فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تقاربٌ بطيء الوتيرة بين الدول العربية وسوريا الأسد

تقاربٌ بطيء الوتيرة بين الدول العربية وسوريا الأسد

Syria Nassib crossing
مسافرون يستعرضون جوازات سفرهم عند معبر جابر الحدودي بين الأردن وسوريا (معبر نصيب على الجانب السوري) يوم إعادة افتتاحه في 15 أكتوبر 2018، في محافظة المفرق الأردنية. Photo AFP

افتتح معبر نصيب بين الأردن وسوريا أمام حركة عبور الأشخاص والسلع في 15 أكتوبر 2018 بعد إغلاقه لمدة ثلاث سنوات، إذ تعدّ هذه إشارةً إلى تطبيع العلاقات بين البلدين وتُمثل خطوةً أقرب إلى النظام السوري، الذي بات يُعتبر أكثر قبولاً، سياسياً ودبلوماسياً، من قِبل جيرانه.

سهّل النظام السوري إعادة فتح الحدود، وذلك بعد سيطرته على المنطقة التي كان يحتلها في السابق متمردون، في يوليو 2018 في أعقاب هجومٍ مدعومٍ من قبل روسيا. هذا ويعتبر المعبر طريقاً يستخدم لتسهيل دخول مليارات الدولارات من التجارة بين البلدان في جميع أنحاء المنطقة، مع دخول مئات الشاحنات يومياً لنقل البضائع بين تركيا والخليج، وكذلك لبنان والخليج. في يوم الافتتاح، قال رئيس نقطة التفتيش على الجانب الأردني من حدود جابر، عماد ريالات، لرويترز، “نحن على أتم الاستعداد لاستقبال المسافرين ونقل البضائع. نتوقع أن تكون حركة المرور بطيئة في البداية، لكن في الأيام القادمة نتوقع أن ترتفع وتيرة حركة المسافرين.” وفي الوقت نفسه، صرح وزير الخارجية السوري وليد المعلم بأن سوريا” تشهد أول نتائج النصر.”

طوال التاريخ، لم يكن الأردن وسوريا مقربين، رغم أنهما اتفقا على عدم دعم منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية في سبعينيات القرن الماضي لأسباب إقليمية وسياسية. فقد زادت الحرب الأهلية السورية من الضغوط على العلاقة، حيث تصادمت القوات الأردنية بشكلٍ ملحوظ مع القوات السورية في أغسطس 2012، وطرد السفير السوري بهجت سليمان في مايو 2014، وهو القرار الذي تم تحريكه، وفقًا للمتحدثة باسم وزارة الخارجية صباح الرفاعي بسبب “استمرار تصريحاته المسيئة، من خلال تواصله الشخصي أو كتاباته على وسائل الإعلام ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، ضد المملكة.”

يدعم الأردن، الحليف القوي للولايات المتحدة والذي يعدّ جزءاً من التدخل الأمريكي في سوريا، حلفائه في الخليج العربي في موقفهم المتشدد ضد دور إيران في المنطقة ويشعر بالقلق من النفوذ المتزايد للميليشيات المدعومة من طهران في جنوب سوريا، بحسب دبلوماسيين، وهو ما قد يفسر قراره بالمضي قدماً نحو تطبيع العلاقات. وبشكلٍ منفصل، ولكن على نفس المنوال، أعادت إسرائيل فتح معبر القنيطرة على جبهة هضبة الجولان المحتلة مع سوريا في نفس اليوم.

يُظهر إعادة فتح الحدود في نصيب تهدئةً للعلاقة بين البلدين، وهو ما يفسر وفقاً للمستشار الإعلامي والسياسي البارز في الأردن والإمارات العربية المتحدة شهاب المكاحلة، إرادة ورغبة سوريا في تطوير العلاقات الاقتصادية والدبلوماسية والسياسية الكاملة مع الأردن.

