فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / الاقتصاد في سوريا / فرص “ضعيفة” لإنعاش الاقتصاد على الرغم من المكاسب العسكرية والدعم الأجنبي

فرص “ضعيفة” لإنعاش الاقتصاد على الرغم من المكاسب العسكرية والدعم الأجنبي

syria-economy-update-kid-selling-vegetables-fanack-hollandse-hoogte1024px
طفل سوري يبيع الخضراوات خلال وقف إطلاق النار في حلب, 31 مارس 2016. Photo Beha el Halebi / Anadolu.

دعا محمد جهاد اللحام، رئيس مجلس الشعب السوري، مخاطباً المجلس في 7 فبراير 2016، إلى الاستفادة القصوى مما أسماه انتصارات الجيش السوري ضد المتمردين والجماعات المتطرفة “في العديد من المناطق في جميع أنحاء البلاد،” لتسريع جهود إعادة الإعمار في سوريا.

فيما قال رئيس الوزراء، وائل الحلقي، في نفس الجلسة، أن الحكومة ستركز في عام 2016 على “تحسين المؤشرات الاقتصادية والزراعية والخدمات،” وعلى “الاستثمار في جميع الموارد تحضيراً لعملية إعادة الإعمار.” وأكد الحلقي على جهود الحكومة المتواصلة لتوفير الاحتياجات الأساسية لمواطنيها، ودعم المشاريع الصغيرة جداً والصغيرة ومتوسطة الحجم، مؤكداً على أن الحكومة ستركز أيضاً على إنشاء قنوات استثمارية جديدة لدفع النمو الاقتصادي بالتوازي مع الإصلاح الإداري .

وتهدف تصريحات كل من الحلقي واللحام إلى إعطاء الانطباع بأنّ سوريا قد تكون قادرة، في المستقبل القريب، على التغلب على بعض التحديات الاقتصادية الصعبة التي واجهت البلاد منذ اندلاع المواجهات العنيفة في عام 2011.

مؤشرات اقتصادية لا تبشر بالخير

ومع ذلك، تُناقض الرواية المتفائلة للحكومة السورية إلى حدٍ كبير العديد من المؤشرات السلبية التي تُشير إلى أنّ الاقتصاد يزداد سوءاً، وبأنه لن يتعافى من الأزمة الراهنة بسهولة وفي أي وقتٍ قريب.

وتُشير الأرقام الاقتصادية السورية إلى خسائر كبيرة في عام 2015، عندما بلغ الناتج المحلي الإجمالي لسوريا ما يُقارب الـ30 مليار دولار، فضلاً عن تراجع الناتج الاقتصادي بنحو 60% مقارنةً بعام 2010، وذلك وفقاً لدراسة أجراها المعهد الملكي للشؤون الدولية (تشاتام هاوس). وتُشير التقديرات الاقتصادية الحديثة أنّ سوريا خسرت أكثر من 200 مليار دولار منذ عام 2011. فقد قال الاقتصادي السّوري جهاد يازجي للمونيتور إنّ “القطاعات الأكثر تأثراً هي قطاعا السياحة والصناعة، مع تراجع الأخير بنسبة 80%.” وتوقع تقرير صادر عن البنك الدولي تراجع الاقتصاد السوري بنسبة 16% إضافية عام 2016.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة، بلغ سعر صرف الليرة السورية 437 ليرة لكل دولار، مسجلاً أدنى انخفاض بسعر الصرف لليرة في تاريخ سوريا، وذلك بسبب “وقف عجلة الإنتاج وخاصة بعد دمار البنى التحتية، وتراجع كبير في حركة الاستيراد والتصدير التي أصبحت شبه معدومة،” وذلك وفقاً لتصريحات الخبير الاقتصادي السوري، خورشيد عليكا، إلى وكالة أنباء الأناضول التركية يوم 13 فبراير 2016. وأشار عليكا إلى أنّ هذا الإنخفاض بسعر صرف الليرة السورية جاء على الرغم من الانجازات العسكرية المزعومة للجيش السوري في حربه ضد المعارضة المسلحة في مناطق مثل حلب والمناطق الساحلية في الغرب، وأرجع ذلك إلى “تحول الحرب إلى دوامة انهكت، كلاً من النظام والمعارضة، وشردت الملايين من الشعب السوري.”

