فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / السودان / من الماضي الى الحاضر / المشهد السياسي والعسكري المتقلب في دارفور

المشهد السياسي والعسكري المتقلب في دارفور

الصراع في دارفور جبل مرة
عشرات الآلاف من النازحين الجدد يفرون من قراهم بسبب الاشتباكات الجارية بين قوات الحكومة السودانية والحركات المسلحة، التي بدأت في يناير 2016 في منطقة جبل مرة. سورتوني، شمال دارفور، 23 أبريل 2016. Photo UNAMID ©Flickr

بعد حوالي أربعة عشرة عاماً من تفجر النزاع الدموي في إقليم دارفور بغرب السودان وسقوط مئات الآلف من الضحايا وملايين النازحين واللاجئين، تبدو الأوضاع الإنسانية في دارفور الآن كما كانت تقريباً، على الرغم من تغيّر الكثير سياسياً. وحتى مع ذلك، الأمل ضئيلٌ بعودة السلام والأمن والاستقرار للإقليم في القريب العاجل.

ففي أغسطس 2016، وقع كل من جبريل إبراهيم زعيم حركة العدل والمساواة ومِنِي ميناوي قائد جيش/حركة تحرير السودان الدارفوريتان على اتفاق جديد يسمى “خارطة الطريق” مع حكومة السودان بوساطة من الاتحاد الافريقي. هذا الاتفاق سبقه عشرات الاتفاقات المجهضة بين حكومة الخرطوم وحركات التمرد العديدة في السودان، إذ لا يتفائل إلا القليلون في السودان بأن هذا الاتفاق سيلاقى مصيراً أفضل من سابقاته، إلا انه قد يكون الأكثر أهمية وتأثيراً في دافور لأسباب عديدة سيوضحها هذا المقال.

المأساة الإنسانية

لا يزال الإقليم يشهد أوضاعاً إنسانية وأمنية مأساوية، بالرغم من تراجع حدة الاشتباكات المسلحة بين حركات التمرد من جهة، والقوات الحكومية والميلشيات التابعة لها من جهةٍ أخرى، وعلى الرغم أيضاً من انخفاض عدد القتلى في الاشتباكات المباشرة، بسبب تراجع قدرات الحركات على شن مثل هذه الهجمات.
تأسس الصراع في بدايته على التناقض والتنافس التقليدي بين القبائل العربية الرعوية والقبائل ذات الأصول الافريقية الزراعية المستقرة على موارد الأرض والمياه (الذي سمي محلياً حرب العرب ضد الزرقة). لكن انحياز الحكومة في الخرطوم للقبائل العربية لأسباب سياسية وتسليحها للمليشيات العربية المعروفة باسم الجنجويد، فاقم الاوضاع وجعلها واحدة من أكثر الحروب الافريقية دموية ودماراً.

وجاء في بيانٍ لمجلس الأمن الدولي، الذي صدر في يوليو 2016، مدد بموجبه مهمة البعثة المشتركة للأمم المتحدة والاتحاد الأفريقي في دارفور «يوناميد» سنةً إضافية، أن النزاع في إقليم دارفور لم يطرأ عليه أي تغيير في ظل عدم توصل الحكومة والحركات المسلحة إلى تسويةٍ سياسية، فضلاً عن استمرار الاقتتال القبلي والعمليات العسكرية بين القوات الحكومية و حركة تحرير السودان بقيادة عبد الواحد محمد نور، رغم أن حدّتها خفت عما كانت عليه.

وأشار التقرير إلى استمرار عمليات النزوح في ظل أوضاع لا تساعد على عودة النازحين، وأكد استمرار العمليات العسكرية والقصف الجوي على مناطق في جبل مرة رغم إعلان الحكومة أن دارفور خالية من الحركات المسلحة بسيطرتها على آخر معاقل حركة تحرير السودان في ابريل 2016.
وأكد التقرير أن النزاعات القبلية في دارفور مسؤولة عن ثلث الوفيات في المنطقة، إضافةً لتواصل النزوح الجماعي من مناطق النزاع حيث وصل عدد النازحين إلى 2,6 مليون نازح، يقبع 1,6 مليون منهم في المخيمات في مختلف انحاء الإقليم، فضلاً عن حاجة ما لا يقل عن مليوني شخص لمساعداتٍ إنسانية، و2,7 مليون يواجهون حالة طوارئ متعلقة بالأمن الغذائي في دارفور. وأضاف التقرير أن حوالى 106 آلاف شخص تعرضوا لنزوح جديد في العام 2016، إلى جانب 300 ألف لاجئ سوداني في تشاد و50 ألف لاجئ من جنوب السودان وصلوا شرق دارفور أخيراً.

