فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / السودان / من الماضي الى الحاضر / السودان يوقع اتفاقاً لإنهاء الخلافات الداخلية

السودان يوقع اتفاقاً لإنهاء الخلافات الداخلية

Sudanese army
عناصر من الجيش السوداني يراقبون تدمير أسلحة جُمعت من مواطنين سودانيين في قاعدة حجر العسل، على بعد 200 كيلومتر شمال العاصمة الخرطوم، في 29 سبتمبر 2020. Photo: ASHRAF SHAZLY

By: Mat Nashed

وقعت الحكومة الانتقالية في السودان اتفاق سلامٍ مع تحالف فضفاض من الجماعات المتمردة من دارفور وجنوب كردفان والنيل الأزرق في 3 أكتوبر 2020، حيث تم التوصل إلى الاتفاق في جوبا عاصمة جنوب السودان واحتفل به المجتمع الدولي كخطوة محورية في إنهاء صراعاتٍ طويلة الأمد في المحيط السوداني.

ومع ذلك، فإن الخبراء والنشطاء أقل تفاؤلاً، إذ يزعم الكثيرون أن الاتفاق لن يوقف العنف الحضري والعرقي المتصاعد الذي عصف بدارفور منذ سقوط الديكتاتور السابق عمر البشير في أبريل 2019. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن الفصائل في أكبر التحالفات التي وقعت على الاتفاق – والمعروف باسم الجبهة الثورية السودانية- لم يكن لها أي نشاطٍ في دارفور منذ عام 2016.

أكبر فصيلين في الجبهة الثورية السودانية هما حركة العدل والمساواة وجيش تحرير السودان بقيادة مني ميناوي، إذ يعدّ الأول جماعةً ذات ميول إسلامية نشطت في تشاد وجنوب السودان، ومؤخراً في جنوب ليبيا. كما أُجبرت الأخيرة على نقل مقاتليها إلى ليبيا في عام 2016 بعد حملةٍ وحشية لمكافحة التمرد في دارفور. تم تنفيذ الهجوم من قبل القوات شبه العسكرية التابعة للدولة والتي تتمتع بسمعةٍ سيئة، قوات الدعم السريع، وهي تجسيدٌ لميليشيات الجنجويد التي قادت عمليات الإبادة الجماعية في دارفور.

وبموجب الإتفاق، سيتم قريباً دمج المقاتلين من الجبهة الثورية السودانية في القوات المسلحة السودانية وقوة الشرطة لمنع زعزعة الاستقرار في دارفور. فالاضطرابات في مالي – التي أشعلها المتمردون الطوارق، بعد عودتهم مكدسين بالأسلحة من ليبيا في عام 2011، حكايةٌ ذات مغزى وعبرة. ولكن في حين أن التعاون بين حركة العدل والمساواة وجيش تحرير السودان بقيادة مناوي قد يمنع حدوث رد فعل سلبي في دارفور، إلا أن اتفاق جوبا يخاطر بتقوية شوكة هذه الجماعات وتفاقم الانقسامات في قطاع الأمن السوداني.

ومما يثير القلق أيضاً أن السودان سيضطر إلى حشد ملايين الدولارات لدمج المتمردين في الجيش، إذ يعدّ القول أسهل من الفعل بالنظر إلى أن الخرطوم على حافة الانهيار الاقتصادي. الجاني هنا هو سنواتٌ من سوء الإدارة في ظل حكم الديكتاتور السابق عمر البشير، الذي سلب البلاد من توفير الخدمات الحيوية بينما كان يمول عدداً لا يحصى من الأجهزة الأمنية. واليوم، أدت أزمات إنتشار فايروس كورونا والفيضانات المدمرة إلى تفاقم الأزمة الاقتصادية.

حتى أن الضباط العسكريين لم ينجوا من الأزمة المالية، ففي سبتمبر الماضي، اعتذر وزير المالية السوداني للقوات المسلحة السودانية عن التأخير في دفع الرواتب. في ذلك الوقت، تلقت الفروع الأمنية الأخرى مثل قوات الدعم السريع رواتبها بعد أسابيع من استحقاقها. ومع تدهور الاقتصاد، ليس من الواضح كيف تعتزم الحكومة السودانية دفع رواتب آلاف المقاتلين الجدد.

