فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تصاعد الصراع الإسرائيلي الإيراني في سوريا

تصاعد الصراع الإسرائيلي الإيراني في سوريا

Syria- Syrian air defense
صورة التقطت فجر يوم 21 يناير 2019، والتي تظهر الدفاعات الجوية السورية تتصدى لما قالت وسائل الإعلام الرسمية السورية إنه صواريخ إسرائيلية تستهدف دمشق. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ STR

قالت القوات الإسرائيلية أن عمليةٍ شُنت ليلة 20-21 يناير 2019 استهدفت فيلق القدس من قوات النخبة التابع للحرس الثوري الإيراني والدفاعات الجوية السورية بالقرب من العاصمة دمشق في سوريا. تعتبر هذه أحدث خطوةٍ من الجانب الإسرائيلي ضد إيران في سوريا منذ بداية مشاركتها في الصراع الدائر هناك.

وبحسب المتحدث باسم الجيش الاسرائيلي، الكولونيل جوناثان كونريكوس، استهدفت الضربات الإسرائيلية مستودعات الذخيرة ومواقع المخابرات ومعسكر تدريبٍ وأكثر من ذلك، بالإضافة إلى مخازن إيرانية في مطار دمشق الدولي وبطاريات سورية مضادة للطائرات عندما أطلقت تلك البطاريات العشرات من الصواريخ المضادة على الطائرات الإسرائيلية أثناء تنفيذها الهجمات. فقد نقلت إسرائيل رسالةً إلى سوريا مفادها أن الجيش يستهدف فحسب القوات الإيرانية وحذّرت سوريا من إطلاق النار على الطائرات الإسرائيلية. أسفرت الهجمات عن مقتل 11 مقاتل إيراني وموالي للنظام.

في حين صرّح الرئيس الإسرائيلي، رؤوفين ريفلين، في 21 يناير، إن الهجمات جاءت رداً على صاروخ أرض أرض أطلقته القوات الإيرانية على إسرائيل في اليوم السابق. وخلال اجتماعٍ مع الرئيس الأوكراني بترو بوروشنكو في القدس، تحدث ريفلين عن الغارات ووصفها بأنها “رد مباشر على إطلاق صواريخ غير مقبولة علينا”. وأضاف، “يجب على المجتمع الدولي أن يدرك أن تعزيز القوات الإيرانية في الشرق الأوسط قد يقود المنطقة إلى تصعيد.”

بينما قال نيكولاي سوركوف، أستاذ مشارك بمعهد موسكو للعلاقات الدولية، لقناة الجزيرة أن من المرجح أن تزداد وتيرة الضربات الجوية الإسرائيلية على سوريا: “سيهاجم الإسرائيليون. فهم مقتنعون أن الإيرانيين يحققون تقدماً، وأنهم يزودون حزب الله بأسلحةٍ متطورة. بالتأكيد، يعتقد الإسرائيليون أنه يتوجب عليهم القيام بشيء ما.”

وفي هذا الصدد، نادراً ما يعترف الجيش الإسرائيلي بتنفيذ هجماتٍ داخل سوريا، إلا أنه أعلن عن بدء الضربات الأخيرة على فيلق القدس عبر تغريدةٍ على تويتر. تعتبر هذه من أكثر الهجمات المباشرة والمميتة من قبل إسرائيل ضد إيران منذ بداية ما يسمى “الصراع بالوكالة” في عام 2005 في سوريا. يرتبط هذا الصراع بهدف إيران المعلن بحل الدولة اليهودية، بينما يتمثل هدف إسرائيل بمنع إيران من حيازة أسلحةٍ نووية وإضعاف حلفاء إيرانيين مثل حزب الله، وهو جماعةٌ سياسية وميليشيا لبنانية قوية في حالة حربٍ مع إسرائيل.

