجةً كبيرة عندما أطلقتها في العام 2015 وجرى منعها من قبل مجلس المصنفات الأدبية والفنية.

أداء متحرر ومواقف محافظة

تعبر القلعة من خلال أغنياتها والمقابلات الإعلامية التي تجري معها عن آراء تقليدية محافظة حول الحياة الاجتماعية والأدوار الجندرية لكلٍ من الرجل والمرأة.

لا تنبع شعبية ندى القلعة والاهتمام الذي تثيره من أغنياتها فقط، فهي تحظى بنصيبٍ وافر من الجمال الأنثوي وفقاً لمعاييره في الثقافة السودانية السائدة، كما أنها شديدة الاهتمام بمظهرها وبتفاصيله من ماكياج وتسريحة شعر وأزياء وزينة وإكسسوارات، لدرجة أنها أصبحت إيقونةً للأناقة ونموذجاً يُحتذى به من قبل النساء السودانيات. وباتت ثيابها ونقشات الحناء التي تظهر بها تشكل موضة تستمر إلى حين ظهورها بهيئة جديدة.

كتب عنها المفكر السوداني الدكتور حيدر إبراهيم: “أصبحت ندى القلعة إيقونة ورمزاً، بل مرجعية في بعض تفاصيل مرتبطة بالشكل والموضة والسلوك. فهي ليست مجرد مغنية وصوت بل سلعة ثقافية، أي انه يمكن تداولها وإعادة إنتاج بعض عناصرها. وتدرك ندى كيف تمارس سلطتها في الاختلاف من خلال اللبس والزينة. فقد قدمت أشكالاً جديدة لنقش الحناء، وقدمت شكلاً للشعر بين الإخفاء والإظهار.”

ووصفها الكاتب الدكتور حسن موسى بأنها “صرح جمالي شعبي كبير،” إذ كتب: “في فيديوهاتها لا يمكن للمشاهد أن يغفل عن تلقي علامات الأنوثة الطاغية التي تفرض نفسها على كل من ينظر في تصاوير وفيديوهات المغنية الشعبية. فهي تعرض عنايتها الفائقة بـما بدا و ما لم يبد من زينتها، وهي عناية أهلتها لتصبح مرجعاً في زينة الجسد الشاب المؤنث المراوح بين معاني الجمالية الجسدية للمجتمع التقليدي التي تغنى بها شعراء الحقيبة وآخر صيحات صالونات التجميل الشرق أوسطية.”

نجاح ندى القلعة مع أثرياء نيجيريا

أكثر ما أثار اللغط في مسيرة ندى القلعة الفنية حتى الآن هو رحلاتها إلى نيجيريا، فقد ذهبت إلى هناك أكثر من مرة بدعوة من حاكم ولاية مايدوقري السيناتور علي الشريف لإحياء حفلاتٍ خاصة. القلعة أخذت أجراً كبيراً جداً في هذه الرحلات وصل إلى مائة ألف دولار أمريكي في حفلةٍ واحدة، غير حصيلة “النقطة،” إضافة إلى سيارة ليكزس وهاتف خليوي من الذهب والألماس هدية من الشريف.

وظهرت في احد الفيديوهات وهي تتوسط كومة كبيرة من الأوراق المالية التي غطت سريرها، كما ظهرت في فيديو آخر وهي تغني وترقص في إحدى حفلات الشريف بزي غير الزي السوداني التقليدي الذي اعتادت الظهور به في السودان. كل ذلك أثار موجة من الهمس واللمز في الأوساط السودانية عن طبيعة علاقتها بشريف نيجيريا، وصاحب ذلك هجوم كثيف عليها وطعن صريح ومستتر في سمعتها و”عفتها” وأخلاقها.

تصدت القلعة للحملة ضدها وأكدت أن الأجر الكبير الذي أخذته جاء تقديراً لفنها فقط دون غيره، وصاغت دفاعها في أغنية “الشريف مبسوط منى” التي أحدثت ضجة إضافية عندما سخر منها الكثيرون واعتبروا أنها أغنية هابطة وركيكة.