فقد كتب المكاحلة: “تتوقف المصالح السورية في ربط استئناف التبادلات الاقتصادية والتجارية باتفاقٍ استراتيجي شامل بين البلدين، على هذا الشعور بالأمن الاقتصادي، على الرغم من سنوات الصراع في سوريا. وبالتالي، فإن المهمة الدبلوماسية الأردنية بإدارة إعادة فتح معبر نصيب ستكون صعبة للغاية، حيث حاول الأردن تحقيق التوازن في علاقاته مع جميع الأطراف المعنية طوال النزاع السوري.” وأضاف ” توصل العديد من الأردنيين وحتى بعض السوريين إلى استنتاجٍ مفاده أنه بعد وفاة أكثر من 420 ألف شخص، فإن نهاية حرب الثماني سنوات خيارٌ أفضل من استمرارها، حتى وإن كانت هذه التسوية تتضمن بقاء الأسد. باختصار، تطالب دمشق بإضفاء الشرعية السياسية على التجارة الاقتصادية. وسواء قبلت عمّان بهذه الصفقة أم لا، سيبقى وضع المعبر الحدودي بين الأردن وسوريا ميزان قياس لعلاقاتهما الثنائية في المستقبل.”

وبالفعل، في أواخر أغسطس 2018، قال الناطق باسم الحكومة الأردنية محمد المومني: “علاقاتنا مع الدولة السورية ونظامها تسير في الاتجاه الصحيح،” وهي دلالة على أن كل خطوة قد تم تحليلها واتخاذ قرارٍ بشأنها بحذر من قبل الأردنيين قبل تنفيذ.

المصادر: Reliefweb, Rudaw.net, economy-news.net, the National, southfront.org, Wikipedia, Haaretz. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack.com

وأشار الصحفي والمعلق السياسي أسامة الشريف إلى أنه على الرغم من أن عمّان أصرت على حلٍ سياسي للنزاع في سوريا، إلا أن الأمر انتهى بالتخفيف من حدة موقفها تجاه الأسد.

إذ قال “حافظت عمّان ودمشق على مدى السنوات السبع الماضية على بعض قنوات الاتصال مفتوحة على الأقل على مستوى الجيش والمخابرات. لدى كلا البلدين مصلحة مشتركة في منع جنوب سوريا من السقوط بيد الجماعات الإسلامية المتشددة، بينما كان الهدف الرئيسي للأردن تأمين حدودها الطويلة مع سوريا. سارع الأردن إلى قراءة المزاج السياسي المتغير في العديد من العواصم الغربية فيما يتعلق بمصير الأسد. فقد منحت سياسته الأولية تجاه الأزمة السورية المرونة، وعلى الرغم من أن الحل السياسي لا يزال أمامه شوطٌ طويل، إلا أن العلاقة الثنائية الطبيعية قد تعطي دفعة ضرورية لتلك العملية.”

ويبدو أن هذا التطبيع هو الهدف الذي حدده نظام الأسد لاستعادة مكانته في المنطقة ثم العالم، كما زعم في أوائل أكتوبر أن الدول الغربية والعربية تتأهب لاستعادة وجودها في سوريا بعد سنواتٍ من الغياب. فقد ذكر الأسد أنه “بالنسبة للعديد من الدول العربية، هناك تفاهمٌ كبير بيننا وبينهم، كما بدأت العديد من الدول الغربية بالتخطيط والاستعداد لفتح سفاراتها (في دمشق). كما بدأت الوفود الغربية والعربية بالفعل في القدوم إلى سوريا لتنظيم عودتهم، سواء كانت دبلوماسية أو اقتصادية أو صناعية.” والأهم من ذلك هو أن الأسد صرح بما هو مذكورٌ لصحيفة الشاهد الكويتية – أول مقابلةٍ له مع منفذٍ إعلامي خليجي منذ بدأ الحرب الأهلية السورية، وفقاً للأسوشيتد برس.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه قد تم تعليق عضوية سوريا في الجامعة العربية التي تضم 22 عضواً في الأيام الأولى للحرب وفرضت الدول العربية عقوباتٍ اقتصادية بعد أن فشلت في التوسط لإنهاء النزاع. وحتى عام 2017 كانت المملكة العربية السعودية وقطر وأعضاء آخرون في مجلس التعاون الخليجي يدعمون بشكلٍ علني جماعات المعارضة التي تقاتل للإطاحة بالأسد، ولطالما أدانت تدخل حزب الله في سوريا.

