فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / روسيا تتولى دوراً رئيسياً في محدثات السلام حول سوريا

روسيا تتولى دوراً رئيسياً في محدثات السلام حول سوريا

Mohammed-Alloush-head-of-the-Syrian-opposition-delegation
محمد علوش،رئيس الوفد السوري المعارض (وسط)، يتحدث إلى وسائل الإعلام بعد محادثات السلام في أستانا، كازاخستان، 24 يناير 2017. Photo AP ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Sergei Grits

في 16 ديسمبر 2016، زار الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين طوكيو في اليابان لاختتام قمة عملٍ استمرت ليومين، حول اتفاق تعاونٍ اقتصادي، والنزاع الإقليمي الذي طال أمده، والذي منع كلا البلدين من توقيع معاهدة سلام. وخلال الزيارة، أعلن بوتين أنه والرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان يعملان على عقد جولةٍ جديدة من محادثات السلام بين الحكومة السورية والمعارضة، والتي ستعقد في العاصمة الكازاخستانية أستانا، يوم 23 يناير 2017. وقال أيضاً أن روسيا بدأت محادثات مع المعارضة السورية من خلال وسيط تركي. ومع ذلك، لم يتضح على الفور من سيشارك في هذه المحادثات أو ما إذا كانت ستضم دولاً غربية أو عربية أخرى. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، لم تكن هناك ضماناتٌ بقبول المعارضة السورية المدعومة من الغرب، بتوقيت ومكان المحادثات المقترحة، نظراً للخسائر الضخمة التي تعرضت لها في شرق حلب، وحقيقة تخلي حلفائها عنها، مما أدى إلى تحجيم قوتها التفاوضية إلى حدٍ كبير.

وفي 20 ديسمبر 2016، أعلن بوتين التوصل إلى إتفاقٍ جديدٍ لوقف إطلاق النار بين الحكومة السورية ومختلف فصائل المعارضة المسلحة، بوصف روسيا وتركيا الضامن لتنفيذ الاتفاق وإيران كدولة موقعة على الإتفاق الثلاثي، إذ لم يكن هناك أي ذكرٍ لمشاركة أي دولةٍ غربية أو عربية أخرى. دخل وقف إطلاق النار حيز التنفيذ في منتصف ليلة الثلاثين من ديسمبر 2016 بتوقيت سوريا (22:00 بتوقيت غرينتش)، إلا أنه تم استبعاد “الجماعات الإرهابية” التي أدرجتها الأمم المتحدة على القائمة، مثل تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” وجبهة فتح الإسلام (المعروفة سابقاً باسم جبهة النصرة التابعة لتنظيم القاعدة)، من الإتفاق. وأضاف أسامة أبو زيد، المتحدث باسم الجيش السوري الحر، أنّ الهدنة أيضاً استثنت الجماعة المسلحة السورية الكردية الرئيسية، وحدات حماية الشعب الكردية. في حين قالت قوات سوريا الديمقراطية، المدعومة من الولايات المتحدة والتي يُسيطر عليها مقاتلون أكراد يقاتلون داعش في شمال شرق سوريا، أنهم لم يتلقوا دعوةً لحضور محادثات وقف إطلاق النار.

الفصائل السورية المشاركة في وقف إطلاق النار هي، فيلق الشام، وأحرار الشام، وجيش الإسلام، وثوار الشام، وجيش المجاهدين، وجيش إدلب، والجبهة الشامية. كما أكد ممثلو لجنة المفاوضات العليا السورية في تركيا مشاركتهم أيضاً بالاتفاق.

وقال عضو بارز في جيش الإسلام، جماعة المعارضة الرئيسية التي تدعمها المملكة العربية السعودية وأحد الموقعين على اتفاق الهدنة، لصحيفة الجارديان: “ماذا عسانا نفعل؟ فلم يظهر داعمونا [المملكة العربية السعودية] في أي مكانٍ طوال العام. فلا يوجد أحدٌ من دول الخليج هنا على الإطلاق.” كما وردت تقاريرٌ أيضاً أن قطر حدّت بشكلٍ كبير من مساعداتها للثوار بسبب التهديدات التي تلقتها من كبار المسؤولين الروس.

وقال سيرجي شويجو، وزير الدفاع الروسي، أن الجماعات المتمردة الموقعة على الاتفاق سيعترف بها باعتبارها القوة المقاتلة الرئيسية للمعارضة المسلحة. وأضاف أن هذه التشكيلات تُسيطر على القوى العاملة الرئيسية والأسلحة. ونتيجةً لذلك، دعيت الجماعات السورية التي وقعت على وقف إطلاق النار في 29 ديسمبر 2016 إلى المحادثات في أستانا.