وفي السنوات الأخيرة حرصت القلعة على عدم الاكتفاء بتقديم نفسها كفنانة تقتصر مهمتها على الغناء، فابتدرت مبادراتٍ وشاركت في أنشطةٍ تصب في مجرى العمل الاجتماعي العام، ومن ذلك قيامها بتفقد ومواساة ضحايا السيول والأمطار في عام 2015 وتقديم المساعدات لهم، وإحيائها حفلة يعود ريعها لصالحهم وأداء أغنية عنهم. وفي العام 2016 نظمت القلعة حملة لدعم بائعات الشاي بالعاصمة الخرطوم، وأبدت تعاطفها مع “عمال الدرداقات” الذين يقتاتون من مساعدة المشترين في الأسواق في حمل مشترياتهم في عربات تدفع بالأيدي. وفي سبتمبر من العام الجاري 2018 أطلقت القلعة مبادرة للتضامن مع سكان مدينة كسلا في مواجهة حمي الشيكونغونيا التي اجتاحت المدينة، وأطلقت ضمن الحملة أغنيتها الجديدة “كسلا كفارة وسلامة.”

إدارة الظهر للمثقفين

يقول حسن موسى: “إن سر شعبية ندى القلعة لا يكمن في قدرتها على التطريب وحده لأنها تستثمر في سبيل بناء جماهيريتها جملة من أقنعة الاتصال التقليدية والحديثة التي تمنح حضورها في الفضاء العام أكثر من وجه. فهي تدخل بقناع الفنانة المطربة، لكنها أيضاً تحمل قناع الأنثى التي لا تخجل من أنوثتها ولا تخفيها في الفضاء الذكوري العام، لقناع الخبيرة في العلاقات العاطفية التي تسدي النصح للمحبين، لقناع الأم ربة الأسرة الرؤوم التي تتفانى في توفير أسباب التربية القويمة والتعليم النافع لفلذات كبدها، لغاية قناع الناشطة الاجتماعية التي تدافع عن قيم التراث الثقافي السوداني الأصيل.”

وعموماً، فإن ندى القلعة فنانة للعامة، فهي لا تروق كثيراً للمثقفين. ويتهمها المعارضون بالتعاون مع “النظام الديكتاتوري” الحاكم في السودان (نظام الانقاذ)، وذهب بعضهم لاتهامها بأنها عضو في جهاز الأمن التابع للنظام، وازداد هجوم المعارضين عليها عندما شاع أن السلطة دعتها للمشاركة في مؤتمر الحوار الوطني الذي انعقد في عامي 2015 و2016 وقاطعته قوى المعارضة الرئيسية، على الرغم من أنها لم تشارك في المؤتمر ولكنها أحيت حفلاً على هامشه.

لكن للدكتور حيدر إبراهيم رأيٌ آخر، فهو يعتبر أن ندى القلعة تمثل “ثقافة مضادة لثقافة الهيمنة الرسمية،” وإنها والنظام الحاكم “نموذجين متناقضين.” فقد قال لفَنَك: “الجهود المبذولة من قبل الدولة والأجهزة الرسمية لفرض ثقافة ذات طابع ديني، والأموال المخصصة لهذه الغاية، والقمع، لم تستطع جميعها إلغاء ظاهرة ندى القلعة وغيرها من الظواهر الثقافية والفنية التي تحرج «المشروع الحضاري».” فندى القلعة تتحداه وتحاربه وتضعفه. وتقدم ندى القلعة (بوعي أو لاوعي) ثقافة مقاومة وممانعة لا تريد أن تكون جزءاً من الثقافة الكبرى. وبحسب إبراهيم “تحاول أن تبث الفرح والحياة والحب بينما وبالمقابل، يقدم «الإنقاذ» ثقافة الموت والحقد والكراهية.”

