فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / وقف إطلاق النار بدعم الأمم المتحدة يخفف كرب الشعب السوري إلا أنه من غير المحتمل أن ينتهي بحلٍ سياسي

وقف إطلاق النار بدعم الأمم المتحدة يخفف كرب الشعب السوري إلا أنه من غير المحتمل أن ينتهي بحلٍ سياسي

Ceasefire in Syria
رجل يبيع حلوى الغزل في أحياء دمشق بعد تنفيذ وقف اطلاق النار في 27 فبراير 2016 بين الجيش السوري و الثوار في دمشق، سورية، 13 مارس 2016. Photo Corbis

التقت في نوفمبر 2015 المجموعة الدولية لدعم سوريا في فيينا لبحث سبل إنهاء الصراع السوري، حيث أعرب أعضاء المجموعة الدولية لدعم سوريا بالإجماع عن ضرورة وضع حدٍ لمعاناة الشعب السوري، وتدمير سوريا، والزيادة المتتالية في الإرهابيين الذين يجذبهم القتال في البلاد. كما أكدت المجموعة أيضاً على ضرورة تطبيق وقف إطلاق النار في جميع أنحاء الأراضي السورية بعد وقتٍ قصير من بدء ممثلين رسميين عن كلٍ من الحكومة السورية والمعارضة خطواتٍ جادة نحو إنتقالٍ سياسي تحت رعاية الأمم المتحدة وعلى أساس بيان جنيف لعام 2012.

وبالتوازي مع اجتماع المجموعة الدولية لدعم سوريا، تعهدت الدول الخمس الدائمة العضوية في مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة بدعم بعثة وقف إطلاق النار الذي أقرته الأمم المتحدة في أجزاء من سوريا، التي لن يتعرض فيها المراقبون لتهديد هجمات الجماعات الإرهابية مثل تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” وجبهة النصرة.

وبعد حوالي ثلاثة أشهر، وافقت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وروسيا، باعتبارهم أعضاء في المجموعة الدولية لدعم سوريا، على فرض وقف إطلاق النار في جميع أنحاء سوريا، اعتباراً من 27 فبراير 2016. وخلافاً لاتفاقيات وقف النار التي أجهضت سابقاً، نسقت روسيا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية فيما بينهما للقيام بدور الضامن والمراقب المباشر لوقف الأعمال العدائية في سوريا. وفي حال استمر وقف إطلاق النار إلى حدٍ مقبول، يمكن أن يمهد الطريق أمام المصالحة بين الحكومة السورية وقوات المعارضة المعتدلة، على أمل تهيئة الأجواء لانتقالٍ سلمي يُنهي الاضطرابات العنيفة المستمرة منذ خمس سنوات في سوريا.

رفع وقف إطلاق النار الأمل بوجود فترة للراحة في سوريا، لأن ذلك من شأنه تخفيف معاناة الناس في جميع أنحاء البلاد التي مزقتها الحرب. ومباشرة بعد دخول وقف إطلاق النار حيز التنفيذ، تدخلت الأمم المتحدة وشركاؤها لإيصال شحنات من الغذاء والماء والدواء، فضلاً عن خططٍ لمساعدة ما يقرب من 1,7 مليون شخص في المناطق التي “يصعب الوصول إليها” بحلول نهاية مارس. وقال مبعوث الأمم المتحدة في سوريا، ستيفان دي ميستورا لرويترز، أن الأمم المتحدة أجلّت أيضاً الجولة القادمة من محادثات السلام المزمع عقدها في 7 مارس، ليومين، لإتاحة الفرصة لتثبيت الهدنة في البلاد.

تهدف منظمات الإغاثة إلى استخدام الهدوء في القتال، الذي أودى بحياة ما يقدر بنحو 270,000 شخص وتشريد نصف السكان، لإيصال المؤن اللازمة. وقال الهلال الأحمر العربي السوري أنّ عمال الإغاثة بدأوا تسليم أول شحنات من المساعدات الإنسانية إلى السوريين بعد يومين من دخول الهدنة حيز التنفيذ، مع دخول عشرات شاحنات المساعدات إلى معضمية الشام، جنوب غرب دمشق، المحاصرة والتي يُسيطر عليها المتمردون. وقبل وقف إطلاق النار، لم تدخل سوى شاحنتين من المساعدات إلى المدينة في فبراير الماضي.

