فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / حافظ الأسد (1970-2000)

حافظ الأسد (1970-2000)

بالنسبة لحافظ الأسد، كانت الإيديولوجية أقل أهمية مما كانت عليه بالنسبة لمن سبقوه: فالقوة أكثر أهمية بكثير. بدأ الأسد حركته التصحيحية، أولاً لأنه كان من الممكن أن يطاح به هو نفسه (الأمر الذي لم يحدث)؛ وثانياً لأنه كان يفضل سياسات اقتصادية أكثر واقعية، بما في ذلك دور أكبر للقطاع الخاص وعلاقات مرنة مع الكتلة الشرقية وعلاقات وثيقة مع دول الخليج العربي الثرية والغرب. واصلت الدولة دورها كلاعب رئيسي في الاقتصاد بعد انقلاب الأسد في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 1970، ولكن الهدف كان زيادة الإنتاج أكثر من تحقيق مجتمع قائم على المساواة. وكانت البراغماتية السمة المميزة لجميع السياسات المحلية في عهد حافظ الأسد، وليس فقط السياسات الاقتصادية. واستمر هذا النهج في عهد رئاسة ابنه. وكان الهدف الأسمى والشامل هو المحافظة على النظام.

أدرك حافظ الأسد أنه لضمان الحماية الحقيقية لنظامه، عليه وضع كل طرف في المجتمع تحت سيطرته الحازمة. وكانت هياكل الدولة الرسمية ساحات رئيسية لبرنامجه. عام 1971، تم إنشاء مجلس شعب مطاوع. وشهدت السنة التالية تشكيل الجبهة الوطنية التقدمية التي ربطت حزب البعث بخمسة أحزاب أخرى كانت تعتبر ‘تقدمية’ و ‘وطنية’. عام 1973، صدر دستور جديد يضمن الدور القيادي لحزب البعث في الدولة والمجتمع والسلطة المطلقة للرئيس في جميع المجالات. عام 1971، أعيدت هيكلة الحزب نفسه؛ حيث تم استبدال قيادته الجماعية بحافظ الأسد شخصياً، وتعيينات القيادة الدنيا أصبحت تأتي من فوق بدلاً من أن تكون خاضعة للانتخاب من قبل الأعضاء. وتم التشجيع على عضوية الحزب، التي تحمل معها بعض الامتيازات والوصول إلى أنظمة السلطة. كان عدد أعضاء الحزب عند انقلاب عام 1963 أكثر قليلاً من 400 عضو، وبحلول عام 1971 بلغت 65,398 عضو. وبعد عشر سنوات، بلغت 374,332، وفي منتصف عام 1992 قفزت إلى 1,008,243. وفي نفس الوقت، كان هناك توسع هائل في بيروقراطية الدولة وخدمات الجيش وأجهزة الاستخبارات، الأمر الذي أحضر عشرات الآلاف من السوريين مع عائلاتهم إلى داخل النطاق المباشر للدولة التي يسيطر عليها الأسد. وكجزء من إعادة هيكلة الدولة، قام الأسد بتسريع إنشاء النقابات والجمعيات المهنية الخاضعة لسيطرة النظام.

في غضون بضع سنوات من السيطرة على السلطة، أصبح وضع حافظ الأسد منيعاً. فقد كان القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة؛ والأمين العام للقيادة القطرية والقومية لحزب البعث؛ ورئيس السلطة التنفيذية في الحكومة. وكان يقوم شخصياً بتعيين نائبيه ورئيس الوزراء ووزراء الحكومة ونوابهم وضباط الجيش وكبار موظفي الخدمة المدنية والقضاة. لم تكن الحكومة مسؤولة أمام البرلمان أو الشعب، وإنما أمام الأسد نفسه، الذي يملك الحق في حل البرلمان عند رغبته. ومن غير المستغرب أن يسيطر الأسد على خلافة رئاسة الجمهورية أيضاً. فبموجب دستور عام 1973، كان رئيس سوريا ينتخب عن طريق استفتاء شعبي، ويتم ترشيح المرشحين من قبل القيادة القطرية للحزب، والتي يرأسها الأسد. وبالإضافة إلى كل هذه السلطات، كان قانون الطوارئ تحت سيطرة حافظ الأسد، والذي تم إعلانه في الأصل في كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 1962 وتم تمديده بعد الانقلاب البعثي في آذار/مارس عام 1963، والذي سمح لأجهزته الأمنية بسحق المعارضة بلا رحمة مع الإفلات من العقاب.

