فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / في دمشق التي دمرتها الحرب، يحاول السكان عيش حياةٍ طبيعية

في دمشق التي دمرتها الحرب، يحاول السكان عيش حياةٍ طبيعية

Syria- Douma
سوريون يسيرون في أحد شوارع مدينة دوما، التي كان يسيطر عليها المتمردون في السابق، على مشارف العاصمة دمشق، في 19 أبريل 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ STRINGER

يبيع محمد عصير البرتقال في الشارع الواقع خارج سوق الحميدية في العاصمة السورية دمشق، وهي منطقةٌ سقطت فيها قذائف الهاون بشكلٍ شبه يومي خلال هجوم النظام على الغوطة الشرقية التي كانت تحت سيطرة المعارضة في أوائل عام 2018. إلا أنه لم يفكر في البقاء في المنزل أو البحث عن مكانٍ آخر لبيع بضاعته.

إذ قال لنا في فَنَك: “إذا ما شعرنا بالخوف سيتوقف كل شيء، ستنام المدينة. لا يمكننا فعل هذا، يجب أن تستمر الحياة.”

لطالما كانت الحرب الأهلية قاب قوسين أو أدنى في دمشق. ففي عام 2012، سيطرت المعارضة المسلحة على العديد من الضواحي بما في ذلك الغوطة الشرقية، وهي منطقة ريفية تضم العديد من البلدات والقرى الواقعة على مسافة 15 كم شرق المدينة. ومنذ ذلك الحين، تعرضت دمشق، التي يسيطر عليها النظام، لنيران المدفعية وقذائف الهاون بشكلٍ متكرر من قِبل مقاتلي المعارضة.

وفي فبراير 2018، شن النظام بدعمٍ جوي روسي، هجوماً ضخماً ضد مختلف جماعات المعارضة في الغوطة الشرقية، وبشكلٍ رئيسي ضد جيش الإسلام وأحرار الشام وفيلق الرحمن. فقد كان ما يقدر بنحو 200 ألف إلى 250 ألفاً من المدنيين محاصريين في الغوطة، ويرجع ذلك جزئياً إلى منعهم من الفرار بسبب قناصة المعارضة. وبعد قرابة شهرين من القتال المرير، خضع الجيب لسيطرة النظام الكاملة في 12 أبريل 2018. ويرى المرصد السوري لحقوق الإنسان أن عدد القتلى المدنيين في الغوطة الشرقية يبلغ أكثر من 1600 شخص، إلا أن محللاً أجنبياً تحدث إلى فَنَك شريطة عدم ذكر اسمه، قال إنه مع وجود نساء ومراهقات في الجيب يحملن أسلحة، كان التمييز بين المدنيين والمقاتلين غير واضح دوماً.

وبالنسبة لكثيرٍ من السوريين في دمشق التي يسيطر عليها النظام، شكل سقوط الغوطة الشرقية راحةً بالنسبة لهم، لا سيما أن القصف ازداد بشكلٍ حاد خلال الهجوم الأخير. وفي حين لا يتناسب هذا مع معاناة المدنيين في الغوطة الشرقية تحت قصف النظام، إلا أن هذا القصف تسبب أيضاً في خسائر يومية تقريباً، ووضع المدينة بأكملها في قبضة الحرب. فعلى سبيل المثال، سقطت قذيفة هاون على سوقٍ في حي جرمانا في 21 مارس مما أسفر عن مقتل 44 شخصاً.

“أمان؟ لا يوجد أمانٌ هنا،” قال جرجس، وهو أحد سكان حي دويلعة، الذي يبعد حوالي كيلومتر واحد عن خط المواجهة، في ذروة الهجوم في منتصف شهر مارس. وأضاف “بالأمس، سقطت قذيفة هاون بالقرب مني، كما أن شقيقتي وابنتها انتقلتا للعيش في مكانٍ آخر بسبب خوفهما.”

وبالتجول في حي دويلعة، لم يكن من الصعب عدم ملاحظة آثار قذائف الهاون، فقد ألحقت الشظايا أضراراً بإحدى المدارس، كما أن العديد من جدران المنازل مليئة بالثقوب. وفي أحد الأماكن، كان متطوعون محليون، الذين تم تنظيمهم في وحدات الدفاع الوطني الموالية للحكومة، ينظفون الأنقاض من هجومٍ بقذائف الهاون في يومٍ سابق. كما أرانا أحد السكان الجروح التي تعرض لها في جميع أنحاء جسده بسبب هجومٍ سابق.

