فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تصعيد إدلب

تصعيد إدلب

Syria- Idlib
طفلة سورية تبكي أثناء هروبها بحثاً عن ملجأ خلال غارةٍ جوية شنتها القوات الموالية للنظام في بلدة كفرومة في محافظة إدلب جنوب غرب سوريا، في 30 مايو 2019. Photo AFP

شهد شمال غرب سوريا، وتحديداً منطقة إدلب، تصعيداً عسكرياً واسع النطاق في مايو 2019، بغاراتٍ جوية عديدة من قبل الحكومة السورية وروسيا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، شن الجيش السوري والقوات المعاونة هجماتٍ برية، وسيطروا على عدة مواقع، ولا سيما في شمال حماة. ما هو سبب هذا التصعيد؟ هل هذه هي الحملة الأخيرة لاستعادة آخر معقلٍ رئيسي للمتمردين في سوريا؟

الإجابة باختصار هي لا، فقد أوضح مراسل وكالة آنا نيوز الروسية الذي كان متواجداً عند الخطوط الأمامية وأحد أعضاء تشكيل موالٍ للحكومة والذي ينحدر في الأصل من محافظة إدلب، أن الهدف من العمليات الحالية ليس استعادة المنطقة الشمالية الغربية بأكملها. بدلاً من ذلك، يتمثل الهدف في استعادة مناطق محددة. وكما قال المصدر الثاني: “إنها عمليات ضغطٍ فحسب لتنفيذ بنود اتفاقية المناطق المنزوعة السلاح.”

كما قدم المراسل الروسي المزيد من التوضيح: “لم يمتثل المتمردون لاتفاق سوتشي وأطلقوا قذائف الهاون على مناطق آمنة وقاعدة حميميم الجوية. كما شنوا عدة هجماتٍ على مناطق الجيش السوري من مناطقهم في شمال حماة وسهل الغاب والريف شمال- شرق اللاذقية. تهدف هذه العملية إلى الضغط على المتمردين وتنفيذ الاتفاق بالقوة، إلى جانب فتح طريق حلب -اللاذقية وحلب – دمشق.”

بمعنى آخر، ينبع التصعيد الحالي من إحباط الحكومتين الروسية والسورية من تركيا بسبب فشلها المتصوَّر بعدم التزامها بالصفقة في اتفاقية سوتشي. تم توقيع الاتفاقية في سبتمبر 2018 بين تركيا وروسيا ودعت إلى الحفاظ على منطقة “تخفيض التصعيد” الأصلية التي تم الاتفاق عليها في إدلب. التزمت روسيا بضمان عدم وجود عملياتٍ عسكرية ضد إدلب، لكن الاتفاق ينص أيضاً على إنشاء “منطقة منزوعة السلاح” بعرض 15-20 كيلومتراً يتم فيها إخلاء “جميع الجماعات الإرهابية المتطرفة” بحلول 15 أكتوبر 2018. وعلى الرغم من الإتفاق بقيام كلٍ من روسيا وتركيا بتسيير دورياتٍ مشتركة لفرض تنفيذ المنطقة منزوعة السلاح، إلا أنه تم الإتفاق أيضاً على فتح الطرق السريعة إم 4 (حلب-اللاذقية) وإم 5 (حلب-حماة).

تعكس الاتفاقية رغبة روسيا في تعزيز مصالح الحكومة السورية (خاصة فيما يتعلق بالانتعاش الاقتصادي في فتح الطرق السريعة) مع مراعاة المخاوف التركية من احتمال زيادة اللاجئين باتجاه الحدود التركية في حال شن هجومٍ واسع النطاق على إدلب. وعلى الرغم من صعوبة تحديد كيف ستتم الأمور على وجه الدقة على المدى الطويل في إطار سيناريو التنفيذ الكامل للاتفاقية، فمن المحتمل أن روسيا تصورت “هبوطاً سلساً” في نهاية المطاف وعودة منطقة إدلب إلى سيطرة الحكومة السورية.

وفي وقتٍ سابق من هذا العام، بدأت تركيا في نشر دورياتٍ في المنطقة كجزءٍ من التطبيق المفترض لاتفاقية سوتشي، ومع ذلك، لم يتم تنفيذ معظم الشروط الأخرى للاتفاقية. وعلى الرغم من أن الاتفاقية لم تحدد “الجماعات الإرهابية المتطرفة” التي سيتم إخلاؤها من المنطقة المنزوعة السلاح، فمن شبه المؤكد أنه من وجهة نظر روسيا على الأقل، إن هذه الجماعات تضمنت هيئة التحرير الشام، والتي تُشكل مشكلةً على وجه الخصوص لكونها العنصر الفاعل المُسيطر في شمال غرب سوريا. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن هيئة تحرير الشام انبثقت عن جبهة النصرة التابعة لتنظيم القاعدة في سوريا، إلا أنها قطعت علاقاتها بالقاعدة.

