فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / روسيا تسعى إلى إنهاء الصراع في سوريا، وتقف على أهبة الاستعداد لتحقيق فوزٍ كبيرٍ من التسوية السياسية

روسيا تسعى إلى إنهاء الصراع في سوريا، وتقف على أهبة الاستعداد لتحقيق فوزٍ كبيرٍ من التسوية السياسية

Syria- Bashar al-Assad
الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين (يسار) ونظيره السوري بشار الأسد (يمين) يحضران اجتماعاً مع ضباط الجيش الروسي خلال زيارتهما لقاعدة حميميم الجوية الروسية في محافظة اللاذقية، شمال غرب سوريا، في 11 ديسمبر 2017. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mikhail KLIMENTYEV

كان التدخل الروسي في سوريا منذ عام 2015 حاسماً في تحويل مسار الحرب لصالح النظام. وبعد ثلاث سنوات، ومع شروع روسيا، ظاهرياً، بتقليص وجودها العسكري في البلاد، يواصل الكرملين الإمساك بالأوراق السياسية. وفي الوقت نفسه، تتعارض أهداف روسيا بشكلٍ متزايد مع حلفائها في الصراع.

تجري روسيا محادثات سلامٍ خاصةٍ بها في سوتشي في أواخر يناير 2018- وذلك بشكلٍ منفصل عن المحادثات التي ترعاها الأمم المتحدة في جنيف – بين النظام السوري وجماعات المعارضة، إلى جانب إيران التي تدعم أيضاً النظام السوري، وتركيا التي تدعم المعارضة. وقد رفضت العديد من جماعات المتمردين والمعارضة محادثات الوساطة الروسية، ذلك أن موسكو لن تمارس ضغوطاً على الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد للتنحي من منصبه.

بيد أن محادثات الأمم المتحدة لم تحقق تقدماً يذكر. وفي الوقت نفسه، وبعد محادثات أستانا المنفصلة في خريف عام 2017، وافقت كلٌ من روسيا وتركيا وإيران على إنشاء أربعة “مناطق لتخفيف التصعيد” في سوريا، بنتائج متباينة. ووسط هجومٍ متجدد من قبل الجيش السوري على إدلب التي تسيطر عليها المعارضة، استدعت تركيا مؤخراً سفراء روسيا وإيران واتهمت النظام السوري بانتهاك اتفاق أستانا من خلال هجومه، وفشل روسيا وإيران في ممارسة الضغط لوقفه. وتعتبر تركيا نفسها الدولة الضامنة لجماعات المعارضة المعتدلة في سوريا، ولكن بغض النظر عن ذلك، تشعر تركيا بالقلق من أن استمرار القتال في إدلب سيؤدي إلى تدفقٍ آخر للاجئين عبر الحدود التركية.

وبدورها، احتجت روسيا لدى تركيا من هجمات الطائرات من دون طيار على القواعد العسكرية الروسية في سوريا، قائلةً أن الطائرات بدون طيار خرجت من مناطق تُسيطر عليها المعارضة المدعومة من تركيا.

ومع ذلك، تشترك جماعات المعارضة داخل سوريا بالتصور المشترك واسع الانتشار بأن روسيا المسؤولة عن اتخاذ القرارات. ففي منطقة الغوطة الشرقية المحاصرة في دمشق على سبيل المثال، يتفاوض المتمردون مباشرةً مع روسيا وليس مع النظام السوري.

فقد قال وائل علوان، المتحدث باسم فيلق الرحمن، لرويترز “أفضل التفاوض مع من بيده الأمر، ألا وهي روسيا، من التفاوض مع النظام… وبالتالي، تضطر الفصائل إلى الجلوس معهم… هذا هو الواقع.”

ولكن، على المدى الطويل، لربما ما تريده روسيا وما يريده النظام أمران مختلفان تماماً. فعلى الرغم من تدخل روسيا لإنقاذ الأسد من أن تتم الإطاحة به، إلا أن الروس يحرصون اليوم على رؤية تسويةٍ سياسيةٍ للحرب الأهلية، الأمر الذي من شأنه أن يسمح لهم بالحد من تورطهم العسكري.