وأفاد مراسل وكالة فرانس برس أنّ شهود عيان في دمشق قالوا أنهم لاحظوا انخفاض معدل القصف خلال وقف إطلاق النار، وفي أجزاء من حلب، ثاني أكبر المدن السورية، خرج الأطفال في اليوم الدراسي الأول من الأسبوع إلى مدارسهم دون خوف من الهجمات الصاروخية.

وفي 14 مارس، أمر الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين انسحاب “الجزء الرئيسي” للقوات الروسية من سوريا بعد خمسة أشهر ونصف من العمليات العسكرية، وهي الخطوة التي لاقت ترحيباً دولياً تمهيداً للجهود الدبلوماسية لدفع محادثات السلام في جنيف، على أمل إنهاء الحرب المستمرة منذ خمس سنوات في سوريا.

انتهاكات وقف إطلاق النار تهدد الآمال بإنهاء العنف

على الرغم من ارتفاع سقف التوقعات بأنّ وقف إطلاق النار من شأنه أن يضع حداً للعنف ويخفف من الوضع المأساوي للشعب السوري، إلا أنّ المؤشرات تدل على أنّ وقف إطلاق النار قد ينهار قريباً. فقد ذكرت التقارير أنه لم يكن هناك وقفٌ كامل للضربات الجوية في المناطق التي يشملها الاتفاق، كما أنّ الأطراف المتحاربة تلوم بعضها بعضاً على خرق وقف إطلاق النار.

فقد استثنى وقف إطلاق النار الجماعات الجهادية المسلحة مثل داعش والنصرة وأحرار الشام. فلا النظام السوري ولا روسيا، على الرغم من انسحابها العسكري الجزئي من البلاد، أوقفت هجماتها في أنحاء سوريا على الجماعات التي تصفها بـ”الإرهابية،” كما واصلت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية هجماتها. ولا تزال هذه الجماعات “الإرهابية” ناشطةً في مساحات واسعة من الأراضي السورية، سيما في الشرق والجنوب الغربي، وهو ما يعني أن هذه المناطق ستظل مناطق نزاع محفوفة بالمخاطر.

كما زعمت الشبكة السورية لحقوق الإنسان توثيق 14 انتهاكاً منفصلاً من قِبل كلٍ من روسيا والنظام في اليوم الأول من الهدنة، مما أسفر عن مقتل 15 شخصاً، حيث تمت اثنتين من الهجمات بالبراميل المتفجرة في شمال غرب سوريا. وبالمثل، قالت كلاريسا ورد، مراسلة شبكة سي إن إن، أن سكان بلدة دارة عزة في ريف حلب لم يكونوا متفائلين بوقف إطلاق النار، بالنظر إلى أعداد القتلى من المدنيين بسبب “ازدياد” القصف الجوي الروسي والسوري. وأشارت ورد إلى أنّ العديد من السكان في المناطق التي يُسيطر عليها المتمردون يعارضون وقف إطلاق النار، لأنهم يرون في وقف الأعمال العدائية “خدعة يتبعها النظام للسيطرة على المزيد من الأراضي.”

ومن جانبه، نفى النظام السوري خرق وقف إطلاق النار، محملاً المسؤولية في ذلك على المتمردين. وقال الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد في مقابلةٍ له مع تلفزيون ARD الألماني “سنقوم بما يترتب علينا لإنجاح الأمور،” مدعياً أن الجيش السوري “امتنع عن الرد للمحافظة على الاتفاق.” كما اتهم الأسد “الإرهابيين” بخرق اتفاق وقف الأعمال القتالية منذ الساعة الأولى.

المخاوف الإقليمية والدولية بشأن وقف إطلاق النار

أعربت الأطراف الإقليمية والدولية عن مخاوفها من أنّ انتهاكات وقف إطلاق النار الهش بالفعل ستؤدي إلى انهياره. فقد دعا وزير الخارجية الفرنسي جان مارك أيرولت، متحدثاً على هامش الاجتماع السنوي لمجلس حقوق الإنسان لدى الأمم المتحدة الذي عُقد في 29 فبراير، عقد اجتماعٍ عاجل لمجموعة العمل التي تدعمها الأمم المتحدة للإشراف على “وقف إطلاق النار الهش في سوريا لتقييم مجموعة من الإنتهاكات… في المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة المعارضة المعتدلة.” وأكدّ أيضاً على ضرورة محاسبة جميع مرتكبي الإنتهاكات في سوريا مُشيراً إلى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية في لاهاي.