يتأثر الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في سوريا وحجم صادراتها بقوى محركة جديدة في أجزاء من البلاد والتي يُسيطر عليها لاعبون متعددون؛ مثل المتمردين، وحزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي الكردي في سوريا، وتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” والنظام السوري.

فقد سلبت الحرب من البلاد تكامل أراضيها ووحدتها الاقتصادية، وذلك بسبب تقسيم الأراضي السورية إلى كياناتٍ أصغر تُسيطر عليها مختلف الأطراف المتحاربة. فعلى سبيل المثال، يتركز النفط والفوسفات والمنتجات الزراعية في المناطق التي يُسيطر عليها المتمردون إلى حدٍ كبير في شرقيّ وشمال شرقيّ البلاد، إذ تقع حقول النفط في مناطق دير الزور والحسكة، بينما تقع مناجم الفوسفات شرق تدمر.ويُسيطر على هذه المناطق إما الأكراد أو “داعش،” وهذا يعني حرمان النظام من مصدرٍ آخر يدر “ملايين الدولارات” من العائدات.

ففي عام 2013، فقدت الحكومة السورية سيطرتها على جميع حقول النفط الرئيسية، عندما استولى تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” على أجزاء من محافظتيّ دير الزور والرقة في شمال البلاد، على الرغم من أنّ الحكومة تمكنت من الحفاظ على بعض حقول الغاز تحت سيطرتها لمواصلة تغذية محطات توليد الكهرباء. ومع ذلك، تسبب نقص الوقود بانقطاع التيار الكهربائي عن معظم أنحاء البلاد، مما تسبب في إغراق 83% من المناطق التي كان يصلها التيار الكهربائي في السابق بالظلام، وذلك وفقاً لآخر التقارير التي يعود تاريخها إلى شهر أبريل من عام 2015.

كما يزعُم محللون ماليون أن النظام السوري كان يشتري حوالي 20,000 برميل من النفط يومياً من “داعش،” وأنّ النظام تفاوض مع “داعش” للحفاظ على إمداداته من الغاز من حقول الغاز الشرقية، في محاولةٍ للحفاظ على مواصلة عمل بعض المصانع التي يُسيطر عليها النظام.

ويُقال أيضاً أن “داعش” أحكم سيطرته أيضاً على حوالي ثلاثة أرباع إنتاج سوريا من القطن. ونتيجةً لذلك، إنخفض إنتاج النظام من حوالي 600,000 طن سنوياً قبل اندلاع الحرب، إلى 70,000 طن فقط في عام 2015.

بعبارة أخرى، تُدمر الحرب السورية، الوحدة الاقتصادية للبلاد فضلاً عن التماسك الاجتماعي، كما أنّ هذه التحولات الاقتصادية ستلقي بثقلها، دون أدنى شك، على عملية إعادة إعمار البلاد، وتشكل عقبات مالية واقتصادية جديدة في المستقبل.

وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، فعلى الرغم من أنّ الحملة العسكرية الروسية التي بدأت في سبتمبر 2015 أعطت دفعةً قوية للحكومة السورية المنهكة، إلا أنها فاقمت الأزمة الإنسانية المتفاقمة في الأصل، مما أجبر المزيد من السوريين على الفرار من البلاد، تاركين الاقتصاد يعتمد، أكثر من أي وقتٍ مضى، على المساعدات الخارجية. هناك آمالٌ كبيرة بأنّ وقف إطلاق النار، بوساطة كلٍ من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وروسيا، والذي بدأ تطبيقه في أواخر شهر فبراير من العام الجاري، سيؤدي إلى تسويةٍ يمكن تطبيقها بين النظام والمعارضة.

الاقتصاد السوري ضعيف ولكن سريع الاستجابة للمتغيرات

على الرغم من التدهور الاقتصادي في السنوات الأخيرة، إلا أنّ الاقتصاد السوري تجنب الانهيار التام. فقد حافظت الحكومة على انتاج زراعي وصناعي محدود، وذلك بفضل سيطرتها على المدن الساحلية؛ دمشق واللاذقية وطرطوس، وهو ما يمثل ثلث الأراضي السورية تقريباً، إذ ساعد هذا النظام على مواصلة تجارته مع العالم الخارجي، أو على الأقل مع حلفائه الرئيسيين، روسيا وإيران.

