فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / السودان / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الثورة السودانية في مهب الأهواء الاقليمية والدولية

الثورة السودانية في مهب الأهواء الاقليمية والدولية

Sudan- Sudanese revolution
متظاهر سوداني يرتدي قناع جاي فوكس ويحمل لافتة كُتب عليها باللغة العربية: “لا للتدخل الخارجي. الجماهير هي السلطة” خلال مظاهرةٍ بالقرب من المجمع العسكري في وسط الخرطوم في 12 مايو 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ASHRAF SHAZLY

بعد إستيلاء الجيش على السلطة بتاريخ 11 أبريل 2019 في أعقاب أسابيع من الاحتجاجات التي عجت بها الشوارع، سارعت السعودية كأول دولة للإعتراف بالوضع الجديد في البلد الإفريقي وأعلنت دعمها للمجلس العسكري.

أعلنت السعودية تأييدها لتطلعات الشعب السوداني حيال مستقبله من منطلق العلاقات التاريخية التي تربط بين البلدين والشعبين الشقيقين.

وذكرت وكالة الانباء السعودية في بيان لها: “تعلن المملكة دعمها للخطوات التي أعلنها المجلس في المحافظة على الأرواح والممتلكات، والوقوف إلى جانب الشعب السوداني، وتأمل أن يحقق ذلك الأمن والاستقرار للسودان، وتدعو الشعب السوداني بجميع فئاته وتوجهاته إلى تغليب المصلحة الوطنية بما يحقق تطلعاته وآماله في الرخاء والتنمية والازدهار.”

الإمارات تساند

عقب تطورات الأوضاع في السودان وتنحي رئيس المجلس العسكري الإنتقالي الفريق عوض بن عوف بعد أقل من “24” ساعة من المنصب وإعلان الفريق أول ركن عبد الفتاح البرهان عبد الرحمن رئيساً للمجلس، باركت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الخطوة. وقالت وزارة الخارجية الإماراتية في بيان لها، يوم 13 ابريل 2019، إن “دولة الإمارات تتابع باهتمام التطورات التي يمر بها السودان في هذه اللحظة الفارقة من تاريخه الحديث.”

وقال وزير الدولة الإماراتي للشؤون الخارجية أنور قرقاش، إن الدول العربية تدعم الانتقال في السودان الذي يوازن بين طموحات الناس واستقرار المؤسسات، وأضاف “شهدنا فوضى كاملة في المنطقة ولا نريد المزيد من ذلك.”

واعتبر قرقاش في تغريدة على تويتر أنه من المشروع تماماً أن تدعم الدول العربية انتقالاً منظماً ومستقراً في السودان.

الإتحاد الأفريقي يتدخل

دخل الاتحاد الافريقي الساحة السودانية بعد يومين من تسلم البرهان لرئاسة المجلس العسكري في السودان بالتهديد بإمكانية تعليق عضوية السودان، إذا لم يسلم الجيش السلطة للمدنيين في غضون 15 يوماً.

وأعرب الاتحاد الأفريقي عن تأييده لمطالب المتظاهرين بتشكيل حكومة مدنية، ونوه إلى أن الاتحاد الذي يضم 55 عضواً يرى أن “قيادة الجيش للمرحلة الانتقالية تتناقض تماماً مع تطلعات الشعب السوداني.”

ومن ثم تطور موقف الإتحاد الأفريقي لاحقاً بعد دخول المجلس العسكري في مفاوضات مع قوى إعلان الحرية والتغيير المُحركة للشارع ومدد المهلة إلى ستين يوماً لتسليم السلطة إلى حكومة مدنية.

جاء القرار في ختام اجتماعات المجلس الذي انعقد بالعاصمة تونس لبحث الأوضاع في السودان. وأوضح مجلس السلم والأمن إن التمديد جاء بناء على التطورات التي شهدها السودان، الذي يشهد حواراً بين القوى السياسية، إضافة إلى المبررات التي طرحها المجلس الانتقالي منذ أن تسلمه السلطة جاء نزولاً عند رغبة الشعب وحقناً للدماء.

كما أشار القرار إلى ارسال فريق للقاء كافة القوى السياسية والمجلس الانتقالي، لضمان انتقال السلطة للمدنيين بشكلٍ سلس.