وقال الأمين العام لحلف شمال الاطلسي، ينس ستولتنبرغ، في مؤتمر صحافي في العاصمة الكويت “رأينا علامات مشجعة على أن وقف اطلاق النار صامد إلى حد كبير، لكن في الوقت نفسه رأينا بعض التقارير عن انتهاكات.” وشدد على “ضرورة احترام جميع أطراف (النزاع) للاتفاق،” ولكنه أشار أيضاً إلى أن حلف شمال الأطلسي كان قلقاً أيضاً بشأن التعزيزات العسكرية الروسية والقصف الجوي الروسي الذي استمر لخمسة أشهر دعماً للأسد.
من جهته، رحب رئيس الوزراء الاسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو بحذر بوقف إطلاق النار، قائلاً أن اسرائيل لن تقبل “العدوان” الإيراني أو توريد الأسلحة المتطورة إلى ميليشيا حزب الله الموالية لإيران. وشدد نتنياهو على أن أي اتفاق “يجب أن يشمل وقف استخدام الأراضي السورية لشن هجمات من قِبل إيران تستهدف إسرائيل.”

كما رفض وزير الخارجية الروسي، سيرجي لافروف، هذه المخاوف حول نجاح وقف إطلاق النار، قائلاً “نحن نسير في الاتجاه الصحيح … ووقف الأعمال العدائية يثبت.”

ويقول مراقبون أنّ فرص تشكيل وقف اطلاق النار انفراجاً في التحول السياسي السوري بشكلٍ عام ضئيلة، نظراً للمناهضة القوية من قِبل جماعات المعارضة المحلية والقوى الإقليمية، بما فيها المملكة العربية السعودية ودول الخليج الأخرى. ومع ذلك، ربما يعزز اتفاق وقف إطلاق النار وصول الشعب السوري للمساعدات الإنسانية في جميع أنحاء البلاد، ذلك أنّ النظام والمعارضة على حد سواء اتفقتا على رفع الحصار المدمر الذي فُرض على المدن السورية وذلك تحضيراً لإيصال المساعدات.

وفي مارس، استهلت مفاوضات سلام جديدة في جنيف، ولكن كان من المتوقع أن تخرج ببعض النتائج. من جهةٍ أخرى، قال المبعوث الخاص للأمم المتحدة ستيفان دي ميستورا أن عملية الانتقال السياسي في دمشق هي “أم القضايا كلها،” ولكن أياً من الطرفين، سواء الحكومة أو المعارضة، على استعداد بعد لتقديم تنازلاتٍ بشأن مستقبل الرئيس الأسد.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / Past to Present / UN-Endorsed Ceasefire Lessens People’s Agony but Is Unlikely to End in Political Breakthrough

UN-Endorsed Ceasefire Lessens People’s Agony but Is Unlikely to End in Political Breakthrough

ceasefire in syria
A man is selling cotton candy in a Damascus neighborhood after a ceasefire agreement was implemented on 27 February 2016 between the Syrian army and the rebels, Damascus, Syria, 13 march 2016. Photo Corbis

In November 2015, the International Syrian Support Groupi (ISSG), met in Vienna to discuss ways to end the Syrian conflict. ISSG members unanimously expressed urgency to end the suffering of the Syrian people, the destruction of Syria, and the subsequent increase in terrorists drawn to the fighting in the country. The group also stressed the need to implement a nationwide ceasefire in Syria soon after official representatives of both the Syrian Government and opposition begin serious steps toward a political transition under UN auspices and based on the 2012 Geneva Communique.

In parallel with the ISSG meeting, the five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council pledged to back a UN-endorsed ceasefire-monitoring mission in parts of Syria where monitors would not come under threat of attack from terrorist groups such as the Islamic State (IS) and al-Nusra Front.

Almost three months later, the United States and Russia, as members of the ISSG, agreed to enforce the ceasefire throughout Syria, effective 27 February 2016. Unlike in a previously aborted ceasefire, Russia and the United States have arranged to act as direct guarantors and monitors of the cessation of hostilities in Syria. Should the ceasefire last long enough, it could pave the way for reconciliation between the Syrian government and moderate rebel forces and hopefully set the stage for a peaceful transition to end the five years of violent unrest in Syria.

The ceasefire raised hope for a respite in Syria, because it would alleviate the people’s suffering across the war-torn nation. Immediately after the ceasefire came into effect, the United Nations and its partners stepped up deliveries of food, water, and medicine and were planning to help approximately 1.7 million people in “hard-to-reach” areas by the end of March. The United Nations also delayed by two days the next round of peace talks, initially scheduled for 7 March, to give some time for the truce in the country to take hold, UN Syria envoy Staffan de Mistura told Reuters.