ومع ذلك، تصّر حكومة الخرطوم على أن الأوضاع الإنسانية قد تحسنت في دارفور بعد انتهاء العمليات العسكرية في جبل مرة مع عودة 800 ألف نازح في مايو 2016، فضلاً عن عودة 24 ألف نازح بعد أحداث جبل مرة. وأكدت الحكومة عزمها على استمرار عمل الفريق المشترك لاستراتيجية خروج البعثة، (Exit Strategy)، لوضع وتنفيذ خطة مغادرة «يوناميد» الإقليم بالصورة التي اتُفِق عليها “بلا مراوغة أو تسويف،” حسب السفير عمر دهب، ممثل السودان في الأمم المتحدة.

وكان تدخل مجلس الامن التابع الأمم المتحدة بتكوين لجنة خاصة لدرافور وإصدار اول قرار دولي حوله عام 2005 لفرض عقوباتٍ على السودان، تحولاً حاسماً انتهى بإنشاء البعثة المشتركة للاتحاد الأفريقي والأمم المتحدة لعمليات السلام في دارفور يوليو 2007، بعد تبنيه القرار 1769 تحت الفصل السابع من ميثاق الأمم المتحدة. وهو القرار الذي اعتمدت عليه الإدارة الأمريكية في عقوباتها ضد حكومة السودان ايضاً.

تتكون “يوناميد” حالياً من 15,845 من القوات العسكرية، و1,583 من أفراد الشرطة، و13 من وحدات الشرطة المؤلفة مما يصل إلى 140 فرداً لكلٍ منها (ما مجموعه 4,200 فرد) في دارفور. تتمثل مهمة القوات بحماية المدنيين ولكن أيضاً تتولى اليوناميد بالشراكة مع السلطات السودانية المساهمة في تحقيق الأمن لتقديم المساعدة الإنسانية ورصد التحقق من تنفيذ الاتفاقات والمساعدة في تحقيق العملية السياسية الشاملة والمساهمة في تعزيز حقوق الإنسان وسيادة حكم القانون.

تراجع حركات التمرد

أهم ما لم يُشر إليه هذا التقرير الصادر عن مجلس الامن التابع للأمم المتحدة صراحةً لكن أكدته ضمناً، هو أن حركتي العدل والمساواة و حركة/ جيش تحرير السودان لم يعد لديهما وجود عسكري في الإقليم، بل أنّ الحكومة السودانية ذهبت إلى حدّ إعلان دارفور منطقةً خالية من التمرد. ومع ذلك، تلقت حركة العدل والمساواة ضربةً عسكرية قاصمة من قوات الدعم السريع التابعة للحكومة في ابريل 2015 في منطقة قوز دنقو، جنوبي دارفور، فيما كانت تحاول العبور بنخبة قواتها من دولة جنوب السودان إلى شماله. تبعثرت بعدها قواها العسكرية واستسلمت او انضمت للحكومة أو الجماعات الصغيرة المنشقة عن الحركة.
وعلاوة على ذلك، فقد تعرضت حركة/ جيش تحرير السودان بدورها لسلسة من الضربات والانقسامات، وبالتالي لم يبقى لها وجودٌ عسكري فاعل في دارفور. ونتيجة لذلك، لم تبقى قوة عسكرية ذات شأن في دارفور سوى قوة محدودة تتبع حركة العدل والمساواة الرافضة لأى تفاهمٍ مع الحكومة. ترتكز هذه القوة في المناطق الوعرة من جبل مرة وتقاوم بشدة، إلا أنها محرومة من أي إمداداتٍ عسكرية وسندٍ خارج المنطقة، ولن يطول بها المقام في ظل الظروف الراهنة.

دور الأطراف الخارجية

من الواضح ان عوامل إقليمية ودولية هي التي أدت لانحسار التمرد العسكري أكثر من القدرات القتالية للجيش الحكومي. إذ أنّ تفاقم الصراعات والحروب في دولة جنوب السودان، بعد الاستقلال عام 2011، قد حرمت الحركات الدارفورية من ظهير قوي، إضافةً إلى أن تورط بعض أقسام حركات التمرد في الصراعات في جنوب السودان وليبيا بهذه الدرجة أو تلك، أضعف موقفها.

