فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تضاؤل آمال جماعات المعارضة السورية مع تقدم قوات النظام

تضاؤل آمال جماعات المعارضة السورية مع تقدم قوات النظام

Syria- Free syrian army
مقاتلان سوريان مدعومان من تركيا يحملون العلم التركي (يمين) وعلم الجيش السوري الحر (يسار) عند إحدى نقاط التفتيش في بلدة أعزاز السورية على الطريق المؤدية إلى عفرين، في 1 فبراير 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ OZAN KOSE

في خضم تقلص مساحات الأراضي التي تُسيطر عليها جماعات المتمردين في سوريا، لا تزال الأراضي التي يُسيطر عليها الجيش السوري الحر في أبريل 2018 أصغر من ذلك.

فالمعارضة المسلحة، التي لم تكن يوماً قوة موحدة بل فصيلاً حراً، تفقد سيطرتها أمام كلٍ من النظام السوري وجماعات المتمردين الأخرى، بما فيها هيئة تحرير الشام المرتبطة بالقاعدة (والتي كانت تُعرف بالسابق بجبهة النصرة).

وبعد أن خسر الجيش السوري الحر تمويل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، أصبحت تركيا اليوم الداعم الدولي الرئيسي الوحيد له. ونتيجةً لذلك، لم يشن الجيش السوري الحر عملياته الأخيرة ضد النظام السوري بل خدمةً لتركيا ضد الجماعات الكردية في عفرين شماليّ سوريا. وبشكلٍ متزايد، باتت الجماعة تفقد أهميتها، وبالتأكيد تضاءل أي أملٍ بتوفيرها بديلاً موثوقاً لحكومة الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد.

فقد كتب رضوان زيادة، أحد كبار الباحثين في المركز العربي واشنطن دي سي، أن الجماعة “فشلت في الحفاظ على هيكل ثابت أو التأكيد على روح العمل الجماعي المؤسسي.”

وأضاف “الخلافات الشخصية والتناحر بين قادته، وتدخل القوى الإقليمية في دعم وتمويل عملياته، حكم على مهمته بالفشل.” وتابع قوله “من ناحية أخرى، استهدف التدخل الروسي [الذي بدأ] في سبتمبر 2015 وحداته على وجه التحديد منذ أن مثلَّ الفصائل المعتدلة في المعارضة.”

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه تم تشكيل الجيش السوري الحر في بداية النزاع في عام 2011 من قبل ضباط وجنود الجيش المنشقين، إلا أنهم لم يكن لديهم قط قيادةٌ مركزية أو هيكلٌ موحد، كما انفصلت بعض الجماعات التابعة للجيش السوري الحر في وقتٍ لاحق عنه وانضمت إلى مجموعات أخرى مثل الجبهة الإسلامية، وهي تحالفٌ وطني يضم الفصائل الإسلامية التي تأسست في نوفمبر 2013.

ومع ذلك، ونظراً لأن الجيش السوري الحر كان يُنظر إليه باعتباره معارضةً علمانية أو معتدلة ضد الأسد، تلقى دعماً محدوداً من الولايات المتحدة والدول الغربية الأخرى وكذلك من دول أخرى معارضة للنظام السوري، بما في ذلك تركيا والمملكة العربية السعودية وقطر. وبعد صعود تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” خاضت فصائل الجيش السوري الحر قتالاً مع الجماعة المتطرفة للسيطرة على الأراضي في بعض المناطق وكذلك مع جبهة النصرة وخليفتها، هيئة تحرير الشام. وفي الوقت نفسه، وصلت بعض الأسلحة والمساعدات المخصصة لمقاتلي الجيش السوري الحر إلى داعش وجبهة النصرة، وانشق بعض مقاتلي الجيش السوري الحر إلى تلك الجماعات أو نسقوا معها.

وفي مقالٍ نُشر على موقع War on the Rocks الإلكتروني، وهو منصة مختصة بقضايا السياسة الخارجية والأمن القومي، أشار المحلل الأمريكي المختص بالشأن السوري، سام هيلر، إلى أن “المتمردين كانوا أكثر اهتماماً بمواجهة نظام الأسد- حتى وإن عنى ذلك القتال في صفوف الجهاديين أو تحت إمرتهم- بدلاً من مواجهة الجهاديين. كما عنى الخلل المتعصب والتورط الشخصي للمتمردين أن الجهاديين كانوا أكثر مركزية وقوة داخل المعارضة المسلحة من واشنطن وغيرها من الدول الداعمة للمتمردين الذين يتم تقديرهم أو الاعتراف بهم.”