علاوةً على ذلك، لن تحظى الخرطوم بفرصة توفير الموارد المالية دون دعمٍ من الإتحاد الأوروبي، الذي إلى الآن فشل في الوفاء بوعوده بدعم العملية الإنتقالية في السودان بحجة ضرورة رفع العديد من الإعانات الحكومية عن السلع الأساسية كشرطٍ للحصول على الدعم المالي. ومع ذلك، فإن رفع الإعانات الحكومية دون توفير مساعداتٍ مالية للفقراء قد يُشعل فتيل الإضطرابات.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، يحتاج السودان أيضاً إلى رفع اسمه من القائمة الأمريكية للدول الراعية للإرهاب، فمن وجهة نظر العديد من الخبراء، باتت القائمة باليةً إذ مضى عليها أكثر من 20 عاماً. وبالرغم من ذلك، يمنع هذا السودان من الحصول على قروضٍ دولية أو حتى جذب الاستثمارات الأجنبية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك استغلت إدارة ترمب القائمة للضغط على رئيس الوزراء السوداني المؤقت، عبد الله حمدوك، للإعتراف بإسرائيل، بيد أن حمدوك صرّح أن من الأفضل ترك قرار الإعتراف بإسرائيل لحكومةٍ سودانية منتخبة.

إلا أنه تم تقويض موقف حمدوك من قبل قائد قوات الدعم السريع ونائب المجلس السيادي محمد حمدان دقلو، الشهير بـ”حميدتي،” الذي صرّح في 2 أكتوبر 2020 أن الخرطوم ستُقيم على الأرجح بعض العلاقات مع إسرائيل بعيداً عن التطبيع الكامل من منطلق التضامن مع الفلسطينيين.

على أي حال، يبدو أن اتفاق جوبا محكومٌ عليه بالفشل، كحال التحول الديمقراطي في السودان، ما لم يُؤمن الدعم والتنازلات من المجتمع الدولي. فإلى جانب دمج المتمردين في القوات المسلحة، هناك حاجة إلى المال لتعويض آلاف الأشخاص الذين نزحوا من القتال في دارفور وجنوب كردفان والنيل الأزرق. كما وعد اتفاق جوبا بمنح المزيد من السلطة والموارد للإدارات المحلية في أطراف السودان – وهي مناطق كانت مهملة تقليدياً من قبل الحكومة المركزية.

من جهته حذر كلٌ من إدوارد توماس وأليكس دي وال، الخبيران في الشأن السوداني في معهد ريفت فالي في كينيا وكلية فليتشر للقانون والدبلوماسية على التوالي، من أنه إذا تخلى المجتمع الدولي عن السودان، فإن الإمارات العربية المتحدة ستملأ هذا الفراغ، ومن شأن ذلك أن يمنح الزعيم الفعلي لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، محمد بن زايد، نفوذاً لا مثيل له في الدولة. بالطبع، لم يخفِ محمد بن زايد اعتقاده بأن الديمقراطية لن تنجح في العالم العربي لأنها قد تؤدي إلى انتخاب الإسلاميين، إذ يفضل بدلاً من ذلك ضم زمرة من المستبدين الذين يعملون تحت دائرة نفوذه.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن أبو ظبي تربطها بالفعل علاقاتٌ قوية بحمديتي، فضلاً عن العلاقات القوية التي تجمع بين جيش تحرير السودان بقيادة مناوي بالإمارات وذلك في أعقاب قتاله كمرتزقة إلى جانب الجنرال المارق خليفة حفتر في ليبيا. وبالتالي، يعدّ حصول السودان على دعمٍ مالي من الإتحاد الأوروبي ورفع اسم السودان من قائمة الدول الراعية للإرهاب جوهرياً لكبح نفوذ الإمارات في السودان.

ومع ذلك، يتمثل التحدي الأكثر وضوحاً لاتفاق جوبا بكونه لا يشمل أقوى المجموعات التي لا تزال تسيطر على الأراضي في السودان حيث حاول حمدوك إشراكهم. وبعد فترةٍ وجيزة من اتفاق جوبا، أبرم حمدوك صفقة في العاصمة الإثيوبية أديس أبابا مع عبد العزيز الحلو، زعيم الحركة الشعبية لتحرير السودان – شمال، حيث اتفق الرجلان على أن السودان سيفصل الدين عن الدولة وسيحترم تنوع البلاد. ويمهد الاتفاق الطريق أمام مفاوضات مستقبلية بين المجلس السيادي في الخرطوم والحركة الشعبية لتحرير السودان – شمال.