وأخبرتنا منى، وهي لاجئة عراقية مقيمة في جرمانا أن ابنتها تخشى الذهاب إلى المدرسة بعد أن ضربتها قذيفة هاون. كما توفي صديق زوجها وأصيب هو أيضاً في هجومٍ بقذائف الهاون في عام 2012. اضطرت العائلة إلى التنقل عدة مراتٍ داخل دمشق للهرب من القتال بين جماعات المعارضة وقوات النظام. قالت منى: “هاجم الإرهابيون منطقتنا، وأصيب منزلنا بالرصاص.”

ولسائق سيارة الأجرة، خوري، قصة مماثلة. فقد فر من قريته في جنوب سوريا عندما سيطرت الجماعة المتطرفة، جبهة النصرة، عليها في عام 2012. وفي دمشق، سكن بدايةً في عين ترما، إلا أنه اضطر إلى مغادرتها مجدداً عندما سيطرت إحدى جماعات المعارضة من الغوطة الشرقية عليها.

وعلى مدى عشرة أيامٍ في مارس 2018، سجلنا في فَنَك عشرات القصص من سكان مدينة دمشق الذين ذكروا سقوط قذائف الهاون بالقرب منهم، مما أدى إلى سقوط ضحايا أو إلحاق أضرارٍ بمنازلهم. الشعور العام هو أن الناس ملوا من الحرب ويأملون بأن يتمكن الرئيس بشار الأسد من استعادة الغوطة الشرقية قريباً.

وقال أنس جودة، وهو عضو من المعارضة المسموحة لدى النظام، “ليس الجميع مؤيدون للأسد، إلا أنهم مناهضون للمعارضة.” وشرح لنا في فَنَك بقوله “رفض الناس النموذج الذي قدمته لهم المعارضة. بالنسبة لي، انتهت الإنتفاضة السلمية عندما بدأ الناس برفع علم آخر. أنا أؤمن بإنتفاضةٍ داخل الدولة، ولكني لا أريد تدمير كل شيء. أريد الحفاظ على بلدي.”

وعلى الرغم من القصف المستمر، والوجود العسكري الكبير في الشوارع والخطر الدائم بسبب قذائف الهاون، إلا أن هناك شعوراً سريالياً بالحياة الطبيعية في دمشق. ففي السنوات الأخيرة، تم افتتاح العديد من الحانات والمطاعم والنوادي. فالزبائن الجالسون في شيشة كافية، لا يرمشون قط عن سماعهم دوي الإنفجارات الضخمة التي تهز المناطق المجاورة. بل إن الشوارع أكثر ازدحاماً مما كانت عليه قبل الحرب بسبب تدفق النازحين داخلياً. ولا تزال الخدمات الحكومية مثل جمع القمامة والكهرباء والمياه قائمة. ويبدو أن النظام يرغب في إرسال رسالةٍ مفادها أنه ما دام الأمور تحت سيطرته، سيوفر مستوىً من الأمن والحياة الطبيعية لمواطنيه.

إلا أن بعض القطاعات عانت كثيراً، فقد قالت أم جورج، وهي مقيمة أخرى في دويلعة، لفَنَك: “فر العديد من الأطباء من البلاد، وأصبح استيراد الأدوية أكثر صعوبة.” فقد سقطت عن السلالم منذ عدة أشهر وتواجه صعوبة في المشي، إذ قالت: “لا أستطيع الحصول على علاج جيد.”

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، كانت آثار الحرب على الاقتصاد مدمرةً أيضاً. فعلى سبيل المثال، كانت قطعة بيتزا بسيطة تكلف 10-15 ليرة سورية عام 2010، إلا أنها اليوم تكلف 100 ليرة. كما فقدت العملة عشرة أضعاف قيمتها منذ اندلاع الحرب في عام 2011. وبالرغم من الإفتقار إلى أرقامٍ موثوقة، إلا أنه في منتصف عام 2017، قدر البنك الدولي خسارة متراكمة في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي من عام 2011، بلغت 226 مليار دولار، أي أربعة أضعاف الناتج المحلي الإجمالي لسوريا لعام 2010. وقدر تقريرٌ لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي تكلفة البنية التحتية المادية المدمرة بنحو 67,3 مليار دولار في نهاية عام 2015 – أي في منتصف الحرب فقط.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فقد فر ملايين السوريين من البلاد، وفي دمشق على سبيل المثال، كان من الصعب أن تجد شخصاً واحداً لا يوجد له أحد أفراد أسرته في أوروبا. وتأمل أم جورج في جمع شملها مع أسرتها في ألمانيا، إذ أنها لا تتوقع أن تتحسن مستويات المعيشة في المستقبل القريب، حتى وإن تمكن الأسد من تحقيق انتصارٍ سريع.