فقد أنهت واشنطن دعمها للجيش السوري الحر في صيف عام 2017، حيث انتقد الرئيس دونالد ترمب هذا الأمر باعتبارها “مدفوعات ضخمة وخطيرة وغير فعالة،” وحوَّل المزيد من اهتمامه وتمويله لمحاربة تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” في شرق سوريا. وعلى الرغم من أن المساعدات المقدمة من الولايات المتحدة لم تكن ذات أهمية بالقدر الكافي لتحويل مسار النزاع، إلا أن خسارتها ما زالت تمثل ضربةً للجيش السوري الحر الذي يعاني بالفعل. فقد عانت الجماعة بالفعل من انتكاسةٍ كبيرة في عام 2016، عندما تدخلت روسيا لمساعدة النظام في استعادة حلب، التي كانت آنذاك أهم المناطق الي يُسيطر عليها المتمردون.

وفي الوقت نفسه، سيطرت هيئة تحرير الشام على غالبية إدلب، التي كانت آخر محافظةٍ تحت سيطرة المتمردين. فقد ضمن الحضور القوي للجماعة المتطرفة في المحافظة رد فعلٍ صامت من قِبل المجتمع الدولي عندما شنت القوات السورية والروسية حملةً جوية متصاعدة هناك في أوائل عام 2018.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة، شكل استيلاء النظام السوري على أجزاء كبيرة من الغوطة الشرقية، آخر معاقل المتمردين بالقرب من العاصمة دمشق، هزيمةً ساحقة أخرى للجيش السوري الحر. فقد كان فيلق الرحمن، التابع للجيش السوري الحر، فصيل المتمردين الرئيسي المُسيطر على المنطقة في الغوطة، إلا أن الفصائل كانت مشتته وتحاربت فيما بينها، مما منح النظام فرصة إعادة السيطرة على المنطقة. وفي نهاية المطاف، وافق فيلق الرحمن، بموجب صفقةٍ بوساطةٍ روسية، على إجلاء مقاتليه إلى إدلب.

ومع انهيار صفوفه، ناشد قادة الجيش السوري الحر الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية استئناف المساعدات التي تم سحبها. وأفادت وكالة رويترز بأن وفداً من المسؤولين في الجيش السوري الحر قد سافروا إلى واشنطن في يناير 2018 للاجتماع مع مسؤولي البيت الأبيض وأعضاء من الكونغرس لتبني قضيتهم. وقال مصطفى سيجري، وهو مسؤولٌ كبير في الجيش السوري الحر، لرويترز إن مساعدة المتمردين سيساعد في “مواجهة الهيمنة الإيرانية في المنطقة.”

ومن غير الواضح بعد مدى الدعم الذي سيحصلون عليه من خلال منشادتهم هذه. وفي غضون ذلك، تعتبر تركيا الرهان الوحيد المؤكد للجيش السوري الحر، وآخر الداعمين الماليين والعسكريين المتبقين لهم، مما يمنحها فرصةً للبقاء لاعباً ذو صلة في ساحة الصراع السوري المزدحم.

ونتيجةً لذلك، تقرّب الجيش السوري الحر أكثر فأكثر من تركيا، كما انضم آلاف المقاتلين من الجيش السوري الحر إلى الهجوم التركي ضد الجماعات التركية في عفرين والمنطقة المحيطة بها في شمال سوريا. فقد أثار هذا الهجوم جدلاً كبيراً، حيث اتهم سكان بعض المناطق التي سيطرت عليها القوات التركية وحلفاؤها من قوات المتمردين السوريين، مقاتلي الجيش السوري الحر بنهب المتاجر والمنازل.

بيد أنه بالنسبة للجيش السوري الحر، أتاحت هذه العملية الفرصة لاستعادة مساحاتٍ كبيرة من الأراضي بعد فقدانهم السيطرة على الكثير من المساحات في حلب وإدلب وأماكن أخرى. بل إن السيطرة على الأراضي المحيطة بعفرين يمكن أن توفر أيضاً قاعدةً لشن هجماتٍ على هيئة تحرير الشام في إدلب وإستعادة السيطرة على الأراضي هناك. ومجدداً، مع عودة الغوطة إلى يد النظام، من المرجح أن تصبح إدلب الهدف التالي لقوات النظام وروسيا.

ومع وجود هيئة تحرير الشام من جهة، والنظام السوري من جهةٍ أخرى، يبدو أن الجيش السوري الحر يواجه وضعاً يتعذر الدفاع عنه في إدلب، إلا إذا ما قامت تركيا بتدخلٍ شاملٍ هناك أيضاً. فلا تزال المرحلة الأخيرة من لعبة الشطرنج هذه غير واضحة، إلا أن ما هو واضحٌ وضوح الشمس أن آمال الجيش السوري الحر بالإطاحة بالأسد باتت في عداد الموتى.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ OZAN KOSE | ©AFP ⁃ OZAN KOSE

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / Past to Present / Fading Hopes for Syria’s Rebel Groups as Regime Forces Gain Ground

Fading Hopes for Syria’s Rebel Groups as Regime Forces Gain Ground

Syria- Free syrian army
Turkish-backed Syrian rebel fighters hold Turkish national flag (R) and Free Syrian Army flags (L) at a checkpoint in the Syrian town of Azaz on a road leading to Afrin, on February 1, 2018. Photo AFP

Amid the shrinking territory still held by rebel groups in Syria, the ground controlled by the Free Syrian Army (FSA) in April 2018 is smaller still.