ووفقاً لأوفر زلزبورغ، كبير محللي شؤون الشرق الأوسط في مجموعة الأزمات الدولية، “منذ فبراير 2018، لم يعد الصراع الإسرائيلي- الإيراني غير واضح، مع تبادل البلدين للضربات المباشرة بسبب الجهود الإيرانية الرامية إلى إقامة وجودٍ عسكري دائم في سوريا.” وأضاف لنا في فَنَك: ” إن تبادل إطلاق النار الأخير يعكس إشارةً جدية من قبل كلٍ من إسرائيل وإيران. تشير إسرائيل إلى أنها ستظل حازمة حتى بعد إعلان الانسحاب الأمريكي، بينما تشير إيران إلى أنها لن تتسامح مع الضربات الإسرائيلية داخل سوريا وأنها ستطلق النار على إسرائيل في مثل هذه الحالات.”

Syria- Golan heights
Aجندي إسرائيلي يسير أمام مركباتٍ عسكرية في جبل الشيخ في مرتفعات الجولان التي تحتلها إسرائيل، 21 يناير 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ JALAA MAREY

تدعم إيران وحزب الله نظام بشار الأسد في الحرب السورية، كما أن إيران العدو الأزلي لإسرائيل، التي تشعر بالتهديد في ظل خطط حيازة الأسلحة النووية الإيرانية المزعومة. كما تتحالف روسيا مع النظام السوري، الذي تدعمه منذ عام 2015 من خلال مساعدته في استعادة السيطرة على الأراضي التي استولى عليها المتمردون السوريون. وعليه، تشعر إسرائيل بالقلق من أنشطة إيران وحزب الله في سوريا، لا سيما منذ أن استعاد النظام السوري السيطرة على درعا، معقل المعارضة، مما قرّب وجود القوات السورية إلى مرتفعات الجولان المحتلة من قِبل إسرائيل. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن مرتفعات الجولان السورية وقعت في أيدي إسرائيل عام 1967 في أعقاب حرب الأيام الستة بين إسرائيل والعرب.

وفي بداية شهر أكتوبر من عام 2018، قامت روسيا بتزويد القوات الجوية السورية بنظام صواريخ إس 300، بما في ذلك أربعة منصات إطلاق للصواريخ ورادارات ومركبات تحكم، بعد إلقاء اللوم على إسرائيل في مقتل 15 جندياً روسياً خلال غارةٍ جوية استهدفت طائرةً روسية.

أدى ذلك إلى زيادة حدة التوترات، مع شن هجماتٍ مباشرة ومميتة. وقال زلزبورغ لفَنَك: “هذا النوع من الإشارات باستخدام الصواريخ يمكن أن يزيد من حدة التصعيد ذلك أنه يتطلب سياسةً دقيقة للدفع بالأمور إلى حافة الهاوية.” فقد اعتادت إسرائيل نفي التداعيات العسكرية المباشرة في سوريا، إلا أن الأمر لم يعد كذلك. وبحسب زلزبورغ “هذا التراخي في الغموض يخدم هدف إسرائيل بتوضيح الأمور لإيران أنه بالرغم من الإعلان الأمريكي بالإنسحاب من سوريا، إلا أن إسرائيل على نفس القدر من الإلتزام بمنع الوجود العسكري الإيراني الدائم هناك، ولربما على نحوٍ أكثر جدية. كما يخدم أهداف [رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين] نتنياهو الانتخابية، ضد اتهامات خصومه من اليمين واليسار بأنه أساء إدارة العلاقة فيما يتعلق بسوريا مع الولايات المتحدة وموسكو.”

ووفقاً لجوناثان ماركوس، المراسل الدبلوماسي لبي بي سي، “بات السياق الإستراتيجي على حدود إسرائيل الشمالية يتغير. تحاول جميع الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية التأثير على القواعد الجديدة للعبة. لقد نجا الرئيس الأسد؛ ويرجع ذلك إلى حدٍ كبير للدعم الإيراني، وسيسحب الرئيس ترمب القوات البرية الأمريكية من سوريا، كما أن روسيا، التي تدعم الأسد أيضاً، تتوق إلى ترك بصمتها الدبلوماسية على التطورات المستقبلية. هذا هو السياق الجديد الذي يفسر- جزئياً – رغبة إسرائيل الكبيرة في التحدث علناً عن حملتها الجوية.”