الدور المصري

ظهرت بوادر اللهفة المصرية التقليدية في التدخل في المشهد السياسي السوداني بعد ساعات من استقرار الأوضاع مبدئياً في السودان بعد قبول المحتجين بتولي البرهان رئاسة المجلس العسكري. فقد دعا الرئيس المصري عبدالفتاح السيسي إلى قمة تشاورية للإتحاد الأفريقي بالقاهرة لمناقشة الأوضاع في السودان، شارك فيها رؤساء 8 دول أفريقية من تشاد وجيبوتي ورواندا وجمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية والصومال وجنوب إفريقيا ومستشار رئيس دولة جنوب السودان إضافة إلى رئيس مفوضية الاتحاد الإفريقي.

دعا دعى الرئيس المصري خلال الاجتماع إلى دعم دولي للسودان في المرحلة الانتقالية، بما في ذلك بلاده. وأشار الرئيس المصري إن القمة الأفريقية المصغرة منحت المجلس العسكري في السودان مزيداً من الوقت لإقامة نظام ديمقراطي في السودان.

وجدت خطة الرئيس المصري السيسي عقد قمة أفريقية مصغرة في القاهرة لمناقشة الأوضاع السودان استنكاراً شديداً من المحتجين السودانيين المعتصمين أمام مقر القيادة العامة للجيش، وتجمع عدد كبير من المحتجين في اليوم الثاني خارج السفارة المصرية في الخرطوم، منددين بما وصفوه بـ “تدخلات مصرية في شؤون السودان.”

رفض أوروبي وأمريكي للمجلس العسكري

اصطدم المجلس العسكري السوداني أيضاً برفض أوروبي، حيث أعلنت مفوضة الشؤون الخارجية للاتحاد الأوروبي فيديريكا موغيريني خلال كلمة في البرلمان الأوروبي، أن الاتحاد يتوقع من المجلس العسكري “القيام بخطوات لتعزيز الثقة،” ومنها إطلاق سراح المعتقلين السياسيين، ومعاقبة المسؤولين عن الهجمات التي أدت لمقتل العديد من المتظاهرين خلال الفترة الماضية. وأشارت إلى أن اتخاذ هذه الخطوات يمكّن من إطلاق محادثات سياسية ذات مغزى بين جميع الأطراف في البلاد.

وأعربت موغيريني عن رغبة الاتحاد في تولي المدنيين قيادة المرحلة الانتقالية في السودان، وأكدت أن الاتحاد لن يعترف بشرعية المجلس العسكري.

برز تحرك أميركي للضغط لمقاطعة المجلس العسكري السوداني وتسليم السلطة إلى المدنيين، فقد انتقد 92 نائب جمهوري وديمقراطي في الكونغرس الأميركي، في مسودة خطاب إلى وزيري الخارجية والخزانة، الدول التي أيّدت المجلس العسكري في السودان، وأشاروا صراحة إلى موقف السعودية والإمارات ودعمهما المجلس بـ3 مليارات دولار.

ودعا الخطاب الحكومة إلى عدم الاعتراف بالمجلس العسكري، أو منح تأشيرة دخول لأي عضو فيه لزيارة الولايات المتحدة، وتفعيل كل قوانين العقوبات والمحاسبة ضد أفراد في المجلس العسكري شاركوا في جرائم الحرب وجرائم ضد الإنسانية وجرائم الإبادة الجماعية في مناطق دارفور وجبال النوبة والنيل الأزرق، وكذلك الضغط لفتح مناطق النزاعات بشكل عاجل أمام المنظمات الإغاثية العالمية.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، دعا المشرعون الأميركيون إلى التنسيق مع وزارة الخزانة والمؤسسات الرقابية والمصرفية الأميركية والدولية لملاحقة الأموال المنهوبة بواسطة أتباع نظام البشير، ومنع خروجها من السودان أو إعادتها إليه، وبذل كل جهد ممكن لتسليمها إلى الحكومة المدنية الانتقالية. وطالبوا بتفعيل وتطبيق قوانين مراقبة وحظر تجارة الذهب من السودان إلى الأسواق العالمية وتحديداً أسواق دبي، والعمل على إعادة الذهب السوداني إلى الحكومة الانتقالية المدنية.

وكان الموقف الأميركي الأبرز حول التطورات السودانية قد عبّرت عنه المسؤولة في وزارة الخارجية الأميركية، ماكيلا جيمس، التي قالت إن واشنطن تدعم “المطلب الشرعي للشعب السوداني بحكومة يقودها مدنيون.” وأكدت جيمس، خلال لقاء مع وفد من المعارضة في الخرطوم، أن “أولوية الولايات المتحدة، رؤية انتقال مدني يقود إلى انتقال سلمي للسلطة لأجل السودان الديمقراطي.”

