الصفحة الرئيسية / السودان / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مصر والسودان وإثيوبيا، صراعٌ على النيل الأزرق

مصر والسودان وإثيوبيا، صراعٌ على النيل الأزرق

سد النهضة
إضغط للتكبير. @ Fanack

تنشغل مصر اليوم بمفردها بمحنتها الوجودية المتمثلة في سد النهضة الاثيوبي الذي تعتبره خطراً داهماً وأكثر الحاحاً من كل التهديدات الأخرى التي تواجه الأمن القومي المصري، خاصة وأنه ليس بيدها الكثير مما يمكن أن تفعله لدفع هذا الخطر الماحق إلا بالوسائل الدبلوماسية التي تستغرق وقتاً طويلاً وغالباً ما تنتهي بحلولٍ وسطى لا تفضلها ولا تحتملها مصر.

فقد انتهت الجولة السابعة عشرة من المباحثات بين مصر والسودان واثيوبيا، التي تتشارك بمياه النهر، يوم 13 نوفمبر 2017 دون التوصل لاتفاق. ولا تزال مشكلة ملء وتشغيل السد دون التأثير على دول المصب موضع نزاع. وقد عبر الرئيس السيسي عن ذلك في 18 نوفمبر 2017 بقوله بنبرة حازمة “إن حصة مصر من مياه النيل غير قابلة للتفاوض، محذراً من أن المسألة “حياة أو موت لشعب [مصر].”

إلا أن مصر نفت مراراً وتكراراً أي نيةٍ لتعطيل بناء السد عسكرياً. وفي الوقت الراهن، تبدو عازمةً على إيجاد حلٍ سياسي تفاوضي للنزاع، بما في ذلك تقديم اعتراض أمام مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة من أجل ممارسة أقصى قدرٍ من الضغوط الدبلوماسية والسياسية على إثيوبيا.

بدأت اثيوبيا بتشييد سد النهضة (سد الالفية) عام 2011 بعد عقودٍ من الحلم بهذا المشروع الذي من شأنه أن يغير وجه الحياة في اثيوبيا الفقيرة. ويقام السد على نهر النيل الأزرق في منطقة بني شنقول الأثيوبية، التي تبعد 40 كيلومتراً عن الحدود السودانية و700 كيلومتراً عن العاصمة أديس أبابا. ويوفر النيل الأزرق 86% من اجمالي إيرادات مياه نهر النيل الذي يعتمد عليه السودان جزئياً ومصر كلياً. وتقوم بتنفيذ المشروع شركة ساليني إمبريجيلو الايطالية.

وبمجرد الإنتهاء منه ، ستبلغ السعة التخزينية المقدرة للسد 74 مليار متر مكعب، وهو ما يعادل مجموع حصتي مصر والسودان السنوية من مياه النيل تقريباً، ليصبح اكبر سد مائي للطاقة الكهرومائية في أفريقيا لإنتاج 6000 ميجاوات من الكهرباء وهو ما يقارب ثلاثة اضعاف انتاج السد العالي في مصر.

يكلف المشروع حوالي خمسة مليارات دولار تجتهد الحكومة الاثيوبية في توفيرها من مواردها الخاصة وحملة استكتاب الشعب الاثيوبي، إضافة لقدرٍ محدود من القروض الأجنبية.

قلق مصري متصاعد

أعلنت أثيوبيا مراراً وتكراراً أن سد النهضة يشيد لأغراض توليد الكهرباء فقط، وأنها لن تحتجز أو تستخدم أي كمية من المياه لأغراض الري.

Egypt- Grand Renaissance Dam
سد النهضة. Photo Wikipedia

وإن منطقة بناء الخزان منطقة جبلية لا تصلح للزراعة أصلاً وأنها تلتزم بمبدأ الاستخدام المنصف والمعقول لموارد المياه.

لكن القلق المصري لم يهدأ ابداً منذ الشروع في تشييد خزان النهضة. ومن الواضح أن القلق المصري مبرر وإن كانت اثيوبيا ستخزن المياه لأغراض توليد الكهرباء فقط لأن ملء بحيرة الخزان كفيلة بتهديد هبة مصر من مياه النيل إذا لم يتم التوصل، على الأقل، لاتفاقٍ واضح حول كيفية وفترة ملء بحيرة السد.

وتشير الدراسات إلى ان حصة مصر من مياه النيل، والتي تبلغ حالياً 55 مليار متر مكعب من المياه سنوياً، كما هو منصوصٌ عليه في اتفاقية المياه لعام 1929 مع البريطانيين، التي أصبحت فيما بعد قوة استعمارية، واتفاق 1959 مع السودان، لا تفي أصلاً باحتياجاتها المائية. على الرغم من أن الاتفاق الأخير خصص لمصر حصة أكثر مرتين ونصف سنوياً من المياه التي يحصل عليها السودان، الذي تبلغ حصته على 18 مليار متر مكعب.