المساعدات الاقتصادية الروسية والإيرانية التي لا تزال تتدفق على النظام السوري ضرورية لتأمين الاحتياجات المتزايدة على النفط والحبوب في البلاد. ووفقاً للمبعوث الخاص للأمم المتحدة إلى سوريا ستيفان دي ميستورا، يتلقى النظام حوالي 6 مليار دولار من إيران سنوياً، وفي نوفمبر 2015، تلقى النظام 100,000 طن من القمح، تبرعت بها روسيا. وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، خففت التبرعات الغذائية والنقدية التي يحصل عليها السوريون ممن هم بحاجة إلى مساعداتٍ إنسانية، إلى حدٍ ما من العبء المالي على النظام، على الرغم من أن الإحصاءات الرسمية لمكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية (أوتشا) لعام 2016، تُشير إلى أن السوريين المتضررين من النزاع تلقوا حوالي 218 مليون دولار فقط، أي ما يصل إلى 4% فقط من إجمالي المساعدات اللازمة.

إنّ هذا الدعم الأجنبي المتواصل للنظام السوري غير كافٍ للسماح بتعافي الاقتصاد السوري، ذلك أن القتال بين النظام وجماعات المعارضة المسلحة يُعرقل الجهود الدولية لإعادة الإعمار، ويضعف القدرة الإنتاجية، والأصول الاقتصادية، وقدرة البلاد على جذب الاستثمارات.

لا يزال الاقتصاد السوري عُرضة للاستنزاف المستمر الناجم عن ارتفاع تكاليف الحرب، والأضرار واسعة النطاق التي لحقت بالبُنية التحتية ورأس المال البشري. “الحرب في سوريا سرقت منها أربعة عقودٍ من التقدم الاجتماعي والاقتصادي،” هذا ما قاله مسؤولٌ في الأمم المتحدة في 26 فبراير 2016، مخاطباً الحضور في منتدى فالداي للنقاش والحوار السياسي الدولي في موسكو، حيث تجمع أكثر من مائة من المسؤولين من عدة دول لمناقشة أزمة الشرق الأوسط.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Beha el Halebi / Anadolu Agency ©Hollandse Hoogte | Beha el Halebi ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Syria / Economy / Chances of Economic Recovery “Slim” Despite Military Gains, Foreign Support

Chances of Economic Recovery “Slim” Despite Military Gains, Foreign Support

syria-economy-update-kid-selling-vegetables-fanack-hollandse-hoogte1024px
A Syrian child selling vegetables during the ceasefire in Aleppo, March 31, 2016. Photo Beha el Halebi / Anadolu.

Addressing the People’s Assembly on 7 February 2016, Muhammad Jihad al-Laham, Speaker of the Syrian Parliament, called for maximizing the benefit of what he called the Syrian army’s military victories against rebels and extremist groups “in many areas across the country” so as to speed up reconstruction efforts in Syria.

In the same session, Prime Minister Wail al-Halqi said the government in 2016 will focus “on improving economic, agricultural, and services indicators” and on “investing in all resources to prepare for the reconstruction process.” Al-Halqi affirmed the government’s continuing efforts to provide the basic needs of its citizens and support micro, small, and medium-sized enterprises, stressing that the government will also emphasize the creation of new investment channels to push economic growth in parallel with administrative reform.

These statements by al-Halqi and al-Laham aim to give the impression that Syria may be able, in the near future, to overcome some of the daunting economic challenges that have faced the country since the outbreak of violent confrontations in 2011.

Economic indicators not promising

However, the Syrian government’s optimistic narrative contradicts sharply with several negative indicators suggesting that the economy is worsening, and that it will not recover from the current crisis easily and any time soon.

Syrian economic figures show huge losses in 2015, when Syria’s GDP amounted to approximately $30 billion, with the economic output declining by about 60 per cent compared with 2010, according to a Chatham House study. Up-to-date economic estimates show that Syria has lost more than $200 billion since 2011. “The sectors most affected are tourism and industry, with the latter shrinking by 80%,” Syrian economist Jihad Yaziji told al-Monitor. A World Bank report predicted that the Syrian economy will fall another 16 per cent in 2016.

