فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / أربعة ملايين مدني محاصرون ويائسون في إدلب- سوريا

أربعة ملايين مدني محاصرون ويائسون في إدلب- سوريا

Idlib
إخلاء صبي سوري بعد غارة جوية على بلدة أريحا، آخر معاقل المعارضة الرئيسية في إدلب في 15 يناير 2020. Photo: Abdulaziz KETAZ / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Abdulaziz KETAZ

تُشير التقديرات إلى أن حوالي 4 ملايين مدني محاصرون في إدلب، وهي مدينة ومحافظة في شمال شرق سوريا، دون أي خيار للهروب منذ أن أغلقت تركيا حدودها. فقد استولت الميليشيات المعارضة للنظام السوري على المنطقة في عام 2017، لتصبح مقراً لما يُسمى حكومة الإنقاذ السورية، إذ تم إغلاق المنطقة منذ شن الهجوم العسكري للتحالف السوري الروسي في أبريل 2019، حيث صرحت الحكومة السورية مراراً وتكراراً عزمها استعادة المنطقة بأسرها.

تمثلت الأهداف الرئيسية للحكومة في أبريل 2019 بفتح الطريق الدولي إم 5 وطرد الجماعات المسلحة، وخاصة الجماعة المرتبطة بتنظيم القاعدة والمعروفة بإسم هيئة تحرير الشام، من المنطقة منزوعة السلاح التي تمتد من 15 إلى 20 كم والتي حددتها تركيا وروسيا في عام 2018. وعلى الرغم من عدم حدوث تقدمٍ كبير من قبل التحالف السوري الروسي، إلا أنه يواصل قصف المدينة.

منذ 15 ديسمبر 2019، عاودت الطائرات الحربية الروسية والسورية تصعيد حملة القصف في جنوب المحافظة، مدعومةً بهجومٍ بري، كما تتجه القوات الحكومية نحو الطريق الدولي إم 5، الذي يربط جنوب سوريا مع مدينة حلب. وعليه، قُتل أكثر من 1000 مدني وفر 60 ألف آخرين من القتال منذ أبريل الماضي عندما استولت القوات الحكومية على مناطق في الجنوب، بما في ذلك مدينة خان شيخون. وعلاوةً على ذلك، فرّ أكثر من 200 ألف شخص، كان العديد منهم قد نزحوا في السابق من مناطق أخرى من البلاد بعد أن استعادت قوات النظام وحلفائهم السيطرة عليها، إلى الحدود السورية التركية.

وبحسب ما قالته سارة كيالي، الباحثة السورية في المنظمة الدولية، هيومن رايتس ووتش، لفَنَك: “الوضع في إدلب كارثي،” وأضافت “لديك 4 ملايين مدني محاصرين في المنطقة، ويقصفهم التحالف السوري الروسي العسكري بلا هوادة منذ أبريل 2019، دون نهايةٍ تلوح في الأفق ولا قدرةٍ على الهرب بالنظر إلى إغلاق الحدود التركية في وجه أولئك الفارين من العنف.”

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، فقد حذر الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان أوروبا في 22 ديسمبر من أن بلاده لا تستطيع التعامل مع موجة جديدة من اللاجئين السوريين، مضيفاً أن أكثر من 80 ألف شخصٍ من إدلب قد فروا إلى مناطق بالقرب من الحدود التركية. ووفقاً للسلطات التركية، تستضيف تركيا بالفعل حوالي 5 ملايين لاجىء، منهم 3,7 مليون سوري.

استهدفت تصريحات أردوغان بشكلٍ مباشر اتفاقية اللاجئين بين الاتحاد الأوروبي وتركيا التي أبرمت في مارس 2016. تسعى الاتفاقية إلى السيطرة على عبور اللاجئين والمهاجرين من تركيا إلى الجزر اليونانية، وكان الغرض منها في البداية الحد من وصول أعداد كبيرة من اللاجئين إلى أوروبا- أو فقدانهم حياتهم أثناء المحاولة- في عام 2015. وبحسب الاتفاقية، ستتم إعادة كل شخص يصل بشكلٍ غير قانوني إلى الجزر اليونانية، بما في ذلك طالبو اللجوء، إلى تركيا. وفي المقابل، ستستقبل الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي لاجئاً سورياً واحداً من تركيا مقابل كل سوري عائد من الجزر.