رد فعلٍ عدائي

بالرغم من وضوح مبررات القلق المصرية، إلا أن ردود فعل القاهرة اتسمت لوقتٍ طويل بالحدة والتوتر وعدم تفهم المصالح المشروعة لدول حوض النيل الافريقية.

بلغ الغضب المصري أوجه في اجتماعٍ بث حياً على الهواء في عهد الرئيس السابق محمد مرسي في 3 يونيو 2013، حيث صدرت تهديدات بشن هجوم عسكري على اثيوبيا. أعلنت الحكومة بعدها أن الحديث أذيع عن طريق الخطأ وأنه لا يمثل رأى الحكومة المصرية.

وعلى النقيض من ذلك، كان الرئيس السيسي، الذي أطاح بمرسي من السلطة بعد شهرٍ من ذلك بانقلابٍ عسكري، أكثر تصالحاً. فقد وقع اعلان الخرطوم مع الرئيسين السوداني البشير والاثيوبي ديسالين في 23 مارس 2015، والذي تعهدت بموجبه البلدان الثلاثة بضمان التوصل إلى اتفاقٍ كامل حول أسلوب وقواعد ملء خزان السد وتشغيله السنوي. يشتمل الاتفاق على عشرة مبادىء أساسية تتسق مع القواعد العامة لمبادىء القانون الدولي حول الأنهار الدولية لعام 1966. وقال الرئيس السيسي حينها إن “مشروع سد النهضة يشكل مصدر تنمية لملايين المواطنين الاثيوبيين من خلال إنتاج طاقة نظيفة ومستدامة، لكن بالنسبة لأشقائهم الذين يعيشون على ضفاف النيل في مصر، والذين يماثلونهم في العدد تقريباً، فإنه يمثل مصدر قلق.”

Sudan- Grand Renaissance Dam
صورة التقطت عام 2015 لسد النهضة الجاري العمل على تشييده بالقرب من الحدود السودانية الإثيوبية. بدأت إثيوبيا تحويل مسار النيل الأزرق في مايو 2013 لبناء السد، الذي سيكون أكبر سد في إفريقيا. Photo AFP

إن أكثر ما تخشاه مصر هو أن تعمل اثيوبيا على ملء بحيرة الخزان خلال فترة خمسة سنوات أو أقل، مما سينجم عنه حسب تقديراتٍ مصرية حرمان مصر من مواردها المائية، وتجفيف جزء مقدر من أراضيها الزراعية وتخفيض مخزون بحيرة السد العالي والطاقة الكهربائية التي تولدها.

كما حذرت بعض التقارير المصرية من مخاطر انهيار السد على السودان، ذلك أنه لا يبعد سوى 40 كيلومتراً من الحدود السودانية واقل من 100 كيلومتر من سد الرصيروص على النيل الأزرق في السودان.

لم تلتفت الخرطوم لهذه التحذيرات، بل عمدت إلى مباركة سد النهضة منذ الشروع في تشييد السد عام 2011. وفي ذلك الوقت، أعلنت وزارة الخارجية “أن الجهات الفنية بوزارة الكهرباء والموارد المائية، أكدت أن الخطوة الاثيوبية الأخيرة لا تسبب للسودان أي ضرر وان هنالك تفاهمات بين البلدين بشأنها.”

ويرى الدكتور سلمان محمد سلمان، الخبير المتخصص في نزاعات المياه الدولية لدي البنك الدولي، أن سد النهضة يحقق مصالح مؤكدة للسودان منها ضمان استقرار ايراد النيل الأزرق من المياه على مدار السنة بدلاً عن الفيضانات السنوية الخطرة، كما أنه يحمي الرصيروص وسنار الاستراتيجيين من ملايين الاطنان من الطمي التي يحملها اليهما النيل الأزرق سنوياً مما يقلص طاقتهما التخزينية لحوالي النصف.

وعلاوة على ذلك، سيوفر السد طاقة كهربائية نظيفة بأسعار تفضيلية للسودان. ويضيف الدكتور سلمان “إن التحذير من انهيار الخزان، تخويفٌ لا معنى له، لأن مصر تدير السد العالي منذ أكثر من نصف قرن ويدير السودان خمسة سدود على ثلاثة أنهار تجاوز عمر أقدمها التسعين عاماً، فلماذا ينهار السد الاثيوبي الذي يبني بمعارف وخبرات وتكنولوجيا ومواد أفضل واحدث؟”

ومع ذلك، يشكك خبراء سودانيون آخرون في منافع سد النهضة للسودان ويحذرون من تأثيراته السلبية لأسباب تكاد تكون مشابهة للأسباب المصرية، وهي أن تشغيل سد النهضة سيؤدي إلى خفض موارد السودان المائية ويهدد الزراعة.

