فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مع انخفاض وتيرة الحرب، مظاهر الحياة الطبيعية تعود إلى أجزاء من سوريا

مع انخفاض وتيرة الحرب، مظاهر الحياة الطبيعية تعود إلى أجزاء من سوريا

sYRIA- syrian national football team
سوريون يحتلفون برفع علم بلادهم في ساحة الأمويين في دمشق في أكتوبر 2017 بعد أن نجح المنتخب الوطني السوري في إحراز هدفٍ في الشوط الأول في التصفيات المؤهلة لكأس العالم لكرة القدم لعام 2018، بين سوريا وأستراليا. Photo AFP

في الوقت الذي تستعر فيه المعارك في دير الزور وحماة ويتواصل الحصار على الغوطة الشرقية التي يسيطر عليها المتمردون، إلا أنه في أواخر عام 2017، عادت مظاهر الحياة الطبيعية إلى أجزاء أخرى من سوريا.

وبالرغم من انخفاض وتيرة الحرب على ما يبدو، إلا أنه لا يزال هناك 6,5 مليون نازح مشردون داخل البلاد وأكثر من 5 ملايين لاجىء يعيشون خارج البلاد. وقد بدأت بالفعل عملية إعادة الإعمار في بعض المناطق التي تُسيطر عليها الحكومة، إلا أن مساحات شاسعة من البلاد تُركت في حالة خراب، دون وجود حتى البنية التحتية الأساسية.

ومن جهته، بلور صعود المنتخب الوطني السوري لكرة القدم، الذي فشل في التأهل لتصفيات كأس العالم هذا العام بشق الأنفس، الآمال لدى العديدين داخل سوريا وخارجها بالعودة إلى الحياة الطبيعية والوحدة الوطنية. وعم الغضب أرجاء الفيسبوك بوسم# قادرين إن شاء الله، وبالدعوات لـ”نسور قاسيون.” فقد عجت المقاهي في دمشق بالحشود التي حضرت لمشاهدة كل مباراة، إلا أن الآمال بالتأهل لأول مرة في تاريخ سوريا لكأس العالم تحطمت مع خسارة الفريق بهدفين لهدف أمام أستراليا في مباراةٍ حماسية في 10 أكتوبر 2017.

ولكن حتى كرة القدم لم تكن قضية يلتف حولها جميع السوريين، ففي حين أن بعض المعارضين لنظام الرئيس بشار الأسد هتفوا للفريق الوطني، رفضه آخرون باعتباره أداة للمؤسسة السياسية، بل حتى أن بعضهم شجع فوز استراليا.

فقد كانت كرة القدم نموذجاً للحياة اليومية في دمشق والمناطق الأخرى التي لم تتأثر نسبياً بسنوات الحرب السبع، حيث يواصل المدنيون الدراسة، والعمل، والاستمتاع بوقتهم بالرغم من إرتفاع الأسعار، ونقص الغذاء والطاقة، وإندلاع العنف في بعض الأحيان.

وقالت سارة، وهي طالبة من مدينة اللاذقية الساحلية تعمل مع المنظمات غير الحكومية التي توزع المساعدات للنازحين داخلياً، إنه على الرغم من عدم وجود اقتتال حيث تعيش، إلا أن الحياة ليست طبيعية تماماً. فقد توافد النازحون إلى اللاذقية من حلب ومناطق أخرى دمرتها الحرب، مما أدى إلى ارتفاع الأسعار والمنافسة على الوظائف المتاحة.

إذ قالت لفَنَك “تركت العديد من الأسر منازلها وأتت إلى هنا بحثاً عن الأمن، بحثاً عن حياةٍ أفضل.” وأضافت “تكمن المشكلة في أن الأسر لا تستطيع تحمّل تكاليف المعيشة.” وقالت إن الضغوطات الاقتصادية والقتال المستمر أدى إلى انتشار الاكتئاب بين الشباب، إلا أنهم يواصلون البحث عن متع الحياة البسيطة.

