فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / بشار الأسد (منذ 2000) / المفاوضات مع إسرائيل

المفاوضات مع إسرائيل

في الآونة الأخيرة، جرت مفاوضات (غير مباشرة) بين سوريا (حافظ الأسد) وإسرائيل (إيهود باراك)، في جنيف، بوساطة بيل كلينتون. إلا أنه تم تعليقها بعد فشل باراك في الإيفاء بوعود سابقة بالانسحاب الكامل من مرتفعات الجولان التي احتلتها إسرائيل في حرب حزيران/يونيو 1967 – مما أثار غضب الأسد واستياء كلينتون.

مع أن سوريا لا تزال رسمياً في حالة حرب مع إسرائيل، إلا أن دمشق أعلنت مراراً عن استعدادها لتوقيع معاهدة سلام مقابل انسحاب إسرائيل الكامل من مرتفعات الجولان السورية. من وجهة النظر السورية، كان هذا هو الهدف من عملية السلام الفاشلة في مدريد والمفاوضات اللاحقة مع الإسرائيليين في عهد حافظ الأسد. ولم يطرأ أي تغيير عليه في عهد بشار الأسد. شاركت سوريا في محادثات سرية مع إسرائيل في الفترة من 2004 إلى 2006، وكرر الرئيس استعداد نظامه للتوصل إلى تسوية عن طريق التفاوض مع إسرائيل في كلمة ألقاها أمام مجلس الشعب السوري في 17 تموز/يوليو عام 2007، وذلك بعد أدائه اليمين الدستورية للفترة الرئاسة الثانية ومدتها سبع سنوات. وفي وقت لاحق، واصلت دمشق وإسرائيل محادثات سلام غير مباشرة، بوساطة تركية، ولكن تم تعليقها في كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 2008 نتيجة للغزو الإسرائيلي لقطاع غزة.

اتضح الوضع الهش للعلاقات بين سوريا وإسرائيل، رغم المحادثات، في غارة جوية إسرائيلية على منشأة نووية مزعومة قرب دير الزور في شمال شرق سوريا في 6 أيلول/سبتمبر عام 2007.

المفاعل النووي السوري في الكبار بالقرب من دير الزور، قبل وبعد تدميره في أيلول/سبتمبر 2007 عن طريق غارة إسرائيلية.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©US GOVERNMENT

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Syria / History of Syria from Past to Present / Bashar al-Assad (since 2000) / Negotiations with Israel

Negotiations with Israel

The last time (indirect) negotiations took place between Syria (Hafiz al-Assad) and Israel (Ehud Barak), was in 2000 in Geneva, with Bill Clinton acting as a mediator. However talks were soon suspended after Barak failed to deliver on earlier pledges to completely withdraw from the Golan Heights, which Israel seized in the 1967 June War – thus incurring Assad’s anger and Clinton’s great displeasure.

Although Syria remains formally at war with Israel, Damascus has repeatedly declared its readiness to sign a peace treaty in exchange for a full Israeli withdrawal from Syria’s Golan Heights. From the Syrian perspective, this had been the objective of the abortive Madrid peace process and of subsequent negotiations with the Israelis during Hafiz al-Assad’s presidency. There has been no change under Bashar al-Assad. From 2004 to 2006 Syria engaged in secret talks with Israel, and the President reiterated his regime’s readiness for a negotiated settlement with Israel in a speech to the Syrian Parliament on 17 July 2007, after he had been sworn in for a second seven-year term as President. Damascus and Israel later pursued indirect peace talks, with Turkish mediation, but these were suspended in December 2008 as a result of that month’s Israeli invasion of the Gaza Strip.

Syrian nuclear plant at al-Kibar, near Deir al-Zor, before and after the bombardement in September 2007 by the Israeli Air Force

The fragile state of Israeli-Syrian relations, despite the talks, was emphasized by an Israeli air raid on an alleged nuclear facility near Deir al-Zor, in north-eastern Syria, on 6 September 2007.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Syria country file provides a comprehensive overview about Syria, its history, politics, culture, economy and...
Syria has recently been in a crisis, which holds a lot of historic fluctuations and incidents. Ruled by al-Ba’ath Part...
On 14 February 2005 a powerful car bomb in central Beirut killed Lebanon's former Prime Minister, Rafic Hariri, and 22 o...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©US GOVERNMENT

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!