فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / السودان / من الماضي الى الحاضر

السودان من الحاضر إلى الماضي

الديمقراطية والانقلاب
استقلال السودان، رفع العلم في الأول من يناير 1956 من قبل رئيس الوزراء إسماعيل الأزهري وزعيم المعارضة محمد أحمد محجوب. Photo Sudan Films Unit / Flickr.

يحمل السودان في جعبته الكثير من النزاعات السياسية والانقلابات العسكرية. كما يعتبر هذا البلد موطناً للحركات الصوفية، فضلاً عن تمتعه بحراكٍ نسوي متميز على مدار تاريخه الطويل.

فنك يبحر في هذا القسم بتاريخ السودان من حاضره إلى ماضيه، لنحاول بذلك سبر أغوار الأحداث الفاصلة التي رسمت حاضر وهويّة هذه الدولة ككيان من عين المؤرّخ.

السودان اليوم (٢٠٢٠-١٩٨٩)

أحيت الكنداكة الثائرة آلاء صلاح تاريخ الكنداكات عندما ساهمت في إشعال الثورة السودانية التي أسقطت عمر حسن البشير بعد نحو 30 عاماً في حكم البلاد.

فنتيجة للمصاعب الاقتصادية المزمنة اشتعلت شرارة الاحتجاجات في البلاد في التاسع عشر من ديسمبر 2018م، ولم تخبو جذوتها إلا بسقوط حكم الإسلامي البشير في أبريل 2019م.

وشهدت فترة حكم البشير العديد من الأحداث التي أفزعت المجتمع الدولي، إذ اتهمت محكمة العدل الدولية البشير بارتكاب جرائم بحق الإنسانية بينها إبادة بعض السكان وتهجير بعضهم بين عامي 2003م و2008م. كما انقسم السودان في عهده إلى دولتين شمالية وجنوبية، وكان ذلك نتيجة استفتاء شعبي أجري في جنوب البلاد مطلع عام 2011م على خلفية التوزيع غير العادل للثروة.

لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

الانقلابات

في 30 يونيو 1989م، استولى مجلس قيادة الثورة للخلاص الوطني بقيادة العميد عمر حسن أحمد البشير، على السُلطة. وفي حين كان الجيش رسمياً في موقع المسؤولية، إلّا أنّ القرار الفعلي وسُلطات صنع السياسة كانت بيد مجلس شورى الجبهة الإسلامية القومية.

لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

واستولت مجموعة من الضباط الشباب بقيادة العقيد جعفر محمد نميري على الحكومة في 25 مايو 1969م. وتمّ تشكيل مجلس قيادة الثورة برئاسة نميري. علّق مجلس قيادة الثورة الدستور الانتقالي، وحظر الأحزاب السياسية، وألقى القبض على بعض السياسيين.

لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

في ربيع عام 1965م، انتصر المهنيون والعمّال على النظام العسكري وعادت الأحزاب السياسية وتنافست في الانتخابات التي عقدتها الحكومة الانتقالية آنذاك. وتشكلت حكومة ائتلافية برئاسة السياسي البارز في حزب الأمة، محمد أحمد محجوب في يونيو 1965م.

لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

قاد الفريق إبراهيم عبود انقلابه في 17 نوفمبر 1958م، فأوقف العمل بالدستور وتم حظر الأحزاب السياسية. ولم يكن لدى الحكومة العسكرية حلٌ لمشكلة الجنوب إلا التبشير بهزيمة المتمردين. ومع ذلك، تم تعيين بعض الجنوبيين في مناصب قيادية.

كانت المعارضة الجنوبية تنشط في الخارج واقترحت الفيدرالية لحل المشكلة، لكن النظام واصل الحرب ولم يقبل بأي مُقترح لحل الأزمة.

لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

أفول الحكم الثنائي

كانت أول حكومة سودانية بعد الاستقلال قصيرة الأجل، إذ لم يمر سوى عامين من الديمقراطية الليبرالية حتى استولى الجيش على السُلطة في انقلابٍ عسكري. وواجهت الحكومة المستقلة قضايا معقدة؛ مثل التخلص من الحكم الثنائي ومشكلة الدستور. وأدّى عدم وجود دستور جديد بعد الاستقلال إلى استمرار حُكم البلاد من قِبل دستور الحكم الذاتي للإدارة البريطانية لعام 1953م.

لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

انتهى السلام الطويل الذي ساد بين عامي 1924م و1936م عقب توقيع المعاهدة البريطانية- المصرية، والتي سمحت للمسؤولين المصريين بالعودة إلى السودان. احتجّ المثقفون السودانيون لعدم التفاوض على مستقبل السودان وعدم استشارتهم في الأمر. في هذه الأجواء، تمّ تأسيس مؤتمر الخريجين الذي بقي الكيان السوداني السياسي الرئيسي حتى ظهور الأحزاب السياسية السودانية عام 1946م.

لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

الحركة الوطنية والاستقلال

تعود جذور الحركة الوطنية السودانية إلى نمو الطبقة الاجتماعية الجديدة التي ارتبطت بالتنمية الاقتصادية ورسختها السُلطات الاستعمارية في قطاع الخدمات، والصناعة، والزراعة، وكذلك إلى النظام التعليمي الذي أُنشئ من قِبل الإدارة الاستعمارية البريطانية.

لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

في يناير 1899، أعاد اتفاقٌ إنجليزي- مصري الحكم المصري في السودان، ولكن كجزء من حكم ثنائي، أو سيادة مُشتركة تمارسها بريطانيا ومصر. فقد تقاسم الخديوي والتاج البريطاني السيادة في البلاد، حيث تحملّت الخزينة المصرية الجزء الأكبر من النفقات. وكانت الشراكة بين البلدين على الورق، حيث سيطر البريطانيون على الحكم.

لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

المهدية 98-1885

جاءت الثورة المهدية نتيجة قسوة وظلم الحكم التركي. فتميزت بالمصطلحات الدينية لتهذيب وتجديد الإيمان كما عبّر عنها قائدها محمد أحمد المهدّي، وهو شخصية دينية صوفية.
في يونيو 1881م، دعا المهدي الشعب لدعمه لإسقاط الحكم التركي، حيث بدأت الثورة في جزيرة أبا، على النيل الأبيض.

وبحلول سبتمبر 1882م، سيطر المهديون على جميع كردفان. وفي 5 نوفمبر 1883م، أبادوا جيشاً مصرياً قوامه عشرة آلاف جندي بقيادة جنرال بريطاني في شيكان. وفي 26 يناير 1885م، استولى المهديون على الخرطوم.

لقراءة المزيد،أنقر هنا.

الغزو التركي

في عام 1821م، قاد إسماعيل باشا، قائد الجيش وأصغر أبناء الخديوي العثماني اسمياً في مصر،  محمد علي، جيشاً إلى سنار. كان هدف الاحتلال في الدرجة الأولى السيطرة على موارد البلاد المادية والبشرية. وكان محمد علي مهتماً بالذهب والرقيق الذي ستوفره له السودان لبناء الدولة الحديثة التي كان يطمح لها في مصر.

لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

الممالك المسيحية

سادت حالة من انعدام الاستقرار بعد سقوط مروي إلى حين ظهور الممالك المسيحية الثلاث على طول نهر النيل. واستوطن النوبة سكانها الأصليين النوبيين، ليطلق على عليهم اسم المجموعة (س) النوبية المجهولة. وقام النوبيين وحلفاؤهم البليميين (البجا) بمهاجمة الرومان في صعيد مصر، إلّا أنّهم تعرضوا للهزيمة.

خَلَّد التاريخ القديم الملكات النوبيات (الكنداكات) في حضارة مروي القديمة على الضفة الشرقية من نهر النيل (بالسودان الحالية)، كأماني شاخيتي التي حكمت مروي منذ العام 10 قبل الميلاد حتى العام الأول الميلادي، وأماني تيري التي بدأ عهدها في العام الميلادي الأول، وكذلك أماني ريناس.

خلال مرحلتها الكلاسيكية، كانت مروي عاصمة مملكة كوش. واستمرت مملكة مروي، التي تُعرف وفقاً للجغرافيا اليونانية بأثيوبيا، حتى القرن الرابع بعد الميلاد، عندما ضعفت وتفككت بسبب التمرد الداخلي والغارات القبلية. وفي نهاية المطاف، تمّ الاستيلاء على عاصمة المملكة الكوشية وإحراقها من قِبل مملكة أكسُوم

بدأ نشوء الممالك جنوب مصر وصولاً إلى الشلال السادس على النيل، بمملكة كوش بمراحلها المختلفة؛ كرمة، ومروي، ونبتة. وازدهرت مملكة كوش على مدى خمسة قرون خلال الألفية الثانية قبل الميلاد، حيث سيطرت على أراضٍ واسعة ممّا يُعرف اليوم بالسودان.

لقراءة المزيد، أنقر هنا.