وتابعت القول “يبحث الناس عن الفرح في الأشياء رخيصة الثمن مثل الجلوس في مقهى ولعب الورق مع الأصدقاء، وفي الحقيقة، بالنسبة لغالبية الشباب في اللاذقية، هذا هو نشاطهم الرئيسي.” وأضافت “بهذه الطريقة يشعرون بأنهم يسيطرون على حياتهم.”

وعلى الجانب المشرق، قالت سارة إن العديد من أصحاب المصانع الذين دمرت أعمالهم في حلب أو تخلوا عنها نقلوها إلى اللاذقية، مما أدى إلى خلق فرص عملٍ ونشاطٍ اقتصادي. غير أن معظم العمال الذين يعملون في المصانع هم من مدنهم الأصلية، وبمجرد أن تتحسن الأوضاع في تلك المدن، فإن المصانع والعمال سيعودون على الأرجح إلى ديارهم.

فقد عاودت بعض مرافق التصنيع العمل بالفعل في مدينة حلب، التي كانت قبل الحرب المركز الصناعي في البلاد، بالرغم من أن الأمر لا يخلو من المشاكل. وقد عدد أحد مالكي مصانع النسيج الذي نقل عمله إلى منشآتٍ مؤقتة إلا أنه اليوم يعمل على تنظيف مصنعه القديم من الحطام لإعادة افتتاحه، التحديات الكثيرة التي تواجهه لوكالة أنباء رويترز: “أكبر مشاكلنا هي الكهرباء، كما أن هناك عدد قليل من العمال لأنّ الجميع انضم للجيش. وعلاوة على ذلك، تؤثر العقوبات على العمل، بالإضافة إلى صعوبة حضور العملاء إلى هنا، وصعوبة نقل الأموال، كما أن من الصعب شراء قطع الغيار.” كما يخطط أصحاب العمل الآخرون الذي انتقلوا إلى دولٍ مجاورة للعودة، إلا أنهم ينتظرون إذا ما كانت الأوضاع الأمنية ستتحسن.

Syria- Aleppo
مباني مدمرة في حلب. Photo AFP

أما العاصمة دمشق، فقد شهدت عودة معرض دمشق الدولي، وهو معرضٍ سنوي للتجارة، هذا الصيف لأول مرة منذ اندلاع الحرب عام 2011. ووصف الحدث، الذي حضره رجال أعمالٍ من أكثر من 45 دولة، بأنه دليلٌ على زيادة الاستقرار في سوريا، إلا أنه لم يمر مرور الكرام دون التذكير بالصراع المستمر، إذ لقي 6 أشخاص حتفهم بقصفٍ بقذيفة هاون على مدخل المعرض.

وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، فإن واحدةً من الدلائل الواضحة على آثار الحرب هي ندرة الشباب، ذلك أن العديد منهم- سواء من المؤيدين أم المعارضين للنظام- فروا خارج البلاد لتفادي التجنيد الإجباري، الذي يُنظر إليه على نطاقٍ واسع باعتباه حكماً بالإعدام، بينما قُتل الآخرون أو لا يزالون يقاتلون في الجيش أو مع الميليشيات.

وبالقليل من الاستثناءات، فإن الخدمة العسكرية إجبارية للرجال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم ما بين 18 و42 عاماً، كما أنّ السفر خارج البلاد مقيّدٌ بالنسبة للشبان الذين هم في سن الخدمة العسكرية. وعليه، فإن تأجيل الخدمة متاحٌ للطلاب، مما دفع العديد من الشباب إلى استخدام حيلٍ مبتكرة لإطالة فترة تعليمهم. ومع ذلك، أصدرت المديرية العامة للتجنيد التابعة للجيش العربي السوري مؤخراً قوانين جديدة تلغي التأجيل للرجال الذين يسجلون في دبلوم الجامعة الافتراضية والذي لا علاقة له بالتخصص الذي درسوه في المرحلة الجامعية. وبالتالي، يدفع العديد من الطلاب رسوماً أو رشاوى ضخمة للحصول على التأجيل، بينما يواصل الآخرون، ممن لا يستطيعون الدفع، الفرار من البلاد.

