فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / وُجوه / الوجه الأنثوي لديكتاتورية الأسد

الوجه الأنثوي لديكتاتورية الأسد

إن كنت تحكم بلادك بالحديد والنار، كما يفعل بشار الأسد، فعليك بالزواج من سيدة مثقفة وجميلة تحمل ملامح غربية لتسوق لنفسك جيداً. تتفق الروايات والأفلام الوثائقية وكتب السيرة الذاتية لعائلة الأسد الابن بأن الزواج من أسماء الأخرس، ابنة المدارس البريطانية، جاء ليخدم هذه الغاية.

من هي أسماء الأسد؟

هي ابنة فواز الأخرس، جرّاح قلبٍ سُنيّ سوري مقيم في لندن، حيث تنحدر عائلته من مدينة حمص في وسط سوريا. وأمها سحر العطري، دبلوماسية متقاعدة عملت سكرتير أول في السفارة السورية في لندن. ولدت أسماء في 11 أغسطس 1975، ونشأت في لندن حيث كان أصدقاؤها يسمونها “إيما.” حصلت على شهادة البكالوريوس في علوم الكمبيوتر من الكلية الملكية التابعة لجامعة لندن عام 1996. تدربت على العمل المصرفي في نيويورك ثم عملت محللة مالية في بنك ألمانيا “دويتشه بانك” في لندن، قبل أن تنتقل إلى مصرف “جي بي مورغان”، ثم سيدة سوريا الأولى.

تعرفت أسماء على بشار الأسد خلال تواجده في لندن بين أعوام 1992 – 1994، حيث كان يختص بطب العيون في أحد مستشفيات لندن التي كان يعمل فيها والد أسماء الدكتور فواز الأخرس. تزوجت أسماء من بشار بصمتٍ مطبق عقب تسلمه السلطة خلفاً لوالده حافظ الأسد. بدايةً، لم تنل أسماء الكثير من الاهتمام العائلي من قبل آل الأسد ولم تظهر في صور عائلية معهم خلافاً لما بات يظهر على وسائل الإعلام بعد فترة من صور مشتركةٍ لها ولبشار مع ابنهما الأول حافظ، ومن ثم مع باقي أولادهما مع مرور السنوات.

الوجه الأوروبي والإنجليزية ذات اللكنة البريطانية، دفعت أسماء للعب دورها على أكمل وجه كسيدة سوريا الأولى، حيث رافقت زوجها بعد ستة أشهر من رئاسه سوريا بالعلن، ومن ثم في زياراته الرسمية إلى مختلف أنحاء العالم. تخلت أسماء عن حلمها في ارتياد جامعة هارفرد الشهيرة لتكون السيدة الأولى وأحد أفراد عائلة الأسد؛ حيث لقيت قبولاً نسبياً في الداخل السوري كما لقيت ترحيباً كبيراً في المحافل الغربية.

تنقلت أسماء في المدن السورية الفقيرة وأطلقت مشاريع لتشغيل النساء في مناطق نائية من سوريا مثل منطقة جبل الزاوية في إدلب، كما أسست فيما بعد عدداً من المنظمات والجمعيات العاملة في مجال الدفاع عن المرأة ورعاية الطفل كان أشهرها الأمانة السورية للتنمية، التي شكلت مظلة لمجموعة واسعة من المشاريع التنموية في سوريا.

استعانت أسماء بشركات علاقات عامة لتنفيذ ما تريد من أعمال على المستوى السياسي الخارجي، حيث عقدت مؤتمراً لنساء رؤساء المنطقة أسوةً بزوجة بوش الأبن، لورا بوش، وشقت طريقها باتجاه علاقاتٍ دافئة مع الأميرة موزة، زوجة أمير قطر، وأمينة أردوغان- زوجة الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان. لتتنصل منهن لاحقاً عقب الثورة السورية التي انطلقت في مارس 2011.