عام 1971 أعلن الرئيس المصري أنور السادات والرئيس الليبي معمر القذافي والرئيس السوري حافظ الأسد عن تعاون بلادهم قبل حرب تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عام 1973 (Photo HH)
بعد حرب تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عام 1973 التقى بوميديان (رئيس الجزائر) والأسد والسادات والملك فيصل في الجزائر في شهر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 1973

مزيد من القراءة

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / Past to Present / Hafiz al-Assad (1970-2000)

Hafiz al-Assad (1970-2000)


Ideology was less important for Hafiz al-Assad than it had been for his predecessors: power was far more important. Al-Assad launched his Corrective Movement (or Correctionist Movement, as it is often termed in official literature), first, because, had he not, he would have been ousted himself, and then, because he favoured more pragmatic economic policies, including a larger role for the private sector, looser links with the Eastern Bloc, and closer ties with the wealthy Arab Gulf States and the West. The state continued as the central player in the economy after al-Assad’s November 1970 coup, but the aim was more to boost production than to produce an egalitarian society. Pragmatism was the hallmark of all domestic policies under Hafiz al-Assad, not just economic policies, and this approach has continued into his son’s presidency. The overriding, all-pervading objective has been the maintenance of the regime.

Hafiz al-Assad understood that to ensure real security for his regime every part of society had to be brought firmly under his control. The formal structures of the state were key arenas for his programme. In 1971 a tame People’s Assembly, or Parliament, was created. The following year saw the formation of the National Progressive Front (NPF) linking the Baath Party and five other parties deemed to be ‘progressive’ and ‘patriotic’. In 1973 a new Constitution was promulgated, guaranteeing the leading role of the Baath Party in both state and society and granting the President ultimate power in all areas. In 1971 the party itself was restructured. Its collective leadership was replaced by Hafiz al-Assad personally, and lower leadership appointments were thereafter made from above rather than being subject to election by the membership. Party membership, bringing with it petty privileges and access to the power system, was encouraged. At the time of the 1963 coup party membership stood at just over 400; by 1971 it had reached 65,398. Ten years later it stood at 374,332 and by mid-1992 it had jumped to 1,008,243. At the same time there was a massive expansion of the state bureaucracy and of the military and intelligence services, bringing tens of thousands of Syrians and their families within the direct purview of the al-Assad-controlled state. As part of the restructuring of the state, al-Assad accelerated the creation of regime-controlled trades unions and professional associations.

Hafiz al-Assad meets al-Sadat and Gaddafi
1971: President Anwar al-Sadat of Egypt, Lybian leader colonel Muammar Gaddafi, and President Hafiz al-Assad of Syria announce cooperation between their countries (Photo HH)

 

Hafiz al-Assad October war 1973
After the October War in 1973: President Houari Boumedienne of Algeria, Syrian President Hafiz al-Assad, his Egyptian counterpart Anwar al-Sadat and King Faysal of Saudi Arabia meet in Algiers


Within a few years of seizing control, Hafiz al-Assad’s position was unassailable. He was the supreme commander of the Armed Forces, secretary-general of both the Regional (Syrian) Command and National (pan-Arab) Command of the Baath Party, and head of the executive branch of government. He was personally responsible for appointing his Vice Presidents, the Prime Minister, government ministers and their deputies, military officers, senior civil servants, and judges. The government was answerable not to Parliament or the people but to al-Assad himself, who had the right to dissolve Parliament at will. Crucially and unsurprisingly, al-Assad also controlled the succession to the Presidency. Under the 1973 Constitution, Syria’s presidents were elected by referenda, with the only candidates being nominated by the party’s Regional Command, itself headed by al-Assad. In addition to all these powers, Hafiz al-Assad had at his disposal the state of emergency, originally declared in December 1962 and extended after the March 1963 Baathist coup, which permitted his security agencies to crush dissent ruthlessly and with impunity.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.