إقرأ المزيد

An overview of Sudan's trajectory from democracy through two military coups from 1956 to 1986.
بدأ نشوء الممالك جنوب مصر، وصولاً إلى الشلال السادس على النيل، بمملكة كوش بمراحلها المختلفة؛ كرمة، ومروي، ونبتة. يرتبط تاريخ ...
A historical overview of Sudan's 1986 uprising and the ensuing Islamic coup in 1989.
يمكن أن تُعزى الصراعات الداخلية السودانية إلى عدم المساواة الإقليمية والسياسية والاقتصادية المتجذرة والتي استمرت طوال التار...
بعد حوالي أربعة عشرة عاماً من تفجر النزاع الدموي في إقليم دارفور بغرب السودان وسقوط مئات الآلف من الضحايا وملايين النازحين وا...
مع رفع العقوبات الأمريكية، سيكون السودان، لأول مرة منذ تسعينيات القرن الماضي، قادراً على التجارة مع الولايات المتحدة، مما يس...
وعليه، فقد كتبت الصحفية آمنة بجادي في عام 2014 أن العلاقات الدبلوماسية بين السودان ومصر باتت متباينة بشكلٍ متزايد. وألمحت إلى أن...
طالب سفراء السعودية والإمارات ومصر في اجتماع مع وزير الخارجية السوداني في 17 يونيو توضيح موقف الخرطوم من الأزمة الخليجية القطر...
إن أكثر ما تخشاه مصر هو أن تعمل اثيوبيا على ملء بحيرة الخزان خلال فترة خمسة سنوات أو أقل، مما سينجم عنه حسب تقديراتٍ مصرية حرما...
وعلاوة على ذلك، تتلقي القوات السودانية في اليمن رواتبهم من دول تحالف عاصفة الحزم، مما يُثير الإتهامات بأن الجنود ليسوا إلا مر...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Abayomi Azikiwe ©Flickr

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Sudan / Past to Present of Sudan

Sudan from Present to Past

Sudan History from Past to Present - Sudan Democracy Independence
Sudan’s independence, the flag was raised on 1 January 1956 by PM Ismail Alazhari and opposition leader Mohamed Ahmed Almahjoub. Photo Sudan Films Unit / Flickr. ©Flickr ⁃ Abayomi Azikiwe

Sudan’s history is full of political struggles and military coups. This country is also considered a home for Sufi movements, in addition to enjoying a rich heritage of feminism.

Fanack will dive into Sudan’s history from the present to the past. By this, we attempt to get through the conclusive events that laid out this country’s present and identity from a historian’s perspective.

Today’s Sudan (2020 – 1989)

The revolting Kandake Alaa Saleh reignited the history of Kandakes when she sparked the Sudanese revolution that overthrew Omar Hassan al-Bashir after nearly 30 years on the throne.

On the 19th of December 2018, demonstrations broke out due to the chronic economic difficulties. The demonstrations did not subside until the Islamist al-Bashir fell in April 2019.

Al-Bashir’s reign witnessed several incidents that frightened the international community. The International Court of Justice accused al-Bashir with crimes against humanity, including the genocide of some residents and evacuating others between 2003 and 2008. Moreover, Sudan has been split into two states: Sudan and South Sudan. The cessation of the south was as a result of a referendum organized there in 2011.

To read more, click here.

Coups

On 30 June 1989, the Revolutionary Command Council for National Salvation, (RCCNS-Sudan) led by brigadier general Omar al-Bashir, took over power. While the army was officially in charge, actual decision and policy-making powers were in the hands of the National Islamic Front.
To read more, click here.

A group of young officers led by Colonel Gaafar Mohamed el-Nimeiri seized the government on 25 May 1969. A Revolutionary Command Council was formed and headed by el-Nimeiri. The Revolutionary Command Council suspended the Transitional Constitution, banned political parties, and arrested some politicians.

To read more, click here.

In spring 1965, professionals and workers prevailed over the military regime, political parties returned and competed in the elections held by the transitional government at that time. A coalition government was formed and headed by Muhammed Ahmad Mahjoub – a famous politician in Umma political party – in June 1965.

General Ibrahim Aboud led his coup on the 17th of November 1958 that caused the suspension of the constitution and banning the political parties. The military government didn’t have a solution to the problem of the south except promising to defeat the rebels. However, some southerners were appointed in leading positions.

The southern opposition was active abroad and proposed federalism to solve the situation. However, the regime continued raging war and accepted no proposal to solve the crisis.

To read more, click here.

The fall of Condominium

The first Sudanese government didn’t last for long, as the army made a military coup only two years of liberal democracy. The independent government faced complicated issues; getting rid of the Condominium and the constitution problem. After independence, the lack of a new constitution caused the continuum of the autonomy constitution of the British administration of 1953.

To read more, click here.

The long peace that lasted between 1924 and 1936 came to an end after signing the British-Egyptian treaty that allowed Egyptian officials back to Sudan. The educated Sudanese protested that Sudan’s future had not been negotiated with them and that they had not been consulted. Under these circumstances, the Graduate Congress was established, which remained the main Sudanese political structure until the emergence of Sudanese political parties in 1946.

