فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / وُجوه / زهران علوش وجيش الإسلام

زهران علوش وجيش الإسلام

زهران علوش, قائد جيش الإسلام
زهران علوش, قائد جيش الإسلام Photo Roy Gutman/ZUMA

زهران علوش هو قائد ومؤسس “جيش الإسلام،” وهو مجموعة مسلحة سورية مكونة ـ حسب التقديرات ـ مما بين 20000 إلى 30000 مقاتل، جميعهم سوريون، وتنشط ـ على نحو رئيسي ـ في منطقة مدينة دمشق وريفها.

وزهران هو ابن الداعية الإسلامي السلفي المعروف الشيخ عبدالله علوش، وكان زهران قد وُلد في عام 1970 في مدينة دوما في الريف الدمشقي الشرقي، أو ما يعرف بالغوطة الشرقية. سائراً على خطى والده، درس زهران الشريعة في جامعة دمشق، ومن ثم حصل على الماجستير في الدراسات الإسلامية من إحدى الجامعات السعودية، قبل أن يعود إلى مدينة دوما حيث انخرط بالنشاط الدعوي وأسس عملاً خاصاً به في مجال المقاولات.

في مطلع العام 2009، أي قبل اندلاع الحرب السورية بنحو سنتين، اعتقل زهران على أيدي المخابرات السورية على خلفية نشاطه الدعوي الجهادي، وظل في المعتقل حتى أفرج عنه بموجب عفو رئاسي في شهر حزيران (يونيو) عام 2011 ، وقد رأى عدد من المراقبين آنذاك أن النظام منح المتطرّفين ذلك العفو لكي يمكنهم من “سرقة الثورة” التي كانت لا تزال سلمية في ذلك الحين. وبعد خروجه من السجن، سارع علوش إلى تأسيس قوة عسكرية تحت اسم “لواء الإسلام” في مدينة دوما لغرض قتال قوات الأسد وإسقاطه.

وفي 18 تموز (يوليو) من العام 2012، ذاع صيت لواء الإسلام بعد أن تبنى عملية تفجير مكتب الأمن القومي بدمشق والذي أودى بحياة أرفع القادة الأمنيين في نظام الأسد، وكان من بينهم زوج شقيقة الأسد الذي كان يشغل منصب نائب رئيس الأركان العماد آصف شوكت، إلى جانب وزير الدفاع داوود راجحة ومعاون نائب الرئيس العماد حسن تركماني. إلا أنه يبقى من غير المؤكد أن لواء الإسلام كان ـ حقاً ـ وراء تلك العملية.

في شهر أيلول (سبتمبر) 2013، أجرى علوش توسيعاً كبيراً في مجموعته حيث قام بضم نحو 50 فصيل مقاتل ناشط في منطقة الغوطة إلى لواء الإسلام الذي يقوده وحول اسم الأخير إلى جيش الإسلام. وبعد فترة قصيرة، أي في تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) 2013، قام علوش بالانضمام إلى تحالف جمع ستة مجموعات إسلامية أخرى تحت اسم الجبهة الإسلامية، وأصبح يشغل منصب القائد العسكري لها.

بالتحاقه بالجبهة الإسلامية خرج جيش الإسلام من حدود تواجده في الغوطة الشرقية وضواحي دمشق إلى أماكن أخرى من سورية كان منها القلمون (وسط سورية) وريف حلب (شمال سورية)، إلا أن الغوطة الشرقية ظلت تشكل معقله الرئيسي ومنطقة نفوذه الأقوى.

وتشير تقارير إعلامية عدة إلى أن علوش يتمتع بالدعم من المملكة العربية السعودية، وأن الأخيرة كانت وراء تشكيل جيش الإسلام كما لعبت دوراً محورياً في إقامة الجبهة الإسلامية.

تمكن لواء الإسلام ـ ومن بعده جيش الإسلام ـ من خلال المعارك التي خاضها مع قوات النظام منذ العام 2012 من السيطرة على نحو ثمانين بالمائة من مساحة الغوطة الشرقية.