ففي 11 ديسمبر 2017، أعلن الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين أن الحرب في سوريا انتهت بالفعل وأن روسيا ستبدأ بسحب قواتها، على الرغم من أن القواعد الروسية الدائمة ستبقى في مدينتي اللاذقية وطرطوس الساحليتين. وقال إن الوقت قد حان للتوصل الى تسويةٍ سياسية، والتي يأمل الروس في التوصل اليها من خلال محادثات سوتشي.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، يبدو أن محادثات سوتشي تأتي في الوقت المناسب قبل الانتخابات الرئاسية الروسية في مارس 2018. وعلى الرغم من أن إعادة انتخاب بوتين تبدو أمراً مفروغاً منه، إلا أنه يريد أن تكون نسبة الإقبال مرتفعة وأن يكون فوزه لا لبس فيه. وعليه، فإن التسوية السياسية التي ستسمح له بإعلان إنتهاء الحرب في سوريا بشكلٍ كامل ستساعد شعبيته في الداخل.

ومع ذلك، قد لا تتماشى الرؤية الروسية للتسوية السياسية مع أهداف الأسد. فقد كتب ديميتري ترينين، مدير مركز كارنيغي موسكو، أن “روسيا تدرك أن استعادة [الأسد] للسيطرة على سوريا بأكملها أمرٌ مستحيل وغير مرغوب فيه، ذلك أن الجماعات الأخرى، من المعارضة السنية إلى الأكراد، ترفض رفضاً قاطعاً هذه النتيجة.” وقال إن الروس يعتقدون أن “ترتيب تقاسم السلطة الطائفي بشكلٍ أقرب لما هو الحال في لبنان يمكن أن يكون وصفة للاستقرار” في سوريا. فعلى سبيل المثال، قد ينطوي ذلك على حكومة ائتلافية تشمل جماعات المعارضة.

Syria- Vladimir Putin
الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين (الثاني يسار) ووزير الدفاع الروسي سيرغي شويغو (يسار) يجتمعان مع طياري القوات الجوية الروسية خلال زيارتهما إلى قاعدة حميميم الجوية الروسية في محافظة اللاذقية، شمال غرب سوريا، في 11 ديسمبر 2017. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mikhail KLIMENTYEV

ولكن الأسد، كما يتضح من هجوم إدلب، لا يزال يهدف إلى تحقيق هزيمةٍ عسكرية ضد الجماعات المتمردة المتبقية، وجعل معظم الأراضي السورية، إن لم يكن كلها، تحت سيطرته. فالنظام حتى الآن لا يرغب في قبول فكرة وجود حكومة لا مركزية وتقاسمٍ للسلطة بين مختلف الجماعات السياسية والعرقية والدينية.

كما توجد أيضاً قضايا أخرى يمكن أن تعرقل عملية السلام. فقد أدرج تحليلٌ لأولويات السياسة الخارجية التي تواجه روسيا في عام 2018 من قبل مجلس الشؤون الدولية الروسي، وهو مركزٌ بحثي مقره موسكو، ضمن التحديات المحتملة “تعطل أو ركود عملية السلام نتيجة للتناقضات داخل سوريا وبين اللاعبين الخارجيين على حد سواء (الخلافات بين روسيا والولايات المتحدة، وموقف تركيا من القضية الكردية، ومسألة النفوذ الإيراني في المنطقة).”

وفيما يتعلق بالنفوذ الإيراني، أفادت وكالة الأنباء الروسية، سبوتنيك، في الصيف الماضي، عن خلافاتٍ بين الروس والإيرانيين حول مستقبل سوريا، إذ ذكرت إن روسيا ترى في سوريا دولة علمانية تتمتع فيها مختلف الجماعات الدينية بحقوقٍ متساوية، في حين تريد إيران “فرض إرادتها على دمشق وإرساء قاعدةٍ سياسية وأيديولوجية لزيادة توسيع النفوذ الشيعي في المنطقة.”