وأضاف “الحوار الاستراتيجي بين إسرائيل وروسيا مستمرٌ على مستوى عالٍ. ففي الأسبوع الماضي فقط تواجد كبار الضباط الروس في إسرائيل لإجراء محادثات، لكن روسيا لم تقنع السوريين بحصر أو احتواء الوجود الإيراني المتنامي. ومن المقرر أن تستمر حرب الاستنزاف الإسرائيلية، لكن إطلاق صاروخ من سوريا، الذي أدى إلى موجةٍ إضافية من الهجمات الإسرائيلية، يظهر مدى خطورة الأمور.”

وفي خضم هذا كله، نشرت روسيا بعض أفضل دفاعاتها الجوية في سوريا للحد من خطر الصواريخ والطائرات الأمريكية بينما تقاتل القوات الجوية والبحرية الأمريكية الضخمة تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش.” ومن الواضح أن هذا غير مجدٍ عندما تركز القوات العسكرية الإسرائيلية جهودها لاستهداف سوريا. وبحسب زلزبورغ، “تلعب روسيا في الوقت الراهن دوراً موازناً، إذ تحاول تشكيل نطاق وطبيعة تبادل الضربات الاسرائيلية الايرانية بدلاً من انهاءها.” وتابع القول “يتمثل هدفها الرئيسي في الحد من الضرر الذي لحق بسوريا من النزاع الإسرائيلي-الإيراني.”

قد يكون هذا الهدف معيباً ذلك أن الخطر المتزايد للتصعيد العسكري بين إسرائيل وإيران يضع سوريا، على نحوٍ متزايد، وسط ساحة معركةٍ دولية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ STR | ©AFP ⁃ JALAA MAREY

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / History of Syria from Past to Present / In Syria, Israel and Iran’s Conflict is Escalating

In Syria, Israel and Iran’s Conflict is Escalating

Syria- Syrian air defense
A picture was taken early on January 21, 2019, shows Syrian air defense batteries responding to what the Syrian state media said were Israeli missiles targeting Damascus. Photo AFP

The Israel military forces said that an overnight operation on 20-21 January 2019 targeted the elite Quds Force of the Iranian Revolutionary Guards and Syrian air defences near Damascus in Syria. This is the latest move by Israel against Iran in Syria since the beginning of its involvement in the conflict.

The Israeli strike, according to IDF spokesman Lt. Col. Jonathan Conricus, targeted munitions depots, intelligence sites, a training camp and more, as well as Iranian warehouses at the Damascus International Airport and Syrian anti-aircraft batteries when those batteries fired dozens of missiles at Israeli aircraft carrying out the strikes. Israel relayed a message to Syria that the military was only targeting Iranian forces and warned Syria not to fire at Israeli jets. It killed 11 Iranian and pro-regime fighters.

Israel’s President Reuven Rivlin said on 21 January 2019 that the attacks were in response to a surface-to-surface rocket that Iranian forces fired towards Israel a day earlier. During a meeting with Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko in Jerusalem, Rivlin spoke about the raids, calling them “a direct response to the unacceptable missile fire on us”. He added, “The international community must understand that the build-up of Iran’s forces in the Middle East could lead the region into escalation.”

Professor Nikolay Surkov, from the Moscow State Institute of Foreign Affairs, told al-Jazeera that air attacks in Syria by Israel’s air force are likely to intensify: “The Israelis will attack. They are convinced that the Iranians are advancing, that they are providing high-powered weapons to Hezbollah. The Israelis definitely think they must do something.”

