فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / داعش يشن هجوماً بالتزامن مع الحملة التركية على شمال شرق سوريا

داعش يشن هجوماً بالتزامن مع الحملة التركية على شمال شرق سوريا

Kurdish civilians
مدنيون سوريون، عرب وأكراد، يفرون وسط القصف التركي على بلدة رأس العين بشمال شرق سوريا في محافظة الحسكة على طول الحدود التركية في 9 أكتوبر 2019. Photo: Delil SOULEIMAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN

مع بدء الهجوم التركي على شمال شرق سوريا بعد ظهر يوم الـ9 من أكتوبر 2019، بضرباتٍ جوية داخل مدينة رأس العين وما حولها، ذكّر عدوٌ آخر قوات سوريا الديمقراطية (قسد)، الكردية العربية، بأنه لم يهزم بالكامل: ففي اليوم السابق لشن تركيا هجومها، نفذ تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (داعش) هجوماً في الرقة، عاصمة الخلافة السابقة.

الأمر المعروف لدى أي شخصٍ يألف الأوضاع في المنطقة، خاصة أن أي هجومٍ تركي سيؤدي إلى كارثةٍ بطرقٍ متنوعة، بدأ يتحول إلى واقعٍ مع إعلان الرئيس الأمريكي، دونالد ترمب، أن القوات الأمريكية لن تقف بعد الآن في وجه تركيا.

إن الانسحاب الكامل للقوات الأمريكية من الأراضي الواقعة شرق نهر الفرات ليس تغييراً في السياسة. فقد سبق وأعلن ترمب عن هذا الأمر في ديسمبر 2018، مما أثار رد فعلٍ عنيف لدرجة أنه قرر إبقاء بعض القوات متمركزة هناك على أي حال. كان هذا أمراً غاية في الأهمية لمنع أي هجوم تركي، نظراً لأن كل من تركيا والولايات المتحدة عضوان في حلف الناتو، مما يجعل وجود الجنود الأمريكيين درعاً واقياً فعالاً.

لكن ترمب قد ضاق ذرعاً، وبحسب قوله، حان الوقت ليتحمل الآخرون المسؤولية. فالأمر لا يتعلق بإيفاء ترمب بتعهده الانتخابي بسحب القوات الأمريكية من سوريا. فالأمور تجري دون أي استراتيجيةٍ واضحة، ودون أي حمايةٍ للقوات التي يتعاون معها الجيش الأمريكي في الحرب ضد داعش منذ عام 2014 ودون أي اهتمامٍ بحقوق الأكراد (والأقليات الأخرى) في سوريا بعد الحرب. يترك هذا وحدات حماية الشعب الكردي وقوات سوريا الديمقراطية عرضة للهجوم، كما يترك السكان المحليين عُرضة للتطهير العرقي.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن شمال وشمال شرق سوريا تخضع لسيطرة وحدات حماية الشعب الكردي منذ عام 2012، عندما انسحب الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد من هذا الجزء من البلاد للتركيز على جبهاتٍ أخرى. ومنذ ذلك الحين، تعمل وحدات حماية الشعب وحليفها السياسي، حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي، على تنفيذ ما يسمونه “الكونفدرالية الديمقراطية،” وهو نظام لامركزي للحكم يحكم فيه الناس أنفسهم على مستوى الحي والقرية. تتمتع المرأة بتمثيلٍ متساوٍ، ويتم احترام حقوق المجتمعات العرقية والدينية واللغوية احتراماً كاملا. وإلى جانب الأكراد، يسكن المنطقة العرب والأرمن والآشوريون والتركمان وغيرهم.

Conflict in Syria
المصدر: al-Jazeera and Wikipedia. @Fanack ©Fanack ⁃ Fanack

من جهتها، شعرت تركيا بالقلق من هذا الكيان الذي يتمتع بحكم شبه ذاتي على حدودها منذ ظهوره، وذلك لأن حزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي وحزب الشعب الكردستاني يلتزمان بنفس الإيديولوجية ولهما نفس القائد الأيديولوجي (عبد الله أوجلان) الذي ينتمي إليه حزب العمال الكردستاني، الجماعة الكردية المسلحة التي كانت في حالة حرب مع تركيا منذ عام 1984. كما تعتبر تركيا حزب العمال الكردستاني منظمةً إرهابية، وبالتالي فإن وحدات حماية الشعب وحزب الإتحاد الديمقراطي منظمتان إرهابيتان بعيون تركيا. وعلى الرغم من أن وحدات حماية الشعب وحزب الإتحاد الديمقراطي يعملان بشكلٍ صارم داخل سوريا، ولم يحصل أن هاجموا تركيا قط أو هددوها بعملٍ عسكري، إلا أن الحكومة التركية نجحت في إقناع أصدقائها في المجتمع الدولي بأن المناطق التي تسيطر عليها قوات سوريا الديمقراطية في سوريا تشكل تهديداً لسلامة تركيا.