وبالمثل، فإن نقطة الخلاف الأكثر وضوحاً بين روسيا وتركيا هي درجة الاستقلال الذاتي الذي سيمنح للمناطق الكردية. فقد كان مشروع الدستور الذي اقترحته روسيا يهدف الى منح الأكراد مزيداً من الحكم الذاتي على شكل حكومة أكثر لا مركزية. إلا أن تركيا ترى في الأكراد تهديداً لها، كما أنها أدرجت وحدات حماية الشعب التي يقودها الأكراد، والتي كانت لاعباً رئيسياً في الكفاح ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية، على قائمة الجماعات الإرهابية.

وأياً كانت العثرات السياسية المحتملة، إلا أن روسيا تعتمد على حقيقة أنه سيكون لها دورٌ قيادي في جهود إعادة إعمار سوريا، فضلاً عن الاستفادة منه. وكان مجلس الشؤون الدولية الروسي قد أدرج “إعادة إعمار سوريا بالتعاون مع المنظمات والجمعيات الدولية الرائدة،” ضمن الفرص الرئيسية لروسيا في عام 2018.

ومن المؤكد أن روسيا لن تكون اللاعب الدولي الوحيد الذى يتنافس على قطعةٍ من قالب حلوى جهود إعادة الاعمار. فروسيا نفسها لا تمتلك الأموال اللازمة لدفع تكاليف إعادة الإعمار، التي قدرت الأمم المتحدة تكلفتها بما لا يقل عن 250 مليار دولار. كما تحاول روسيا إقناع الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا دفع الأموال لإعادة الإعمار، إلا أن الحكومات الغربية لا تزال مترددةً بسبب كراهيتها، ظاهرياً، للأسد. ومع ذلك، فمن المؤكد أنها ستساهم في ذلك في نهاية المطاف، كما ستستفيد الشركات الغربية أيضاً من عقود إعادة الإعمار، ومن المحتمل أن تشارك الصين أيضاً في تمويل إعادة الإعمار. ومع ذلك، ونظراً لدورها في الصراع حتى الآن، وطالما بقيّ الأسد في السلطة، فقد ضمنت روسيا لنفسها مكاناً على الطاولة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mikhail KLIMENTYEV | ©AFP ⁃ Mikhail KLIMENTYEV | ©AFP ⁃ Mikhail KLIMENTYEV

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / Past to Present / Russia Pushes for End to Conflict in Syria, Stands to Win Big from Political Settlement

Russia Pushes for End to Conflict in Syria, Stands to Win Big from Political Settlement

Syria- Bashar al-Assad
Russian President Vladimir Putin (L) and his Syrian counterpart Bashar al-Assad (R) attend a meeting with Russian military officers during their visit to the Russian air base in Hmeimim in the northwestern Syrian province of Latakia on December 11, 2017. Photo AFP

Russian intervention in Syria from 2015 was definitive in turning the tide of the war in favour of the regime. Three years later, as Russia ostensibly begins to wind down its military presence in the country, the Kremlin is continuing to hold the political cards. At the same time, Russia’s aims are increasingly at odds with its allies in the conflict.

Russia is convening its own peace talks in Sochi in late January 2018 – separate from the United Nations-sponsored talks in Geneva – between the Syrian regime and opposition groups, along with Iran, which also supports the regime, and Turkey, which backs the opposition. Many rebel and opposition groups have rejected the Russian-brokered talks because Moscow will not pressure Syrian President Bashar al-Assad to step down.

But the UN talks have also made little progress. Meanwhile, after the separate Astana talks in the autumn of 2017, Russia, Turkey and Iran agreed to four ‘de-escalation zones’ in Syria, with mixed results. Amid a renewed offensive by the Syrian army in rebel-held Idlib, Turkey recently summoned the ambassadors of Russia and Iran and accused the Syrian regime of violating the Astana agreement through its offensive, and Russia and Iran of failing to exert pressure to stop it. Turkey considers itself the guarantor of moderate opposition groups in Syria, but beyond that, it is worried that continued fighting in Idlib will lead to another flood of refugees across the Turkish border.

Russia, in turn, complained to Turkey about drone attacks on Russian military bases in Syria, saying that the drones had been launched from an area controlled by Turkish-backed rebels.

