فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / السودان / من الماضي الى الحاضر / جزيرة سواكن المنسية تثير هواجس البحر الأحمر

جزيرة سواكن المنسية تثير هواجس البحر الأحمر

لم تكن ردود الفعل الإقليمية المتوجسة والصاخبة لتسليم جزيرة سواكن لتركيا مفاجأة لأحد، في ظل التوترات التي تمسك بخناق المنطقة، فالحرب في اليمن القريبة على الساحل الشرقي للبحر الأحمر تكمل عامها الثالث دون بوادر انفراج في الأفق. فقد تم تفسير التحرك التركي، الذي يتعارض مع العديد من جيرانه الأقوياء، ولا سيما المملكة العربية السعودية، على أنه تهديدٌ لموقفهم.

نفضت مدينة سواكن السودانية غبار القرون عن وجهها وتصدرت عناوين الاخبار خلال الأسابيع القليلة الماضية، بعد صفقةٍ مثيرةٍ للجدل تتسلم تركيا بموجبها إدارة وتطوير الميناء التاريخي لفترةٍ زمنية لم تحدد بوضوح. أعلِن عن هذه الصفقة بعد زيارة قام بها الرئيس التركي رجب طيب اردوغان للميناء برفقة الرئيس السوداني عمر البشير في 25 ديسمبر 2017. .فقد كانت سواكن تخضع للحكم العثماني في وقتٍ سابق، كما أعادت زيارة أردوغان إلى الأذهان ذكرياتٍ مؤلمة في منطقة البحر الأحمر المضطربة بالفعل، وأثارت مخاوف من تحول الجزيرة إلى قاعدةٍ عسكرية تركية.

ففي مؤتمرٍ صحفي له مع نظيره التركي عقب توقيع الاتفاق، بدى وكأن السيد إبراهيم غندور وزير الخارجية السوداني، أكدّ هذه المخاوف بقوله إن السودان وتركيا وقعتا اتفاقاتٍ للتعاون العسكري والأمني، من بينها “إنشاء مرسى لصيانة السفن المدنية والعسكرية.” وأضاف إن “وزارة الدفاع السودانية منفتحة على التعاون العسكري مع أي جهة، ولدينا تعاون عسكري مع الأشقاء والأصدقاء، وتركيا دولة شقيقة ولنا معها تاريخ طويل.” وتابع القول “وقعنا اتفاقية يمكن أن ينجم عنها أي نوع من أنواع التعاون العسكري وإن السودان مهتم بأمن البحر الاحمر وننسق مع جيراننا في ذلك.”

من جانبه، أشار وزير الخارجية التركي مولود جاويش أوغلو، إنه “تم توقيع اتفاقيات بخصوص أمن البحر الأحمر،” مؤكداً على أن أنقرة مهتمة بأمن السودان وأفريقيا والبحر الأحمر بشكلٍ عام. وأضاف “وصلتنا توجيهات رئاسية بتقديم الدعم للأمن والشرطة والجانب العسكري للسودان، وسنواصل تطوير العلاقات في مجال الصناعات الدفاعية”.

وصل الرئيس اردوغان للخرطوم في 24 ديسمبر 2017 برفقته 9 وزراء، وأكثر من مائتي رجل أعمال، كأول رئيسٍ تركي يزور السودان منذ استقلاله في عام 1956. وتم خلال الزيارة توقيع أكثر من 20 اتفاقية، منها استثمارات تركية لبناء مطار جديد في الخرطوم واستثمارات للقطاع الخاص في إنتاج القطن وتوليد الكهرباء وبناء صوامع الحبوب والمسالخ، بهدف رفع حجم التبادل التجاري بين البلدين إلى 10 مليار دولار سنوياً.

Sudan- Recep Tayyip Erdogan
الرئيس السوداني عمر البشير أثناء ترحيبه بنظيره التركي، الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان، لدى وصوله إلى الخرطوم في 24 ديسمبر 2017، في زيارةٍ رسمية استغرقت يومين. Photo AFP ©AFP

وقالت وكالة ترك برس أن أنقرة قد وافقت أيضاً على اعفاء السودانيين من تأشيرات الدخول لأراضيها، لتكون الدولة الوحيدة التي تستقبل السودانيين بهذه الحفاوة غير المسبوقة وهو دعم دولي تحتاجه الخرطوم بشدة.

كما تضمن برنامج زيارة ارودغان للسودان اجتماعاً ثلاثيا بين رؤساء أركان جيوش السودان وتركيا وقطر. ولا يمكن تفسير حضور رئيس الأركان القطري إلا على باعتباره دليل واضح على دعم الدولة الخليجية المحاصرة التي عزلتها كل من المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة والبحرين ومصر بسبب دعمها المزعوم للإرهاب منذ يونيو 2017.

