فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / السودان / وُجوه من السودان / الرئيس عمر البشير

الرئيس عمر البشير

Sudan- Omar al-Bashir
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ASHRAF SHAZLY

هيمن البشير على سياسة البلاد لثلاثة عقود منذ أن وصل إلى السلطة في انقلابٍ عسكري دبرته الجبهة الإسلامية القومية (حركة الاخوان المسلمين السودانية) على الحكومة المنتخبة ديموقراطياً. تعدّ فترة حكمه الذي استمرت 30 عاماً أطول فترة حكمٍ لزعيم في التاريخ المعروف المدون للسودان.

وكان قد اعلن حزب المؤتمر الوطني الحاكم في السودان في اغسطس 2018 عن استعداده لترشيح الرئيس عمر البشير لولايةٍ رئاسية جديدة في قد الانتخابات الرئاسية التي ستجري عام 2020 وتعديل الدستور الذي يحدد الولاية الرئاسية بخمس سنوات ولا يسمح للرئيس بأكثر من فترتين. لكن هذه الجهود فشلت.

خلال هذه الفترة الطويلة أظهر العميد عمر حسن البشير، الذي رقى نفسه لرتبة الفريق صبيحة يوم الانقلاب ثم إلى مشير فيما بعد، قدرة فائقة في الحفاظ على كرسيه واقصاء منافسيه ومعارضيه واستغلال توازنات القوى داخل السلطة وخارجها واللعب على جميع الحبال. كما اظهر مهارة في المراوغة والافلات من الازمات والمآزق الكثيرة التي أحاطت بفترة حكمه مثل نشوب حرب أهلية في دارفور عام 2003 وانفصال جنوب السودان عام 2011، واستخراج واستثمار البترول الذي يعد من إنجازاته القليلة.

واليوم، يستعد الرئيس البشير للتقدم لدورة رئاسية جديدة يمكن اعتبارها السابعة بحساب السنوات، مخلفاً وعده عام 2010 بأنه لن يترشح لانتخابات 2015 ثم تأكيده في 2015 انه لن يترشح عام 2020.

مجلس الثورة

تولى عمر البشير السلطة عام 1989 باسم رئيس مجلس قيادة ثورة الإنقاذ الوطني الذي كان يضم خمسة عشر عضواً جميهم من ضباط الجيش واحتفظ البشير لنفسه بمنصب وزير الدفاع. مارس مجلس قيادة الثورة السلطة التشريعية والتنفيذية مع مجلس وزاري مختلط من العسكريين والمدنيين بمساندة خفية وقوية من قيادات الحركة الإسلامية السودانية التي انكرت صلتها بالانقلاب العسكري في بادئ الامر بالرغم من انها كانت تتحكم فعلياً في توجهات النظام بقيادة العراب حسن الترابي.

في أكتوبر 1993 تم حل مجلس قيادة الثورة، وقام المجلس التشريعي المعين الذي كان يرأسه احد أعضاء مجلس قيادة الثورة بتعيين عمر البشير رئيساً للجمهورية والجنرال الزبير محمد صالح نائباً له، فيما اعتبر اضعافاً كبيراً لسلطة العسكريين وتدعيماً لنفوذ الإسلاميين في الحكم لكن المعادلة تغيرت فيما بعد.

بحثاً عن شرعية شعبية ودستورية أجريت انتخابات رئاسية وبرلمانية في العام 1996 فاز فيها البشير بنسبة 75% من الأصوات دون منافسة جدية فيما قاطعت أحزاب المعارضة، التي كانت محظورة فعلياً، تلك الانتخابات وانتخب زعيم الحركة الإسلامية وعراب النظام الدكتور الشيخ حسن الترابي رئيساَ للبرلمان.

الانقسام السياسي

بدأت نذر الخلافات والصراع على السلطة بين البشير والترابي منذ وقتٍ مبكر لكنها تفاقمت خاصةً بعد وفاة اللواء الزبير صالح نائب رئيس الجمهورية، الذي كان يلعب دوراً مهماً في ضبط العلاقة بين الطرفين، والذي قُتل في حادث سقوط طائرة عسكرية، غير مبرر، في جنوب السودان في 1998.

في ديسمبر 1999 بدأت ما يسميه الإسلاميون في السودان بـ “المفاصلة” بمحاولة الترابي الحد من سلطة البشير واجراء تعديلٍ دستوري يسمح بالانتخاب المباشر لولاة الولايات بدلاً من تعيينهم بواسطة رئيس الجمهورية. وانتهت المفاصلة بحل البرلمان الذي كان يرأسه الترابي بعد أن انحاز معظم أنصاره وتلاميذه للرئيس البشير في معركة كسر العظام التي استمرت لأعوام. ولم يتورع البشير عن اعتقال وسجن شيخ الحركة الإسلامية لفترات طويلة عدة مرات.