The armed opposition, which was never a unified force but rather a loose faction, has been losing ground to both the Syrian regime and other rebel groups, including the al-Qaeda-linked Hayat Tahrir al-Sham (HTS, formerly known as al-Nusra Front).

Having lost its funding from the United States (US), Turkey is now the FSA’s only major international backer. As a result, the most high-profile recent operation by FSA fighters was not against the Syrian regime but in Turkey’s service against Kurdish groups in Afrin in northern Syria.

Increasingly, the group is losing its relevance, and certainly any hope that it would provide a credible alternative to President Bashar al-Assad’s government is dwindling.

Radwan Ziadeh, a senior analyst with the think tank Arab Center Washington DC, wrote that the group had ‘failed to maintain a firm structure or assert its institutional esprit de corps’.

‘Personal differences and infighting among its leaders, and interference by regional powers supporting and funding its operations, doomed its mission,’ he continued. ‘On the other hand, the Russian intervention [beginning] in September 2015 specifically targeted its units since they represented the moderate factions in the opposition.’

The FSA was formed at the beginning of the conflict in 2011 by army officers and soldiers who had defected. But the group never had central leadership or a unified structure, and some of the groups affiliated with the FSA later broke off and joined other groups such as the Islamic Front, a nationwide alliance of Islamist factions established in November 2013.

However, as the FSA was seen as the secular or moderate opposition to al-Assad, it received limited support from the US and other Western countries as well as from other countries opposed to the Syrian regime, including Turkey, Saudi Arabia and Qatar. After the rise of the Islamic State (IS), FSA factions fought with the extremist group for control of territory in some areas as well as with al-Nusra Front and its successor, HTS. At the same time, some weapons and aid intended for FSA fighters made their way to IS and al-Nusra Front, and some FSA fighters defected to or coordinated with those groups.

In an article for War on the Rocks, an online platform for foreign policy and national security issues, Syria analyst Sam Heller noted, ‘Rebels were more interested in going at the Assad regime – even if that meant fighting alongside jihadists, or under their command – than standing up to jihadists. The factional dysfunction and personal entanglements of the rebels meant that jihadists were more central and powerful within the armed opposition than Washington and other rebel backers appreciated or acknowledged.’

Washington ended its support for the FSA in the summer of 2017, with President Donald Trump criticizing it as “massive, dangerous and wasteful payments”, and shifted more of its attention and funding to fighting IS in eastern Syria. Although the aid from the US was never significant enough to turn the tide of the conflict, losing it still represented a blow to the already-struggling FSA. The group had already suffered a major setback in 2016, when Russia intervened to help the Syrian regime retake Aleppo, then the most significant rebel-held territory.

Meanwhile, HTS took control of most of Idlib, which was the last province under rebel control. The extremist group’s strong presence in the province ensured a muted international response when Syrian and Russian forces launched an escalating aerial campaign there in early 2018.

Most recently, the Syrian regime’s recapture of much of eastern Ghouta, the last rebel-held pocket near the capital, represented another crushing defeat for the FSA. The FSA-affiliated Failaq al-Rahman had been one of the major rebel groups controlling territory in Ghouta, but the groups were fractured and fought amongst themselves, giving the regime an opening to retake the territory. Failaq al-Rahman ultimately agreed, under a Russian-brokered deal, to evacuate its fighters to Idlib.

With their ranks crumbling, FSA leaders have appealed to the US to reinstate the aid that was withdrawn. Reuters reported that a delegation of FSA officials travelled to Washington in January 2018 to meet with White House officials and members of Congress to make their case. Mustafa Sejari, a senior FSA official, told Reuters that the rebels had argued that aiding the rebels would help to “confront Iranian hegemony in the region”.

It is not clear how much support their appeal might find. In the meantime, the one sure bet for the FSA is Turkey, its last remaining major financial and military backer which is offering it a chance to remain a relevant player in the increasingly crowded field of the Syrian conflict.

As a result, the group has drawn closer to Turkey, and thousands of FSA fighters have joined the Turkish offensive against Kurdish groups in Afrin and the surrounding area in northern Syria. The offensive has been controversial, and residents of some of the areas taken by the Turkish troops and Syrian rebel allies accused the FSA fighters of looting shops and homes.

Yet for the FSA, the operation has offered the chance to retake significant swathes of territory after losing so much ground in Aleppo, Idlib and elsewhere. Controlling territory around Afrin could potentially also provide a base to launch attacks on HTS in Idlib and retake territory there. Then again, with Ghouta back under regime control, Idlib will likely be the next target for regime forces and Russia.

With HTS on one side and the regime on the other, the FSA seems to be facing an untenable situation in Idlib, unless Turkey stages a full-scale intervention there as well. The endgame is still not clear. What is clear is that the FSA’s original hopes of deposing al-Assad are all but dead.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.