في هذه الأثناء، يواجه المحاصرون في إدلب مصيراً بشعاً في حال لم تُقدم لهم أي مساعدة، وبحسب كيالي، “إن القصف المتواصل والعشوائي في كثيرٍ من الأحيان من قبل التحالف السوري الروسي باستخدام أسلحة محظورة مثل الذخائر العنقودية، واستهداف المناطق المدنية المحمية مثل المستشفيات والمدارس ومراكز الإيواء، لم يسفر فقط عن مقتل عددٍ غير مسبوق من الأرواح البريئة، بل جعل الوضع الإنساني في المحافظة مؤلماً.” وتابعت القول، “في إدلب، إن لم تقتلك قنبلة، فلربما تموت من البرد أو بسبب الجوع أو نقص المأوى. هذه هي حقيقة المحافظة الآن. وما لم تفتح تركيا الحدود أمام المدنيين الفارين من العنف، وتحمّل المجتمع الدولي المسؤولية ومنع التحالف العسكري السوري – الروسي من تقويض الحماية المدنية أكثر من ذلك، فأخشى أن المكتوب واضحٍ من عنوانه، وسنشهد مأساةً من صنع الإنسان تتكشف أمام أعيننا.”

في بيانٍ صدر في 7 يناير 2020، قال مارك كوتس، نائب المنسق الإقليمي للشؤون الإنسانية للأزمة السورية بالأمم المتحدة، “تسببت الموجة الأخيرة من النزوح في تفاقم الوضع المريع في إدلب، وهي محافظة مكتظة بالسكان وتستضيف نازحين من جميع أنحاء سوريا. بالإضافة إلى أن نحو 400 ألف شخص في جنوب إدلب تم تشريدهم، وقتل ما لا يقل عن 1300 مدني بسبب الغارات الجوية والقصف بين مايو وأغسطس من العام الماضي، ليصل عدد النازحين بسبب القتال في إدلب خلال الشهور الثمانية الماضية إلى أكثر من 700 ألف شخص.” وأوضح “كل يوم، نتلقى تقارير مقلقة حول العائلات العالقة وسط أعمال العنف والتي تبحث عن ملجأ وعن الخدمات الأساسية اللازمة للبقاء على قيد الحياة، إذ يحتمي غالبيتهم في المدارس والمساجد والمباني العامة الأخرى في ظل نقصٍ حاد في الغذاء والمأوى ومستلزمات الشتاء، من جميع أرجاء إدلب.”

كما أوضح كوتس أن المنظمات الإنسانية تواجه صعوبةً في تقديم المساعدات، مثل الخدمات المتعلقة بالصحة، بسبب الهجوم، إذ قال “أجبرت 13 منشأة صحية، على الأقل، في إدلب على تعليق عملها بسبب الوضع الأمني، مما زاد من معاناة السكان تحت القصف اليومي للغارات الجوية.”

فقد دخلت اتفاقية وقف إطلاق النار الجديدة بين روسيا وتركيا، التي تدعم أطراف متنازعة في الصراع الدائر منذ تسع سنوات في سوريا، حيز التنفيذ في 12 يناير، لكن العنف استمر، وفقاً لعمال الإنقاذ في المناطق التي تسيطر عليها المعارضة.

وقالت كيالي: “تم تعريف الصراع السوري بتجاهله المطلق للحماية المدنية والمبادىء الأساسية للإنسانية من قبل جميع أطراف النزاع تقريباً.” وأضافت “لقد رأينا نمط الهجمات غير القانونية على المدنيين في حلب والغوطة الشرقية وأماكن أخرى، وفشلنا في إيقافها. واليوم، يتكرر هذا النمط في إدلب، وتظل هذه الفرصة الوحيدة لتغيير هذا السرد. حتى الآن، فشلنا في القيام بذلك.”

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ Abdulaziz KETAZ | ©AFP ⁃ Abdulaziz KETAZ

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / History of Syria from Past to Present / In Syria’s Idlib, 4 Million Civilians Are Trapped and Desperate

In Syria’s Idlib, 4 Million Civilians Are Trapped and Desperate

Idlib
A Syrian boy is evacuated after a regime airstrike on Ariha town in Syria’s last major opposition bastion of Idlib on January 15, 2020. Photo: Abdulaziz KETAZ / AFP

Some 4 million civilians are estimated to be trapped in Idlib, a city and province in north-east Syria, with no option to escape since Turkey closed its borders. The area was taken over by militias opposed to the Syrian regime in 2017, becoming the seat of the so-called Syrian Salvation Government. It has been closed off since the beginning of the April 2019 Syrian-Russian military alliance’s offensive, and the Syrians government has repeatedly stated it intends to retake the whole region.

The government’s main objectives in April 2019 were to open the M5 highway and to expel militant groups, particularly the al-Qaeda-linked group known as Hayat Tahrir al-Sham, from the 15-20km demilitarized zone demarcated by Turkey and Russia in 2018. Although no major advancement was made by the Syrian-Russian alliance, git continues to bomb the city.