فقد تساءل كثيرون عن أسباب تخلي أتباع الترابي المخلصين عن زعيمهم التاريخي.وتقول بعض الروايات أن انحياز مساعدي الترابي، خاصة نائب رئيس الجمهورية آنذاك علي عثمان طه احد تلاميذ الترابي المقربين، كان بسبب رغبتهم في حماية انفسهم بعد أن تورطوا، من خلف ظهر شيخهم، في محاولة اغتيال الرئيس المصري الأسبق حسني مبارك في أديس أبابا في يونيو 1995. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، لم يكونوا مستعدين للتخلي عن المناصب ذات النفوذ التي مكنتهم من جني الملايين من المال العام، وفقاً للاتهامات التي أطلقها الترابي لاحقاً.

سلام الجنوب وانفصاله

في عام 2000، اُعيد انتخاب البشير رئيساً للجمهورية طليق اليد مستفرداً بالسلطة وقد تخفف من ثقل الإسلاميين دون ان يستبعدهم مستنداً على ولاء الجيش وأجهزة الامن له. وتوجه بعدها لشاغله الاكثر أهمية وهي الحرب الاهلية في الجنوب التي ساق اليها آلاف الشبان الذين قتلوا هناك تحت شعارات إسلامية جهادية صاخبة دون تحقيق النصر العسكري الحاسم الذي كان يعد به. وتصاعدت الضغوط المحلية والعالمية الداعية لحل سلمي متفاوض عليه حتى تم التوصل لاتفاقية السلام الشامل في التاسع من يناير عام 2005. واضطر البشير مرة أخرى للقبول باقتسام السلطة مع الحركة الشعبية لتحرير السودان بزعامة العقيد جون قرنق وهو خصم سياسي وأيديولوجي محنك يحظى بدعم وطني ودولي وطيد. ومع ذلك، ضمن الدستور الانتقالي لسنة 2005 خمس سنوات أخرى للرئيس البشير في مقعده دون انتخابات وتولى جون قرنق منصب النائب الأول لرئيس الجمهورية لكنه سرعان ما قضى نحبه في 30 يونيو 2005 في حادث سقوط طائرة عامودية مرةً أخرى. واعيد انتخاب الرئيس البشير رئيساً عام 2010 بعد انسحابٍ غامض لمنافسه ياسر عرمان مرشح الحركة الشعبية لتحرير السودان.

تبخرت وعود العمل المشترك لوحدة جاذبة بين حكومة البشير والحركة الشعبية لتحرير السودان وقضيا خمس سنوات من المماحكة ووضع العصي في دواليب بعضها حتى انفصل الجنوب باستفتاء جهير في 9 يوليو 2011. فمن النادر في التاريخ الحديث أن احتفظ رئيس بمنصبه بعد انفصال جزء من البلاد بسبب سياساته، إلا ان البشير نجح في ذلك أيضاً.

أول رئيس مطلوب جنائياً

من أصعب وأعقد ما يواجه الرئيس البشير من عقبات، العزلة الدولية الصارمة التي فرضت عليه منذ صدور قرار المدعي العام لدى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية لويس مورينو أوكامبو، في لاهاي عام 2008، بإحالته على المحكمة وصدور مذكرة توقيف بحقه بتهم تتعلق بارتكاب جرائم حرب وجرائم ضد الإنسانية في الحرب الاهلية في دارفور. تم الترحيب بقرار الاتهام في المناطق المضطربة في السودان وبين جماعات المعارضة. ومع ذلك، لم يتمكن قادة المعارضة في العاصمة الخرطوم من دعم قرار المحكمة الجنائية الدولية علانية. كان الترابي فحسب من تجرأ على مطالبة البشير بتسليم نفسه إلى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية، مما أسفر عن قضائه عدة أشهر في السجن.

نتيجةً لذلك القرار، لم تطأ قدم البشير أرض أي دولةٍ غربية، بيد أنه كان حراً في السفر إلى باقي دول العالم، بما فيها غالبية الدول الافريقية ودول الشرق الأوسط، وإيران، والصين وروسيا. وعلاوةً على ذلك، صدرت عشرات القرارات الأممية الأخرى ضد السودان وفرضت أمريكا عقوباتٍ اقتصادية كلفت البلاد 50 مليار دولار حسب مصادر سودانية.