Syria- Asma al-Assad
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ LOUAI BESHARA

وفي عام 2002، أي بعد عامين على زواجها، زارت لندن برفقة زوجها في زيارة رسمية هي الأولى لها إلى بلدها الثاني، بريطانيا، حيث استقبلت كالملكات في مدرستها القديمة في لندن، والتقت مع بشار الأسد بالملكة إليزابيث ورئيس الوزراء البريطاني الأسبق طوني بلير، وتحدثت هي وزوجها عن أزمة الإرهاب وضرورة محاربته.

نشرت العائلة عبر مكتب أسماء الأسد الإعلامي صورة خاصة للعائلة، هي وبشار وابنهم حافظ. ثم نشرت صورة أخرى للعائلة في عيد ميلاد أحد الصغار. فقد قال مصورهم آنذاك عمار عبد ربه في مقابلته للفيلم الوثائقي “الوجه الجميل للديكتاتورية”، بأن هذه الصور رسالة للعالم بأننا “حضاريون ومتقدمون ومنفتحون على العالم ونحن أسرة أوروبية تحكم سوريا.”

لم تقف هذه الحملة الواسعة لبناء الصورة المشرقة للعائلة الحاكمة في سوريا، وسعت الحملة لرسم ملامح تفيد بأن الأسد الابن رئيس التغير والإصلاح في سوريا وكذلك زوجته التي تنزل برفقته إلى شوارع دمشق القديمة وتلقي التحيات على الناس بشكل عفوي وتتلقى منهم الإبتسامات والسلامات بكل ترحاب ولطف. وبالمثل في عام 2009، رافق كل من بشار الأسد وزجته أسماء فريق تصوير في سيارتهما الخاصة وهما في طريقهما لحضور عرض بدار الأوبرا في دمشق حيث صفق الناس لهما لحظة دخولهما إلى القاعة، وتحدثا عن الأمن والأمان في سوريا وأن سيارة الأسد غير محصنة ضد الرصاص، في استعراض واضح للحكم الحديث في سوريا. ومع ذلك، نسيا أن دار الأوبرا بات اسمها دار الأسد للثقافة والفنون، كما حال كل شيء في سوريا- بدايةً من الشوارع ووصولاً للبلاد برمتها التي صار اسمها “سوريا الأسد.”

الوجه البغيض

عقب تفجيرات مدريد الإرهابية عام 2004 زارت أسماء وزوجها مكان التفجير وأشعل كل منهما شمعة على أرواح الضحايا. في ذلك الوقت، صرحها أنهما ضد الإرهاب بكل أشكاله، بالوقت الذي كانت معسكرات الجهاديين الذاهبين إلى العراق تتمركز على التراب السوري، ويتم تمرير الجهاديين من كل بقاع الأرض إلى العراق عبر الأراضي السورية.

وبعد أشهر قليلة، أي في فبراير 2005، تم اغتيال رئيس الوزراء اللبناني آنذاك، رفيق الحريري، وتوجهت أصابع الاتهام إلى النظام السوري وبالذات إلى بشار الأسد. وبعدها بشهرين توفي البابا يوحنا بولس الثاني، وبسبب سياسية الفاتيكان بعدم رفض أي من المشاركين في التأبين، ذهبت أسماء برفقة زوجها إلى الفاتيكان وهناك رفض الجميع التواصل مع بشار الأسد، في حين شقت هي الصفوف للحديث مع ملكة إسبانيا وزوجة طوني بلير رئيس الوزراء البريطاني، ما كسر الجليد المتلبد حول زوجها، الذي تقول عنه بأنه محب للمنزل وهو شخص مرح وبالذات مع صغاره.