وعليه، ظهرت علاماتُ التغيير في العلاقة بين دول الخليج وسوريا خلال اجتماع الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في 29 سبتمبر 2018، عندما تبادل وزير الخارجية السوري وليد المعلم ونظيره البحريني خالد بن أحمد آل خليفة الأحضان والقبلات. وفي اليوم التالي قال آل خليفة على قناة العربية: “يأتي الاجتماع في وقتٍ تبذل فيه جهود جادة لإحياء دور العرب في الأزمة السورية. سوريا هي أمة عربية شقيقة، وما يحدث هناك يثير قلقنا أكثر من أي مكانٍ آخر في العالم. ليس صحيحاً أن اللاعبين الإقليميين والدوليين يشاركون في سوريا بينما نحن غائبون. نعتقد أن على الدولة استعادة السيطرة على البلد بأكمله وتأمينه.” تُظهر هذه الكلمات أن دول الخليج تدرس مرةً أخرى الاتصال الدبلوماسي والسياسي مع سوريا، على الرغم من خوفها من تأثير إيران على النظام.

كما أظهرت مصر يضاً دعمها للنظام السوري، خاصة في فبراير 2018، عندما قام وفدٌ مصري يضم شخصياتٍ شعبية وسياسية بزيارة القنصلية السورية في القاهرة للإعلان عن التضامن مع سوريا في “حربها ضد الإرهاب.” في حين أكد أمين عام الجمعية العربية للعلوم السياسية في مصر جمال زهران، على أهمية استئناف العلاقات الطبيعية بين سوريا ومصر. فقد بدأ هذا التقارب بين مصر وسوريا في سبتمبر 2017، بحسب الباحثين سي ميتال وإن موزس، اللذان كتبا أن مصر كانت “تتصرف علناً لتقوية العلاقات السياسية والاقتصادية والثقافية مع النظام السوري، كما اتضح من إرسالها وفداً إلى معرض دمشق الدولي الذي انعقد في الفترة ما بين 17 و26 أغسطس 2017. كما تتعاون مصر مع روسيا، حليفة الأسد، في جهود الأخيرة لتأسيس مناطق تخفيف التصعيد في سوريا، فضلاً عن جهودها توسيع قاعدة وفد المعارضة السورية في المحادثات التي ترعاها الأمم المتحدة في جنيف، بحيث يشمل، بالإضافة إلى شخصياتٍ مقربة من المملكة العربية السعودية، شخصياتٍ معارضة مقربة من القاهرة وموسكو.

يمكن أن يعود هذا التحول في الاستراتيجية من جانب مصر والأردن والخليج بالفائدة على روسيا في ظل استمرار محاولاتها موائمة مصالحها في المنطقة مع السعوديين والإماراتيين. ففي أكتوبر 2018، التقى وفدٌ روسي بقيادة مبعوث الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين إلى سوريا، الكسندر لافرانتيف، مع ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان وغيره من المسؤولين في الرياض قبل التوجه إلى الإمارات العربية المتحدة ثم عُمان. فقد تتضمن جدول أعمال الرحلة الأمن الإقليمي، وخاصة في سوريا، بينما تحاول روسيا حشد المزيد من الدعم لاستمرار الأسد بلعب دوره كرئيس. وإذا ما نجحت هذه المحاولات الدبلوماسية، بالإضافة إلى التحولات الإيجابية في العلاقات بين سوريا والجهات الفاعلة في المنطقة، قد ينتهي الأمر ببشار الأسد كحليفٍ محتوم في الشرق الأوسط، مما سيؤدي في النهاية إلى تعزيز نفوذ روسيا، دون أدنى شك.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / Past to Present / Arab Countries in the Process of a Slow Rapprochement with al-Assad’s Syria