وعلاوة على ذلك، رفعت حكومة تشاد المجاورة في عام 2013 يدها تماماً عن دعم حركات دارفور بالرغم من الصلات الإثنية القوية التي تربط الرئيس التشادي ادريس دبي بقبيلة الزغاوة، التي تشكل عصب الحركتين في دارفور. لكن العامل الاكثر أهمية في أزمة دارفور هو أن المجتمع الدولي، وخاصة الولايات المتحدة الامريكية ودول الاتحاد الأوربي، قد عدّلت سياساتها تجاه الحكومة السودانية لأسباب تتعلق بأولوياتها في منطقة افريقيا جنوب الصحراء.

وفي ظل تمدد القاعدة وداعش وبوكو حرام في مالي والنيجر ونيجريا وليبيا وجنوب الجزائر ومناطق أخرى في شمالي حزام السافانا الافريقي، يصبح انتشار الفوضى وتفكك الدولة المركزية في السودان خطراً داهماً على جهود محاربة الإرهاب الامريكية- الأوربية. ويبدو ذلك فائق الأهمية، في وقتٍ تتعاون فيه الحكومة السودانية مع الامريكان إلى أقصى حد.

كما أن الاتحاد الأوربي يرى في الحكومة السودانية حليفاً مهماً في جهود مكافحة تدفق موجات اللاجئين الافارقة إلى أوروبا، حيث أن قسماً مهماً من اللاجئين الافارقة يعبرون الأراضي السودانية إلى ليبيا ومصر ثم يتجهون من هناك إلى أوروبا عبر دروبٍ شتى. وفي ضوء ذلك، بدأ منذ عدة أشهر تعاونٌ سوداني أوروبي في هذا المجال، تلقت الحكومة السودانية بموجبه مساعداتٍ اقتصادية من أوروبا. وعلى هذه الخلفية، لم يعد أمام قادة متمردي دارفور، الذين تمتعوا بسندٍ محلي ودولي قوي لوقتٍ طويل، إلا أن يقبلوا بصفقةٍ ما مع حكومة الخرطوم تضمن لهم حيزاً في كعكة اقتسام السلطة والثروة، كما تسمى في الأدب السياسي الدارج في السودان.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Flickr | ©Flickr

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Sudan / Past to Present of Sudan / The Changing Political and Military Landscape in Darfur

The Changing Political and Military Landscape in Darfur

darfur-conflict jebel marra unamid
Tens of thousands of newly displaced people flee their villages due to the ongoing clashes between the government of Sudan forces and armed movements, which began in January 2016 in the Jebel Marra area. Sortoni, North Darfur, 23 April 2016. Photo UNAMID ©Flickr

Nearly 14 years since the outbreak of the bloody conflict in Sudan’s western Darfur region, which has claimed the lives of hundreds of thousands of people and displaced millions more, the humanitarian situation remains largely unaltered, although much has changed politically. Even so, there is little hope that peace, security and stability will be restored anytime soon.

In August 2016, both Gibril Ibrahim, leader of the Justice and Equality Movement, and Minni Minnawi, commander of the Sudan Liberation Movement/Army, signed the so-called ‘Roadmap Agreement’ with the Sudanese government, mediated by the African Union. It was preceded by dozens of aborted agreements between Khartoum and the country’s various rebel movements. Only a few people in Sudan are optimistic that this latest agreement will have a better chance of success than the previous ones. However, it may be the most important and impactful agreement to be signed in Darfur for several reasons, as this article explains.

Humanitarian Tragedy

The humanitarian and security situation in Darfur continues to be tragic. This is despite the decreasing armed confrontations between the rebel movements on the one hand, and the government forces and their militias on the other hand, and despite the relatively lower death toll in direct confrontations, since the rebel movements have become less capable of carrying out such attacks.

The conflict was originally sparked by traditional rivalry between nomadic Arab tribes and tribes of African origin who lived on agriculture (the conflict is also referred to locally as the Arab-Zurraga [Africans] war. However, the political bias of the government in Khartoum toward the Arab tribes and the arming of Arab militias known as the Janjaweed have exacerbated the situation and made it one of the bloodiest and most destructive wars in Africa.

A report issued by the UN Security Council in June, announcing the extension of the mandate of the African Union-United Nations Hybrid Operation in Darfur (UNAMID) for an additional year, said that the conflict in Darfur has not witnessed any change, given the failure of the Sudanese government and armed movements to reach a political settlement. The report attributed the stalemate to the continued tribal fighting and military confrontations between government forces and the Sudan Liberation Movement led by Abdul Wahid Nour (SLA/AW), although the confrontations are not as intense as in the past.

The report also referred to the poor conditions that are hampering the return of displaced people. It confirmed that military operations and aerial bombings continue to target areas in Jebel Marra, despite the government declaring Darfur free of armed movements after it gained control of the last strongholds of the SLA/AW in April 2016.