“كلاب أهل النار”

لكن جبهات جيش الإسلام لا تقتصر على قتال النظام، إذ أنه في حالة قتال دائم ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (داعش) والتي لطالما وصف زهران علوش رجالها بـ”كلاب أهل النار.” وكان الخلاف بين جيش الإسلام وداعش قد بدأ في ريف حلب في أواخر العام 2013، وذلك حين قام عناصر من داعش بسلسلة هجمات على حواجز لعناصر الجبهة الإسلامية بهدف توسيع مناطق سيطرتها. وسرعان ما تحولت تلك المناوشات إلى حرب مفتوحة بين الجانبين تدور رحاها اليوم في أماكن عدة منها منطقة القلمون وريف دمشق إضافة إلى الريف الحلبي.

ويضم كل من جيش الإسلام وداعش أعداداً متقاربة من المقاتلين، إلا أن عتاد الأخير يعتبر أفضل، كما أن داعش يعتبر أكثر استقلالية من ناحية التمويل. ومع ذلك فقد استطاع جيش الإسلام دحر داعش من معظم مناطق الغوطة الشرقية كما أنه يقارعه بشدة في القلمون اليوم، وذلك ـ ربما ـ بفضل ثقل جيش الإسلام في الجنوب، على عكس داعش التي تتخذ من مناطق الشمال والشمال الشرقي السوري معقلاً لها.

لكن جيش الإسلام يحتفظ بعلاقة جيدة مع جبهة النصرة، التي تضم نحو 15000 مقاتل وتنشط على نحو كبير في الشمال الغربي، كما تشكل أحد ألد أعداء داعش. وفي مقابلة بثت على شبكة الإنترنت في أواخر العام 2013، أشاد علوش بأبو محمد الجولاني زعيم جبهة النصرة واصفاً رجالها بأنهم “أخوة ذوو بأس.”

وحسب تقديرات منظمة الصحة العالمية فإن نحو مليون نسمة تعيش في المنطقة الواقعة تحت سيطرة زهران علوش، وجل هؤلاء من المدنيين. ومنذ سقوط تلك المناطق بيد جيش الإسلام فرضت عليها قوات النظام حصاراً خانقاً بينما تقوم بقصفها على نحو مستمر، كما شكلت الغوطة مسرح الهجوم الكيماوي الذي أودى بحياة مئات المدنيين في شهر آب (أغسطس) 2013، والذي يُعتَقد أنه كان من تنفيذ قوات النظام.

في كانون الأول (ديسمبر) 2013، قام ملثمون مسلحون باختطاف الناشطة المحامية رزان زيتونة مع زوجها واثنين من زملائها من مكتبها الكائن في دوما الواقعة تحت سيطرة جيش الإسلام. وقد وجهت أصابع الاتهام إلى زهران علوش بالوقوف وراء اختفائها، إلا أنه لطالما نفى تلك الاتهامات.

كما تعرض علوش إلى كثير من الانتقادات إثر قيام جيش الإسلام بقصف دمشق بشكل عشوائي عدة مرات (كان آخرها في 27 حزيران/يونيو 2015) وبعشرات الصواريخ في كل مرة، مما أدى إلى سقوط العشرات من المدنيين.

وفي شهر نيسان (أبريل) 2015، استفاق السوريون على خبر زيارة قام بها علوش إلى إسطنبول في تركيا، ونقل في حينه عن الناطق باسم جيش الإسلام أن علوش كان سيلتقي بشخصيات معارضة لمناقشة سبل فك الحصار عن المدنيين في الغوطة الشرقية. لكن ثلة من المحليين رأت الزيارة ـ آنذاك ـ في سياق ما قيل أنه تحالف سعودي تركي يهدف إلى حرف ميزان القوى على الأرض لصالح الثوار.

وأظهرت مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي في ذلك الوقت كثيراً من السخط حيال زيارة علوش إلى تركيا، وكان السؤال هو كيف استطاع علوش الخروج من الغوطة “المحاصرة” والعودة إليها، بينما يموت الأهالي فيها جوعاً بحجة الحصار الخانق.

في حقيقة الأمر، تشير التقارير إلى أن مناطق الغوطة الشرقية شهدت حتى الآن عدداً لا بأس به من الاحتجاجات ضد جيش الإسلام، ويقول محمد الدوماني وهو من سكان المنطقة عبر سكايب أن جماعة علوش تضرب بيد من حديد ضد أي انتقادات لأفرادها تخرج من تلك المناطق. ويصيف الدوماني إنه “يقبع الآلاف من المدنيين في سجون جيش الإسلام دونما محاكمة،”ويتهم قادة جيش الإسلام باحتكار المساعدات والمود الغذائية التي تصل إلى المنطقة، كما يتهمهم بتجويع السكان وعقد الصفقات مع التجار من أجل رفع الأسعار في المناطق المحاصرة.

