فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / وُجوه / رياض الترك: “شيخ المعارضة السورية”

رياض الترك: “شيخ المعارضة السورية”

كرّس رياض الترك حياته لمقاومة الحكومة السورية. وباعتباره زعيماً للمعارضة، تعرض للحبس عدة مرات قبل أن يهرب إلى فرنسا، حيث يعيش اليوم في المنفى.

ولد الترك المُلقب بـ”شيخ المعارضة السورية،” في حمص- سوريا في عام 1930، وهو ناشطٌ مخضرم وشخصية بارزة في حزب الشعب الديمقراطي السوري، وهو حزب معارضة اشتراكي أسسه في عام 1973. كان الحزب جزءاً من المجلس الوطني السوري، وهو منظمة مظلة تضم أغلب أطياف المعارضة التي أنشئت بعد سبعة أشهر من الانتفاضة ضد الرئيس بشار الأسد في مارس 2011.

انخرط الترك في السياسة أثناء دراسته للقانون حيث انضم إلى الحزب الشيوعي السوري، الذي ظل قائماً إلى أن انقسم إلى جناحين مختلفين في عام 1986. تم القبض عليه أولاً بعد وقتٍ قصير من تخرجه من كلية الحقوق في عام 1952 لمعارضته الحكومة العسكرية التي استولت على السلطة في انقلاب مارس 1949. احتُجز لمدة خمسة أشهر وتعرض للتعذيب ولم تتم إدانته قط. اعتقل مرةً أخرى في عام 1958 لمدة 16 شهراً لمعارضته الوحدة (المؤقتة) بين سوريا ومصر.

لطالما كان الترك مفكراً مستقلاً، حيث قاد فصيلاً داخل الحزب يميل نحو القومية العربية ويعزز وحدة الشعب العربي. لم يحظى هذا الاتجاه بالقبول من قبل بقية الأعضاء، مثل خالد بكداش، الأمين العام آنذاك.

أدت التوترات في النهاية إلى قيام الترك بتأسيس الحزب الشيوعي السوري- المكتب السياسي في عام 1973 لفصل مذهبه السياسي عن مذهب بكداش، الذي كان قد دمج آنذاك الحزب الشيوعي السوري مع تحالفٍ من المنظمات المتحالفة مع حزب البعث العربي الإشتراكي الحاكم، وأعاد تسميته إلى الجبهة الوطنية التقدمية.

Syria- Riad al-Turk
Photo AFP

قبلت الحكومة في البداية حزب الترك، إلا أن معارضته للتدخل السوري في الحرب الأهلية اللبنانية والضغط الذي تعرضت له الحكومة من قبل الإسلاميين والمعارضة العلمانية أدى إلى قمعه.

كانت عواقب ذلك على الترك جسيمة، فقد سُجن في الحبس الانفرادي من عام 1980 إلى عام 1998. وبحسب منظمة العفو الدولية، تعرض للتعذيب طوال فترة احتجازه، كما حُرم من العلاج الطبي لمرض السكري وعانى من الفشل الكلوي وغيره من الأمراض الخطيرة. ولم تتمكن أسرته من زيارته إلا ثلاث مرات خلال السنوات الخمس الأخيرة من عقوبته. كما ألقي القبض على زوجته أسماء الفيصل، وهي طبيبة من حمص، ولكن تم إطلاق سراحها بعد بضع سنوات.

فقد عرض حافظ الأسد، الرئيس آنذاك، مراراً وتكراراً إطلاق سراح الترك شريطة أن يدعم النظام علناً، إلا أن الأخير رفض. وفي النهاية وافق على الابتعاد عن السياسة مقابل إطلاق سراحه، إلا أن هذا لم يدم طويلاً.

في الواقع، بعد تولي بشار الأسد السلطة من والده، لعب الترك دوراً كبيراً في ما يسمى ربيع دمشق، وهي فترةٌ شهدت نقاشاتٍ سياسية ومطالب بالتغيير الديمقراطي في يونيو 2000. وفي أغسطس 2001، ظهر الترك على قناة الجزيرة، حيث طالب بوحدة جميع الفصائل السياسية، إذ قال “ما نحتاجه اليوم هو المصالحة، و[علينا] العمل من أجل مستقبلٍ جديد، ونسيان أخطاء الماضي. في الماضي، كان لدينا مشكلة مع الدكتاتور، والآن هذه المشكلة انتهت – مات الدكتاتور.”

تم القبض عليه بعد فترةٍ وجيزة أثناء سعيه للحصول على علاجٍ طبي. وجهت له تهم “تحدي الدولة ومحاولة تغيير الدستور بوسائل غير قانونية.” حُكم عليه بالسجن لمدة ثلاث سنوات، وأفرج عنه بعد 15 شهراً. أسفر احتجازه عن احتجاج المجتمع الدولي، لا سيما في ضوء حالته الصحية المتدهورة.