مناورٌ بارع

عرف البشير دائماً كيف يستغل خصومات من حوله للتلاعب بهم وتصفية حساباته، فعلى سبيل المثال، استعان بنائب الرئيس وقتها، على عثمان طه، لإقصاء الترابي. كما استعان بنائب الرئيس الحالي الجنرال بكري حسن صالح، العسكري الوحيد الذي بقى معه من الانقلابين، لاستبعاد على عثمان ورجل النظام القوي نافع علي نافع وتهميشهما بعد ان تركهما يتصارعان لبعض الوقت.

ولم يعرف عنه رأفة قط بخصومه جماعاتٍ وأفراد، فقد نفذ حكم الإعدام الفوري على 28 ضابطاً من القوات المسلحة بعد ساعاتٍ قليلة من فشل محاولة انقلابية في ابريل 1990. وشهد عهده ابشع أنواع التنكيل بالمعتقلين السياسيين في بيوت الاشباح. واعتقل وسجن مدير جهاز الامن الوطني الجنرال صلاح قوش الذي عاونه في التخلص من الترابي في ابريل 2012 قبل أن يعيده رئيساً لجهاز الامن عام في فبراير 2018. كما قتلت أجهزة امنه العشرات من المتظاهرين السلميين الشباب في شوارع الخرطوم خلال مظاهرات استغرقت اقل من أسبوع في سبتمبر 2013. وأمر البشير بقصف قرى دارفور وقتل مئات الالاف منهم ممن لتمردهم على سلطته وفعل ذلك لاحقاً في منطقة جبال النوبة.

كما أن البشير لم يتوان أيضاً من تقديم الرشاوى السخية لرجاله وأنصاره وسمح لهم بالإثراء بالفساد والصفقات المشبوهة وشراء ممتلكات القطاع العام التي تمت خصخصتها بأبخس الاثمان.

حتى في العلاقات الخارجية اتخذ البشير نفس النهج البراغماتي المراوغ وحاول ونجح أحياناً في اللعب على حبال متقاطعة. فقد أيّد بدايةً غزو صدام حسين للكويت وتحالف مع ايران، وفتح موانئ السودان لسفنها الحربية واقام مجمعاً للصناعات الحربية بدعم إيراني. ثم طرد الإيرانيين من الخرطوم ليتحالف مع السعودية والامارات ويرسل الجيش السوداني للمشاركة في حرب اليمن مقابل مساعداتٍ مالية. لكنه لا يزال يغازل محور قطرتركيا المناوئ للسعوديين، ويحتفظ بعلاقاتٍ دافئة مع تركيا. وتحالف مع الارتريين ضد أثيوبيا في بداية عهده ليبدل موقفه فيما بعد حليفاً لأثيوبيا ضد ارتريا.

سيرة الرئيس

ولد عمر حسن احمد البشير في يناير 1940 في قرية حوش بانقا، 180 كيلومتراً شمالي الخرطوم وينتمي لقبيلة الجعليين الكبيرة وهو الثاني بين اثنى عشر اخاً واختاً، وكان والده يعمل في وظيفة كتابية صغيرة في شركة في الخرطوم وقد قتل شقيقه الأصغر عثمان في حرب الجنوب اثناء رئاسته وتدور الكثير الشائعات حول الثروات الطائلة التي جمعها اشقائه بعد توليه الرئاسة .

تخرج البشير من الكلية الحربية السودانية عام 1967 ثم نال ماجستير العلوم العسكرية بكلية القادة والأركان عام 1981، ثم ماجستير العلوم العسكرية من ماليزيا في عام 1983. عمل في الإمارات العربية المتحدة لبعض الوقت في الثمانينيات. عمل في الكثير من وحدات الجيش في مختلف انحاء البلاد وشارك في حرب الجنوب وحقق انتصاراً مهماً حيث استولت قوة بقيادته على قاعدة للحركة الشعبية لتحرير السودان في منطقة ميوم في جنوب السودان عام 1988، حيث كانت هذه أول مرة يظهر فيها في الاعلام السوداني. توطدت علاقته بالحركة الإسلامية خلال الثمانينيات لكن لم يتم ضمه للحلقة العسكرية الانقلابية إلا قبل أيام قليلة من تنفيذ الانقلاب.

