فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الحكم البعثي / حرب حزيران/يونيو 1967

حرب حزيران/يونيو 1967

حرب حزيران/يونيو 1967 ثكنة عسكرية سورية سابقة
ثكنة عسكرية سورية سابقة، تطل على بحيرة طبريا، احتلتها إسرائيل في حرب 1967
تصوير Magnum / HH

أدى الانقلاب إلى اندلاع ثورات، ليس فقط في صفوف الطبقات الوسطى من المجتمع في العديد من المدن، والذين اعتبروا الحكام الجدد كفلاحين، وإنما أيضاً احتج بعض الضباط، السنّة والدروز، على ما اعتبروه استيلاء العلويين على السلطة. وقام الزعيم الجديد، صلاح جديد، بتوثيق علاقات سوريا مع موسكو وفتح (منظمة المقاومة الفلسطينية الرئيسية) بزعامة ياسر عرفات، الذي نجح في وضع إسرائيل/فلسطين على رأس قائمة جدول أعمال جامعة الدول العربية، وهو الهدف الأساسي باعتباره “النصر النهائي” على إسرائيل. وفي نهاية المطاف، تحالفت مصر والأردن مع سوريا.

بتاريخ 5 حزيران/يونيو عام 1967، وبعد صراع طويل مع سوريا ولبنان والأردن حول مياه نهر الأردن، بدأت إسرائيل الحرب – حرب حزيران/ يونيو – ضد الدول العربية. دمر سلاح الجو الإسرائيلي الطائرات السورية والمصرية حتى قبل أن تتمكن من الإقلاع. ثم غزا الجيش الإسرائيلي شبه جزيرة سيناء المصرية والضفة الغربية للأردن. وفي 10 حزيران/يونيو، هاجمت إسرائيل مرتفعات الجولان السورية. وفي أقل من يومين خسرت سوريا هذه المنطقة الإستراتيجية، بما في ذلك مدينة القنيطرة الرئيسية، والتي تم تدميرها بالكامل من قبل الجيش الإسرائيلي، مما تسبب بفرار 120,000 لاجئ إلى سوريا، أغلبهم من الدروز. وفي 11 حزيران/يونيو، قبلت الأطراف المتحاربة دعوة الأمم المتحدة لوقف إطلاق النار. وفي وقت لاحق من عام 1967، أصدر مجلس الأمن الدولي قراره رقم 242، داعياً إلى انسحاب إسرائيل الكامل من الأراضي المحتلة خلال الحرب، مقابل محادثات السلام واعتراف البلدان العربية بإسرائيل. وفي عام 1981، ضمت إسرائيل مرتفعات الجولان.

بعد هذه الهزيمة، واجه صلاح جديد الكثير من الانتقادات، داخل سوريا كما على الصعيد العالمي. وكان من بين ناقديه الفريق الجوي حافظ الأسد، والذي كان وزير الدفاع أثناء حرب حزيران/يونيو. ورغم معارضته، احتفظ الأسد بمنصبه في الحكومة، متحيناً الفرصة المناسبة ومعززاً موقفه خلال الثلاث سنوات التي تلت.

في أيلول/سبتمبر عام 1970، وقع حدث مأساوي آخر على أعتاب سوريا، في الأردن. وقعت مناوشات بين الفلسطينيين والسلطات الأردنية لمدة عام تقريباً. وفيما أصبح يعرف باسم أيلول الأسود، أمر الملك حسين، الذي خشي قيام ثورة فلسطينية أخرى واسعة الانتشار، قواته بقتل الآلاف من الفدائيين (مقاتلي المقاومة). وفرّ من تبقى من قوات منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية مع قائدهم ياسر عرفات (الذي كان قد أصبح قائد منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية قبل عام) إلى لبنان.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن سور يا يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
سوريا التي تعيش في الآونة الأخيرة مخاضاً عسيراً تحمل في جعبتها ال...
يوفر موقع فَنَك لمحة عامة عن السكان في سوريا، بما في ذلك وصف الأعر...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Syria / Past to Present / Baathist rule / June War of 1967

June War of 1967

June War of 1967 Former Syrian military outpost
Former Syrian military outpost, overlooking Lake Tiberias, taken by Israel in the 1967 June War (Photo Magnum / HH)

The Baathist coup led to revolts not only among the lower middle classes in several cities, who considered the new rulers to be peasants, but also among some officers, Sunni or Druze, who protested against what they saw as an Alawite takeover. The new government leader, Salah Jadid, tightened Syria’s ties with Moscow and with Yasser Arafat‘s Fatah (the main Palestinian resistance organization). He succeeded in bringing Israel/Palestine high on the agenda of the Arab League, the ultimate goal being the final victory over Israel. Eventually, Egypt and Jordan joined forces with Syria.

On 5 June 1967, after a protracted conflict with Syria, Lebanon and Jordan over the Jordan River’s water, Israel started a war, known as the June War, against the Arab countries. The Israeli army completely destroyed both Syria’s and Egypt’s Air Force, before they could even take off. Thereafter, the Israeli army invaded the Egyptian Sinai Peninsula and the West Bank, which was in Jordanian hands. On June 10, it attacked the Syrian Golan Heights. In less than two days, Syria lost this strategic region including its main city, Quneitra, which was entirely destroyed by the Israeli army, causing 120,000 refugees – mainly Druze – to flee to Syria. On June 11, the warring parties accepted the United Nation’s call for a cease-fire. Later in 1967, the UN Security Council issued its Resolution 242, calling for complete Israeli withdrawal from the territories occupied during the war, in exchange for peace talks and Arab recognition of Israel. In 1981, Israel annexed the Golan Heights.

Following this defeat Salah Jadid came under attack both within Syria as well as internationally. Among his critics was Air Force general Hafiz al-Assad, Defence Minister during the June War. Despite his opposition, al-Assad retained his position in the government, biding his time and strengthening his camp during the following three years.

Black September

In September 1970, another dramatic event took place on Syria’s doorstep, in Jordan. Skirmishes between the Palestinians and the Jordanian authorities had been occurring for about a year. In what became known as Black September, King Hussein, fearing another, more widespread Palestinian revolt, had his forces kill thousands of fedayeen (resistance fighters). The remnants of the forces that belonged to the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) fled to Lebanon with their leader Yasser Arafat (who had become PLO-chairman the year before).

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.