ولفهم الصورة بأكملها، فقد تم تأسيس قوات سوريا الديمقراطية في أكتوبر من عام 2015، وهي قوة عربية كردية مشتركة تشكل وحدات حماية الشعب جزءاً منها، وتم تشكيلها لطرد داعش من أراضيها في مدن ومناطق ذات غالبية عربية، مثل دير الزور ومنبج والرقة، بالتنسيق مع التحالف الدولي بقيادة الولايات المتحدة. وعليه، تُصنف تركيا أيضاً قوات سوريا الديمقراطية منظمةً إرهابية.

هذه ليست المرة الأولى التي تغزو فيها تركيا سوريا، ففي صيف عام 2016، دخلت المنطقة غرب الفرات. كان هذا لمنع قوات سوريا الديمقراطية من ربط العديد من المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرتها، أي عفرين في شمال غرب سوريا و”كانتونات” كوباني والجزيرة (حيث توجد القامشلي أكبر المدن). بينما جاء التوغل الثاني في يناير 2018، عندما تم غزو عفرين نفسها، ومنذ ذلك الحين، تحتل تركيا عفرين.

إن الأوضاع في عفرين تُقدم نظرةً ثاقبة لما ينتظر السوريين الذين يعيشون على طول الحدود التركية. فقد انتهك الجيش التركي ومعاونوه – مجموعة مختلطة من الجهاديين و”المتمردين” الآخرين – حقوق الإنسان على نطاق هائل: تم تهجير السكان الأكراد والإستيلاء على منازلهم ومزارعهم من قبل العرب (الذين تم تهجيرهم في الغالب من أجزاء أخرى في سوريا)، كما كان هناك أعمال نهبٍ وتعذيبٍ وقتلٍ وحالات اختفاء و”تتريك” في المنطقة. وبالنظر إلى خطة الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان لإعادة توطين اللاجئين السوريين من تركيا في شمال شرق سوريا، فإن تغيير التركيبة السكانية أمرٌ لا مفر منه أيضاً.

Turkey syria war
رجل يلوح بالعلم التركي بينما يدخل مقاتلو المعارضة السورية الذين تدعمهم تركيا إلى تل أبيض من البوابة التركية باتجاه سوريا في أقجة قلعة في محافظة أورفة في 10 أكتوبر 2019. Photo: BULENT KILIC / AFP ©AFP ⁃ BULENT KILIC

فقد تم التغاضي عن محنة السكان المحليين إلى حدٍ كبير من قبل المحللين الذين يركزون على خرائط المنطقة بألوان وخطوط متنوعة للإشارة إلى من سيحكم مساحات الأراضي بعد أن يعبر الجيش التركي الحدود السورية بطريقةٍ غير قانونية – فالقانون الدولي لا يسمح بالغزو بلدٍ لآخر دون موافقة السلطات ذات السيادة لذلك البلد أو من دون ضوءٍ أخضر من الأمم المتحدة.

وفي ضوء هذه التطورات، أصدرت الإدارة المحلية بالفعل بياناً، دعت فيه الناس إلى التجمع في المناطق الحدودية و”القيام بأعمال المقاومة خلال هذا الوقت التاريخي الحساس.” ومن المحتمل أن يفر بعض السكان عندما يتقدم الغزو، على الأرجح إلى كردستان العراق، مما يساعد دون قصد خطة تركيا لتغيير التركيبة السكانية في المنطقة.

في هذه المرحلة، يبدو أن تركيا تركز على امتداد 100 كيلومتر من الأرض تقريباً بين رأس العين (مباشرة عبر الحدود من جيلان بينار في تركيا) وتل أبيض إلى الغرب (مباشرة عبر الحدود من أقجة قلعة في تركيا). السكان هنا مختلطون عرقياً أكثر من غيرهم في المناطق الأخرى.

بيد أن قلة من الناس يعتقدون أن تركيا ستتوقف عند هذا الحد، ففي اجتماع الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة الشهر الماضي، قال أردوغان صراحةً، وأظهر، أنه لا ينوي الاستيلاء على شريط من الأرض يمتد لمسافة 500 كيلومتر والذي يمتد لعمق 30 كيلومتراً داخل سوريا فحسب، بل يمكن أن يصل إلى دير الزور والرقة.

وحتى وقت كتابة هذا التقرير، تم الإبلاغ عن أول قتيلين مدنيين. ووصفت تركيا الهجوم باسم عملية “نبع السلام.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN | ©Fanack ⁃ Fanack | ©AFP ⁃ BULENT KILIC

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / History of Syria from Past to Present / Islamic State Strikes as Turkey Attacks North-east Syria

Islamic State Strikes as Turkey Attacks North-east Syria

Kurdish civilians
Syrian Arab and Kurdish civilians flee amid Turkish bombardment on Syria’s northeastern town of Ras al-Ain in the Hasakeh province along the Turkish border on October 9, 2019. Photo: Delil SOULEIMAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN

As the Turkish attack on north-eastern Syria began on the afternoon of 9 October 2019, with air strikes in and around the city of Ras al-Ayn, another enemy reminded the Kurdish-Arab forces of the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) that it has not been fully defeated: the day before Turkey launched its offensive, the Islamic State (IS) carried out an attack in Raqqa, the caliphate’s former capital.