Aid groups aimed to use the lull in the fighting, which has claimed an estimated 270,000 lives and displaced half the population, to deliver desperately needed supplies. The Syrian Arab Red Crescent said aid workers began the first deliveries of humanitarian aid to Syrians two days after the truce came into effect, with ten aid trucks entering the besieged rebel-held town of Muaddamiyat al-Sham, southwest of Damascus. Before the ceasefire, only two aid deliveries had been made to the city in February.

Eyewitnesses in Damascus claimed that they saw less shelling during the ceasefire, and, in parts of Aleppo, Syria’s second-largest city, children walked to their first day of school of the week without fear of rocket attacks, an Agence France Presse correspondent said.

On 14 March, Russian President Vladimir Putin ordered the withdrawal of the “main part” of the Russian forces from Syria after five and a half months of military operations, a move that was welcomed internationally as a prelude to diplomatic efforts to advance the peace talks in Geneva and hopefully to end the five-year war in Syria.

Ceasefire Breaches Imperil Hopes for Ending Violence

Despite rising expectations that the ceasefire would put violence on hold and reduce the tragic situation of the Syrian people, indications are that the ceasefire might collapse soon. Reports said that there has not been a complete cessation of airstrikes in areas covered by the agreement, and the warring parties blamed one another for breaching the ceasefire.

The Syrian ceasefire excluded jihadist armed groups such as IS, al-Nusra, and Ahrar al-Sham. Neither the Syrian regime nor Russia, despite its partial military pullout, ceased their attacks across Syria on groups labelled as “terrorists,” and the United States continued its attacks. These “terrorist” groups remain active in large swaths of Syrian territory, particularly in the east and southwest, which means that these areas will continue to be dangerous conflict zones.

The independent Syrian Network for Human Rights claimed to have documented 14 separate violations by Russia and the regime on the first day of the truce, causing the deaths of 15 people, and that two of the attacks were incidents of barrel bombing in northwestern Syria. Similarly, residents of the town of Darat Izza in Aleppo’s countryside were far from optimistic about the ceasefire, given the civilian deaths in “increasing” Russian and Syrian aerial bombardment, said Clarissa Ward, CNN’s senior international correspondent. Many people in rebel-controlled territory opposed the ceasefire because they see the cessation of hostilities as “a trick designed by the regime to take more territory,” Ward noted.

For its part, the Syrian regime denied breaching the ceasefire, blaming rebel forces instead. Syrian President Bashar al-Assad, speaking to the German broadcaster ARD, said “We will do our part so that the whole thing works,” claiming that the Syrian army “has refrained from retaliating attacks in order to give a chance for the agreement to survive.” Al-Assad accused “terrorists” of violating the deal from the beginning.

Regional and International Concerns about the Ceasefire

Regional and international parties expressed concerns that violations of the already fragile ceasefire might lead to a collapse. French Foreign Minister Jean-Marc Ayrault, speaking on the sidelines of the UN Human Rights Council on 29 February, called for an urgent meeting for the UN-backed task force overseeing “a fragile Syria ceasefire to evaluate a range of breaches…in areas controlled by the moderate opposition.” He also reiterated that all perpetrators of violations in Syria must be held accountable and referred to the International Criminal Court in the Hague.

NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg, addressing a press conference in Kuwait City, said cautiously, “We have seen encouraging signs that the ceasefire is largely holding, but at the same time we have seen reports about violations.” He stressed that “all sides [of the conflict] should respect the agreement” but also noted that NATO was concerned about Russia’s military buildup and five-month bombing campaign in support of al-Assad.

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu carefully welcomed the ceasefire, saying that Israel would not accept Iranian “aggression” or the supply of advanced weapons to the pro-Iran Hizbullah militia. Netanyahu stressed that any agreement “must include an end to Iranian aggression aimed at Israel from Syria’s territory.”

Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov refuted these concerns about the success of the ceasefire, saying “We’re moving in the right direction…and the cessation of hostilities is settling.”

The chances are small that the ceasefire will be a breakthrough in the overall Syrian political transition, given the strong resistance from local opposition groups and regional powers, including Saudi Arabia and other Gulf states, observers said. However, the ceasefire agreement will probably enhance the Syrian people’s access to humanitarian aid across the country, as both the regime and the opposition have agreed to lift the devastating sieges imposed on towns in Syria so as to prepare for the delivery of aid.

In March, new peace negotiations started in Geneva, but they were expected to produce little movement. UN Special Envoy Staffan de Mistura said that “the mother of all issues” was political transition in Damascus, but neither side—government or opposition—was yet ready to compromise on the future of President Assad.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.