مخاوف إقليمية ومحلية

لم تكن ردود الفعل الإقليمية المتوجسة والصاخبة لتسليم جزيرة سواكن لتركيا مفاجأة لأحد، في ظل التوترات التي تمسك بخناق المنطقة، فالحرب في اليمن القريبة على الساحل الشرقي للبحر الأحمر تكمل عامها الثالث دون بوادر انفراج في الأفق. فقد تم تفسير التحرك التركي، الذي يتعارض مع العديد من جيرانه الأقوياء، ولا سيما المملكة العربية السعودية، على أنه تهديدٌ لموقفهم.

الصحف المصرية، التي تنطق عادة باسم الحكومة، اعتبرت زيارة اردوغان للسودان، وخاصة تسليمها جزيرة سواكن، اجراءً موجهاً ضد مصر ويهدف للمساس بأمنها القومي وأن الحكومة السودانية متواطئة لتحقيق ذات الهدف. وليس هذا الموقف المصري الواضح بمستغرب في وقتٍ اعتبرت فيه السلطات المصرية أن أردوغان وحكومته يدعمون الاخوان المسلمين المصريين الذين تعتبرهم القاهرة ألد خصومها. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تخوض مصر نزاعاً مع السودان حول مثلث حلايب، وهي منطقة حدودية غنية بالمعادن، فضلاً مشكلة الوصول إلى مياه النيل.

وقد عبرت صحيفة عكاظ السعودية عن موقفٍ مماثل من تسليم سواكن لتركيا، مذكرةً حكومة الخرطوم بالجهود التي بذلتها السعودية لرفع العقوبات الأمريكية عنها، ومحذرةً من طموحات تركيا وأهدافها في السودان ومنطقة البحر الأحمر. وقالت الصحيفة أن اخطر ما في الأمر أن سواكن مقابلة تماما لميناء جدة، التي يرى فيها اردوغان ذكرى ورمزية لزمن الإمبراطورية العثمانية.

ولم تتأخر الامارات العربية المتحدة في الرد حيث قال وزير الدولة الإماراتي للشؤون الخارجية أنور قرقاش، إن التنافس الجيواستراتيجي الجاري في المنطقة، يؤكد الحاجة الملحة إلى تعزيز المحور العربي، المتمثل في الرياض والقاهرة. وأشار قرقاش، في تغريدةٍ على تويتر، إلى أن التنافس الإقليمي على العالم العربي حائط صده يجب أن يكون عربياً. وشدد وزير الدولة الإماراتي على أن العالم العربي “لن تقوده طهران أو أنقرة،” بل العواصم العربية مجتمعة.

كما أن الشراكة السودانية مع تركيا هي أيضاً رسالة واضحة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية وحلفائها بأن الخرطوم غير راضية عن العوائد، ولا سيما المالية، التي تحصل عليها من “التحالف العربي” في اليمن، خاصة في الوقت الذي تعاني فيه القوات السودانية المشاركة في الصراع المزيد من الضحايا.

غير أن الرئيس البشير أوضح أيضاً في خطابه خلال احتفالات العام الجديد أن حكومته لا تعتزم سحب قواتها من اليمن، في محاولةٍ لإبقاء خياراتها مفتوحة. وقد زار رئيس أركان الجيش السوداني السعودية في نهاية يناير الماضي لاجراء محادثاتٍ مع نظيره السعودي.

ومن العاصمة الارتيرية أسمرا، وهي أقرب لسواكن من الخرطوم، أعرب الرئيس الأريتري اسياس افورقي عن قلقه من الوجود والنشاط التركي في منطقة البحر الأحمر. وقال في حديثٍ للتلفزيون الإريتري “إن الوجود العسكري في سواكن إن صح غير مقبول… تركيا تنفذ أجندة الإخوان المسلمين في البحر الأحمر بدعم قوى الهيمنة العالمية وتسعي لفرض نفوذها في المنطقة”.

وبالطبع باركت قطر، بمفردها تقريباً، هذه الخطوة التركية. وكتبت صحيفة الشرق المقربة من حكومتها أن “أردوغان يحاصر دول الحصار.” واعتبرت أنها خطوة في اطار السباق الدولي المحموم على مناطق النفوذ في البحر الأحمر الذي يمر فيه 3,5 مليون برميل من النفط يومياً في طريقها لأسواق أوروبا. وأضافت الصحيفة ان السودان بدأ في البحث عن مصالحه بعيداً عن الدوائر التقليدية.