Recently, the exchange rate of the Syrian pound reached 437 per US dollar, the value of the pound reaching the lowest point in the history of Syria, on account of “the glacial pace of production, large-scale damage sustained by infrastructure across the country, and the sharp decline in imports and exports,” according to Syrian economist Khursheed Alika, speaking to Turkey’s Anadolu news agency on 13 February 2016. Alika noted that this drop in the Syrian pound came despite the Syrian army’s alleged military achievements in the fight against the armed opposition in areas such as Aleppo and the coastal areas in the west, “because the war has worn out both the regime and the opposition and led to the displacement of millions of Syrians.”

Syria’s GDP and the size of its exports are influenced by new dynamics in the parts of the country that are controlled by various players—rebels, the Kurdish Democratic Union Party (PYD), the Islamic State (IS), and the Syrian regime.

The war has robbed the country of its territorial integrity and economic unity, as the Syrian territory has been divided into smaller entities controlled by the various warring parties. Oil, phosphates, and agricultural products, for example, are concentrated in the largely rebel-controlled territories in the east and northeast. Oil fields are located in the areas of Dayr az-Zawr and Hasakah, while phosphate mines are located east of Palmyra. These areas are controlled by the Kurds or IS, thus depriving the regime of another source of “millions of dollars” in revenue.

The Syrian government lost control of all of its major oil fields when, in 2013, IS captured parts of Dayr az-Zawr and Raqqa provinces in the north, although the government managed to keep some gas fields under its control to continue supplying its power plants. Still, the shortage of fuel has caused power outages in most of the country, cloaking 83 per cent of formerly illuminated areas in darkness, according to the latest reports dated April 2015.

Financial analysts claim that the Syrian regime was buying approximately 20,000 barrels of oil per day from IS and that the regime was negotiating with IS to maintain its supply of gas from eastern gas fields in a bid to keep some of the regime-controlled factories operational.

IS is also said to have seized control of about three-quarters of Syria’s production of cotton. As a result, the regime’s production has dropped from about 600,000 tonnes per year before the war to just 70,000 tonnes in 2015.

In other words, the Syrian war is destroying the country’s economic unity as well as its social cohesion, and these economic transformations will undoubtedly weigh on the reconstruction of the country and pose new financial and economic hurdles in the future.

Russia’s military campaign started in September 2015, while a major boost to the exhausted Syrian government, worsened an already serious humanitarian crisis, forcing more Syrians to flee the country and leaving the economy ever more reliant on foreign aid. There is little hope that the ceasefire agreement brokered by the United States and Russia in late February 2016 will lead to a viable settlement between the regime and the opposition.

Syrian economy weak but resilient

Despite the economic decline in recent years, the Syrian economy has avoided total collapse. The government maintained limited agricultural and industrial production, thanks to its control over coastal cities—Damascus, Latakia, and Tartous—accounting for almost one-third of Syrian territory, and this has helped the regime continue trade with the outside world or at least with its main allies, Russia and Iran.

Russian and Iranian economic assistance that continues to flow to the Syrian regime is key to securing the country’s growing needs for oil and grain. The regime receives nearly US $6 billion annually from Iran, said UN Special Envoy to Syria Staffan de Mistura, and in November 2015 the regime received 100,000 tonnes of wheat, donated by Russia. The food and monetary donations received by Syrians in need of humanitarian assistance has somewhat alleviated the regime’s financial burden, although official statistics for 2016 by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (UNOCHA) indicate that the Syrians harmed by the conflict have received only about $218 millions, amounting to only four per cent of total aid needed.

This continuing foreign support for the Syrian regime is insufficient to allow the Syrian economy to heal, as fighting between the regime and armed opposition groups impedes international efforts at reconstruction and weakens productive capacity, economic assets, and the country’s ability to attract investment.

The Syrian economy remains subject to a continuous drain caused by the rising cost of war and extensive damage sustained by infrastructure and human capital. “The war in Syria has robbed it of four decades of social and economic progress,” said a UN official on 26 February, 2016, addressing the Valdai discussion forum in Moscow, where more than one hundred officials from several countries gathered to discuss Middle Eastern crises.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.