The report affirmed that the tribal conflicts in Darfur have caused one-third of the deaths in the region, adding that the exodus from conflict zones continues, with the total number of displaced people now standing at 2.6 million, 1.6 million of whom remain in camps and at least 2 million of whom are in need of humanitarian assistance. Some 2.7 million people now face emergency or crisis levels of food insecurity in Darfur. The report added that some 106,000 people have been displaced in this year. This is in addition to the 300,000 Sudanese refugees who remain in Chad and 50,000 others from South Sudan who have recently arrived in East Darfur.

However, the government in Khartoum insists that the humanitarian situation in Darfur has improved following the end of military operations in Jebel Marra, with the return of 800,000 displaced people in May and the return of a further 24,000 displaced people after the end of the Jebel Marra incidents. The government has also confirmed that it is planning to continue the work of the UNAMID exit strategy team in order to develop and implement a plan to facilitate the departure of UNAMID from the region as agreed upon “without evasion or delay”, according to Sudan’s representative to the United Nations, Omar Dahab.

The UN Security Council’s intervention in Darfur took the form of a special commission on Darfur and the first UN resolution in 2005 to impose sanctions on Sudan. This was a major shift that culminated in the establishment of UNAMID for peacekeeping operations in Darfur in July 2007, following the UN Security Council-endorsed Resolution 1769 under Chapter VII of the UN Charter. This was also the resolution that the US administration relied on in its sanctions against the Government of Sudan.

UNAMID presently consists of 15,845 military forces, 1,583 police personnel and 13 formed police units of up to 140 personnel each (4,200 in total) in Darfur. These forces are tasked with protecting civilians, but UNAMID, in partnership with the Sudanese authorities, also contributes to maintaining security, delivering humanitarian assistance, monitoring the implementation of agreements and assisting in achieving a comprehensive political process, as well as promoting human rights and the rule of law.

Decline in Rebel Activities

The most important development, which the UN Security Council report did not mention explicitly, is that the Justice and Equality Movement (JEM) and the Sudan Liberation Movement/Army no longer have a significant military presence in Darfur. The Sudanese government even went as far as declaring Darfur free of rebellion. JEM had been dealt a fatal military blow by the government’s Rapid Support Forces in April 2015 in Goz Degno, southern Darfur, as the movement’s elite forces were trying to move from South Sudan to North Sudan. The movement’s forces became scattered, surrendered or joined the government forces or small factions that had defected from the movement.

Moreover, the Sudan Liberation Movement/Army was the target of a series of attacks and became divided, making it unable to muster an effective military presence in Darfur. As a result, the only military presence still in Darfur is a small force affiliated with the SLA/AW which has refused to reach any understanding with the government. This force is concentrated in the rugged areas of Jebel Marra. It puts up strong resistance but it has no access to military supplies or support from outside the area, and it may not last for long given the current conditions.

The role of foreign parties

It is clear that regional and international factors have contributed to the decline of the military insurgency in the face of the combat capabilities of government army forces. The intensified conflicts and wars in South Sudan after independence in 2011 deprived the Darfur movements of strong support. Besides, some Darfur factions became involved in the conflicts in South Sudan and Libya to a lesser extent, which weakened their positions to a certain degree.

Moreover, in 2013 the government of neighbouring Chad completely stopped its long-time support of the Darfur movements, despite the strong ethnic links between Chadian President Idriss Deby and the Zaghawa tribe, the backbone of the two movements in Darfur. However, the most important factor in the Darfur crisis has been the international community, specifically the United States and the European Union, which have modified their policies toward the Sudanese government for reasons related to the international community’s priorities in sub-Saharan Africa.

In light of the expansion of al-Qaeda, Islamic State and Boko Haram in Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Libya, southern Algeria and other areas in the north of the African savanna belt, additional chaos and the disintegration of the central state in Sudan would seriously threaten the US-EU’s war on terror. This is extremely important, especially because it comes at a time when the Sudanese government has started to cooperate with the Americans to an unprecedented extent.

Furthermore, the EU now sees in the Sudanese government an important ally in its efforts to stem the flow of African refugees to Europe. This is because a significant portion of African refugees cross Sudan to reach Libya and Egypt, before heading to Europe using a variety of means. A Sudanese-European cooperation in this field started several months ago, for which the Sudanese government has received economic aid from Europe. The Darfur rebel leaders, who once enjoyed domestic and international support, now have no option but to accept a deal with Khartoum to ensure that they have a share of the power and fortunes of the country, two concepts that are familiar in Sudanese political discourse.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Flickr | ©Flickr

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.