فور إطلاق سراحه، استأنف الترك نشاطاته السياسية إلا أنه تنحى عن منصبه كأمين سر للحزب الشيوعي السوري- المكتب السياسي في عام 2005 بعد أن أعيدت تسميته إلى حزب الشعب الديمقراطي السوري. وفي العام نفسه، وقع على إعلان دمشق، وهو بيانٌ للوحدة من قبل شخصيات المعارضة السورية، التي انتقدت الحكومة لكونها “استبدادية وديكتاتورية ومنغلقة،” ودعت إلى الإصلاح الديمقراطي.

ومع اندلاع انتفاضة عام 2011، سرعان ما عاود الترك الانضمام إلى المجلس الوطني السوري. ومع ذلك، واصل تواريه عن الأنظار إلى أن تمكن أخيراً من الفرار في يونيو 2018 إلى فرنسا، حيث تعيش إحدى بناته.

واليوم بعمر الـ88، لا يزال مدافعاً شرساً عن الديمقراطية وعن بلده، التي لا تزال تعاني الأمرين في ظل الحرب.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JACQUES DEMARTHON ©AFP | JACQUES DEMARTHON ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Syria / Faces / Riad al-Turk, the ‘Old Man of the Syrian Opposition’

Riad al-Turk, the ‘Old Man of the Syrian Opposition’

Riad al-Turk’s life has been dedicated to resisting the Syrian government. As an opposition leader, he was detained several times until he fled to France, where he now lives in exile.

Born in Homs, Syria in 1930, the appropriately nicknamed ‘old man of the Syrian opposition’ is a veteran activist and leading figure in the Syrian Democratic People’s Party, a socialist opposition party he founded in 1973.

The party is a member of the Syrian National Council, an umbrella organization for opposition groups set up seven months after the uprising against President Bashar al-Assad in March 2011.

Al-Turk became involved in politics as a law student when he joined the  Syrian Communist Party, which existed until it split into two different branches in 1986.

He was first arrested soon after finishing law school in 1952 for opposing the military government that seized power in the March 1949 coup. He was held for five months and tortured but was never convicted. He was detained again in 1958 for 16 months for opposing the (temporary) union of Syria and Egypt.

Always an independent thinker, al-Turk led a faction within the party that tended towards Arab nationalism and promoted the unity of Arab people. This tendency was not well received by the rest of the members, such as Khalid Bakdash, then secretary-general.

Syria- Riad al-Turk
Photo AFP

Tensions eventually led al-Turk to establish the Syrian Communist Party – Political Bureau (SCPPB) in 1973 to separate his ideology from Bakdash’s, who by then had merged the Syrian Communist Party with a coalition of organizations allied with the ruling Arab Baath Socialist Party and renamed it the National Progressive Front.

The government initially accepted al-Turk’s party, but its opposition to the Syrian intervention in the Lebanese civil war and pressure on the government by Islamists and the secular opposition led to repression.

The consequences for al-Turk were dire. He was imprisoned in solitary confinement from 1980 to 1998. According to human rights organization Amnesty International, he was tortured throughout his detention. He was also deprived of medical treatment for diabetes and suffered from kidney failure and other severe ailments. His family were only able to visit him three times during the last five years of his sentence. His wife, Asma al-Faisal, a medical doctor from Homs, was also arrested but was released a few years later.

Hafez al-Assad, then president, repeatedly offered to free al-Turk on the condition that he publicly backed the regime, but he refused. He eventually agreed to stay away from politics in return for his release, but that did not last long.

Indeed, after Bashar al-Assad took over from his father, al-Turk played a large role in the so-called Damascus Spring, a period of political debate and demands for democratic change in June 2000. In August 2001, al-Turk appeared on al-Jazeera calling for all political factions to unite. “What we need today is reconciliation, and [we] have to work for a new future, forgetting mistakes of the past. In the past, we had a problem with the dictator, and now that problem is over – the dictator is dead,” he said.

He was arrested soon after while seeking medical treatment. He was charged with ‘defying the state and trying to change the constitution by illegal means’. Sentenced to three years in prison, he was released after 15 months. His detention led the international community to protest, especially given his failing health.

Immediately upon his release, al-Turk resumed his political activities but stepped down as secretary of the SCPPB in 2005 after renaming it the Syrian Democratic People’s Party. The same year, he signed the Damascus Declaration, a statement of unity by Syrian opposition figures. It criticized the government as ‘authoritarian, totalitarian and cliquish’ and called for democratic reform.

When the uprising erupted in 2011, al-Turk was quick to back the Syrian National Council. However, he went into in hiding until he could escape to France, where one of his daughters lives, in June 2018.

Now aged 88, he remains a fierce defender of democracy and of his country, which continues to be ravaged by war.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.