The widespread perception that Russia is calling the shots is shared by rebel groups inside Syria. In the besieged Damascus suburb of East Ghouta, rebels are negotiating directly with Russia rather than with Russia’s protégé, the Syrian regime. “It’s better to negotiate with the one calling the shots, which is Russia, than with the regime,” Wael Olwan, spokesman for the Failaq al-Rahman insurgents, told Reuters. “So the factions are forced to sit down with them. This is the reality.”

But what Russia wants and what the regime wants in the long run may not be the same. Although Russia intervened to save al-Assad from being toppled, the Russians are now eager to see a political settlement to the civil war that will allow them to wind down their military involvement.

On 11 December 2017, Russian President Vladimir Putin declared the war in Syria to be effectively over and said Russia would begin withdrawing its troops, although permanent Russian bases will remain in the coastal cities of Latakia and Tartus. He said the time was ripe for a political settlement, which the Russians hope will be reached during the Sochi talks.

In part, the Sochi talks appear timed to come just ahead of the Russian presidential election in March 2018. Although Putin’s re-election seems to be a foregone conclusion, he wants the turnout to be high and his victory unequivocal.

A political settlement that would allow him to declare the war in Syria to be definitively over would help his popularity at home. However, the Russian vision of a political settlement may not align with al-Assad’s goals. Dmitri Trenin, director of the Carnegie Moscow Center, wrote that Russia ‘understands that restoring [al-Assad’s] control over all of Syria is impossible and even undesirable, since other groups, from the Sunni opposition to the Kurds, adamantly reject this outcome’. The Russians, he said, believe a ‘communal power-sharing arrangement akin to Lebanon’s could be a recipe for stability’ in Syria. This might involve a coalition government that would include opposition groups, for instance.

Syria- Vladimir Putin
Russian President Vladimir Putin (2nd-L) and Russian Defence Minister Sergei Shoigu (L) meet with Russian air force pilots during their visit to the Russian air base in Hmeimim in the northwestern Syrian province of Latakia on December 11, 2017. Photo AFP

But al-Assad, as evidenced by the Idlib offensive, is still aiming for a military defeat of the remaining rebel groups and to bring most, if not all, Syrian territory back under his control. The regime has so far been unwilling to accept the idea of a decentralized government with power shared among different political, ethnic and religious groups.

There are also other issues that could derail the peace process. An analysis of foreign policy priorities facing Russia in 2018 by the Russian International Affairs Council, a Moscow-based think tank, listed among the potential challenges ‘disruption or stagnation of the peace process as a result of contradictions both within Syria and among external players (disagreements between Russia and the United States, Turkey’s stance on the Kurdish issue, the question of Iran’s influence in the region)’.

In terms of Iranian influence, the Russian news agency Sputnik reported last summer that rifts had emerged between the Russians and Iranians over the future of Syria, saying that Russia envisions Syria as a secular state with equal rights for the various religious groups, while Iran wants to ‘impose its will on Damascus and establish a political and ideological basis for further expansion of Shiite influence in the region’.

Likewise, the most obvious point of contention between Russia and Turkey is the degree of autonomy that will be accorded to Kurdish areas. A Russian-proposed draft constitution aimed to give the Kurds greater autonomy in the form of a more decentralized government. But Turkey considers the Kurds to be a threat – and has designated the Kurdish-led YPG, which was a key player in the fight against the Islamic State, a terrorist group.

Whatever the potential political minefields, Russia is banking on the fact that it will have a leading role in – and benefit from – the reconstruction efforts in Syria. The International Affairs Council listed as one of the key opportunities for Russia in 2018 ‘rebuilding Syria in conjunction with leading international organizations and associations’.

Certainly, Russia will not be the only international player vying for a piece of the reconstruction effort. Russia itself does not have the funds to pay for the rebuilding, estimated by the UN to cost at least $250 billion. Russia has been pushing the United States and Europe to pay up, but Western governments have been reluctant because of their ostensible dislike of al-Assad. Still, in the end, they will almost certainly contribute, and Western companies will also benefit from reconstruction contracts. China, too, is likely to step in to finance the rebuilding. However, due to its role in the conflict to date, as long as al-Assad remains in power, Russia has assured itself a place at the table.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.