كمت يريد محمود، وهو طالب جامعي في التاسعة عشرة من عمره، مغادرة سوريا بمجرد تخرجه لتجنب التجنيد العسكري، إذ قال بصراحة: “في الجيش تقتل.” واليوم يعيش شقيقه في أوروبا، حيث سافر إلى تركيا أولاً، لينتقل بواسطة أحد القوارب عبر البحر المتوسط إلى اليونان، ثم مر بالبلقان إلى ألمانيا.

وفي حين يأمل سكان دمشق بأن ينعموا بأوقاتٍ أكثر هدوءاً وسلاماُ بعد سقوط الغوطة الشرقية في يد النظام، إلا أن الخوف لا يزال يتملكهم حول مستقبل البلاد. ويقول جودة في هذا الشأن “مع كل هذا الحديث عن الإيرانيين في سوريا، قد نشهد أمراً أكبر قريباً،” في إشارةٍ منه إلى المعارضة الدولية لوجود إيران وحزب الله المدعوم من إيران في سوريا. ومع دعم الولايات المتحدة للأكراد في الشمال الشرقي، ودعم تركيا للمعارضة في إدلب في الشمال، ودعم روسيا وإيران للنظام، لا تزال سوريا برميل بارودٍ جغرافي-سياسي قابل للإنفجار.

وعلاوة على ذلك، وعلى الرغم من استمرار الأسد في استعادة الأراضي، إلا أن الوضع لا يزال شديد التقلب. فقد شنت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وفرنسا وبريطانيا هجوماً على أهدافٍ متعددة للنظام في دمشق وحمص صباح 14 أبريل رداً على هجوم كيمياوي مزعوم من قبل الجيش السوري في مدينة دوما في وقتٍ مبكر من الأسبوع.

وعليه، تبادلت الولايات المتحدة وروسيا التهديدات العسكرية في أعقاب الهجوم الكيماوي، مما أثار مخاوف من تصعيدٍ أوسع نطاقاً بين الدولتين، ولكن في نهاية المطاف كانت الضربات محدودة، الأمر الذي يبدو أنه عزز من ثقة الأسد.

*أجريت جميع المقابلات دون وجود طرفٍ ثالث، بين المراسل والشخص الذي تمت مقابلته فقط.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ STRINGER | ©AFP ⁃ STRINGER

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / Past to Present / In War-ravaged Damascus, Residents try to maintain Level of Normalcy

In War-ravaged Damascus, Residents try to maintain Level of Normalcy

Syria- Douma
Syrians walk along a street in the former rebel-held Syrian town of Douma on the outskirts of Damascus on April 19, 2018. Photo AFP

Mohamed sells orange juice on the street just outside Souq al-Hamadeya in the Syrian capital Damascus, an area where mortars landed almost daily during the regime offensive against opposition-held East Ghouta in early 2018. Yet he has not considered staying at home or finding a different place to sell his wares. “If we were afraid everything would stop, the city would sleep. We cannot do that, life must go on,” he told Fanack Chronicle.

The civil war has always been around the corner in Damascus. In 2012, the armed opposition took control of several suburbs including Eastern Ghouta, a rural area encompassing several towns and villages about 15km east of the city. Ever since, regime-held Damascus has been under frequent mortar and artillery fire from opposition fighters.

In February 2018, the regime, with Russian air support, launched a major offensive against the different opposition groups in Eastern Ghouta, mainly Jaysh al-Islam, Ahrar al-Sham and Falaiq al-Rahman. An estimated 200,000-250,000 civilians were trapped, in part because opposition snipers prevented them from fleeing. After almost two months of bitter fighting, the enclave came under full control of the regime on 12 April. The Syrian Observatory for Human Rights puts the civilian death toll in Eastern Ghouta at over 1,600, but a foreign analyst who spoke to Fanack Chronicle on condition of anonymity said that with women and teenagers in the enclave also carrying weapons, the distinction between civilians and fighters was not always clear.

For many Syrians in regime-controlled Damascus, the fall of Eastern Ghouta came as a relief, not least because shelling increased sharply during the offensive. While not proportionate to the suffering of civilians in Eastern Ghouta under regime bombardment, this shelling also caused almost daily fatalities and managed to keep the entire city in the grip of war. For instance, a mortar hitting a market in the neighbourhood of Jaramana killed 44 on 21 March 2018.