كان موقف هيئة تحرير الشام تجاه اتفاق سوتشي مثار جدلٍ كبير في الأوساط الجهادية، فمن وجهة نظر الجهاديين الأكثر تشدداً، كان من المفترض أن تمتثل هيئة تحرير الشام للاتفاق من خلال السماح بوجود الدوريات التركية وتجميد الخطوط الأمامية العسكرية في الشمال الغربي. ينظر هؤلاء الجهاديون إلى موقف هيئة تحرير الشام المفترض باعتباره جزءاً من نمطٍ أوسع غير مقبول للجماعة بالتنازل عن المبادىء للتوصل إلى اتفاقٍ مع تركيا، التي تحجم عن مواجهة هيئة تحرير الشام عسكرياً.

Syria- Idlib
المصادر: Wikipedia, Graphic News, Institute for the Study of War (ISW) and BBC. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack.com

ومع ذلك، قبل التصعيد الأخير، كان هناك اشتباكاتٌ محلية بين القوات الموالية للحكومة والمتمردين وهجماتٍ على قاعدة حميميم الجوية في اللاذقية. كما لم يتم إنشاء منطقة حقيقية منزوعة السلاح وتطهيرها من هيئة تحرير الشام وغيرها من الجهاديين.

من جانبها، من غير المحتمل أن تشارك تركيا في تدخلٍ عسكري مباشر نيابة عن المتمردين، لكن يمكنها “التصعيد المضاد” بشكلٍ غير مباشر في محاولة لإقناع روسيا والحكومة السورية بأن تكلفة هجومها المحدود الحالي سيكون ذو ثمنٍ باهظ. فعلى سبيل المثال، يشارك بعض أفراد “الجيش الوطني” لقوات المتمردين المتمركزة في ريف حلب الشمالي الذي تحتله تركيا في عملياتٍ على الخطوط الأمامية. ونظراً لعدم قدرة قوات الجيش الوطني على التعبئة والانخراط بالعمليات دون موافقةٍ تركية، فلا بد أن تركيا سمحت بمشاركتها كجزءٍ من التصعيد المضاد.

كما كان هناك أيضاً تقارير تفيد بأن تركيا قدمت أسلحةً إضافية لقوات المتمردين، بما في ذلك صواريخ تاو المضادة للدروع والتي يتعين على الولايات المتحدة الموافقة على إخراجها من المخازن. إن سماح الولايات المتحدة بتعزيز المتمردين لترسانتهم بهذه الطريقة يعكس معارضتها الخاصة للحملة العسكرية من قبل الحكومة السورية وروسيا، على الرغم من أن الولايات المتحدة استُبعدت من إطار العمل الأصلي لخفض التصعيد واتفاق سوتشي.

في المقابل، قد يؤدي هذا التصعيد المضاد إلى دعمٍ إيراني أكبر لحليفها السوري، إذ يمكن بالتأكيد رؤية وحدات المقاتلين السوريين المدعومة من إيران في محافظات اللاذقية وحماة وحلب، في المناطق القريبة من الخطوط الأمامية في المناطق التي يسيطر عليها المتمردون، إلا أنهم لم يلعبوا أي دورٍ قيادي في الهجوم الحالي. بيد أن هذا قد يتغير إذا ما استمر التصعيد.

على أي حال، في حين أن القتال سيكون صعباً بالنسبة لكلا الجانبين، فإن ميزان القوى يميل في نهاية المطاف ضد المتمردين، دون تدخلٍ عسكري مباشر من جانب أي ممثلٍ دولي بالنيابة عنهم.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / History of Syria from Past to Present / The Idlib Escalation

The Idlib Escalation

Syria- Idlib
A Syrian girl cries as she runs for cover during an air strike by pro-regime forces on the market town of Kfar Ruma in Syria’s southwestern Idlib province, on May 30, 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Nazeer Al-khatib

The north-west of Syria, specifically the Idlib region, saw a large-scale military escalation in May 2019, with numerous air strikes by the Syrian government and Russia. In addition, the Syrian army and auxiliary forces launched ground assaults, taking over several localities, notably in north Hama. What is the reason for this escalation? Is this the final campaign to retake the last major insurgent stronghold in Syria?