أعلن بشار الأسد حرباً على شعبه عقب إنطلاق الثورة السورية في مارس 2011. اختفت أسماء الأسد عن الشاشات بشكل واضح ولم تظهر إلى الإعلام بأي مقابلة، إلا عبر موقع الرئاسة السورية حيث تظهر في استقبال نساء القتلى الذين قضوا في الدفاع عن النظام السوري، أو برفقة الجنود المصابين أو برفقة المتفوقين في المدارس، أو مع الأطفال في المدارس مع بداية العام الدراسي الجديد، برسالة واضحة أن الحياة تسير على ما هي عليه في سوريا رغم كل ما يجري ويحدث خارج جدران قصرها المنيف. إلا أن المراسلات التي سربت عنها وعن زوجها خلال سنوات الثورة، والرسائل الإلكترونية بينهما تدل على مساندتها اللامحدودة له، وعيشها حياة بذخ حيث تشتري ثيابها الخاصة وأحذيتها بألاف الدولارات من أسواق العالم عبر الانترنت.

جاء أول تعليقٍ علني لها حول ما يجري في سوريا جاء في أواخر فبراير 2012، أي بعد حوالي العام، حيث قالت: “الرئيس هو رئيس سوريا بكاملها، وليس رئيس فصيل من السوريين، والسيدة الأولى تدعمه في هذا الدور،” حيث صدر هذا التصريح عبر مكتبها الصحفي الرسمي. وفي ذات العام وضعها الاتحاد الأوروبي من بين الشخصيات السورية المعاقبة نتيجة الرد العنيف للحكومة السورية على الاحتجاجات التي اجتاحت البلاد.

Syria- Asma al-Assad
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ MIGUEL MEDINA

آخر مقابلاتها المثيرة للجدل بشأن مواقفها من الثورة السورية كان يوم استقبلت ما بات يعرف بـ “مقاتلات الغوطة” التابعات لقوات النظام التي كانت تحاصر الغوطة الشرقية في ريف دمشق، وهي إحدى المناطق التي تعرضت لعشرات المجازر البشعة على يد قوات النظام والقوات الموالية له، ويومها قالت عنهن أسماء: “ضفّرن شعرهن وأجلن أحلامهن وتركن أهلهن ولبسن البدلة العسكرية بدل فستان العرس، وحملن البارودة بدل دفتر الدراسة”، مهملة ما ارتكبت هذه القوات من مجازر بحق المدنيين هناك.

سبق مقابلة “ضفائر النار،” حديثٌ رسمي هو الوحيد لأسماء الأسد عام 2016 مع التلفزيون الروسي الرسمي حيث أعلنت أنها رفضت في السابق عروضاً للخروج من سوريا. مما سبق يمكن اختصار مواقف أسماء السياسية بأنها نفت فكرة مغادرتها سوريا قائلةً: “كيف يمكنني أن أربي أبنائي على حُبّ سوريا إن لم يحيَوا فيها؟”، وفي حديث ثاني قالت “كيف أعلّم أبنائي حضارة وطنهم وتاريخه إذا لم يحيَوا في بيوتهم ويأكلوا طعام بلادهم؟ هذا غير ممكن. أنا موجودة هنا أمس، اليوم، وغداً،” وتابعت “كسوريين، تمكنا دائماً من الانتصار، وهذه المرحلة من تاريخنا لا تشكل استثناءً. من المعروف، أو كما يقال دائماً، فإن سوريا تعنى “الشمس المشرقة،” وأؤكد أن السوريين سينهضون من جديد.”

سرطان الثدي

أعلنت الرئاسة السورية في أغسطس 2018، إصابة أسماء بسرطان الثدي. خضعت بعدها للعلاج من الورم الخبيث وهو في مرحلة مبكرة بحسب التصريحات الرسمية السورية. استغلت أسماء مرضها لتقوم بمجموعة نشاطات عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والظهور مراتٍ مختلفة مرتديةً وشاحاً على رأسها في تأكيد لعلاجها الكيميائي، وشاركت في اليوم العالمي للتوعية من سرطان الثدي بطريقة قيل أنها عفوية حيث شاركت النساء في المستشفى بأحاديث خلال خضوعهن للعلاج.