الرئيس البشير متزوج من امرأتين، الاولي ابنة عمه السيدة فاطمة خالد التي تزوجها في بداية السبعينيات ثم تزوج السيدة وداد بابكر في مارس 2002 وهي ارملة العقيد إبراهيم شمس الدين عضو مجلس قيادة ثورة الإنقاذ الذي لقى مصرعه عام 2001. ولم يرزق البشير بذرية من زوجتيه.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ASHRAF SHAZLY

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sudan / Faces of Sudan / President Omar al-Bashir

President Omar al-Bashir

Sudan- Omar al-Bashir
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ASHRAF SHAZLY

Al-Bashir has dominated the country’s politics since coming to power in a military coup organized by the Sudan-based National Islamic Front (the Muslim Brotherhood offshoot in Sudan) against the democratically elected government for three decades. His 30-year tenure makes him the longest serving president in Sudan’s history.

Sudan’s ruling National Congress Party (NCP) announced in August 2018 that it was ready to nominate President Omar al-Bashir for a new term in the 2020 presidential elections and to amend the constitution stipulating that the presidential term be no longer than five years and that the president may not serve more than two terms. That effort failed.

During this period, al-Bashir, initially a brigadier general who promoted himself to the rank of lieutenant general on the morning of the coup and later to marshal, has shown remarkable staying power, removing rivals and opponents and deftly manipulating disputes to further his own interests. He has also been adept at prevaricating, evading the many crises and controversies that have surrounded his rule, such as the outbreak of civil war in Darfur in 2003 and the secession of South Sudan in 2011. One of his few achievements is the exploitation of Sudan’s petroleum resources.

He is now preparing for a new presidential term which could be his seventh, despite promising in 2010 that he would not run in the 2015 elections and confirming again in 2015 that he would not run in the 2020 elections.

Revolutionary Command Council

Al-Bashir took power in 1989 as leader of the Revolutionary Command Council for National Salvation, which consisted of 15 members, all of them army officers. He appointed himself defence minister. The Revolutionary Command Council exercised its legislative and executive powers with a cabinet consisting of both military and civilian personnel secretly but strongly backed by the Islamic Movement. The movement, led by Hassan al-Turabi, initially denied links with the military coup although it effectively controlled the regime.

The Revolutionary Command Council was dissolved in 1993. The designated Legislative Council, headed by one of the members of the Revolutionary Command Council, appointed al-Bashir as president and General Zubair Muhammad Saleh as vice president. This was seen as an attempt to weaken Sudan’s military authority and cement the Islamist influence in the government. However, the equation changed at a later stage.

In search of popular and constitutional legitimacy, presidential and parliamentary elections were held in 1996, in which al-Bashir won 75 per cent of the votes and did not face any serious competition. Opposition parties, which were effectively banned, boycotted the elections. Al-Turabi was elected parliamentary speaker.

The Political Divide

The disputes and power struggles between al-Bashir and al-Turabi began early but were exacerbated after Saleh, who played an important role as mediator between the two men, was killed in an unexplained plane crash in southern Sudan in 1998.

In December 1999, what the Islamists described as ‘the divide’ (al-Mufasala) reached its peak with al-Turabi’s attempt to curb al-Bashir’s authority and make a constitutional amendment allowing the direct election of the state’s governors instead of the president appointing them. The dispute ended with the dissolution of the parliament, after most of al-Turabi’s followers sided with al-Bashir. Al-Bashir cemented his victory by detaining al-Turabi – the first of several such detentions.

Many wondered why al-Turabi’s faithful followers had abandoned their historical leader. According to some accounts, many of al-Turabi’s senior aides, notably Vice President Ali Osman Taha, were trying to save their own necks as they were linked to the assassination attempt on Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak in the Ethiopian capital Addis Ababa in June 1995. In addition, they were unwilling to give up the powerful positions that enabled them to pocket millions in public funds, according to accusations al-Turabi made later.

Peace and Separation of the South

In 2000, al-Bashir was re-elected president. He was given a free hand to monopolize power, and he could relieve himself of the burden of Islamists without excluding them , relying on the loyalty of the army and security services. He was preoccupied with the civil war in the south at the time, mobilizing thousands of young men who were killed under strident Islamic and jihadist slogans without achieving the decisive military victory he had promised. Local and international pressure for a peaceful and negotiated solution escalated until the Comprehensive Peace Agreement was reached on 9 January 2005. Al-Bashir was again forced to accept power-sharing with the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM) led by Colonel John Garang, a veteran political and ideological opponent of al-Bashir’s who received strong national and international support. However, the 2005 transitional constitution guaranteed al-Bashir an additional five years in power without elections. Garang assumed the post of vice president but he died in a helicopter crash on 30 July 2005. Al-Bashir was re-elected in 2010 after the mysterious withdrawal of his rival, SPLM candidate Yasir Arman.