واجهت المحادثات الكثير من العقبات، حيث تم خرق وقف إطلاق النار مراراً بسبب القتال، سيما في وادي بردى. فمن جهة، تأتي نسبة كبيرة من إمدادات المياه لدمشق من الوادي الذي يسيطر عليه الثوار، إذ عمدت الحكومة إلى استخدام صهاريج المياه لنقل المياه إلى المدينة، التي تضم نحو 4 ملايين نسمة. ومع ذلك، زعمت الحكومة أنّ المياه تلوثت بوقود الديزل، مما ترك الدمشقيين دون الحد الأدنى من إمدادات المياه. في حين أفاد مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية أن المياه كانت قد قطعت منذ 22 ديسمبر 2016، كما قال مستشار الشؤون الانسانية بالأمم المتحدة لسوريا، يان إيجلاند، لصحيفة الجارديان أن فريقه مُنع من الوصول إلى شمال دمشق، حيث يقع وادي بردى. جعل هذا من الصعب على فريقه تحديد سبب تعطل إمدادات المياه وعما إذا كان بسبب القصف الحكومي، كما يزعم الثوار، أو بسبب الأعمال التخريبية للثوار، كما ادعت الحكومة.

وفي 2 يناير 2017، وقعت عدد من الجماعات المتمردة السورية بياناً تزعم فيه وجود “انتهاكاتٍ جسيمة” لوقف إطلاق النار المتفق عليه، ذلك أن الحكومة وحلفائها واصلوا هجماتهم على وادي بردى بحجة استهداف الجماعة الجهادية، فتح الشام، التي تم استبعادها من الصفقة. وقال البيان أيضاً: “بالنظر إلى الوضع المتصاعد والانتهاكات المستمرة، تعلن الجماعات المسلحة الموقعة تجميد جميع المناقشات بشأن المفاوضات في أستانا.” ومع ذلك، تم التوصل إلى اتفاقٍ في 13 يناير 2017، يسمح للعمال الحكوميين البدء في إعادة المياه إلى العاصمة والنهي عن شن هجماتٍ على مصادر المياه وسط الاشتباكات.

وبعد الإتفاق، اجتمعت فصائل المعارضة في العاصمة التركية أنقرة، وبعد خمسة أيام من المفاوضات، تقرر إرسال وفدٍ إلى أستانا. وقال محمد علوش، القيادي البارز في جيش الإسلام، أنه سيترأس وفد المعارضة العسكري، كما أخبر وكالة فرانس برس أن محاولة “تحييد الدور الإجرامي لإيران في الصراع،” ما برر حضور المحادثات.

ومع ذلك، قررت إحدى جماعات المعارضة الرئيسية، ألا وهي أحرار الشام، التي تضم آلاف المقاتلين في وسط وشمال سوريا، عدم الحضور بسبب “عدم تنفيذ وقف إطلاق النار،” منوهةً إلى هجوم النظام ضد “أهلنا في وادي بردى،” من بين العديد من الأسباب لعدم المشاركة.

وكان الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد قد أكد بالفعل أن حكومته مستعدة لحضور المحادثات في أستانا و”مناقشة جميع الأمور.” وبالتالي، ترأس الوفد السوري بشار الجعفري، سفير سوريا في الأمم المتحدة، إلى جانب وفدٍ حكومي من 10 أعضاء، ضم شخصياتٍ من الجيش والقضاء.

كما تمت دعون إدارة ترمب، إلا أنه لم يتم إرسال أي وفد، واختارت بدلاً من ذلك أن يمثلها سفيرها في كازاخستان. وبالمثل، مُثلت فرنسا وبريطانيا على مستوى السفراء. كما حضر ستيفان دي ميستورا، مبعوث الأمم المتحدة الخاص إلى سوريا، المحادثات، مشيداً بها باعتبارها “مبادرةً جيدة.”

بدأت المحادثات يوم 23 يناير 2017 كما كان مقرراً، على الرغم من أن وفد المعارضة امتنع عن حضور الدورة الأولى احتجاجاً على الانتهاكات المتكررة لوقف إطلاق النار من قبل حكومة الأسد. وقال المتحدث باسم المعارضة، يحيى العريضي لقناة الجزيرة، “إذا لمسنا أن هناك جدية، وكان وفد النظام لديه الصلاحيات الكاملة للتوقيع على ما تم الاتفاق عليه، سيتم بعد ذلك تمثيل المعارضة بوفد كامل.” ورداً على ذلك، أشار الجعفري مراتٍ عديدة لوفد المعارضة باعتبارهم ممثلين عن “جماعات إرهابية مسلحة” واتهمهم بعدم المحافظة من جانبهم على اتفاق وقف اطلاق النار، وخاصة في وادي بردى.