Arab Countries in the Process of a Slow Rapprochement with al-Assad’s Syria

Syria Nassib crossing
Travelers show their passports at the Jaber border crossing between Jordan and Syria (Nassib crossing on the Syrian side) on the day of its reopening on October 15, 2018, in the Jordanian Mafraq governorate. Photo AFP

The Nassib border crossing between Jordan and Syria opened to people and goods on 15 October 2018 after being closed for three years. It is a sign of the normalization of relations between the two countries and represents one step closer to the Syrian regime being considered politically and diplomatically palatable by its neighbors.

The reopening of the border was made possible by the Syrian regime, which took over the formerly rebel-occupied area in July 2018 during a Russian-backed offensive. It is a route that is used to facilitate billions of dollars in trade between countries across the region, with hundreds of trucks a day transporting goods between Turkey and the Gulf as well as Lebanon and the Gulf. On the day of the opening, the head of the Jaber checkpoint on the Jordanian side, Imad Riyalat, told Reuters, “we are fully ready to receive passengers and transport goods. We expect the traffic to be slow at the start, but in the coming days we expect passenger movements to pick up.” Meanwhile, Syrian Foreign Minister Walid Muallem stated that Syria is “witnessing the first results of the victory.”

Historically, Jordan and Syria have not been close, although they agreed on not supporting the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) in the 1970s for territorial and political reasons. The Syrian civil war put an additional strain on the relationship, with Jordanian forces notably clashing with Syrian forces in August 2012 and Syrian ambassador Bahjat Suleiman being expelled in May 2014, a decision motivated according to Jordanian Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Sabah al-Rafie by “continued offensive statements, through his personal contacts or writing in the media and social media, against the kingdom.”

Jordan, a staunch U.S. ally that is part of the American-led intervention in Syria, supports its Gulf Arab allies in their tough stance against Iran’s role in the region and is concerned about the expanding influence of Tehran-backed militias in southern Syria, diplomats say, which may explain its decision to move towards normalization of relations. Separately, but in a similar vein, Israel reopened the Quneitra crossing on the occupied Golan Heights front with Syria on the same day.

The Nassib border reopening shows a pacification of the two countries’ relationship, which is explained according to senior media and policy consultant in Jordan and the United Arab Emirates Shehab Al-Makahleh by Syria’s will and desire to develop full economic, diplomatic and political ties with Jordan.

Al-Makahleh wrote that “Syrian interests in linking the resumption of economic and trade exchanges to a comprehensive strategic agreement between both countries hinge on this sense of economic security, despite the many years of conflict in Syria. Thus, the Jordanian diplomatic task of managing the re-opening of the Nassib crossing will be extremely challenging, as Jordan has attempted to balance its relationships with all involved parties throughout the Syrian conflict.” He continues to say that “many Jordanians and even some Syrians have come to the conclusion that after a death toll of more than 420,000 people, an end to the eight-year war is preferable to its continuation, even if that arrangement includes al-Assad. In short, Damascus is demanding political legitimization for economic trade.

Sources: Reliefweb, Rudaw.net, economy-news.net, the National, southfront.org, Wikipedia, Haaretz. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

Whether or not Amman will accept that bargain remains unclear, yet the status of the crossing point between Jordan and Syria will remain a thermometer of their bilateral relationship into the future.”

Already in late August 2018, Jordanian government spokesman Mohammad Al-Momani had said, “our relations with the Syrian state and regime are going in the right direction,” a sign that every move has been analyzed and decided upon with care by the Jordanians before execution. Political journalist and commentator Osama Al-Sharif pointed out that although Amman had insisted on a political resolution of the conflict in Syria, it ended up softening its position towards al-Assad.