ويرد الكاتب اليساري الفاضل الهاشمي على الدكتور إبراهيم، معتبراً أن تحليله غير ملم بسيرة ندى القلعة، وباتهامها بأنها ضابطة أمن. فقد أشار إلى أن الدكتور إبراهيم لم يشاهدها “وهى تغني للسلطة والوالي والأمن،” ويقول: “ندى مغنية تستغل السوق السياسي الطفيلي السوداني كما يستغله رجال الأعمال/الساسة” وهي “ليست بصدد أضعاف السلطة ومحاربتها، بل تقويتها؛ ولكم استخدمت دبابيسها الصغيرة لتنفيس الحراك الشعبي المقاوم مباشرة أو غير مباشرة كسلعة ثقافية للاستهلاك والثراء والإلهاء.” ويصف الهاشمي ما اسماه “ثقافة ندى” بأنها “ثقافة فرعية سياسية فجة،” و”رجعية وذكورية.”

ويعلق حسن موسى معتبراً أن كل من إبراهيم والهاشمي حملا القلعة “أحمالاً سياسية تفوق طاقتها المفهومية كفنانة شعبية.” ويقول إن ندى القلعة “فنانة من غمار الشعب تدخل على صناعتها بالحس العفوي،” مُضيفاً أن جمهورها “لا يطلب منها ما يتجاوز إمكاناتها كمغنية شعبية.”ووفقاً لموسى فهي في هذا السبيل “تكشف عن فراسة أنثروبولوجية غريزية ترسم صورة للعلاقة مع الجمهور، وتخاطبه بلغة وبإشارات يفهمها،” وأضاف أنها “تدير ظهرها للصفوة المثقفة لتخاطب شعب الحواضر المشبوح بين أحابيل الحنين للحياة في الفردوس الريفي المفقود ومقتضيات الحياة الحديثة وصعوباتها المادية والرمزية.”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Facebook | ©Facebook

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Sudan / Faces of Sudan / The Ongoing Debate About The Biography, Career and Femininity of Singer Nada Al-Qalaa

The Ongoing Debate About The Biography, Career and Femininity of Singer Nada Al-Qalaa

On a square crowded with hundreds of singers, the Sudanese artist Nada Al-Qalaa stood as the most famous. In her country, she is well-known not only because of her music career, but also for the ongoing controversies she has raised through her songs, her appearance and details about her artistic and personal life, as well as her presence in public life.

Her real name is Nada Mohammed Osman . Al-Qalaa was a nickname that she chose, after the district in Khartoum where she lived when she first emerged as a singer in the mid-1990s. She was born on 1 February 1975 and has been singing for 22 years.

She got married twice, but both of her husbands died. Her first husband was the organist Walid Hijazi, whom she married at the age of seventeen. He was the person who first introduced her to singing. Nada has a son, named Wael, who she had with her husband Hijazi. Her second husband was Ahmad al-Faki, who died in 2009. They had a daughter called Wudd.

Low-Level Girls Songs

Nida al-Qalaa has posted approximately 240 songs online, 200 of which are her own songs, while the rest are mostly popular and traditional songs, as well as Al-Hageeba songs.

Al-Qalaa has worked with a number of poets and composers, but she composed 32 songs by herself, the administrator of her official artistic page on Facebook told Fanack.com.

Sudan- Nada Al-Qalaa
Photo: Nada Mohammed Osman /Facebook ©Facebook

Many tend to classify the songs of Nada Al-Qalaa as so-called “women’s songs”, a popular type of songs in Sudan that is composed and sung by girls. This music style is prominent in Sudanese weddings, where one of the rituals of marriage is that the bride performs dances on the rhythms and melodies of such songs. Although Al-Qalaa has produced a number of songs of that kind, she disagrees with this labeling and doesn’t like her songs to be classified as such.