“Safe? There is no safety here,” said Girgis, a resident of Dwela, a neighbourhood about a kilometre from the frontline, at the height of the offensive in mid-March. “Yesterday, there was a mortar close by, my sister and her daughter moved out to another place because they are afraid.”

Walking around in Dwela, it was not hard to miss the signs of mortar fire. Shrapnel had damaged a school and multiple houses had holes in their walls. In one place, local volunteers, organised in pro-government national defence units, were cleaning up the rubble from a mortar attack the day before. One resident showed wounds all over his body sustained during an early attack.

Mona, an Iraqi refugee residing in Jaramana, told Fanack Chronicle that her daughter was afraid to go to school after it was hit by a mortar. Her husband had lost a friend and been injured himself in a mortar attack in 2012. The family had been forced to move several times within Damascus to flee the fighting between opposition groups and the regime forces. “Terrorists attacked our neighbourhood, our house was hit by bullets,” Mona said.

Taxi driver Khoury has a comparable story. He fled his village in the south of Syria when the extremist group Jabhat al-Nusra took control it in 2012. In Damascus, he landed in Ain Terma, an area he had to leave again when an opposition group from Eastern Ghouta took over.

Over ten days in March 2018, Fanack Chronicle recorded tens of stories of Damascus residents recalling mortars that had landed close by, claimed casualties or damaged houses. The general feeling was that people were tired of the war and hoping that President Bashar al-Assad would retake Eastern Ghouta soon.

“Not many people are pro-Assad, but they are anti-opposition,” Anas Joudeh, a member of the regime-allowed opposition, told Fanack Chronicle. “People rejected the model that was presented to them by the opposition. For me, the peaceful uprising finished when people started to carry another flag. I believe in an uprising within the state, but I don’t want to destroy everything. I want to keep my country,” he explained.

Despite the ongoing sound of shelling, a large military presence in the streets and constant danger of mortars, there is a surreal sense of normalcy to life in Damascus. In recent years, a lot of bars, restaurants and clubs have opened. Sitting in their shisha cafés, customers no longer even blink when a large explosion is heard in the vicinity. The streets are more crowded than before the war, due to the influx of the internally displaced. Government services such as garbage collection, electricity and water are still functioning. The regime seems to want to send the message that as long as it is in control, it will provide a level of safety and normality to its citizens.

But certain sectors have suffered greatly. “Many doctors have fled the country and sanctions make it more difficult to import medicines,” Umm George, another Dwela resident, told Fanack Chronicle. She fell down the stairs several months ago and has difficulty walking. “I cannot get good treatment,” she said.

The effects of the war on the economy have also been devastating. A simple pizza cost 10-15 Syrian pounds in 2010; now it is 100 Syrian pounds. The currency has lost ten times its value since war broke out in 2011. Hard numbers are lacking, but in mid-2017, the World Bank estimated a cumulative GDP loss from 2011 onwards of $226 billion, four times Syria’s 2010 GDP. A UNDP report estimated the cost of destroyed physical infrastructure at $67.3 billion at the end of 2015 – only halfway through the war.

Millions of Syrians have fled the country, and in Damascus it was hard to find anyone without a family member in Europe. Umm George hopes to be reunited with her family in Germany, as she does not expect living standards will improve in the near future, even if al-Assad secures a quick victory.

Mahmoud, a 19-year-old college student, wants to leave Syria once he graduates, to avoid military subscription. “In the army you get killed,” he said bluntly. His brother already lives in Europe. He travelled to Turkey first, took a boat over the Mediterranean to Greece and then went through the Balkans to Germany.

While Damascus residents hope for quieter and more peaceful times after the fall of Eastern Ghouta, they remain fearful about the future of their country. “With all the talk against Iranians in Syria, we may witness something bigger soon,” Joudeh said, referring to international opposition to the presence of Iran and Iran-backed Hezbollah in Syria. With the United States (US) supporting the Kurds in the north-east, Turkey supporting the opposition in Idlib in the north, and Russia and Iran supporting the regime, Syria continues to be a geopolitical powder keg. Moreover, although al-Assad continues to regain territory, the situation remains highly volatile.

The US, France and Britain hit multiple regime targets in Damascus and Homs on the morning of 14 April 2018 in retaliation for a suspected chemical attack by the Syrian army in the city of Douma a week early.

The US and Russia traded military threats following the chemical attack, sparking fears of a wider escalation between the superpowers, but in the end the strikes were limited, which appears to have further boosted al-Assad’s confidence.

*All interviews were conducted without the presence of a third party, they were solely between the reporter and interviewee.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.