وبعد يومين من المحادثات التي وصفتها بعض وسائل الإعلام بـ”الصلبة،” وقعت القوى الإقليمية الثلاث – روسيا وتركيا وإيران – بياناً وأعلنت عن إنشاء هيئة مراقبة ثلاثية لمراقبة وضمان الامتثال الكامل لوقف إطلاق النار [المعلن عنه في ديسمبر]. وبموجب الاتفاق، ستوحد الدول الثلاث قواها للحد من انتهاكات وقف إطلاق النار، والضغط على وكلائهم ممن يخرقون الهدنة. ومع ذلك، لم توقع الحكومة السورية ولا المعارضة السورية على الاتفاق.

كان للمعارضة عدة تحفظات، والتي كان من بينها مصداقية إيران في أي اتفاقٍ لوقف إطلاق النار، نظراً لدعمها للميليشيات الشيعية التي تحارب إلى جانب قوات النظام ضد الشعب السوري. ومن جانبه، اعترف النظام بالتوصل إلى اتفاقٍ مؤقت لوقف إطلاق النار، إلا أنه أصر على استثناء وادي بردى من الإتفاق، ذلك أن تلك المنطقة لا تزال محتلةً من قِبل أعضاء فتح الشام.

وفي نهاية المطاف، أعرب البيان الختامي للاجتماع عن التزام روسيا وتركيا وإيران بمبدأ وحدة أراضي سوريا، مما يمهد الطريق لمحادثات جنيف أواخر فبراير 2017، بين المعارضة السورية (إذ حضر محادثات أستانا بنسبة كبيرة فصائل الثوار) والنظام. كما شدد البيان على “قناعة” الدول عدم وجود حلٍ عسكري للصراع السوري، وأنه لا يمكن حله سوى من خلال العملية السياسية. وعلاوة على ذلك، اتفقت موسكو وأنقرة وطهران على الإنضمام للقوى التي تحارب داعش والعمل على فصل الفصائل الإرهابية عن جماعات المعارضة المسلحة. كما رحب الجانبان بتنفيذ قرار مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة رقم (2254) الصادر في ديسمبر 2015، والذي يحدد خارطة طريقٍ لعملية السلام في سوريا.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Sergei Grits | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Sergei Grits

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / Past to Present / Russia Assumes Key Role in Syria Peace Talks

Russia Assumes Key Role in Syria Peace Talks

Mohammed-Alloush-head-of-the-Syrian-opposition-delegation
Mohammed Alloush, head of the Syrian opposition delegation (center), speaks to the media after the peace talks in Astana, Kazakhstan, 24 January 2017. Photo AP

On 16 December 2016, Russian President Vladimir Putin visited Tokyo, Japan to wrap up a two-day working summit on an economic cooperation agreement and a lingering territorial dispute which was preventing both countries from signing a peace treaty. During the visit, Putin announced that he and Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan were working on a new round of peace talks between the Syrian government and the opposition, and that these would take place in the Kazakh capital, Astana, on 23 January 2017. He also said that Russia has initiated talks with the Syrian opposition through a Turkish mediator. However, it was not immediately clear who would be at these talks or whether other Western or Arab countries would be included. Additionally, there were no guarantees that the Western-backed Syrian opposition would accept the timing and location of the proposed talks, given the huge losses it had sustained in Eastern Aleppo and the fact that it had been abandoned by its backers, significantly weakening its negotiating power.

On 29 December 2016, Putin announced that a new ceasefire deal had been reached between the Syrian government and the various armed opposition groups, with Russia and Turkey acting as guarantors and Iran as a signatory to a trilateral agreement. There was no mention of any other Western or Arab countries. The ceasefire came into effect at midnight Syrian time (22.00 GMT) on 30 December 2016, yet the ‘terrorist groups’ designated by the United Nations, such as Islamic State (ISIS) and Jabhat Fateh al-Sham (formerly known as al-Qaeda’s al-Nusra Front) were excluded from the deal. Usama Abu Zeyd, the Free Syrian Army’s spokesman, added that the truce also excluded the main Syrian-Kurdish armed group, the Kurdish Popular Protection Units. The US-backed Syrian Democratic Forces, dominated by Kurdish fighters battling ISIS in northeastern Syria, said it did not receive an invitation to attend the ceasefire talks.

The Syrian groups involved in the ceasefire were: Feilak al-Sham, Ahrar al-Sham, Jaysh al-Islam, Thuwar al-Sham, Jaysh al-Mujahedeen, Jaysh Idlib and Jabhat al-Shamiyah. Representatives of the Syrian High Negotiations Committee in Turkey confirmed that they were also involved in the deal.