She says that she does not tend to agree with this type of singing. She performs her songs accompanied by modern musical instruments, unlike other women’s songs, that are often accompanied by popular instruments such as “Al-Dalukah” and “Al-Shatam“. Besides, she does not sing songs for brides to dance on, unlike most singers of women’s songs, and she strongly refuses to be accused of performing “low-level songs.”

Nada al-Qalaa tends to perform what is known in Sudan as “songs of enthusiasm,” an old form of folkloric singing in which the values of manhood, equestrianism, honor and generosity are celebrated by men. Most of the time, the lyrics of these songs are composed by women. Al-Qalaa has also become famous for providing the kind of songs that give social advice for women and young people. Her song “Rajil al-Sutrah [Husband Is Source of Protection for Woman Against Shame]” is one of her most famous songs in this category. Her song “Khabar al-Shu’m [Ominous News]” , which was released in 2015, describes the behavior of some young people who choose not to follow social and religious norms.

The song heavily criticizes gay men. It was banned by the Council of Literary and Artistic Works.

Liberal Performance and Conservative Attitudes

Through her songs and media interviews, Al-Qalaa expresses traditional conservative views on social life and gender roles of men and women.

The popularity of Nada Al-Qalaa does not only emanate from her songs. She is a beautiful woman, according to the prevailing standards in the Sudanese culture. She also pays good attention to her appearance and always has great makeup, hairstyle, fashion, and accessories. She has become an icon of elegance and a role model to be followed by Sudanese women. Her dress and henna designs regularly become a fashion that lasts until she appears in a new look again.

Sudanese thinker Dr. Haidar Ibrahim described Al-Qalaa by saying: “Nada Al-Qalaa has become an icon and a symbol, and she is a point of reference on some details related to shape, fashion, and behavior. She is not just a singer and a voice, but a cultural commodity that can be circulated and some of whose elements can be reproduced. She knows how to exert power by being different from others in terms of clothing and fashion. She has provided new forms of henna designs and hairstyles.”

Writer Dr. Hassan Musa has described her as “a great public aesthetic figure.” He has said: “Viewers cannot ignore the overwhelming femininity of her look in the footage and videos of her popular songs. She pays great attention to her appearance and looks very attractive, which qualified her to become a role model in terms of the beauty of the body of young females, representing physical aestheticism of the traditional society and becoming the source of inspiration for poets of Al-Hageeba and the latest fashions of beauty salons in the Middle East.”

Nada al-Qalaa’s Success with Wealthy Nigerians

The most controversial point on Nada Al-Qalaa’s artistic career has been raised by her trips to Nigeria. She has gone there more than once at the invitation of the Governor of Maidukri province, the Senator Ali Modu Al-Sharif, to perform special concerts there.

Al-Qalaa was paid very handsome sums of money for these concerts, receiving as much as 100,000 US dollars for one concert in addition to tips, a Lexus car and a mobile phone made of gold and diamond, which were gifts from Al-Sharif. She appeared in one of the videos in the middle of a piles of money that covered her bed, and in another video she appeared singing and dancing at one of Al-Sharif’s parties in an outfit other than the traditional Sudanese one she is used to wear in Sudan.

All of this raised much noise in the Sudanese circles about the nature of her relationship with the Nigerian Senator Ali Al-Sharif, accompanied by a strong campaign against her and clear and implicit attack on her reputation, “chastity” and morals.

Al-Qalaa confronted the campaign launched against her and confirmed that the great reward she had received for her concerts in Nigeria was only in appreciation of her art. She also orchestrated her defense in a song named “Al-Sharif Mabsut Minni [Al-Sharif Is Pleased With Me],” which caused an additional uproar as it was ridiculed by many who considered it to be a “low-level” and awkward song.