ونتيجةً لتقلص أعداد السكان الذكور، ارتفعت نسبة الشابات العازبات وبحثهنّ عن وظائف. لم يتقبل الجميع هذا التغيير في الأدوار بين الجنسين، كما أشارت منظمة كير الدولية الإنسانية في تقرير صدر مؤخراً عن النساء السوريات في القوى العاملة.

غير أن الجماعات التجارية أخذت بعين الاعتبار هذه التغييرات السكانية، وبدأت ببذل جهودٍ لتطوير المشاريع النسائية. ومن بين هذه، عمدت غرفة تجارة حلب على إقامة معرضٍ عرضت فيه منتجات أكثر من 70 إمرأة عاملة. وفي الوقت نفسه، تنشط منظمات غير حكومية، مثل منظمة النساء الآن، لإيجاد مقعدٍ لهنّ على الطاولة مع البدء بإعمار بلادهنّ.

ومن المرجح أن الشكل الذي ستتخذه إعادة الإعمار هو السؤال الأكبر الذي يواجه السوريين في السنوات المقبلة. وبالفعل، يبدو أن حلفاء النظام هم المستفيدون الرئيسيون من مشاريع إعادة الإعمار، في حين سيتم إقصاء أولئك الذين يدعمون المتمردين، بمن فيهم الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

فعلى سبيل المثال، أعلنت الحكومة السورية في سبتمبر  2017 عن اتفاقٍ مع إيران لبناء محطة كهرباء جديدة في اللاذقية، وإعادة تأهيل منشآت الطاقة في حلب وغيرها من مشاريع الطاقة. وبالمثل، بحث وزير الكهرباء محمد زهير خربوطلي في أكتوبر 2017 سُبل التعاون لإعادة تأهيل ودعم نظام الكهرباء في سوريا من خلال إنشاء محطات توليد الطاقة ومشاريع مستقبلية مع وفد روسي زائر برئاسة نائب وزير الطاقة كيريل مولودتسوف.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / Past to Present / As War Winds Down, A Semblance of Normal Life Returns to Parts of Syria

As War Winds Down, A Semblance of Normal Life Returns to Parts of Syria

sYRIA- syrian national football team
Syrians wave their national flag as they celebrate in Damascus on October 5, 2017, after Syria’s national football team scored in the first leg of the FIFA World Cup 2018 qualifier between Syria and Australia. Photo AFP

While battles rage on in Deir ez-Zor and Hama, and the siege of the rebel-held Damascus suburb of East Ghouta continues, in late 2017 a semblance of normal life is returning to other parts of Syria.

Even as the war appears to be winding down, 6.5 million people remain internally displaced  and more than 5 million live as refugees outside the country. The reconstruction process has begun in some government-controlled areas, but wide swathes of the country are left in ruins, without even basic infrastructure.

The rise of the Syrian National Football Team, which narrowly missed qualifying for the World Cup this year, crystallized hopes for many inside and outside Syria of a return to normal life and national unity. Facebook was awash with the hashtag #yes_we_can and calls to ‘cheer for the Qasioun Eagles’. Crowds packed into cafés in Damascus to watch each match. But hopes of a first-ever place in the World Cup were dashed with the team’s 2-1 loss to Australia in a nail-biting qualifying game on 10 October 2017.

Yet even football was not a cause all Syrians could rally around. While some opponents of President Bashar al-Assad’s regime cheered for the national team, others dismissed it as a tool of the political establishment and some even cheered the Australian win.

The football drama was typical of daily life in Damascus and other areas relatively unscathed by seven years of war, where civilians continue to study, work and seek out entertainment, despite high prices, food and energy shortages, and occasional outbreaks of violence.