إختطاف الثورة

وقعت الثورة السودانية ضحية لخلافات وتقاطعات منطقة الخليج العربي خاصة المحور “السعودي الإماراتي المصري” من جهة والمحور “القطري التركي” من جهة أخرى. ويرى المحتجون في السودان أن المحور السعودي الإمارتي يحاول سرقة الثورة السودانية ومنع إنتقال السلطة إلى المدنيين ويدعم المجلس العسكري لضمان ولائه لها ضمن حلفه ضد قطر وتركيا، وتتخوف السعودية والإمارات ومصر من تشكيل حكومة مدنية تسحب القوات السودانية المشاركة في حرب اليمن ضمن ما يسمى بالتحالف العربي.

هذا الواقع والتخوّف من عرقلة الانتقال إلى الحكم المدني في السودان، بدأت تتحدث عنه بشكل صريح جهات غربية، وهو ما عبّرت عنه صحيفة فايننشال تايمز البريطانية في تقرير لها، لفتت فيه إلى أن حزمة المساعدات المالية والسلعية الجديدة من الإمارات والسعودية البالغة 3 مليارات دولار مهّدت الطريق لمعركة ثانية بين الجيش والشعب.

ونقلت الصحيفة عن السفيرة البريطانية السابقة في الخرطوم روزاليندا مارسدن، قولها إن أبوظبي والرياض أوضحتا خلال الأيام الماضية أنهما تدعمان المجلس العسكري، ولفتت إلى أن هناك خطراً من أن يشجع تمديد الموعد النهائي لتسليم السلطة المجلس الانتقالي على إبطاء عملية الانتقال.

تكشفت نوايا السعودية والإمارات في خطوة اضافية تمثلت في وصول وفد إماراتي سعودي رفيع المستوى إلى الخرطوم بقيادة المدير السابق لمكتب الرئيس السوداني المخلوع عمر البشير، مستشار السعودية للشؤون الإفريقة، طه الحسن، في زيارة استغرقت يومين، حيث التقى البرهان والذي بدوره أشاد بالعلاقات “المتميزة” بين بلاده والدولتين الخليجيتين.

وجد هذا التناغم في الخطوات بين المجلس العسكري والسعودية والإمارات رفضاً قاطعاً من المعتصمين أمام مقر قيادة الجيش بالخرطوم والذين ورددوا هتافات وشعاراتٍ ضد السعودية والإمارات، وضد ما اعتبروه “رفض” الدولتين ثورات الربيع العربي.

دور الإمارات في تشكيل الحكومة السودانية

لم تتوقف محاولات دولة الإمارات العربية والسعودية لإحتواء المجلس العسكري في السودان. وبحسب ما أوردته صحيفة نيويورك تايمز الأمريكية أن خمس قوى سودانية معارضة بينها عدد من الحركات المسلحة زارت الإمارات مؤخراً لإجراء محادثات لإقناعها بالانضمام لحكومة يقودها العسكريون.

وذكرت الصحيفة أن نائب رئيس الحركة الشعبية لتحرير السودان ياسر عرمان زار الإمارات مؤخراً للاجتماع بمسؤولين هناك، ونقلت عنه قوله إنهم غير راضين عن الدور الأميركي، داعياً واشنطن لممارسة المزيد من أجل الانخراط مع “السودانيين الذين قادوا الثورة.”

قوى معارضة في أبو ظبي سراً

كشفت مصادر صحفية أن نائبة رئيس حزب الأمة السيدة مريم الصادق المهدي وصلت أبو ظبي في زيارةٍ غير معلنه في 23 أبريل 2019. المهدي هي نائبة رئيس حزب الأمة الذي يتولى والدها الصادق المهدي، وهو آخر رئيس وزراء منتخب ديمقراطياً قبل أن يطيح به الرئيس المخلوع عمر حسن البشير في انقلاب عام 1989.

وأكدت ذات المصادر الصحفية أن الأمين العام لحزب المؤتمر السوداني المهندس خالد عمر يوسف، الناطق الرسمي باسم قوى الحرية والتغيير المفاوضه للمجلس العسكري في السودان، زار أبو ظبي في طريقة عودته من بريطانيا الى الخرطوم التي وصلها في منتصف أبريل.

