فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الهجوم الكيماوي المزعوم في سوريا يُشعل العالم

الهجوم الكيماوي المزعوم في سوريا يُشعل العالم

أدى هجومٌ كيماوي مزعوم في 7 أبريل 2018 إلى مقتل ما لا يقل عن 42 شخصاً وإصابة أكثر من 1000 شخص في دوما، وهي بلدةٌ في منطقة الغوطة الشرقية التي تقع تحت سيطرة المتمردين، خارج دمشق. رد المجتمع الدولي على الفور متهماً النظام السوري بتنفيذ الهجوم. وبعد أسبوع، شن تحالفٌ مكونٌ من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والمملكة المتحدة وفرنسا ضربةً جوية، زُعم أنها كانت تستهدف مصانع الأسلحة الكيماوية في البلاد.

ومن غير المعروف إذا ما حققت هذه الضربة الجوية نجاحاً، فالتحالف يدعي ذلك، في حين أن روسيا إدعت اعتراضها 71 صاروخاً من أصل 100 صاروخ تم إطلاقها.

وجاء الهجوم المزعوم بعد عامٍ تقريباً من الهجوم الكيماوي على خان شيخون في 4 أبريل 2017، والذي بدا أن له تأثيرٌ مماثلٌ لهذا الهجوم. ووفقاً لمصادر طبية، فإن “الأعراض على الضحايا تشبه أعراض التعرض لغاز السارين، مثل صعوبة التنفس والقيء وخروج زبد من الأنف والفم.” في حين أن الهجمات بالكلور ليست قاتلة إلى هذا الحد.

فقد أنشأت منظمة حظر الأسلحة الكيماوية، وهي الهيئة المنفذة لاتفاقية حظر الأسلحة الكيماوية (CWC)، بعثتها المستقلة لتقصي الحقائق في سوريا عام 2014، والتي حققت في أكثر من 70 حالة من حالات هجمات الغاز السام المزعومة في سوريا منذ ذلك الحين. واليوم، تحقق في دوما، حيث أكدت استخدام غازٍ سام. وقال مسؤولون أميركيون في 12 أبريل إن فحوصات أجريت على عينات بول من دوما تؤكد وجود الكلور وغاز الأعصاب.

ولطالما كانت دوما هدفاً منتظماً لهجمات النظام منذ خمس سنوات، إلا أنها تتعرض لهجومٍ متزايد منذ مارس 2018. فقد سمحت الهجمات للرئيس بشار الأسد بالسيطرة على دوما بعد أن فر السكان والمتمردون في حافلاتٍ إلى جرابلس، وهي بلدة تقع بالقرب من الحدود التركية يسيطر عليها المتمردون المدعومون من أنقرة. وقال أحد المسعفين لصحيفة الجارديان: “سأغادر غداً إن شاء الله لأن مهمتنا انتهت. الحمد لله أن القتل الجماعي قد انتهى، لكني حزين لأنني سأترك أرضي وشعبي وربما لن أعود أبداً، لكني سأغادر وأنا أعلم أني أعطيت كل ما بوسعي.”

وفي بيانٍ لها، قالت دائرة العمل الخارجي في الإتحاد الأوروبي (EEAS)، ” ندعو أنصار النظام، روسيا وإيران، لاستخدام نفوذهم لمنع أي هجوم آخر وضمان وقف الأعمال العدائية.”

Syria- Douma
فتاة سورية تمسك بقناع الأكسجين على وجه طفل رضيع في أحد المستشفيات بعد هجومٍ بالغاز على بلدة دوما المحاصرة في منطقة الغوطة الشرقية على مشارف العاصمة دمشق في 22 يناير 2018. Photo AFP