In recent years, Al-Qalaa has endeavored not only to present herself as an artist whose main job is to sing, but she has also taken initiatives and participated in activities that contribute to public social work. This includes visiting the Sudanese victims of floods and rains in 2015, providing them with aid, performing concerts, the revenues of which went to the victims, and singing a song about them. In 2016, Al-Qalaa organized a campaign to support female tea vendors in the country’s capital, Khartoum, and expressed her sympathy for the “dardaqat” workers [porters], who earn a living by helping buyers in the market to carry their purchases in hand-driven vehicles. In September 2018, Al-Qalaa launched a campaign of solidarity with Kassala residents to confront the Chikungunya fever that swept through the city, and she released a new song titled “Kassala Kafara & Salama [Kassala Do Not Be Sad; We Salute You]”.

Turning Back on Intellectuals

Dr. Hassan Mousa said: “The secret of the popularity of Nada Al-Qalaa lies not only in her ability to improvise as a singer, but also because she seeks to create her popularity through a number of traditional and modern ways of communication that allow her to appear in different faces in public. She has the image of a female singer, but she is also a female that is not ashamed of her femininity, which she does not hide in the masculine-dominated society in public. She is also an expert in emotional relations who gives advice to lovers, and acts like a compassionate mother who is dedicated to providing proper and useful education to her children. Also, she acts as a social activist who defends the values of the original Sudanese cultural heritage. ”

Generally speaking, Nada Al-Qalaa is an artist for the public, and the intellectuals do not like her very much. The country’s political opposition has accused her of collaborating with Sudan’s “dictatorial regime” (the “salvation” regime). Some have accused her of being a member of the regime’s security apparatus, and the opposition intensified their attacks when it was rumored that the Sudanese authorities invited her to participate in the National Dialogue Conference held in 2015 and 2016. The event was boycotted by the main opposition forces, though Al-Qalaa did not participate in the conference but performed a concert on its sidelines.

Dr. Haidar Ibrahim has another opinion on the singer. He considers Nada Al-Qalaa to be representing a “culture opposed to the culture of official hegemony” and that Al-Qalaa and the ruling regime are “two contradictory models.” He told Fanack that efforts by the state and official agencies to impose a religious culture, including the money they spend on this goal and all the crackdown, were not able to abolish the phenomenon of Nada al-Qalaa and other cultural and artistic phenomena that are seen as a cause of degradation of the country’s “civilizational project“. Al-Qalaa defies, fights and weakens that project, and she (consciously or subconsciously) nurtures the culture of resistance and opposition for those who do not want to be part of the greater culture. “She tries to spread joy, life and love while “the salvation” government offers a culture of death, hatred and abhorrence,” according to Ibrahim.

Left-wing writer Al-Fadil al-Hashemi commented on Dr. Ibrahim’s opinion and said that his analysis does not provide thorough knowledge about Nada Al-Qalaa by accusing her of being a security agent. He noted that Dr. Ibrahim did not see Al-Qalaa when she “was singing for the authorities, the governor, and the security.” He added that “Nada is a singer who exploits the parasite-like Sudanese political market, just like what businessmen and politicians do” and that “she does not aim to weaken or fight the authorities, but strengthen them; she had been repeatedly used to vent out popular resistance, whether directly or indirectly, as a cultural commodity exploited for consumption, wealth and distraction.” Al-Hashemi describes what he called “Nada’s culture” as “a ruthless political culture” and a “reactionary and masculine” one.

Hassan Musa commented that both Ibrahim and al-Hashemi had placed “more political burdens on Al-Qalaa than she can bear as a popular artist.” He said that “Nada al-Qalaa is an artist emanating from the people and is spontaneous,” adding that her audience “does not ask her opinion beyond her potential as a popular singer.” According to Musa, Al-Qalaa “reveals an instinctive anthropology that paints a picture of a relationship with the audience”. He said that “she speaks a language that the audience understands” and added that “she turns her back on the educated elite to focus on the people of cities that are torn between the nostalgic lifestyles of the lost rural paradise, on the one hand, and the requirements of modern life and material and symbolic difficulties, on the other hand.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Facebook | ©Facebook

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.