كما باتت الإمارات لاعباً رئيسياً في المشهد السياسي السوداني، ويخشي المحتجون من مواقفها المؤيدة للعسكريين ومحاولاتها لصناعة رئيس سوداني مشابه لعبد الفتاح السيسي في مصر، الذي يشارك ذات الأسم الأول لرئيس المجلس العسكري في السودان.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ASHRAF SHAZLY

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sudan / Past to Present of Sudan / Sudanese Revolution Subject to Regional, International Interference

Sudanese Revolution Subject to Regional, International Interference

Sudan- Sudanese revolution
A Sudanese protester wearing a Guy Fawkes mask holds a placard with the slogan that reads in Arabic: “No for foreign intervention. The people are the authority” during a protest near the military complex in central Khartoum on May 12, 2019. Photo AFP

After the Sudanese army seized power on 11 April 2019 following weeks of street protests, Saudi Arabia was the first country to recognize the new reality in the African country and declare its support for the transitional military council.

Saudi Arabia said that it supported the aspirations of the Sudanese people for their future, and that its position emanates from the historical ties between the two countries.

According to a statement published by the Saudi Press Agency, ‘The kingdom declares its support for the steps announced by the military council to save the people’s lives and property, and its support for the Sudanese people…[Saudi Arabia] hopes that this will achieve security and stability for Sudan, and calls on all segments of the Sudanese people, regardless of their orientations, to give priority to national interests to meet their aspirations and hopes for prosperity, development and well-being.’

UAE wades in

Following the resignation of Awad Mohamed Ahmed Ibn Auf, interim chairman of the military council, less than 24 hours after his appointment and his replacement by Lieutenant General Abdel Fattah al-Burhan Abdelrahman, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) also expressed its support. A statement by the Emirati Foreign Ministry on 13 April said that ‘the United Arab Emirates is following with interest developments in Sudan at this very decisive stage of the Sudanese history’.

UAE’s Minister of State for Foreign Affairs Anwar Gargash said that Arab countries support a transition in Sudan that balances the people’s aspirations and the stability of Sudanese institutions, adding: “We have seen total chaos in the region and we do not want more of this.”

In a tweet, he said that it is perfectly legitimate that Arab countries support an orderly and smooth transition in Sudan.

African Union Intervenes

The African Union intervened two days after al-Burhan’s appointment, threatening to suspend Sudan’s membership if the army did not hand over power to civilians within 15 days.

The African Union expressed its support for the protesters’ demand to form a civil government, noting that the 55-member union believes that ‘the army’s leadership of the transitional period completely contradicts the aspirations of the Sudanese people’.

This position subsequently evolved after the military council entered into negotiations with the forces of the Declaration of Freedom and Change, which are mobilizing the people on the street, extending to 60 days the deadline of the handover of power to a civil government.

The decision was made at the conclusion of a meeting convened by the African Union Peace and Security Council in Tunis to discuss the situation in Sudan. The Peace and Security Council explained that the extension was based on developments in Sudan and the dialogue between the political forces, as well as in response to justifications put forward by the military council that it had assumed power to fulfill the people’s demands and end the bloodshed.

The Peace and Security Council also noted that a delegation will be sent to meet with all political forces and the military council to ensure a smooth transition of power.

Egyptian role

Egypt’s traditional eagerness to intervene in Sudanese politics was evident only hours after the protesters accepted al-Burhan’s chairmanship of the military council and the situation stabilized. Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi called for a consultation summit of the African Union to be convened in Cairo to discuss the situation in Sudan. The summit was attended by the heads of state of Chad, Djibouti, Rwanda, the Democratic Republic of Congo , Somalia and South Africa, the adviser to the president of South Sudan and the chairperson of the African Union Commission.

During the meeting, al-Sisi called for international support for Sudan in the transitional period, including from his own country. He also said that the mini-summit had given the military council more time to establish a democratic system in Sudan.

Al-Sisi’s decision to convene the summit in Cairo was strongly condemned by the Sudanese protesters staging sit-ins in front of the army headquarters and by a large number of protesters who gathered on the second day outside the Egyptian embassy in the capital Khartoum, who described it as ‘Egyptian interference in Sudanese affairs’.

European and US reject military council

The military council also met with disapproval from the European Union (EU). The EU’s foreign policy chief Federica Mogherini said during a speech to the EU parliament that the EU expects the military council to “take steps to strengthen confidence”, including releasing political prisoners and punishing those responsible for the attacks that claimed the lives of many demonstrators. She also noted that taking these steps would allow for the launch of meaningful political talks among all parties in Sudan.