كما عبرت قوي غربية عن قدرٍ من الانزعاج للطموحات والنزعات الإمبراطورية العثمانية للرئيس التركي اردوغان. فهم يراقبون باهتمام النشاط التركي المحموم في منطقة البحر الأحمر والتي بدأت بزيارة الرئيس اردوغان للصومال في يناير 2015. ووقعت تركيا إثر تلك الزيارة عقداً لإدارة ميناء مقديشو وأقامت فيها أكبر قاعدةٍ عسكرية تركية خارج أراضيها، وتقدم مساعداتٍ مقدرة للحكومة الصومالية العاجزة عن السيطرة على البلاد التي تمزقها الحرب الاهلية منذ عقود.

وعلى الصعيد الداخلي، لم تجد الصفة التركية السودانية حول جزيرة سواكن قبولاً لدى قوي المعارضة السودانية، فقد شن رئيس الوزراء السابق وزعيم حزب الأمة السوداني، الصادق المهدي، هجوماً لاذعاً على القرار منتقداً سياسات حزب العدالة والتنمية «الإخواني»، الحاكم في تركيا، ووصف صفقة سواكن بانها صفقة شخصية لا تحقق مصلحة للبلاد. فيما هاجمت ابنته الناشطة مريم المهدي تركيا مذّكرةً بأن “التاريخ العثماني مليء بسيئات خلفها في أنحاء العالم الإسلامي،” وتساءلت: “هل ينكر أردوغان ذلك؟”

جهودٌ لتهدئة الأوضاع

جاء الرد السوداني على الانتقادات حاداً وغاضباً. فقد قال وزير الاعلام السوداني أن بلاده مستعدة لتحمل كل تبعات تطوير علاقاتها بتركيا وانه غير مسموح لأحد الاستهانة بالسودان. لكن هذه اللهجة تم تخفيفها في تصريحات لاحقة لطمأنة الجيران، إذ قال وزير السياحة محمد أبو زيد مصطفى، إن الشراكة بين بلاده وتركيا في جزيرة سواكن السودانية تتلخص في برنامج “تنموي استثماري سياحي،” يسعى إلى إقامة مدينة سياحية في المنطقة التاريخية العريقة. وأن المشروع سبق وعُرض على دولة الامارات ولم يجد ترحيباً، فيما أكد مسؤولٌ محلي أن الحديث عن تحويل جزيرة سواكن لقاعدةٍ عسكرية تركية أمرٌ مبالغٌ فيه ومستحيل عملياً لأن مساحة الجزيرة لا تتجاوز خمسين فداناً ولا تصلح لأي أغراضٍ عسكرية.

كما نفى اردوغان بنفسه في تصريحاتٍ له عقب اكمال جولته الأفريقية نية بلاده إقامة قاعدة عسكرية في جزيرة سواكن، موكداً على أنه مشروعٌ لإحياء تراث العثمانيين في المدينة الساحلية. على أي حال، ستترك أصداء هذا الاتفاق وتسليم الجزيرة لتركيا بصمتها على العلاقات السياسية في المنطقة، وسيكون لها أثر واضح على علاقات السودان الإقليمية في وقتٍ قد لا يطول.

سواكن: عبق التاريخ ومستقبلٌ واعد

يقع ميناء سواكن التاريخي على بعد 60 كيلومتراً جنوبي بورتسودان، الميناء الرئيسي للبلاد وواحدة من أكبر مدنها. تاريخياً، خضعت مدينة سواكن للاحتلال العثماني واختارها السلطان العثماني سليم الأول في عام 1517 مقراً لحاكم مديرية الحبشة العثمانية، التي كانت تضم ميناء مصوع (في إريتريا الحالية). تبعت فيما بعد للولاية العثمانية في الحجاز (جدة) واستأجرها خديوي مصر، محمد علي، بعد غزوه للسودان عام 1821. وكانت سواكن أهم ميناءٍ على البحر الأحمر لتصدير الرقيق في القرن الثامن عشر.