ولا يبدي المصريون أي تفهمٍ للموقف السوداني الرسمي المؤيد لسد النهضة ويعتبرونه طعنة في الظهر من ذوي القربى وتناولته الصحافة المصرية بغضبٍ وسخط. ويري هاني رسلان، نائب رئيس مركز الاهرام للدراسات الاستراتيجية في مصر، أن هذا موقف سياسي تريد به الخرطوم مساومة مصر على قضايا أخرى، الأمر الذي يفاقم سوء الفهم والتوتر الصامت القائم بين البلدين أصلاً. ولا بد أن نشير هنا إلى أن النخب الحاكمة والمعارضة في السودان تجمع على أن اتفاقية مياه النيل الموقعة بين البلدين عام 1959 كانت مجحفة في حق بلادهم، وربما يرى بعضهم في سد النهضة الاثيوبي سبيلاً للتعويض.

وحالياً، أكملت إثيوبيا حوالي 60 % من المشروع، على الرغم من أن دراسةً فنية عن أثر السد على السودان ومصر لم تسكتمل بعد.وبحسب عطية عيسوي، الذي يغطي الشؤون الإفريقية لصحيفة الأهرام المصرية فإن “إثيوبيا تريد أن تضع مصر أمام الأمر الواقع إلى حين استكمال إنشاءات السدّ، وبالتّالي التغاضي عن الملاحظات المصريّة بشأن الإنشاءات نفسها، ثمّ تذهب للتفاوض فقط على سنوات ملء خزّان السدّ ومنظومة التشغيل بشكل يراعي فترات تشغيل السدود المماثلة لدى القاهرة والسودان، بحيث لا يكون تشغيل السدود في الدول الثلاث بالتوقيت نفسه.”

وأضاف أنه أياً كان الحل الذي ستتوصل إليه الدراسة الفنية، فسيكون على حساب مصر بعض الشيء، إذ قال: “سيكون هناك ضرر لمصر لا محالة.”

image_pdfimage_print

Home / Sudan / Past to Present / Construction of Blue Nile Dam Deepens Dispute Between Egypt, Sudan, and Ethiopia

Construction of Blue Nile Dam Deepens Dispute Between Egypt, Sudan, and Ethiopia

Grand Renaissance Dam
Click to enlarge. @Fanack

Egypt is preoccupied with the existential threat posed by the Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam, which Egypt regards as more urgent and pressing than all the other threats facing national security. This is partly due to the fact that Egypt is largely powerless to stop the building of the dam on the Blue Nile except through diplomatic means, which are time-consuming and often end with compromise solutions that might see Egypt even worse off.

The 17th round of talks between Egypt, Sudan and Ethiopia, which share the river’s waters, ended on 13 November 2017 without an agreement being reached. Filling and operating the dam without affecting the downstream countries remain topics of dispute. On 18 November 2017, Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi said that “Egypt’s share of the Nile water is not negotiable”, adding that the issue is “a matter of life or death for the [Egyptian] people”.

However, Egypt has repeatedly denied any intention to disrupt the building of the dam militarily. For the time being, it is determined to seek politically negotiated solutions to the dispute, including submitting an objection before the United Nations Security Council in order to exert maximum diplomatic and political pressure on Ethiopia.

Ethiopia started construction of the dam in 2011 – the realization of a decades-long dream to change the fortunes of the impoverished country. The dam is being built in the Benishangul area of the Blue Nile, 40km from the Sudanese border and 700km from the capital Addis Ababa. The Blue Nile provides 86 per cent of the total Nile water revenues upon which Sudan relies partially and Egypt completely. The project is being implemented by the Italian company Salini Impregilo.

Once complete, the dam will have an estimated storage capacity of 74 billion cubic metres (BCM), which is almost equivalent to the water share of the Nile River of Egypt and Sudan combined, and generate more than 6,000 megawatts of electricity, approximately three times the production of the Aswan High Dam in Egypt.

The project will cost about $5 billion, which the Ethiopian government is struggling to make available from its own resources, the initial public offering and a limited sum of foreign loans.

Growing Egyptian Concern

Egypt- Grand Renaissance Dam
Grand Renaissance Dam. Photo Wikipedia

Ethiopia has repeatedly stated that the dam is being constructed for electricity-generating purposes only, and that no water will be held or used for irrigation. Ethiopia has also said that the mountainous area in which the reservoir is being built is unsuitable for agriculture, and that it is committed to the principle of equitable and reasonable use of water resources.

These pronouncements have done little to reassure Egypt, which is concerned that filling the reservoir will threaten its share of the Nile waters unless a clear agreement is reached on how and when the dam will be filled.