She expressed the EU’s desire for civilians to lead the transition in Sudan and stressed that the EU would not recognize the legitimacy of the military council.

The United States (US) has also said that it supports a transition led by civilians. A group of 92 Democrat and Republican members of Congress signed a letter to the US Secretary of State and the Secretary of the Treasury criticizing countries that support the military council, explicitly referring to Saudi Arabia and the UAE and their $3 billion in financial and humanitarian support for the council.

The letter also urged the government not to recognize the military council or grant visas to any of its members and demanded that any members who had participated in war crimes, crimes against humanity and genocide in Darfur, the Nuba Mountains and the Blue Nile in the past be held accountable. It also called on the government to apply pressure to open conflict areas urgently to international relief organizations.

Moreover, the US lawmakers called for coordination between the Treasury Department and US and international monitoring and banking institutions to track down funds looted by ousted President Omar al-Bashir‘s regime and make every effort to hand over the funds to the transitional civilian government. A similar request was made to stop the trade of gold from Sudan to world markets, specifically Dubai, and to work to return the gold to the transitional government.

The most prominent US position on the situation in Sudan was expressed by State Department official Makila James, who said that Washington supports “the legitimate demand of the Sudanese people to have a government led by civilians”. During a meeting with a delegation from the Sudanese opposition in Khartoum, James stressed that “the priority of the United States is to see a civilian transition leading to a peaceful transition of power and have a democratic system in Sudan”.

Hijacking the revolution

The Sudanese revolution fell victim to disagreements in the Arabian Gulf region, especially those between the Saudi-Emirati-Egyptian alliance on the one hand and the Turkish-Qatari alliance on the other. Protesters in Sudan believe that the Saudi-Emirati-Egyptian alliance is trying to hijack the revolution, prevent the transfer of power to civilians and support the military council to ensure its loyalty to the alliance against Qatar and Turkey and keep Sudanese troops supporting the Saudi-led coalition in the war in Yemen.

Western parties started to speak explicitly about this reality and fears that the transition to a civilian rule in Sudan would be obstructed. Britain’s Financial Times pointed out that the $3 billion package from Saudi Arabia and the UAE was paving the way for a second confrontation between the army and the people.

The newspaper quoted Rosalinda Marsden, former British ambassador to Khartoum, as saying that in the past days Abu Dhabi and Riyadh have made it clear that they support the military council, and that there is a danger that extending the deadline for handing over power would encourage the military council to slow down the transition process.

The intentions of Saudi Arabia and the UAE were additionally revealed with the arrival of a high-level Emirati delegation to Khartoum led by Taha al-Hussein, former head of the president’s office in Sudan and now an African affairs advisor in Saudi Arabia. During the two-day visit, al-Hussein met with al-Burhan, who praised the “distinguished” relations between Sudan and the two Gulf countries.

Protesters opposed these relations, chanting slogans against Saudi Arabia and the UAE as well as against what they considered to be the two countries’ rejection of the Arab Spring uprisings.

UAE role in formation of Sudanese government

Saudi Arabia and the UAE’s attempts to tame the military council have continued. According to The New York Times, representatives of five Sudanese opposition groups, including a number of armed factions, visited the UAE for talks about joining a military-led government.

The newspaper said that Yasser Arman, deputy head of the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement, also travelled to the UAE to meet with officials there. “We are not satisfied with the American role. They need to do more to engage with the people who made the revolution,” he was quoted as saying.

Opposition forces make secret visits to Abu Dhabi

Press sources said that Mariam Sadiq al-Mahdi arrived in Abu Dhabi on an unannounced visit on April 23rd, 2019. Al-Mahdi is deputy head of the Ummah Party, which is led by her father, the last democratically elected prime minister before al-Bashir seized power in the 1989 coup.

The same sources confirmed that Khalid Umar Yusuf, secretary general of the Sudanese Congress Party and official spokesperson for the forces of the Declaration of Freedom and Change that are engaged in negotiations with the military council, visited Abu Dhabi on his way back from Britain to Khartoum in mid-April.

The UAE has become a major player in Sudanese politics, and protesters are concerned about support for the military and attempts to produce a Sudanese president similar to Egyptian strongman al-Sisi, who shares al-Burhan’s first name.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.