The promises of joint action and unity between al-Bashir’s government and the SPLM evaporated, and five years of squabbling and obstruction followed until the south separated from the north following a referendum on 9 January 2011. It is rare in recent history that a president has retained his position after part of the country seceded because of his policies, but here too al-Bashir was successful.

First President wanted on Criminal Charges

The most complicated issue facing al-Bashir is the international isolation he has faced since the decision in 2008 by Luis Moreno-Ocampo, prosecutor of the International Criminal Court (ICC) in The Hague, to indict him on charges of war crimes and crimes against humanity in the civil war in Darfur. The indictment was welcomed in the troubled areas of Sudan and among opposition groups. However, the opposition leaders in the capital Khartoum were not able to openly support the ICC’s decision. Only al-Turabi dared to demand that al-Bashir hand himself over to the ICC, for which he spent several months in jail.

As a result of the indictment, al-Bashir could not visit any Western country. However, he was free to travel to the rest of the world, including most African and Middle Eastern countries, Iran, China and Russia. Dozens of United Nations resolutions were issued against Sudan too. Moreover, the United States imposed economic sanctions that have cost Sudan $50 billion, according to Sudanese sources.

Master Manipulator

Al-Bashir has always known how to exploit disagreements between the people around him in order to manipulate and settle scores with them. For example, he used Vice President Taha to oust al-Turabi. He also sought the assistance of Saleh, the only coupist military member who continued to support al-Bashir, to subsequently marginalize Taha and the top aide Nafie Ali Nafie after leaving them to fight one another for some time.

Al-Bashir is known for showing no mercy toward his opponents. He ordered summary executions of 28 army officers a few hours after the failed coup attempt in April 1990. His rule has also been marked by the worst forms of abuse against political detainees in ghost houses. He arrested and detained Salah Qosh, head of the National Intelligence and Security Service, who helped al-Bashir remove al-Turabi in April 2012, before reinstating him to the same post in February 2018. His security forces killed dozens of peaceful protesters on the streets of Khartoum during demonstrations in September 2013 that lasted less than a week. He ordered the bombing of Darfur villages, killing hundreds of thousands of residents who opposed him, and he did the same later in the Nuba Mountains.

At the same time, he was quick to offer generous bribes to his supporters, allowing them to become rich through corruption, suspicious deals and the purchase of public property that was privatized at low prices.

He has taken the same manipulative and opportunistic approach to foreign relations. For example, he initially supported former Iraqi President Saddam Hussein’s invasion of Kuwait and was in alliance with Iran, opening Sudan’s ports to Iran’s warships and establishing an Iran-backed military industries complex. He then expelled the Iranians from Khartoum to ally with Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, and he sent the Sudanese army to participate in the war in Yemen in exchange for financial aid from Riyadh. However, he still flirts with the anti-Saudi Turkey and Qatar, maintaining warm relations with the former. He forged an alliance with the Eritreans against Ethiopia at the beginning of his reign, but he later reversed his position to become an ally of Ethiopia against Eritrea.

Biography of the President

Al-Bashir was born in January 1940 in the village of Hawash Banga, 180km north of Khartoum. He belongs to the large Jaaleen tribe. He is the second of 12 brothers and sisters. His father had a simple writing job at a company in Khartoum. His younger brother Osman was killed in the South War during his presidency, and rumours circulated about the fortunes his other brothers amassed after he took office.

Al-Bashir graduated from the Sudanese Military Academy in 1967. He received a master’s degree in military science from the College of Command and Staff in 1981, then a second master’s in military science from Malaysia in 1983. He worked in the United Arab Emirates for some time in the 1980s. He served in many army units across Sudan and scored an important victory during the South War when a force under his command took over an SPLM base in the Mayum region in 1988. That was the first time that al-Bashir made an appearance in the Sudanese media. His relationship with the Islamic Movement strengthened during the 1980s, but the movement was allowed to participate in the military coup only a few days before it took place.

Al-Bashir has two wives. His first wife is his cousin Fatima Khaled, whom he married in the early 1970s. He married Wadad Babeker in March 2002. Babeker is the widow of Colonel Ibrahim Shamseddin, a member of the Revolutionary Command Council who was killed in 2001. Al-Bashir does not have any children.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ASHRAF SHAZLY | ©AFP ⁃ ASHRAF SHAZLY

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.