فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الحكم البعثي

الحكم البعثي

عام 1963، وبعد مرور عامين فقط على الانقلاب العسكري الذي وضع نهاية للجمهورية العربية المتحدة وسيطرة حزب البعث العربي الاشتراكي، أعاد انقلاب آخر حزب البعث إلى السلطة. وينتمي العديد من الضباط الذين نفذوا الانقلاب إلى الطائفة العلوية، وهي أقلية فقيرة من شمال سوريا، والتي يعود فضل تحررها الاجتماعي إلى الجيش. وتدريجياً، ارتقى العلويون في المراتب في كل من حزب البعث والجيش. وكان النظام الجديد مؤمناً بالاشتراكية، وسارع بتأميم المصارف وإدخال الإصلاح الزراعي. وتم طرد ميشيل عفلق، مؤسس الحزب، من القيادة، وأُعلنت حالة الطوارئ (والتي رُفعت عام 2011).

كان حكم حزب البعث في دمشق غير مستقر لأن أحزاب الوسط واليساريين كانت دائماً على طرفي نقيض. عام 1966، قام الراديكاليون بانقلاب داخل الحزب. أدت الهزيمة النكراء أمام إسرائيل في حرب حزيران/يونيو عام 1967، حيث تم احتلال مرتفعات الجولان، إلى إضعاف النظام الاشتراكي العسكري، وازداد الخلاف بين الجناح المدني الراديكالي في الحزب والجناح العسكري الأكثر واقعية. مما أدى إلى انقلاب آخر قام به حافظ الأسد، الذي كان لواء في القوى الجوية وفيما بعد وزير دفاع، في 16 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 1970.

بعد انقلاب عام 1963، تم تأميم البنوك وعدد من الشركات الصناعية، واحتكرت الدولة مجموعة من السلع الأساسية. وجرى توسيع استصلاح الأراضي الذي تم تنفيذه خلال الوحدة مع مصر عام 1963. غير أن هذه التدابير كانت مخصصة وارتكاسية إلى حد كبير، ومصممة (في حالة التأميم) من أجل “معاقبة” النخبة التقليدية بعد الاضطرابات المناهضة للنظام عام 1964 أو (في حالة استصلاح الأراضي) توسيع نطاق دعم طبقة الفلاحين الميسورين الذين نشأ من صفوفهم صنّاع الانقلاب البعثي. وفقط بعد انقلاب عام 1966 الذي نفذه اليساريون في حزب البعث، بدأت الأيديولوجية في لعب دور رئيسي، مع أنها، وحتى في ذلك الحين، كانت عادة تأتي في المرتبة الثانية بعد سياسات السلطة المحلية. وتم وضع برنامج للتنمية الشاملة، حيث أصبحت استثمارات الدولة المحرك الرئيسي لجميع القطاعات الاقتصادية. وكان الهدف الصناعي الرئيسي هو الاستعاضة عن الواردات بالسلع المنتجة محلياً. وزيادة الإنتاج الزراعي بواسطة مشاريع ري تديرها الدولة، وخاصة سد الطبقة الكهرمائي الضخم على نهر الفرات (أنجز في سبعينات القرن العشرين). وإحضار الخدمات الحديثة إلى الأرياف في محاولة لرفع مستويات المعيشة في المناطق الريفية. وتم تخصيص مبالغ كبيرة لبناء الطرق الجديدة والسكك الحديدية. وأصبح الاتحاد السوفييتي، وغيره من دول الكتلة الشرقية، شركاء رئيسيين في العديد من المشاريع الجديدة، مما عزز العلاقات السياسية والعسكرية الوثيقة للنظام مع موسكو.

الحكم البعثي ميشيل عفلق
ميشيل عفلق
الحكم البعثي لؤي الأتاسي
لؤي الأتاسي
الحكم البعثي أمين الحافظ
أمين الحافظ
الحكم البعثي نور الدين الأتاسي
نور الدين الأتاسي
الحكم البعثي أحمد الخطيب
أحمد الخطيب
الحكم البعثي اللواء صلاح جديد
اللواء صلاح جديد

مزيد من القراءة

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / Past to Present / Baathist rule

Baathist rule

In 1963, only two years after the military coup that put an end to both the United Arab Republic and the predominance of the Baath Party, yet another coup brought the Baath back to power. Many of the officers who staged this coup were Alawites, a poor minority from the west of Syria, who thanked their social emancipation to the army. Gradually, the Alawites rose in rank in both the Baath and the army. The new regime believed in socialism, and hastened to nationalize banks and to introduce agricultural reform. Michel Aflaq, founder of the Baath Party, was evicted from its board, and the state of emergency declared (which was lifted in 2011).

Baathist rule in Damascus was unstable, with leftists and centrists constantly at loggerheads. In 1966 the radicals staged an intra-party coup. Syria’s resounding defeat by Israel in the June 1967 War, in which the Golan Heights were occupied, weakened the militant socialist regime, and friction intensified between the radical civilian wing of the party and the more pragmatic military wing. The climax was another putsch staged by Hafiz al-Assad, an Air Force general and later Defence Minister, on 16 November 1970.

After the 1963 coup, banks and a few industrial companies were nationalized, and state monopolies were established for a range of basic commodities. Land reform that had been implemented during the union with Egypt was extended in 1963. These measures were, however, largely ad hoc and reactive, designed (in the case of the nationalizations) to ‘punish’ the traditional elite following anti-regime disturbances in 1964 or (in the case of the land reform) to broaden support from the better-off peasantry from whose ranks many of the Baathist coup-makers originated. Only after the 1966 coup by avowed leftists in the Baath Party did ideology begin to play a major role, although even then it usually came second to the messy imperatives of local power politics. A comprehensive development programme was elaborated, in which state investment was to be the main driver of all economic sectors. The key industrial objective was the substitution of domestically produced goods for imports. Agricultural output was to be boosted by state-run irrigation schemes, particularly the giant Tabaqa hydroelectric dam on the Euphrates (completed in the 1970s). Modern services were to be brought to the countryside in a drive to raise rural living standards. Large sums were allocated for the construction of new roads and railways. The Soviet Union and other Eastern Bloc states became key partners in many of the new projects, strengthening the regime’s close political and military ties with Moscow.

baathist rule Michel Aflaq
Michel Aflaq
Baatist rule Luai al-Atassi
Luai al-Atassi
baathist rule Amin al-Hafiz
Amin al-Hafiz
Nureddin al-Atassi
baathist rule Ahmad al-Khatib
Ahmad al-Khatib
baathist rule General Salah Jadid
General Salah Jadid

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.