وبعد الاحتلال البريطاني المصري للسودان عام 1898 أصبحت سواكن جزءاً من السودان الحديث. وقررت الإدارة البريطانية في السودان التخلي عن سواكن وتشييد ميناء بورتسودان عام 1905 بسبب عدم صلاحية ميناء سواكن لاستقبال السفن والبوارج الكبيرة، وذلك أنه تكثر فيها الشعاب المرجانية الخطرة على الملاحة، فضلاً عن ندرة مياه الشرب على الجزيرة. وعلاوة على ذلك، كانت تتبع، إسمياً على الأقل، للعثمانيين في ذلك الوقت. ويُستخدم في الوقت الراهن كميناءٍ لنقل الحجاج والمسافرين للسعودية وتصدير المواشي بشكلٍ رئيسي واستقبال السفن محدودة الحمولة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ASHRAF SHAZLY | ©AFP

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sudan / Past to Present / Forgotten Sudanese Island Stirs Up Trouble in the Red Sea

Forgotten Sudanese Island Stirs Up Trouble in the Red Sea

Source: Wikipedia. @Fanack.com

The forgotten Sudanese island of Sawakin has become headline news in recent weeks, after a controversial deal was signed under which Turkey will manage and develop the island’s historic port for an undefined period of time. The deal was announced by Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, following a visit to the port with Sudanese President Omar al-Bashir on 24 December 2017. Sawakin was once under Ottoman rule, and Erdogan’s visit has dredged up painful memories in the already troubled Red Sea region and raised fears that the island will be turned into a Turkish military base.

At a press conference with his Turkish counterpart after the Sawakin deal was signed, Sudanese Foreign Minister Ibrahim Ghandour appeared to confirm these fears, saying that Sudan and Turkey had signed military and security cooperation agreements, including “the establishment of a dock for the maintenance of civilian and military vessels”. He added: “The Sudanese ministry of defence is open to military cooperation with any party, and we have military cooperation with friendly countries. Turkey is one of these countries, and we have a long history of good relations with it. We have signed an agreement that could result in some type of military cooperation. Sudan is interested in the security of the Red Sea, and we coordinate with our neighbours in that regard.”

For his part, the Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu noted that “agreements have been signed on the security of the Red Sea”, and stressed that Ankara is interested in the security of Sudan, Africa and the Red Sea region in general. We have received directives from the Turkish president to provide support for the Sudanese security forces, police and military, and we will continue to develop relations in the defence industries.”

Erdogan arrived in the Sudanese capital Khartoum along with nine ministers and more than 200 businessmen, the first Turkish president to visit Sudan since its independence in 1956. More than 20 agreements were signed during the visit, including on building a new airport in Khartoum and private sector investments in cotton production, power generation, grain silos and slaughterhouses, with the purpose of increasing the volume of trade between the two countries to $10 billion per year.

Sudan- Recep Tayyip Erdogan
Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan is welcomed by his Sudanese counterpart Omar al-Bashir upon his arrival in Khartoum on December 24, 2017, for a two-day-official visit. Photo AFP

TurkPress news agency said Ankara also agreed to exempt Sudanese nationals from entry visa fees to Turkish territory. This makes Turkey the only country to welcome Sudanese nationals with such hospitality, a show of international support that Khartoum desperately needs.

Erdogan’s visit also included a tripartite meeting between the chiefs of staff of the armies of Sudan, Turkey and Qatar. The attendance of the Qatari chief of staff can only be interpreted as a clear show of support for the beleaguered Gulf state, which has been cut off by Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Bahrain and Egypt over its alleged support for terrorism since June 2017.

Regional and Local Concerns

Anxious reactions to the handover of Sawakin came as no surprise to anyone, given the current regional tensions. The war in Yemen on the east coast of the Red Sea has been ongoing for three years, with no end in sight. Turkey’s manoeuvering, which is at odds with many of its powerful neighbours, notably Saudi Arabia, has been interpreted as a threat to their position.

The Egyptian press, which usually speaks for the government, described Erdogan’s visit to Sudan, and specifically the handover of Sawakin, as a means to undermine Egyptian national security and suggested that the Sudanese government was complicit in trying to achieve the same goal. This position is not strange, given that the Egyptian authorities believe Ankara supports the Muslim Brotherhood in Egypt, which Cairo regards as its sworn enemy. In addition, Egypt is embroiled in a dispute with Sudan over the Halayeb Triangle, a mineral-rich border area, as well as access to Nile water.

Saudi Arabia’s Okaz newspaper expressed a similar view, reminding Khartoum of the efforts made by Riyadh to lift American sanctions imposed on Sudan, and warning of Turkey’s ambitions in Sudan and the Red Sea region. The newspaper noted that, more dangerously, Sawakin is opposite the Jeddah Seaport, which Erdogan views as symbolic of the time of the Ottoman Empire.

Similarly, the UAE said through Anwar Gargash, its minister of state for foreign affairs, that the ongoing geostrategic rivalry underscores the urgent need to strengthen the Arab axis, represented by Riyadh and Cairo. In a tweet, Gargash wrote that the regional competition for dominance must be confronted by Arabs themselves. He stressed that the Arab world ‘will not be led by Tehran or Ankara’ but by the Arab capitals combined.

