فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / بشار الأسد (منذ 2000) / انسحاب القوات السورية من لبنان

انسحاب القوات السورية من لبنان

سوريا لبنان الجيش السوري
الجيش السوري يغادر لبنان Photo HH

بعد نهاية الحرب الأهلية اللبنانية عام 1990، أبقت دمشق قواتها في لبنان لضمان الهيمنة السورية عليه وحمايته من أي تدخل إسرائيلي آخر. وداخل لبنان، تعاون السوريون بشكل وثيق مع حزب الله (الشيعي) الذي كان أقوى قوة عسكرية في البلاد إلى جانب سوريا، والذي نجح في طرد المحتلين الإسرائيليين. لاقى الوجود السوري في لبنان معارضة شديدة من قبل العديد من اللبنانيين، كما إسرائيل وراعيتها الرئيسية الولايات المتحدة اللتين اعتبرتاه “منظمة ارهابية” وسوريا كدولة داعمة “للإرهاب”.

في 14 شباط/فبراير عام 2005، قتل انفجار سيارة ملغومة في وسط بيروت رئيس الوزراء اللبناني السابق رفيق الحريري و 22 شخصاً آخرين. كانت سوريا المشتبه الرئيسي، رغم عدم ظهور أي دليل ثابت. وانطلقت مظاهرات احتجاج ضخمة في لبنان تطالب بالانسحاب السوري، وشنت واشنطن حملة دولية موازية. وفي نيسان/أبريل عام 2005 – بعد ما يقارب من ثلاثين عام من إرسال الرئيس حافظ الأسد جيوشه إلى لبنان – انسحبت القوات المسلحة السورية وعناصر المخابرات.

بموجب القرار 1595 (7 نيسان/أبريل عام 2005)، أنشأ مجلس الأمن لجنة تحقيق دولية مستقلة للتحقيق في ملابسات اغتيال الحريري. وتخللت الأشهر التي تلت الانسحاب السوري تفجيرات في لبنان، موجهة بشكل أساسي ضد منتقدي سوريا. ومع عدم وجود أي دليل قاطع، كان يعتقد على نطاق واسع أن سوريا كانت وراء التفجيرات، مستخدمة إياها للتأكيد على تصميمها المستمر بالحفاظ على نفوذها رغم انسحابها. عام 2007، أنشأت الأمم المتحدة المحكمة الخاصة بلبنان، ومقرها في Leidschendam (قرب لاهاي) لمحاكمة الأفراد المتهمين في اغتيال الحريري وعمليات القتل التي أعقبتها. وفي 30 حزيران/يونيو عام 2011، أصدرت المحكمة الدولية مذكرة باعتقال أربعة (خمسة في وقت لاحق) أشخاص لهم صلة بحزب الله.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن سور يا يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
سوريا التي تعيش في الآونة الأخيرة مخاضاً عسيراً تحمل في جعبتها ال...
في 14 شباط/فبراير عام 2005، قتل انفجار سيارة ملغومة في وسط بيروت رئيس ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Syria / History of Syria from Past to Present / Bashar al-Assad (since 2000) / Syria’s Withdrawal from Lebanon

Syria’s Withdrawal from Lebanon

Syria Lebanon Syrian army
Syrian army leaving Lebanon (Photo HH)

After the end of the Lebanese civil war in 1990, Damascus maintained forces in the country to guarantee Syrian hegemony over its neighbour and guard against renewed Israeli intervention. Within Lebanon, the Syrians collaborated closely with the (Shiite) Hezbollah (Party of God), which was the strongest military force in the country other than the Syrians and whose guerrilla campaign had driven out the Israeli occupiers. The Syrian presence in Lebanon was vehemently opposed by many Lebanese and by Israel and its key sponsor, the United States, both of whom denounced Hezbollah as a ‘terrorist organization’ and Syria as a state that supported ‘terrorists’.

On 14 February 2005 a powerful car bomb in central Beirut killed Lebanon’s former Prime Minister, Rafic Hariri, and 22 other people. Syria was the prime suspect, although no motive has ever been clearly demonstrated. Massive protest demonstrations were staged in Lebanon demanding a Syrian withdrawal, and Washington spearheaded a parallel international campaign. In April 2005 – almost thirty years after President Hafiz al-Assad had sent his army into Lebanon – Syria withdrew its Armed Forces and security-agency personnel.

In Resolution 1595 (7 April 2005) the Security Council established an International Independent Investigation Commission to investigate the circumstances of Hariri’s murder. The months following the Syrian withdrawal were punctuated by bomb attacks in Lebanon, directed mainly against critics of Syria. Although conclusive proof was lacking, it was widely believed that Syria was behind the bombings, using them to emphasize its continued determination to maintain its influence, despite its withdrawal. In 2007 a Special Tribunal for Lebanon (STL), based in Leidschendam (near The Hague) was established by the UN to try individuals charged in the Hariri bombing and the subsequent killings. On 30 June 2011 the STL issued warrants for the arrest of four (later five) individuals linked to Hezbollah.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Syria country file provides a comprehensive overview about Syria, its history, politics, culture, economy and...
Syria has recently been in a crisis, which holds a lot of historic fluctuations and incidents. Ruled by al-Ba’ath Part...
On 14 February 2005 a powerful car bomb in central Beirut killed Lebanon's former Prime Minister, Rafic Hariri, and 22 o...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!