To read more, click here.

National Liberty and Independence

The roots of the Sudanese national movement go back to the growth of the new social class that was connected to economic development. The colonial authorities secured the presence of this class in the services sector, the industrial sector and in the agricultural sector. The same thing applies to the modern education system that was established by the British colonial administration.

In January 1899, a British-Egyptian agreement  brought back Egyptian rule in Sudan. That was done as a part of a Condominium or a joint rule practiced by Britain and Egypt. The khedive and the British Crown shared sovereignty in the country. the Egyptian treasury had a bigger share of the expenses. Yet The condominium was only on papers as the British had all power in their hands.

The Mahdist revolution was a consequence of the brutality and injustice of the Turkish rule. The revolution was characterized by religious terms to refine and renew faith as expressed by its leader Muhammed Ahmad al-Mahdi who was a Sufi religious figure.

In June 1881, Muhammed called upon the people to support him to overthrow the Turkish rule. The revolution started in Aba Island, on the White Nile.

By September 1882, the Mahdists had already controlled the entire of Kordofan. On the 5th of November 1883, they obliterated an Egyptian army of 10,000 soldiers led by a British General in Shaykan. And on the 26th of January 1885, the Mahdists took over Khartoum.

To read more, click here.

The Turkish Invasion

In 1821, Ismail Pasha – the army general and youngest son of the nominally Ottoman khedive of Egypt “Muhammad Ali” – led an army into Sinnar. The main purpose of the occupation was controlling the material and human resources of the country. Muhammad Ali was interested in the gold and slaves that Sudan could provide to build the modern state that he aspired to build in Egypt.

To read more, click here.

The Christian Kingdoms

Until the emergence of the three Christian kingdoms along the Nile, a state of instability prevailed after the fall of Meroe. Nubia was the homeland the Nubians, who were named “The unknown X group”. The Nubians and their Blemmyes allies (the Bija) attacked the Romans in Upper Egypt but were defeated.

The ancient history immortalized the Nubian queens (Kandakes) in the ancient Meroe civilization on the east bank of the Nile (In today’s Sudan). An example of these queens is Amanishakheto who ruled over Meroe from the 10th year BC to year 1 AD. Other examples include Amanitore, who came to power in year 1 AD, and Amanirenas.

During its classical stage, Meroe was the capital of Kush. The Meroitic Kingdom – known in Greek geography as Ethiopia – lasted until the 4th century AD, when it weakened and disintegrated because of internal rebellion and tribal raids. Eventually, the capital of the Kush Kingdom was captured and burnt by the Kingdom of Aksum.

The emergence of kingdoms from south of Egypt began to the 6th cataract on the Nile. This began with the Kingdom of Kush in its various stages; Kerma, Meroe and Napata. The Kingdom of Kush prospered over 5 centuries during the 2nd millennium BC, as it controlled vast lands in today’s Sudan.

To read more, click here.

Further Reading

The emergence of kingdoms south of Egypt, up to the sixth cataract on the Nile, began with the kingdom of Kush in its various phases, Kerma, Meroe, and Napata. The history of this epoch was closely tied to Egypt but possessed dist...
An overview of Sudan's trajectory from democracy through two military coups from 1956 to 1986.
A historical overview of Sudan's 1986 uprising and the ensuing Islamic coup in 1989.
Sudanese internal conflicts can be attributed to the deeply rooted regional, political, and economic inequalities that have persisted throughout Sudan’s colonial and post-colonial history. An Arabic-speaking elite who have held ...
Nearly 14 years since the outbreak of the bloody conflict in Sudan’s western Darfur region, which has claimed the lives of hundreds of thousands of people and displaced millions more, the humanitarian situation remains largely u...
With the lifting of American sanctions, Sudan will, for the first time since the 1990s, be able to trade with the US, allowing it to buy much-needed equipment and spare parts and to attract investment to its collapsing economy. In...
Tensions over the disputed territory have escalated in recent months. Al-Bashir has assured his people that he will not go to war over the issue. To de-escalate tensions, al-Sisi agreed to hold diplomatic talks. Yet so far, nothi...
On 17 June 2017, ambassadors from Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Egypt demanded that Sudan clarify its position regarding the crisis. According to the Sudanese News Agency, the minister stressed his c ountry’s desire to play a role i...
Egypt’s greatest fear is that Ethiopia will fill the reservoir in five years or less, which according to Egyptian estimates would deprive Egypt of its water resources, dry out a portion of its agricultural land and reduce the re...
The coalition countries pay the Sudanese soldiers’ salaries, provoking accusations that the soldiers are little more than mercenaries. Although the amounts of these salaries have not been officially announced, according to some ...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Flickr ⁃ Abayomi Azikiwe

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.