The Sudanese partnership with Turkey is also a clear message to Saudi Arabia and its allies that Khartoum is dissatisfied with the returns, particularly financial, it is getting from the ‘the Arab alliance’ in Yemen, especially at a time when Sudanese troops engaged in the conflict are suffering more casualties.

However, President al-Bashir also made it clear in his new year’s speech that his government has no plans to withdraw its forces from Yemen, in an attempt to keep its options open. The chief of staff of the Sudanese army visited Saudi Arabia in late January 2018 for talks with his Saudi counterpart.

Speaking from the Eritrean capital Asmara, which is closer to Sawakin than Khartoum, Eritrean President Isaias Afwerki expressed his concern over the Turkish presence and activity in the Red Sea. He said in an interview with Eritrean Television, “The military presence in Sawakin is not acceptable … Turkey is implementing the agenda of the Muslim Brotherhood in the Red Sea, supported by the forces of global hegemony, and it seeks to impose its influence in the region.”

Qatar has been one of the only countries to approve the island deal. The pro-Qatari government newspaper al-Sharq wrote, ‘Erdogan is besieging the countries boycotting Qatar’. The newspaper considered the Turkish step to be part of the frenzied international race over areas of influence in the Red Sea, through which 3.5 million barrels of oil pass every day on their way to European markets. The newspaper added that Sudan has started to seek reconciliation away from traditional avenues.

Even Western powers have been disturbed by Erdogan’s political and territorial ambitions. They have been watching with interest Turkey’s intensifying activities in the Red Sea, which began with Erdogan’s visit to Somalia in January 2015. Following the visit, Turkey signed a contract to run the Mogadishu Port and established the largest military base outside Turkey. It also provided assistance to the Somali government, which has lost control of the country following decades of civil war.

Domestically, Sudanese opposition groups have rejected the Sawakin deal. Al-Sadiq al-Mahdi, former Sudanese prime minister and current head of the Ummah Party, launched a scathing attack on the Sudanese government’s decision, criticized Turkey’s “Muslim Brotherhood-linked” ruling Justice and Development Party and described the deal as a personal one that does not serve the country’s interest. Moreover, al-Mahdi’s daughter, activist Maryam al-Mahdi, noted, “Ottoman history is full of negative memories that it left behind across the Islamic world. Can Erdogan deny this?”

Efforts to calm the Situation Slow in Coming

The Sudanese response to the criticisms was sharp and angry. The information minister said that his country is ready to bear all the consequences of developing relations with Turkey and that no one is allowed to underestimate Sudan. However, Minister of Tourism Mohamed Abu Zeid Mustafa has tried to tone down the rhetoric, saying that the Sawakin deal is limited to “a tourism investment development programme” that aims to establish a tourism city in the historical area. He added that the project had previously been offered to the UAE, which did not welcome the idea. Meanwhile, a local official confirmed that the talk about converting Sawakin into a military base was exaggerated and, moreover, impossible because the area of the island does not exceed 50 acres, making it unsuitable for any military purposes.

Erdogan himself has denied in statements any plans to establish a military base on Sawakin, saying instead that Turkey is implementing a project to revive the heritage of the Ottomans in the port city. However, the deal will nonetheless have repercussions on political relations in the region, and more clearly on Sudan’s regional relations for a period of time that may not be long.

Sawakin: Old History and Promising Future

The historical Sawakin port is 60km south of Port Sudan, the country’s main port and one of its largest cities. Historically, Sawakin was occupied by the Ottomans and chosen by Ottoman Sultan Salim I in 1517 as the headquarters of the governor of the Ottoman Administration of Abyssinia, which included the Port of Massawa (currently part of Eritrea). The island later became part of the Ottoman Empire in Hijaz (Jeddah) and was leased by Muhammad Ali, the Khedive of Egypt, after he invaded Sudan in 1821. Sawakin was the most important port on the Red Sea used for exporting slaves in the 18th century.

After the British-Egyptian occupation of Sudan in 1898, Sawakin became part of modern Sudan. The British administration in Sudan decided to abandon Sawakin and build Port Sudan in 1905 because Sawakin was not suitable for large ships due to the presence of coral reefs close to the shore and the scarcity of drinking water on the island. Besides, the island was part of the Ottoman Empire at the time, at least nominally. At present, the island is mainly used as a port for pilgrims and other travellers going to Saudi Arabia and for exporting livestock and receiving limited cargo ships.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.