The Israeli military forces rarely admits carrying out attacks inside Syria. But it announced the start of the recent strikes on the Quds Force in a tweet. It is the most direct, deadly and clear attack by Israel against Iran since the beginning of their so-called ‘proxy conflict’ in 2005. The conflict is bound up in Iran’s declared aim to dissolve the Jewish state and Israel’s goal to prevent Iran from acquiring nuclear weapons and downgrading Iranian allies such as Hezbollah, a powerful Lebanese political and militia group at war with Israel.

According to Ofer Zalzberg, the International Crisis Group’s senior analyst for the Middle East, “Since February 2018, the Israeli-Iranian conflict visibly is no longer ‘cold’, with the two countries exchanging direct blows over Iran’s efforts to establish a permanent military presence in Syria.” He added to Fanack, “The recent exchange of fire reflects a signalling of seriousness by both Israel and Iran. Israel signals that it would remain assertive even after the withdrawal announcement. Iran signals that it will not tolerate Israeli strikes within Syria and that it will fire at Israel in such cases.”

Syria- Golan heights
An Israeli soldier walks past military vehicles in Mount Hermon in the Israeli-occupied Golan Heights on January 21, 2019. Photo AFP

Iran and Hezbollah have been supporting Bashar al-Assad‘s regime in the Syrian war, and Iran is a long-term enemy of Israel, which is feeling threatened by alleged Iranian nuclear weapon plans. Russia is also allied with the Syrian regime, which it has been supporting since 2015 by helping to regain territories seized by Syrian rebels. Israel is worried about Iranian and Hezbollah activities in Syria, especially since the Syrian regime regained Daraa, an opposition stronghold that brought Syrian forces close to the Israeli-held section of the Golan Heights. The Golan Heights were seized from Syria in 1967 during the Six-Day War between the Israeli and the Arabs.

At the beginning of October 2018, Russia equipped Syrian air forces with the S-300 missile system, including four launchers, locators and control vehicles, after blaming Israel for the death of 15 Russian soldiers during an air strike targeting a Russian plane.

This has served to ramp up tensions, with deadly direct attacks. “This type of signalling with missiles has a potential for escalation because it requires delicate brinkmanship,” Zalzberg told Fanack. Israel used to deny direct military implications in Syria, which is no longer the case. “This hiatus in ambiguity serves both Israel’s objective of demonstrating to Iran that in spite of the US withdrawal announcement, Israel is no less committed to preventing Iranian permanent military presence than it has been, perhaps more. It also serves [Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin] Netanyahu’s electoral objectives, against accusations by his adversaries from right and left that he mismanaged the relationship regarding Syria with the US and Moscow.”

According to Jonathan Marcus, a diplomatic correspondent for BBC News, “The strategic context on Israel’s northern border is changing. All the major actors are trying to influence the new rules of the game. President al-Assad has survived; in large part due to Iranian support. President Trump is pulling out US ground forces from Syria. And Russia, which also backs Mr al-Assad, is eager to put its diplomatic stamp on future developments. It is this new context that – in part – explains Israel’s greater willingness to speak publicly about its air campaign.”

He added, “The strategic dialogue between Israel and Russia continues at a high level. Only last week senior Russian officers were in Israel for talks. But Russia has not persuaded the Syrians to remove or contain Iran’s growing presence. Israel’s war of attrition is set to continue. But the firing of a missile from Syria, which prompted an additional wave of Israeli strikes, shows just how dangerous things are becoming.”

In all this, Russia has deployed some of its best air defences in Syria to keep US missiles and jets at bay as the US’ immense air and naval power fought Islamic State close by. This is clearly not effective when the Israeli military forces puts its mind to targeting Syria. “Russia currently plays a balancing role, trying to shape the scope and nature of the Israeli-Iranian exchange of blows rather than to end it,” Zalzberg said. “Its main aim is to limit the harm caused to Syria from the Israeli-Iranian conflict.”

This aim may be failing as the growing risk of a military escalation between Israel and Iran puts Syria in the middle of an increasingly international battlefield.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.