وكان علوش قد انتقد ـ في مناسبات عدة ـ الديمقراطية، على أنها نظام فاسد، ولم يترك مكاناً للشك في أنه يسعى إلى إقامة دولة إسلامية في سورية ما بعد الأسد. لكنه وفي أول مقابلة له مع وسيلة إعلام أمريكية، قام بتغيير خطابه. ففي المقابلة التي منحها في شهر أيار (مايو) 2015 بينما كان في تركيا لموقع ماكلاتشي الأمريكي، تراجع علوش عن دعواته السابقة لطرد العلويين من دمشق، بينما وصفهم في المقابلة بأنهم “جزء من الشعب السوري.”

وأضاف أنه سيدع السوريين يقررون شكل الدولة التي يريدون، وقال “إننا نريد التأسيس لدولة تضمن حقوقنا.” كما استنكر علوش في المقابلة “التمييز الطائفي” ضد المسلمين السنة، وقال أنه “بعد ذلك ينبغي أن يختار الشعب السوري شكل الحكومة التي يريد.” موضحاً أنه يؤيد تشكيل حكومة “تكنوقراط.”

حتى مقتله, بقي زهران علوش أحد أكثر الشخصيات إثارة للجدل في الحرب السورية، فرغم الإعتراضات والشكوك التي يحملها سوريون كثر حول منهجه، يبدو الرجل في عيون كثيرين قائداً مقداماً.

و قبل مقتله لا شك أنه ثمة إجماع على أنه ما دام علوش يقبع على رأس أقوى الفصائل في دمشق وما حولها، فإنه سيبقى لاعباً محورياً في الحرب الدائرة في سورية.

في اواخر ديسمبر ٢٠١٥, تم قتل زهران علوش خلال غارة جوية في منطقة المرج في الغوطة الشرقية. وبعدها قام أعضاء جيش الإسلام بإنتخاب خليفته, أبو همام البيضاوي بعد ساعات من الغارة التي نفذتها القوات السورية.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Roy Gutman/ZUMA ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Syria / Faces / Zahran Alloush, Leader of Jaish al-Islam

Zahran Alloush, Leader of Jaish al-Islam

Zahran Alloush Jaish al-Islam
Zahran Alloush, head of Jaish al-Islam. Photo Roy Gutman/ZUMA

Zahran Alloush is the founder and leader of Jaish al-Islam (Arabic, “Army of Islam”), a Syrian rebel militia consisting entirely of 20,000 to 30,000 Syrian fighters operating mainly around the Syrian capital, Damascus.

Son of Abdullah Alloush, a prominent Salafist clergyman and preacher, Zahran was born in 1970 in the city of Douma, in the eastern Damascus countryside (known also as Eastern Ghouta). Following in his father’s footsteps, Alloush studied Sharia (Islamic law) at the University of Damascus and then pursued higher Islamic studies in Saudi Arabia before returning to Douma, where he practised Islamic preaching and started a small construction business.

Early in 2009, two years before the outbreak of war in Syria, the Syrian security services arrested Alloush for his jihadi activism. He was detained for about two years before being released in June 2011 as part of an amnesty granted by the regime of President Bashar al-Assad, which several observers viewed as an attempt by the regime to enable extremists to take over what was initially a peaceful uprising.

Shortly after his release, Alloush established a military force called Liwa al-Islam (Arabic, “Brigade of Islam”) in his hometown, Douma, to fight the Bashar al-Assad regime.

On 18 July 2012, Alloush’s group seized the headlines, claiming responsibility for bombing the national security headquarters, an operation that killed three of Assad’s key security aides: President Assad’s brother-in-law and deputy chief of staff Assef Shawkat, the defence minister General Dawoud Rajha, and the assistant vice president Major General Hassan Turkmani. However, there is still some doubt that the group was, in fact, responsible.

In September 2013, Alloush expanded Liwa al-Islam into Jaish al-Islam, bringing some 50 Islamist factions in the suburbs of Damascus under his leadership. In November 2013, Jaish al-Islam joined forces with other six Islamic factions to form a nationwide alliance named the Islamic Front, of which Alloush became the military chief.

Joining the Islamic Front, Jaish al-Islam expanded its presence to other regions of the country, including those of Qalamoon (central Syria) and the Aleppo countryside (northern Syria), although Eastern Ghouta remained its stronghold.