What anybody familiar with the region has known all along, namely that a Turkish attack would trigger disaster in assorted ways, started to become reality when US President Donald Trump announced that US troops will no longer stand in Turkey’s way.

The full withdrawal of US troops from territory east of the Euphrates River is not a policy change. Trump made the announcement in December 2018, eliciting a response so fierce that he decided to keep some troops stationed there anyway. This was crucial to prevent a Turkish attack, since both Turkey and the US are NATO members, making the presence of US soldiers an effective bulwark.

Trump has now had enough, saying it is time for others to take responsibility.

It is not so much that Trump is fulfilling his election vow to pull US troops from Syria that is concerning. It is the way he is doing it: without any apparent strategy, without any protection for the forces the US army has been cooperating with in the war against ISIS since 2014 and without any concern for the rights of Kurds (and other minorities) in a post-war Syria. This leaves the Kurdish People’s Protection Unit (YPG) and the SDF highly vulnerable. And it leaves the local population open to ethnic cleansing.

The north and north-east of Syria has been controlled by the YPG since 2012, when Syrian President Bashar al-Assad withdrew from that part of the country to concentrate on other fronts. The YPG and its political ally, the Democratic Union Party (PYD), have since been working to implement what they call ‘democratic confederalism’, a decentralized system of governance in which people govern themselves at neighbourhood and village level. Women have equal representation, and the rights of ethnic, religious and linguistic communities are fully respected. Besides Kurds, the region is inhabited by Arabs, Armenians, Assyrians, Turkmen and others.

Conflict in Syria
Sources: al-Jazeera and Wikipedia. @Fanack ©Fanack ⁃ Fanack

Turkey has been concerned about this semi-autonomous entity on its border ever since started to emerge. This is because the PYD and YPG adhere to the same ideology and have the same ideological leader (Abdullah Ocalan) as the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK), the armed Kurdish group that has been at war with Turkey since 1984. Turkey considers the PKK a terrorist organization and so, by extension, the YPG and PYD. Even though the YPG and PYD operate strictly within Syria and have never attacked or threatened Turkey with military action, the Turkish government has successfully convinced its friends in the international community that the SDF-controlled areas in Syria constitute a threat to Turkey’s safety.

The SDF, to complete the picture, was founded in October 2015. It is a joint Arab-Kurdish force of which the YPG is a part, set up to drive IS out of its territory in Arab-majority cities and regions, like Deir ez-Zor, Minbij and Raqqa, in coordination with the international coalition led by the US. Turkey also considers the SDF to be a terrorist organization.

This is not the first time that Turkey has invaded Syria. In the summer of 2016, it entered the territory west of the Euphrates. This was to prevent the SDF from connecting several areas under its control, namely Afrin in north-western Syria and the ‘cantons’ of Kobani and Jazira (with Qamishlo as the biggest city). The second incursion came in January 2018, when Afrin itself was invaded. Turkey has occupied Afrin ever since.

It is the situation in Afrin that offers an insight into what could await the Syrians living along the Turkish border. The Turkish army and its auxiliaries – a mixed company of jihadists and other ‘rebels’ – have violated human rights on an immense scale: the Kurdish population has been displaced and their houses and farms taken over by Arabs (who have mostly been displaced from other parts of Syria), there has been looting, torture, murder, disappearances and ‘Turkification’ of the area. Given Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan’s plan to resettle Syrian refugees from Turkey in north-eastern Syria, demographic change is almost inevitable as well.

Turkey syria war
A man waves a Turkish flag as Turkey-backed Syrian opposition fighters enter Tel Abyad from the Turkish gate towards Syria in Akcakale in Sanliurfa province on October 10, 2019. Photo: BULENT KILIC / AFP ©AFP ⁃ BULENT KILIC

The plight of the local population has largely been overlooked by analysts who focus on maps of the region with assorted colours and lines to indicate who will control which swathes of land after the Turkish army illegally crosses the Syrian border – international law does not allow the invasion of another country without consent of the sovereign authorities of that country or without a green light from the United Nations.

The local administration has already issued a statement, calling on people to gather in border areas and ‘carry out acts of resistance during this sensitive historical time’. Some residents will probably flee when the invasion advances, most likely to Iraqi Kurdistan, unintentionally helping Turkey’s plan to change the region’s demographics.

At this point, Turkey seems to be focussing on a 100km stretch of land roughly between Ras al-Ayn (directly across the border from Turkey’s Ceylanpinar) and Tal Abyad to the west (directly across the border from Turkey’s Akcakale). The population here is more mixed than in other areas.

But few people believe Turkey will leave it at that. At last month’s UN general assembly, Erdogan explicitly said and showed that he not only intends to seize an almost 500km strip of land extending 30km into Syria but could make it as far as Deir Ez-Zor and Raqqa.

At the time of writing, the first two civilian deaths had been reported. Turkey has called the offensive ‘Baris Pinari’: Fountain of Peace.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN | ©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN | ©Fanack ⁃ Fanack | ©AFP ⁃ BULENT KILIC

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.