A senior member of Jaysh al-Islam, the main rebel group supported by Saudi Arabia and one of the signatories of the truce, told The Guardian newspaper: “What could we do? Our backers [Saudi Arabia] have been nowhere to be seen all year. There’s no one from the Gulf here at all.” There are also reports that Qatar has significantly reduced aid to rebels due to threats it received from senior Russian officials.

Sergei Shoigu, the Russian Defence Minister, said that the rebel groups’ signatory to the agreement would be recognized as the main fighting force of the armed opposition. He added that these formations control the main manpower and weapons. Consequently, the Syrian groups that inked the ceasefire of 29 December 2016 were invited to the talks in Astana.

The talks faced numerous obstacles, as the ceasefire was repeatedly breached by fighting, mainly in Wadi Barada. A large proportion of Damascus’ water supply comes from the rebel-held wadi (valley), and the government had been using tankers to transport water to the city, home to an estimated 4 million people. However, the government claimed that the water had been contaminated with diesel, leaving Damascenes with a minimal water supply. The United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs reported that water had been cut off since 22 December 2016, and the UN humanitarian adviser for Syria, Jan Egeland, told The Guardian that his team had been denied access to the north of Damascus, where Wadi Barada lies. This made it difficult for the team to identify the reason for the disruption of the water supply and whether it was due to government bombardment, as the rebels claimed, or rebel sabotage, as the government claimed.

On 2 January 2017, a number of Syrian rebel groups signed a statement alleging ‘big breaches’ of the agreed ceasefire, as the government and its allies continued to attack Wadi Barada on the pretext of targeting the jihadist group Jabhat Fateh al-Sham, which is excluded from the deal. The statement also said: ‘Given the escalating situation and the continuous breaches, the signatory armed groups declare the freezing of all discussions regarding the Astana negotiations.’ A deal was nonetheless reached on 13 January 2017, allowing government workers to begin restoring water to the capital and forbidding attacks on water sources amid clashes.

Following the agreement, rebel factions gathered in Turkey’s capital, Ankara, and after five days of negotiations decided to send a delegation to Astana. Mohammad Alloush, a leading figure in Jaysh al-Islam, said he would head the rebel – military – delegation and told AFP that attempting to “neutralize the criminal role of Iran in the conflict” justified attending the talks.

However, a key rebel group, Ahrar al-Sham, which has thousands of fighters in central and northern Syria, decided not to attend due to ‘the lack of implementation of the ceasefire’, citing the regime’s offensive against ‘our people in Wadi Barada’ among several reasons for staying away.

Syrian President Bashar al-Assad had already confirmed that his government was ready to attend the Astana talks and to “discuss everything”. Consequently, the Syrian delegation was headed by Syria’s UN Ambassador Bashar al-Jaafari, alongside a ten-member government delegation that included military and judiciary figures.

The Trump administration was invited but did not send a delegation, opting instead to be represented by its ambassador to Kazakhstan. Similarly, France and Britain were represented at the ambassador level. Staffan de Mistura, the United Nations Special Envoy for Syria, attended the talks, hailing them as a “good initiative”.

The talks commenced on 23 January 2017 as scheduled, although the rebel delegation backed out of the first session in protest over the repeated breaches of the ceasefire by al-Assad’s government. Opposition spokesman Yahya al-Aridi told al-Jazeera, “If there is seriousness in making these talks lead to something substantial, formality won’t be that important.” In response, al-Jaafari referred numerous times to the rebel delegation as representatives of “terrorist armed groups” and accused them of not keeping their end of the ceasefire deal, mainly in Wadi Barada.

After two days of talks that some media described as ‘rocky’, the three regional powers – Russia, Turkey and Iran – signed a communiqué and announced the creation of a trilateral monitoring body to observe and ensure full compliance with the [December] ceasefire. Under the agreement, the three countries will join forces to minimize violations of the ceasefire, and put pressure on their proxies that breach the deal. However, neither the Syrian government nor the Syrian opposition signed the agreement.

The opposition had several reservations, among which was the credibility of Iran in any ceasefire agreement, given its support for Shiite militias that had fought alongside regime forces against the people of Syria. For its part, the regime acknowledged reaching a temporary ceasefire, yet it insisted on excluding Wadi Barada from the agreement since that area is still occupied by members of Fateh al-Sham.

The meeting’s final statement expressed Russia, Turkey and Iran’s commitment to Syrian territorial unity, paving the way for the Geneva talks in late February 2017, between the political opposition ( Astana was largely attended by rebel factions) and the regime. The statement also stressed the countries’ conviction ‘that there is no military solution to the Syrian conflict and that it can only be solved through a political process. Moreover, Ankara, Moscow and Tehran agreed to join forces to combat ISIS and to work on separating terrorist factions from armed opposition groups. Both sides welcomed the implementation of United Nations Security Council Resolution 2254 of December 2015, which sets out a roadmap for a peace process in Syria.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.