Alloush is said to be backed by Saudi Arabia. The Kingdom was reportedly behind the establishment of Jaish al-Islam and is thought to have played a key role in founding the Islamic Front.

In the battles it has fought against the regime forces since 2012, Liwa al-Islam, and, later, Jaish al-Islam, has seized about 80 percent of the total area of Eastern Ghouta.

“The dogs of hell”

Jaish al-Islam has also been fighting the Islamic State (IS), which Alloush always calls “the dogs of hell.” The war between Jaish al-Islam and IS began in the Aleppo countryside towards the end of 2013, when IS launched attacks against Islamic Front checkpoints, seeking to extend its territory. The skirmishes soon turned into open war between the two sides, which is being fought today in the Damascus countryside, the Qalamoon region, and the area around Aleppo.

Jaish al-Islam and IS have almost the same number of fighters, though IS is better equipped and more self-funded. Due to Jaish al-Islam’s heavy presence in the south, however, it has been able to drive IS out of Eastern Ghouta and is combating it effectively in Qalamoon.

On the other hand, Jaish al-Islam has maintained good relations with IS’s bitter enemy, al-Qaeda–linked Jabhat al-Nusra, which has about 15,000 fighters and operates mainly in northwestern Syria. In a video released late in 2013, Alloush praised Jabhat al-Nusra and its leader, Abu Muhammad al-Golani, describing its members as his “courageous brothers.”

According to the World Health Organization, about one million civilians live in the area ruled by Alloush in Ghouta. Since its fall to Jaish al-Islam, the region has been under a tight siege and constant airstrikes by regime forces. It was also the site of chemical attacks in August 2013, presumably by government troops, which killed hundreds of civilians.

In December 2013, award-winning peace activist and lawyer Razan Zaitouneh was taken, along with her husband and two colleagues, from an office in Jaish al-Islam–controlled Douma. Alloush has been widely accused of being behind Zaitouneh’s disappearance, an accusation he has repeatedly denied.

Alloush has also been widely criticized for his frequent, indiscriminate shelling of Damascus, in which hundreds of rockets have killed dozens of civilians.

In April 2015, Alloush surprised the public when he showed up in Istanbul. A Jaish al-Islam spokesperson said that Alloush was going to hold meetings with rebels and other opposition figures to discuss ways of lifting the siege on civilians in Ghouta, but many observers saw the trip in the context of a possible Saudi-Turkish alliance that was expected to shift the balance of power in Syria in favour of the rebels.

The public received the news of Alloush’s trip with much discontent, as evident in social media. Their focus was on how Alloush made it out of Ghouta and was able to return, while the area was under a tight siege and its people were starving.

In fact, numerous protests have been reported against Jaish al-Islam in the areas under its control. Muhammad al-Doumani, an activist from Douma, says, via Skype, that the group has been very repressive of internal criticism. “Thousands of people are being imprisoned without trial,” he says. Al-Doumani also accused the leaders of Jaish al-Islam of monopolizing the region’s aid and food resources, starving the population, and of striking deals with traders who increase prices in the besieged areas.

On several occasions, Alloush denounced democracy as a corrupt system and left no doubt that he sought the establishment of an Islamic state in a post-Assad Syria, but, in his first interview with a US media outlet, he changed his rhetoric. In the interview, which he gave in May 2015 to the Washington-based McClatchy newspaper chain while in Istanbul, Alloush walked back previous calls to expel Alawites from Damascus and called them, instead, “part of the Syrian people.” He also said he would let Syrians decide what sort of state they wanted. “We want to establish a state in which our rights are fulfilled,” he said, denouncing what he called the “sectarian discrimination” against the Sunni Muslim majority. “After that, the people should choose the sort of state they want.” He said he would favour a “technocratic, professional government.”

Until his death, Zahran Alloush remained one of the most controversial figures in the Syrian war. Despite the objections and suspicions many Syrians had about his approach, he was seen by many as a gallant leader. Prior to his death, everyone appeared to have agree that, as long as Alloush was leading the strongest opposition faction in and around the capital, he would remain a major player in the Syrian war.

Late December 2015, Zahran Alloush was killed during an air strike on al-Marj, eastern Ghouta. Members of Jaish al-Islam elected his successor Abu Himam al-Buwaydani hours after the strike carried out by the Syrian armed forces.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.