كما ظهرت برفقة بشار الأسد في أحد المطاعم وسط دمشق القديمة. جميع الرسائل التي بثتها أسماء كانت تحمل طابع أن “سوريا بخير،” وهي رسالة النظام السوري منذ بداية الثورة وحتى تاريخ اليوم.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ LOUAI BESHARA | ©AFP ⁃ MIGUEL MEDINA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / Faces from Syria / The Feminine Face of Al-Assad’s Dictatorship

The Feminine Face of Al-Assad’s Dictatorship

If you rule your country with iron and fire, as Syrian President Bashar al-Assad does, you will need to marry a beautiful and educated woman to be able to market yourself very efficiently. Narratives, documentaries and biographies of the al-Assad family agree that marrying Asma al-Akhras, who studied in UK schools, came to serve that purpose.

Who Is Asma al-Assad?

Asma al-Assad is the daughter of Fawaz al-Akhras, a Syrian Sunni heart surgeon based in London whose family descends from the city of Homs in central Syria. Her mother, Sahar al-Otri, is a retired diplomat who served as First Secretary at the Syrian Embassy in London. Asma was born on 11 August 1975 and grew up in London, where her friends called her “Emma.” She obtained a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science from the Royal College at the University of London in 1996. She received training in banking in New York and then worked as a financial analyst at Deutsche Bank in London, before moving to JPMorgan and eventually becoming Syria’s First Lady.

Asma was introduced to Bashar al-Assad during the latter’s stay in London from 1992-1994, during which he specialized in ophthalmology at a London hospital where Asma’s father worked. She married Bashar secretly after he succeeded his father Hafez al-Assad as Syria’s president. Initially, Asma did not receive much attention from the al-Assad family and did not appear in family pictures with them. Her media appearances eventually grew more frequent and she would be photographed with her husband and their first son, Hafez, and eventually with the rest of their children over time.

The European face and English accent of Asma al-Assad allowed her to play her role as First Lady to the fullest. She accompanied her husband in public six months after he became president and then started to accompany him on his official visits to various parts of the world. Asma abandoned her dream of attending Harvard University to become First Lady and a member of the al-Assad family; her presence was relatively well received inside Syria as well as in Western circles.

Asma travelled to poor Syrian cities, where she launched projects for the employment of women in remote areas such as Jabal az Zawiyah in Idlib; she later established a number of organizations and associations advocating for women’s defence and childcare, the most famous of which has been the Syrian Trust for Development, which serves as an umbrella for a wide range of development projects in Syria.

Asma has used public relations companies to carry out her activities on foreign and political levels. She held a conference for female leaders of the region, similar to what Laura Bush, the spouse of former US President George W. Bush, did and she managed to establish good relations with Sheikha Mouza, wife of the former Emir of Qatar das well as Emine Erdogan, spouse of Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan. ‘ She later dissociated herself from them after the outbreak of the Syrian revolution in March 2011.

Syria- Asma al-Assad
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ LOUAI BESHARA

In 2002, two years into her marriage, Asma visited London along with her husband on her first official visit to Britain, her second homeland, where she was given a reception fit for a queen at her old school. They met with Queen Elizabeth and former Prime Minister Tony Blair, and both Asma and her husband spoke about terrorism and the need to fight it.

The family published through Asma’s media office a picture of her, her husband and their son Hafez. Another picture was published to show the family celebrating the birthday of one of the children. Ammar Abd Rabbuh, the -family’s photographer at the time, said in an interview for the documentary “The Beautiful Face of Dictatorship,” that these pictures send a message to the world that “we are civilized and open to the world, and we are a European-like family ruling Syria.”

This large-scale campaign to build a bright picture of the ruling family in Syria did not stop, and the campaign sought to send the message that the son of Hafez al-Assad was a president ushering in change and reform in Syria, and so would his wife, who accompanies him to the streets of old Damascus, greets the people spontaneously and receives smiles and greetings from them in a very welcoming and kind way.

Similarly, in 2009, both Bashar al-Assad and his wife were accompanied by a team of photographers in their own car and on their way to attend a show at the Opera House in Damascus. People clapped for them and applauded them as they entered the hall. The couple talked about security and safety in Syria and said that al-Assad’s car was not bulletproof, only to pretend that they represented modern rule in Syria. However, they forgot that the opera house had become known as Dar al-Assad for Culture and Arts, just like everything else in Syria – including names of streets and the entire country, which is referred to as “the Syria of al-Assad.”