Sarah, a student in the coastal city Latakia who works with NGOs that distribute aid to internally displaced people, said that although there is no fighting where she lives, life is not entirely normal. Displaced people have flocked to Latakia from Aleppo and other areas destroyed in the war, which has led to rising prices and competition for available jobs.

“So many families have left their homes and come here looking for safety, looking for a better life,” she told Fanack Chronicle. “The problem is families can’t afford the cost of living.” The economic pressures and ongoing fighting have resulted in depression among many of the youth, she said, but they continue to seek out simple pleasures.

“People look for joy from cheap things like sitting in a café and playing cards with friends, and actually, for most of the youth in Latakia, this is their main activity,” she said. “This is how they feel they have control over their life.”

On the bright side, Sarah said, many factory owners whose businesses in Aleppo were destroyed or abandoned have relocated in Latakia, bringing jobs and economic activity. But most of the workers the factories hire are from their home cities, she said, and once the situation in those cities improves, both the factories and workers will likely return. Some manufacturing facilities have already begun to reopen in Aleppo, which before the war was Syria’s industrial heartland, although not without problems.

Syria- Aleppo
Destroyed buildings in Aleppo. Photo AFP

One textile factory owner who moved his operations to temporary facilities but is now clearing up the debris to open his old factory, listed the many challenges to news agency Reuters: “Our biggest problem is electricity. There are also very few workers because everyone’s in the army. Sanctions affect the work. Customers can’t come here. Transferring money is difficult. It’s hard to buy spare parts.” Other business owners who have moved to neighbouring countries are contemplating a return but are waiting to see if the security situation improves.

In the capital, the Damascus International Fair, a major annual trade fair, returned this summer for the first time since the war started in 2011. The event, attended by businesspeople from more than 45 countries, was touted as a sign of the increasing stability in Syria, but it did not pass without a reminder of the ongoing conflict: six people were killed when a mortar bomb hit the entrance to the fair.

One obvious sign of the effects of the war is the dearth of young men, as many – both supporters and opponents of the regime – have fled to avoid compulsory military service, which is widely perceived as a death sentence. Others have been killed or are fighting in the army or in militias.

With a few exceptions, military service is required of men between the ages of 18 and 42, and travel outside the country is restricted for young men of military age. Deferments are available for students, which has led to many young men finding creative way to prolong their education. However, the Syrian Arab Army’s General Directorate of Conscription recently issued new rules that will revoke the deferment for men who sign up for a one-year postgraduate teaching diploma in a subject unrelated to their undergraduate degree. Some young men pay hefty fees or bribes to obtain a deferment. Others, unable to pay, continue to flee the country.

As a result of the shrinking male population, more young women are remaining single and finding jobs. Not everyone has accepted this change in gender roles, as the international humanitarian organization CARE noted in a recent report on Syrian women in the workforce.

Yet recognizing the changing demographics, trade groups have begun making efforts to develop women’s enterprises. These include the Aleppo Chamber of Commerce, which recently held an exhibition in which more than 70 businesswomen displayed their products. Meanwhile, nongovernmental organizations like Women Now for Development are pushing for women to have a seat at the table as their country is rebuilt.

The form that rebuilding will take will likely be the biggest question facing Syrians in the coming years. It already seems likely that allies of the regime will be the major beneficiaries of the rebuilding projects, while those who backed the rebels, including the United States, will be cut out.

For instance, in September 2017, the Syrian government announced a deal with Iran for the construction of a new power plant in Latakia, rehabilitation of power facilities in Aleppo and other energy projects. Likewise, in October 2017, Electricity Minister Mohammad Zuhair Kharboutli discussed cooperation to rehabilitate and support the electricity system in Syria by establishing power-generating stations and future projects with a visiting Russian delegation headed by the Deputy Minister of Energy Kirill Molodtsov.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.