He stated that “throughout the past seven years, Amman and Damascus have kept some channels of communication open at least at the military and intelligence levels. Both countries have a shared interest in preventing southern Syria from falling to Islamist militant groups, while Jordan’s key objective was to secure its long border with Syria. Jordan was quick to read the changing political mood in many Western capitals regarding al-Assad’s fate. Its initial policy toward the Syrian crisis gave it flexibility and, while a political solution has a long way to go, a normal bilateral relationship may give a much-needed boost to that process.”

This normalization seems to be the goal set by the al-Assad regime in order to regain its place in the region and then the world, as he claimed early October that Western and Arab countries are preparing to restore their presence in Syria after years of absence. Al-Assad stated that “for many Arab countries, there is a great understanding between us and them, and many Western countries have begun planning and preparing to open their embassies (in Damascus). Western and Arab delegations have actually begun coming to Syria to organise their return, whether diplomatic, economic or industrial.” Even more significant is that al-Assad made this claim to Kuwaiti newspaper al-Shahid – his first interview with a Gulf media outlet since the Syrian civil war started, according to Associated Press.

Syria’s membership in the 22-member Arab League was suspended in the early days of the war and Arab countries imposed economic sanctions after they failed to mediate an end to the conflict.

Up until 2017 Saudi Arabia, Qatar and other members of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) had been openly supported opposition groups fighting to overthrow al-Assad and condemning Lebanese militia Hezbollah’s intervention in Syria.

A sign of change in the relationship between Gulf countries and Syria was sparked during the 29 September 2018 United Nations General Assembly, where Syrian foreign minister Walid al-Muallem and his Bahraini counterpart Khalid bin Ahmed al-Khalifa hugged and kissed. The day after on Al-Arabiya, al-Khalifa said that “the meeting comes at a time when there are serious efforts to revive the role of Arabs in the Syrian crisis. Syria is a brotherly Arab nation and what happens there concerns us more than anywhere else in the world. It is not right that regional and international players are involved in Syria while we are absent. We think the state must take back control of the whole country and secure it.” These words show that Gulf states are considering once again connecting diplomatically and politically with Syria, despite their fear of Iran’s influence on the regime.

Egypt has also shown support for the Syrian regime, notably in February 2018, when an Egyptian delegation comprising popular and political figures visited the Syrian consulate in Cairo to announce solidarity with Syria in its “war against terrorism.” Islamic and Arab Assembly rapporteur in Egypt Jamal Zahran affirmed the importance of resuming normal relations between Syria and Egypt. This rapprochement between Egypt and Syria started in September 2017, according to researchers C. Meital and N. Mozes who wrote that Egypt had been “acting openly to tighten political, economic and cultural ties with the Syrian regime, as reflected in its sending a large delegation to the Damascus International Fair that took place on 17-26 August 2017. Egypt is also cooperating with al-Assad’s ally Russia in the latter’s efforts to establish de-escalation zones in Syria, as well as its efforts to expand the Syrian opposition delegation to the UN-sponsored talks in Geneva, so that it will include, in addition to figures close to Saudi Arabia, opposition figures close to Cairo and Moscow.”

This strategy shift on the part of Egypt, Jordan and the Gulf could benefit Russia as it continues trying to align its interests in the region with those of the Saudis and Emiratis. In October 2018, a Russian delegation led by President Vladimir Putin’s Syria envoy Alexander Lavrentiev met with Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman and other officials in Riyadh before heading to the UAE and then Oman. On the agenda during the trip was regional security, and especially that of Syria, as Russia attempts to solicit more support for al-Assad’s continuation in his role as president. If these diplomatic attempts, in addition to positive shifts in the relationships between Syria and the region’s power players, are successful, Bashar al-Assad could end up as an unavoidable ally in the Middle East and Russia’s influence will no doubt be reinforced in the end.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.