A Tainted Face

After the Madrid bombings in 2004, Asma al-Assad and her husband visited the scene of the bombing and lit a candle for the victims’ souls. At a time when the camps of jihadists moving toward Iraq were based in Syria and jihadists were transported to all Iraqi areas via Syrian territory, the al-Assads said that they were against all forms of terrorism.

A few months later, in February 2005, former Lebanese Prime Minister Rafiq al-Hariri was assassinated and the Syrian regime, specifically Bashar al-Assad, was blamed. Two months later, Pope John Paul II died. Because of the Vatican’s policy of not preventing anyone from participating in the funeral procession, Asma al-Assad accompanied her husband to the Vatican, where everyone refused to communicate with him. However, Asma made her way to speak to the Queen of Spain and the spouse of former British Prime Minister Tony Blair, breaking the ice surrounding her husband, whom she says loves his home and is joyful, especially with his kids.

Al-Assad declared a war against his own people after the Syrian revolution began in March 2011. Asma disappeared from the media and did not give any interviews. She made no statements except through the Syrian Presidency’s official website, where she was shown receiving bereaved women related to Syrians killed while defending the Syrian regime, or accompanying wounded soldiers, academically excellent students, or school children at the beginning of the new school year, to send the message that life was going on normally in Syria despite what was happening outside the walls of her large palace. Leaked correspondence and the exchange of e-mails between her and her husband during the years of the revolution indicated her unlimited support and the fancy life that she lived. She bought her own clothes and shoes for thousands of dollars from world markets via the Internet.

Her first public comment on what was happening in Syria came about a year later in February 2012. She said, “the president is the president of all of Syria, not the head of a faction of Syrians, and the first lady supports him in this role.” Her statement was issued through her official media office at the time. In the same year, the European Union put Asma on a list of sanctioned Syrian individuals in response to the Syrian government’s violent response to the popular protests that swept the country.

Syria- Asma al-Assad
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ MIGUEL MEDINA

Her most recent controversial interview about her positions toward the Syrian revolution took place the day when she received what became known as “Ghouta female fighters” affiliated with the regime forces that besieged Eastern Ghouta in Rif Dimashq, one of the areas that were subjected to dozens of horrible massacres by forces of the regime and those loyal to it. Asma said at the time, “they plaited their hair, postponed their dreams, left their families, wore the military uniform instead of the wedding dress and carried guns instead of books.” Her remarks demonstrated complete disregard for the massacres that these forces committed against civilians there.

The interview, titled “Plaits of Fire,” was preceded by her statement in 2016, which she gave to state-run Russian television, when she announced that she had rejected an offer to leave Syria. Asma’s political views and her rejection of the idea of leaving Syria can be observed in her remarks: “How can I teach my children to love Syria if they do not live there?” In a second interview, she said, “how can I teach my children the civilization and history of their homeland if they do not live in their home and eat from their country’s food? This is impossible. I have been here in the past and in the present and I will stay in the future.” She later said, “as Syrians, we have always been able to win and this stage of our history is not an exception. As it is known, or as it is always said, Syria means ‘the rising sun’, and I assure you that the Syrians will rise again.”

Breast Cancer

The Syrian Presidency announced in August 2018 that Asma had breast cancer, after which she was treated for an early stage of a malignant tumour, according to official Syrian statements. Asma took advantage of her illness to carry out a series of activities on social media and make various appearances wearing a scarf on her head as one way to demonstrate that she underwent chemotherapy. She participated in World Breast Cancer Awareness Day in a way that was described as spontaneous, engaging in chats with women undergoing cancer treatment at the hospital.

She also appeared with Bashar al-Assad in a restaurant in the centre of old Damascus. All the messages that Asma sent were to say that “Syria is fine,” which has been the same message of the Syrian regime from the outbreak of the revolution until this day.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MIGUEL MEDINA | ©AFP ⁃ LOUAI BESHARA

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.