The short answer is no. A correspondent for the Russian outlet ANNA News who has been on the frontlines and a member of a pro-government formation who is originally from Idlib province both made clear that the aim of the present operations is not to retake the entire north-west region. Rather, the aim is to retake specific areas. As the second source put it: “They are pressure operations only to implement the clauses of the agreement of demilitarized zones.”

The Russian correspondent offered more clarification: “The insurgents have not complied with the Sochi agreement and have fired mortars on safe areas and Hmeimim airbase. They have also launched various attacks on the points of the Syrian army from their areas in north Hama, the al-Ghab plain and north-east Latakia countryside. This operation aims to put pressure on the insurgents and implement the agreement by force, while opening the Aleppo-Latakia and Aleppo-Damascus highway.”

In other words, the current escalation stems from the frustration of the Russian and Syrian governments with Turkey for its perceived failure to uphold its end of the bargain in the Sochi agreement. The agreement was signed in September 2018 between Turkey and Russia and called for the preservation of the original ‘de-escalation’ area that had been agreed for Idlib. Russia committed to ensuring that there would be no military operations against Idlib, but the agreement also stipulated the establishment of a 15-20km wide ‘demilitarized zone’ from which ‘all radical terrorist groups’ would be removed by 15 October 2018. Although Russia and Turkey were to conduct joint patrols to enforce the demilitarized zone, the M4 (Aleppo-Latakia) and M5 (Aleppo-Hama) highways would also be opened.

The agreement reflects Russia’s desire to advance the interests of the Syrian government (especially with regards to economic recovery in opening the highways) while also taking into account Turkish concerns about a potential surge of refugees towards Turkey’s borders in the event of a large-scale offensive on Idlib.

Though it is difficult to determine how exactly things would have been worked out in the long run under the scenario of fully implementing the agreement, it is probable that Russia envisioned an eventual ‘soft landing’ and return of the Idlib area to Syrian government control.

Earlier this year, Turkey began deploying patrols as part of the supposed enforcement of the Sochi agreement. However, most of the other terms of the agreement were not implemented. Although the agreement did not specify the ‘radical terrorist groups’ to be removed from the demilitarized zone, it is almost certain that from Russia’s perspective at least the groups included Hayat Tahrir al-Sham (HTS), which poses a particular problem as it is the dominant actor in north-west Syria. HTS originated in Syria’s al-Qaeda affiliate Jabhat al-Nusra but broke ties with al-Qaeda.

HTS’ own stance towards the Sochi agreement has been highly controversial in jihadist circles. In the view of more hardline jihadists, HTS has supposedly been complying with the agreement by permitting the Turkish patrols and freezing the military frontlines in the north-west.

Syria- Idlib
Sources: Wikipedia, Graphic News, Institute for the Study of War (ISW) and BBC. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

These jihadists view the supposed HTS stance as part of a broader pattern of the group’s unacceptable compromising of principles to reach an agreement with Turkey, which is reluctant to confront HTS militarily. Even so, prior to the latest escalation, there were localized clashes between pro-government forces and insurgents and attacks on Hmeimim airbase in Latakia. A proper de-militarized zone cleared of HTS and other jihadists was not actually created.

For its part, Turkey is unlikely to engage in direct military intervention on behalf of the insurgency, but it can ‘counter-escalate’ indirectly in an attempt to convince Russia and the Syrian government that the cost of their current limited offensive will be too high. For example, some members of the ‘National Army’ of rebel forces based in the Turkish-occupied north Aleppo countryside have been participating in operations on the frontlines. Since the National Army forces cannot mobilize and engage in operations without Turkish consent, Turkey must have permitted their participation as part of a counter-escalation.

There have also been reports that Turkey has provided additional weaponry for rebel forces, including TOW missiles that the United States (US) has to approve for release from storage. That the US would allow the insurgents to be bolstered in this way reflects its own opposition to a military campaign by the Syrian government and Russia, even though the US was excluded from the original de-escalation framework and Sochi agreement.

In turn, this counter-escalation may lead to greater Iranian support for its Syrian ally. Iranian-backed units of Syrian fighters can certainly be found in Latakia, Hama and Aleppo provinces in areas that are near the frontlines with the insurgent-held zones, but they have not been playing any leading roles in the current offensive. That could change if the situation continues to escalate.

In any case, while the fighting will prove difficult for both sides, the balance of power is ultimately tipped against the insurgency, short of a direct military intervention by an international actor on its behalf.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Nazeer Al-khatib | ©AFP ⁃ Nazeer Al-khatib

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.