على الرغم من التطور الإيجابي، إلا أن حمدوك لا يتمتع بالكثير من القوة لمنع الأجهزة الأمنية من تعذيب المدنيين في أطراف السودان؛ هذا رأي عبد الواحد نور الذي يرأس فصيلاً آخر من جيش تحرير السودان في دارفور. وعلى عكس جماعة مناوي، فإن جيش تحرير السودان/ فصيل عبد الواحد يسيطر فعلياً على مناطق في دارفور، وتحديداً في منطقة جبل مرة.

فقد تعهد جيش تحرير السودان/ فصيل عبد الواحد بعدم التنازل عن أراضيه ما لم يُسمح بوصول المساعدات الإنسانية إلى المنطقة وتقديم مرتكبي الإبادة الجماعية إلى العدالة. من جهتها، تشارك الجماعات الحقوقية مخاوف مماثلة وتشعر بالقلق بشكلٍ خاص من أن يوناميد، وهي قوة حفظ السلام المكلفة بتحقيق الاستقرار في دارفور، من المقرر أن تغادر البلاد في أواخر عام 2020. وقد يؤدي غياب قوات حفظ السلام إلى تصاعد العنف ضد المدنيين، كما يمكن أن يؤدي إلى ولادة فصائل متمردة جديدة ذلك أن المنطقة تغرق بالأسلحة.

من الواضح أن اتفاق جوبا أبعد ما يكون عن الكمال، فقد غذى الاتفاق بالفعل التوترات الطائفية من خلال تمكين ممثلي الجبهة الثورية السودانية في المناطق التي تشهد نزاعاً على شرعيتها. ومع ذلك، يمنح الاتفاق الزخم للحكومة لإبرام السلام مع الجماعات المسلحة التي تسيطر بالفعل على أراضٍ في البلاد، ومن شأن هذا وحده أن يجبر المجتمع الدولي على مساعدة السودان في تنفيذ شروط اتفاق جوبا لإنهاء النزاعات التي طال أمدها في البلاد.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ASHRAF SHAZLY ©AFP | ASHRAF SHAZLY ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Sudan / Past to Present of Sudan / Sudan Inks Agreement to End Internal Conflicts

Sudan Inks Agreement to End Internal Conflicts

Sudanese army
Members of the Sudanese army stand as weapons that were collected from Sudanese citizens are destroyed in the Hajar al-Asal base, 200 kilometres north of the capital Khartoum, on September 29, 2020. Photo: ASHRAF SHAZLY

By: Mat Nashed

Sudan’s transitional government inked a peace agreement with a loose alliance of rebel groups from Darfur, South Kordofan and the Blue Nile on October 3, 2020. The agreement was brokered in South Sudan’s capital of Juba and celebrated by the global community as a pivotal step in bringing longstanding conflicts in Sudan’s peripheries to an end.

However, experts and activists are less optimistic. Many claim that the agreement won’t stop the mounting urban and ethnic violence that has tormented Darfur since the fall of former dictator Omar Al Bashir in April 2019. Factions in the largest grouping that inked the deal – known as the Sudan Revolutionary Front (SRF) – haven’t even been active in Darfur since 2016.

The two biggest factions in the SRF are the Justice and Equality Movement (JEM) and the Sudanese Liberation Army of Minnie Minnawi (SLA/MM). The former is an Islamist leaning group that has been active in Chad, South Sudan, and most recently in southern Libya. The latter was also forced to move its fighters to Libya in 2016 following a brutal counter-insurgency campaign in Darfur. The offensive was carried out by the notorious state paramilitary the Rapid Support Forces (RSF), an incarnation of the Janjaweed militias that spearheaded the genocide in Darfur.

Fighters from the SRF will soon be subsumed into the Sudanese Armed Forces (SAF) and police force to prevent the destabilization of Darfur. The unrest in Mali – spawned by Tuareg rebels after they returned with an accumulation of weapons from Libya in 2011 – is a cautionary tale. But while coopting JEM and SLA/MM prevents a blowback in Darfur, the Juba agreement risks emboldening these groups and aggravating divisions in Sudan’s security sector.

Equally concerning is that Sudan will have to muster up millions of dollars to integrate rebels into the army. That’s easier said than done considering that Khartoum is on the verge of an economic collapse. The culprit is years of mismanagement under former dictator Omar Al Bashir, who divested from vital service provisions while bankrolling a myriad of security apparatuses. Now the covid-19 crises and crippling floods has exacerbated the economic crisis.