Since 15 December 2019, Russian and Syrian warplanes have re-escalated their bombing campaign in the south of the province, backed up by a ground offensive. Government forces are pushing towards the M5 highway, which connects southern Syria with the city of Aleppo. More than 1,000 civilians have been killed and 600,000 more have fled the fighting since April when government forces seized areas further south, including the city of Khan Sheikhoun. More than 200,000 people, many of them already internally displaced )from other parts of the country reclaimed by regime forces and their allies, fled towards the Syrian-Turkish border.

“The situation in Idlib is catastrophic,” Sara Kayyali, Syria researcher for the international organization Human Rights Watch, told Fanack. “You have 4 million civilians trapped in the area, with the Syrian-Russian military alliance bombarding them relentlessly since April 2019, with no end in sight and no ability to escape given that the Turkish border remains closed to those fleeing the violence.”

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan warned Europe on 22 December that his country cannot handle a new wave of Syrian refugees, adding that over 80,000 people from Idlib had fled to areas near the Turkish border. According to Turkish authorities, Turkey already hosts around 5 million refugees, of which 3.7 million are Syrians.

War in idlib
Source: ‘Recent Developments in Northwest Syria’, Situation Report n.6, UNOCHA; ‘TURKEY-SYRIA: Border Crossing Status (20 December 2019)’, UNOCHA; ‘The Pro-Regime Air Campaign in Greater Idlib: April 26-May 22, 2019’, Institute for the Study of War; ‘North-Western Syria Offensive’, Wikipedia; ‘Military Situation in Syria 01 January 2020’, AlMasdarNews.com, ‘Russian airstrikes in Syria: September 30 – October 5, 2015’, Institute for the Study of War. @Fanack

Erdogan’s comments directly targeted the EU-Turkey refugee agreement struck in March 2016. The agreementnt seeks to control the crossing of refugees and migrants from Turkey to the Greek islands, and was initially intended to curb the large numbers of refugees arriving in Europe – or losing their lives on the way – in 2015. Every person arriving irregularly to the Greek islands, including asylum-seekers, would be returned to Turkey. In exchange, EU member states would take one Syrian refugee from Turkey for every Syrian returned from the islands.

In the meantime, those trapped in Idlib are facing a gruesome fate if nothing is done to help them. “The relentless and often indiscriminate bombardment by the Syrian-Russian military alliance using prohibited weapons like cluster munitions, and targeting protected civilian areas like hospitals, schools and displacement centres, has not only resulted in an unprecedented number of innocent lives lostd. It has also made the humanitarian situation in the province dire,” Kayyali said. “In Idlib, if you are not killed by a bomb, you may freeze or starve to death due to hunger and lack of shelter. This is the reality of the province now. Unless Turkey opens the border to civilians fleeing the violence, and the international community takes responsibility and prevents the Syrian-Russian military alliance from eroding civilian protection even further, then I am afraid that the writing on the wall is very clear, and we will be witnessing a man-made tragedy unfold before our eyes.”

In a statement made on 7 January 2020, Mark Cutts, the United Nations deputy regional humanitarian coordinator for the Syria crisis, said, “This latest wave of displacement compounds an already dire situation in Idlib – a densely populated governorate already hosting displaced people from all over Syria. An additional 400,000 people in southern Idlib were displaced and at least 1,300 civilians were killed by air strikes and shelling between May and August last year. This brings the total number of people displaced by fighting in Idlib in the last eight months to over 700,000. Every day, we receive more disturbing reports of families caught up in the violence, seeking refuge and access to essential services in overcrowded camps and urban areas. Many are now sheltering in schools, mosques and other public buildings. Critical shortages of food, shelter, health and winterization assistance, as well as other basic services required for survival, are being reported across Idlib.”

Cutts also explained that humanitarian organizations have a hard time offering assistance, like health-related services, due to the offensive. “At least 13 health facilities in Idlib have recently been forced to suspend their operations due to the security situation, exacerbating the suffering of the local population and heightening levels of vulnerability.”

A new ceasefire agreement between Russia and Turkey, which support opposing sides in Syria’s nearly nine-year conflict, went into effect on 12 January, but violence has continued, according to rescue workers in opposition-held areas.

“The Syrian conflict has been defined by the absolute disregard for civilian protection and basic tenets of humanity by almost all parties to the conflict,” Kayyali said. “We have seen the pattern of unlawful attacks on civilians in Aleppo, Eastern Ghouta and elsewhere, and we have failed to stop it. Today, that pattern is being repeated in Idlib, and it remains the only opportunity to shift this narrative. Thus far, we are failing to do so.”

Further Reading

Fanack’s Syria country file provides a comprehensive overview about Syria, its history, politics, culture, economy and...
Syria has recently been in a crisis, which holds a lot of historic fluctuations and incidents. Ruled by al-Ba’ath Part...
There have also been reports that Turkey has provided additional weaponry for rebel forces, including TOW missiles that ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Abdulaziz KETAZ ©AFP | Abdulaziz KETAZ ©AFP | Fanack ©Fanack



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!