وقال الرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون في 12 أبريل إن فرنسا ستقرر شن هجماتٍ عندما يتم جمع كل المعلومات الضرورية، حيث قال ماكرون، بعد أن أصبح من المعروف أن فرنسا كانت تنسق مع الولايات المتحدة على رد عسكري محتمل”لدينا دليل على أنه في الأسبوع الماضي، أي قبل 10 أيام من الآن، تم استخدام الأسلحة الكيماوية، على الأقل بالكلور، وأنها كانت تستخدم من قبل نظام بشار الأسد.” فقد سبق وصرح بالفعل، تماماً كما فعل الرئيس الأمريكي السابق باراك أوباما، أن الأسلحة الكيماوية “خطٌ أحمر،” إلا أنه لم يفعل شيئاً منذ بداية رئاسته لوضع حدٍ لها. وفي اليوم نفسه، دعت رئيسة الوزراء البريطانية تيريزا ماي إلى اجتماعٍ طارىء لمجلس الوزراء لمناقشة إمكانية الانضمام إلى فرنسا والولايات المتحدة في ضربةٍ عسكرية. وفقاً لصحيفة التلغراف طلب من الغواصات البريطانية التحرك في اتجاه سوريا لتصبح في المدى الذي يمكن منه إطلاق صواريخ على الأراضي السورية.

بيد أن رد الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية كان الأكثر قوة. ففي 9 أبريل، أدان الرئيس دونالد ترمب الهجوم، قائلاً إنه سيقرر خلال 24 إلى 48 ساعة إذا ما كان سيشن هجوماً انتقامياً على سوريا. وفي تغريدةٍ له، شجب “الهجوم الكيماوي الطائش” في سوريا الذي قتل النساء والأطفال، ووصف بشار الأسد بـ”الحيوان” وانتقد الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين لدعمه الحكومة السورية. ورداً على سؤالٍ من أحد الصحفيين عما إذا كان يتحمل بوتين أي مسؤوليةٍ عن الهجوم، أجاب ترامب بقوله: “ربما، نعم، هذا ممكن. إن حصل هذا، فسيكون الأمر صعباً جداً، بل صعباً للغاية. سيدفع الجميع الثمن. سيدفع هو الثمن، والجميع سيفعلون.”

وفي تغريدةٍ لاحقة، قال ترمب، بشكلٍ غامض، “الهجوم على سوريا قد يكون قريبا جداً وقد لا يكون كذلك.” ففي العام الماضي، وبعد أيامٍ فقط على هجوم خان شيخون، شنت الولايات المتحدة هجوماً بصواريخ كروز على أحد المطارات السورية، على الرغم من أنه لم تكن له عواقب بعيدة المدى على الحرب.

وفي أعقاب هذه التصريحات، حذرت المنظمة الأوروبية لسلامة الملاحة الجوية (يوروكنترول)، وهي وكالة أوروبية لمراقبة حركة الطيران، شركات الطيران ودعتهم إلى توخي الحذر في شرق البحر الأبيض المتوسط بسبب احتمال شن غاراتٍ جوية على سوريا خلال الـ72 ساعة القادمة، في حين مارست الخطوط الجوية الكويتية أقصى درجات الحذر وألغت جميع رحلاتها إلى لبنان. وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، فقد أدى هجوم وقع في 9 أبريل، على ما يبدو من قبل إسرائيل، والذي أسفر عن مقتل 14 عسكرياً إيرانياً على قاعدةٍ سورية، إلى توتراتٍ إقليمية، على الرغم من أنه أصبح من الواضح فيما بعد أن هذا الهجوم لم يكن مرتبطًا بأحداث دوما.

لا تزال الأوضاع متقلبة، مما يترك العالم وبخاصة سوريا وجيرانها على حافة الهاوية، خوفًا على ما تبقى من الاستقرار في المنطقة. ومرةً أخرى، كانت الضربة الجوية الأخيرة التي نفذتها الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة وفرنسا ذات نتائج مادية بالكاد تذكر، ويشير الكثيرون إلى أنه كان ينبغي عليهم تركيز جهودهم على محاولة الإطاحة بالنظام بدلاً من ذلك.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / Past to Present / Alleged Chemical Attack in Syria Puts the World on Edge

Alleged Chemical Attack in Syria Puts the World on Edge

An alleged chemical attack on 7 April 2018 killed at least 42 people and injured more than a 1,000 in Douma, a town in the rebel-held enclave of Eastern Ghouta, outside Damascus. The international community responded immediately, accusing the Syrian regime of carrying out the attack. A week later, a coalition made up of the United States (US), United Kingdom (UK) and France launched an air strike, allegedly targeting chemical weapons plants in the country.