Studies show that Egypt’s share of the Nile, which currently amounts to 55 BCM per year, as stipulated in the 1929 water agreement with the British, then a colonizing power, and the 1959 agreement with Sudan, is only half the amount it actually needs. This is despite the latter agreement allocating 2.5 times more water annually to Egypt than to Sudan, which receives 18 BCM.

Hostile response

Although Egypt’s concerns appear justified, Cairo’s response to the dam has long been hostile and shown little understanding of the legitimate interests of the other Nile Basin countries.

Egyptian anger came to head during a televised meeting on 3 June 2013, when Mohamed Morsi, then president, threatened to launch a military attack on Ethiopia. The threat was later retracted and the Egyptian government was quick to state that it did not represent the official position.

By contrast, President al-Sisi, who removed Morsi from power a month later in a military coup, has been more conciliatory. On 23 March 2015, he signed a declaration of principles to resolve the dispute with Sudanese President Omar Bashir and Ethiopian Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn, under which the three countries pledged to reach a full agreement on filling and operating the dam. The agreement included ten basic principles that are consistent with the 1966 Helsinki Rules on the Uses of the Waters of International Rivers. At the signing, al-Sisi said, “The Renaissance Dam project is a source of development for millions of Ethiopian citizens through the production of clean and sustainable energy, but it is a cause of concern for their brothers living on the banks of the Nile in Egypt, who are almost equal in number.”

Egypt- Grand Renaissance Dam
A photo taken in 2015 shows the Grand Renaissance Dam under construction near the Sudanese-Ethiopia border. Ethiopia began diverting the Blue Nile in May 2013 to build the dam, which will be Africa’s largest. Photo AFP

Egypt’s greatest fear is that Ethiopia will fill the reservoir in five years or less, which according to Egyptian estimates would deprive Egypt of its water resources, dry out a portion of its agricultural land and reduce the reservoir and power-generating capacity of its Aswan High Dam further downstream.

Some Egyptian reports also warned that the collapse of the dam would pose a threat to Sudan be-cause the dam is only 40km from the Sudanese border and less than 100km from Sudan’s Roseires Dam.

These warnings have gone unheeded by Khartoum, which did not hesitate to express its approval of the construction of the dam in 2011. At the time, the Sudanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced, ‘The technical authorities in the Ministry of Electricity and Water Resources confirmed that the recent Ethiopian step does not harm Sudan and that the two countries have reached understandings on the issue.’

Dr Salman Muhammad Salman, an expert on international water disputes at the World Bank, said that the dam will certainly advance Sudanese interests because it will guarantee stable Blue Nile water revenues throughout the year and provide protection against dangerous annual floods.

It will also protect the strategic Roseires and Sanar dams against millions of tonnes of silt carried by the Blue Nile every year that reduce the storage capacity of the two dams by approximately half.

Moreover, the project will provide clean electric power at preferential prices for Sudan. Salman added, “Warning of the collapse of the dam is meaningless intimidation because Egypt has been running the Aswan High Dam for more than half a century, and Sudan is running five dams on three rivers, the oldest of which is 90 years old. So, why would the Ethiopian dam collapse when it is being built with better and more advanced know-how, expertise, technology and materials?”

However, other Sudanese experts question the benefits of the Renaissance Dam for Sudan, citing negative effects that are similar to those put forward by Egypt, namely that operating the project will reduce Sudan’s water resources and threaten agriculture.

Egypt has so far refused to show any understanding of Sudan’s support for the dam and continues to consider the Sudanese position as a stab in the back. The Egyptian press has also addressed the issue in angry and critical tones. According to Hani Raslan, deputy head of the al-Ahram Center for Strategic Studies in Cairo, this was a political position used by Khartoum for comprising with Egypt on other issues, which would exacerbate the tensions between the two countries. It should be noted that the ruling elites and opposition in Sudan agree that the 1959 Nile Water Agreement was unfair to their country, and some deem the Renaissance Dam to be compensation for the adverse effects of the agreement.

The dam is currently around 60 per cent complete, even though a technical study on the impact of the dam for Sudan and Egypt has yet to be completed. According to Atiya Issawi, who covers African affairs for Egypt’s al-Ahram newspaper, “Ethiopia wants to present Egypt with a fait accompli by [rushing] to complete the dam. It is thus ignoring Egypt’s comments on the construction in the hope that it will only have to negotiate the details of filling the dam’s reservoir and its operation, in a way that takes into account dams in Egypt and Sudan, so that they are coordinated [and do not block flow at the same time].”

He added that whatever solution is reached on the technical study, it will in some form be at the ex-pense of Egypt. “Egypt will not come out unscathed,” he said.

image_pdfimage_print