Not even military officers have been spared the financial crunch. In September 2020, Sudan’s Minister of Finance apologized to SAF for the delay in payment. At the time, other security branches such as the RSF had received their salaries weeks after they were due. With the economy in shambles, it’s unclear just how the Sudanese government intends to pay the salaries of thousands of new fighters.

Khartoum won’t have a chance to come up with the funds without support from the European Union (EU). So far, the EU has failed to deliver on its promise to support Sudan’s transition, arguing that several subsidies on staple goods have to be lifted as a condition for financial support. However, lifting subsidies without a cushion of financial relief to support the poor could trigger unrest.

Sudan also needs to be removed from the U.S list of states that sponsor terrorism. In the eyes of most experts, the listing is outdated by more than 20 years. It nonetheless prevents Sudan from accessing international loans and attracting foreign investment.

Using the listing as leverage, the Trump administration has pressured Sudan’s interim Prime Minister Abdallah Hamdok to recognize Israel. But Hamdok argues that recognizing Israel is a decision best left to an elected Sudanese government.

Hamdok’s position was undermined by RSF leader and deputy of the Sovereign Council Mohamad Hamdan Dagalo, who is also known as Hemedti. On October 2, 2020, he said that Khartoum would likely establish some ties with Israel, yet it wouldn’t fully normalize relations out of solidarity with Palestinians.

In any case, the Juba agreement looks doomed, along with Sudan’s democratic transition, unless it secures support and concessions from the global community. Along with integrating rebels into the armed forces, money is needed to compensate thousands of people who have been displaced from the fighting in Darfur, South Kordofan and the Blue Nile. The Juba agreement also promises to lend more power and resources to local administrations in Sudan’s peripheries – areas that have been traditionally neglected by the central government.

Edward Thomas and Alex De Waal, experts on Sudan at the Rift Valley Institute in Kenya and the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy respectively, warn that if the global community abandons Sudan then the UAE will fill the vacuum. That would give the de-facto leader of the UAE, Mohamad bin Zayed (MBZ), unparalleled influence in the country. MBZ, of course, has made no secret that he believes that democracy won’t work in the Arab world since it could lead to the election of Islamists. He instead prefers to coopt a clique of autocrats that function under his sphere of influence.

Abu Dhabi already has close ties with Hemedti. The SLA/MM also built strong ties with the UAE during its time fighting as mercenaries for the rogue General Khalifa Haftar in Libya. Financial support from the EU, and Sudan’s removal from the U.S list of states that sponsor terrorism, is thus essential to limit UAE influence in Sudan.

However, the most obvious challenge to the Juba agreement is that it doesn’t include the most powerful groups that still control territory in Sudan. Hamdok, for his part, has tried to bring them on board. Shortly after the Juba agreement, he struck a deal in the Ethiopian capital of Addis Ababa with Abdelaziz El Hilu, who is the leader of the Sudanese People’s Liberation Movement-North (SLPM-N). The two men agreed that Sudan will not establish an official religion, and that it would respect the diversity of the country. The agreement paves the way for future negotiations between Khartoum’s Sovereign Council and SPLM-N.

Despite the positive development, Hamdok has little power to stop security services from tormenting civilians in Sudan’s peripheries. That’s the view of Abdul Wahid Al Nur, who heads another faction of Sudan’s Liberation Army in Darfur. Unlike Minnawi’s group, the SLA/AW actually controls territory in Darfur, specifically in the mountain region of Jebel Marra.

The SLA/AW vows to never cede its territory unless humanitarian access is allowed into the region and perpetrators of the genocide are brought to justice. Rights groups share similar concerns and are particularly worried that UNAMID, a peacekeeping force tasked with stabilizing Darfur, is scheduled to leave the country in late 2020. The absence of peacekeepers could lead to a spike in violence against civilians. It could also prompt the birth of new rebel factions since the region is flooded with weapons.

It’s clear the Juba agreement is far from perfect. The deal has already fueled communal tensions by empowering representatives of the SRF in areas where their legitimacy is contested. Nevertheless, the agreement lends momentum to the government to strike peace with armed groups that actually control territory in the country. That alone should compel the global community to help Sudan implement the terms of the Juba agreement to bring protracted conflicts to an end.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ASHRAF SHAZLY ©AFP | ASHRAF SHAZLY ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update