It is unknown if the strike was a success. The coalition claims it was whereas Russia said it had intercepted 71 of the 100 missiles reportedly launched.

The alleged attack came almost exactly a year after the Khan Sheikhoun chemical attack on 4 April 2017, whose effects looked exactly like this one. According to medical sources, “The victims’ symptoms resemble that of sarin gas exposure such as difficulty breathing, vomiting and foaming from the nose and mouth. Chlorine attacks are not this deadly.”

The Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), the implementing body of the  Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC), set up its own independent fact-finding mission for Syria in 2014. It has investigated more than 70 cases of alleged toxic gas attacks in Syria since then. It is now investigating the Douma case, and has confirmed the use of a toxic gas. US officials said on 12 April that urine tests from Douma have tested positive for chlorine and a nerve agent.

Douma has been a regular target of regime attacks for five years but has been under increased assault since March 2018. The attacks allowed President Bashar al-Assad to take Douma after the residents and rebels fled in buses to Jarablus, a town near the Turkish border that is controlled by Ankara-backed rebel fighters. A paramedic told the Guardian newspaper, “I am leaving tomorrow, God willing, because our mission has ended. I am saying thank God that the mass killings are over, but I am saddened that I will leave my land and my people, possibly never to return. But I will leave knowing that I gave everything I could until the end.”

In a statement, the European External Action Service (EEAS) said, ‘We call on the supporters of the regime, Russia and Iran, to use their influence to prevent any further attack and ensure a cessation of hostilities.’

Syria- Douma
A Syrian girl holds an oxygen mask over the face of an infant at a hospital following a reported gas attack on the rebel-held besieged town of Douma in the eastern Ghouta region on the outskirts of the capital Damascus on January 22, 2018. Photo AFP

French President Emmanuel Macron said on 12 April 2018 that France would decide to strike when all the necessary information was gathered. “We have proof that last week, now 10 days ago, chemical weapons were used, at least with chlorine, and that they were used by the regime of Bashar al-Assad,” Macron said, after it became known that France was coordinating with the US on a possible military response. He had already declared, as former US President Barack Obama had done, that chemical weapons were a “red line” but has done nothing since the beginning of his presidency to put an end to it. The same day, UK Prime Minister Theresa May called an emergency cabinet meeting to discuss the possibility of joining France and the US in a military strike. According to The Telegraph, British submarines were ordered within missile range of Syria.

Yet it was the US that reacted most forcefully. On 9 April 2018, President Donald Trump condemned the attack, saying he would decide in 24 to 48 hours if he was going to launch a reprisal offensive on Syria. In a tweet, he denounced the ‘mindless CHEMICAL attack’ in Syria that killed women and children, called Bashar al-Assad an ‘animal’ and criticized Russian President Vladimir Putin for supporting the Syrian government. Asked by a reporter if Putin had any responsibility for the attack, Trump replied: “He may, yeah, he may. And if he does, it’s going to be very tough, very tough. Everybody’s gonna pay a price. He will, everybody will.”

In a subsequent tweet, Trump said, ambiguously, that an attack in Syria ‘could be very soon or not so soon at all’. Just days after the Khan Sheikhoun attack last year, the US launched a cruise missile attack on a Syrian airfield, although it had no long-term consequence on the war.

In the wake of these announcements, Eurocontrol, the pan-European air traffic control agency warned airlines to exercise caution in the eastern Mediterranean due to the possible launch of air strikes into Syria in next 72 hours. Kuwait Airlines exercised extreme caution, cancelling all its flights to Lebanon. An attack on 9 April 2018, apparently by Israel, that killed 14 Iranian military personnel on a Syrian base added to regional tensions, although it later became clear that this attack was not connected to the events in Douma.

The situation continues to be volatile, leaving the world and especially Syria and its neighbours on edge, fearing for the last scraps of stability they have. Once again, the recent air strike by the US, UK and France has had few tangible results, and many suggest they should have focused their efforts on trying to overthrow the regime instead.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.