فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / السكان في سوريا / اللاجئون الفلسطينيون

اللاجئون الفلسطينيون

مقيمو مخيم اليرموك جنوب دمشق في إنتظار المواد الغذائية الموزعة من قبل الأمم المتحدة (Photo HH)

عندما اندلعت الثورة السورية في آذار/مارس 2011، التزم اللاجئون الفلسطينيون الحياد في البداية، على الرغم من انضمام بعضهم إلى الاحتجاجات ضد الرئيس بشار الأسد. ولما بدأ النظام يستخدم العنف الشديد ضد المتظاهرين وقصف المدن، تصاعدت الانتفاضة الشعبية إلى مقاومة مسلحة ضد النظام السوري. ومع نشوب المعارك في ضواحي دمشق، لجأ العديد من السوريين المقيمين في الأحياء التي تُقصف إلى مخيم اليرموك للاجئين، كونه بقي هادئاً نسبياً وبعيداً عن التوترات.

منذ منتصف العام 2013، أعربت وكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى (الأونروا) ووكالات الأمم المتحدة الأخرى والمنظمات الدولية عن تخوفها من تأثير النزاعات المسلحة في سوريا على اللاجئين الفلسطينيين المتواجدين في البلاد وبخاصة في مخيم اليرموك في دمشق، وهو أكبر مخيم للفلسطينيين في سوريا، الذي كان يضم 130,000 لاجئ على الأقل قبل بدء الصراع في سوريا والذي لم يعد عدد سكانه  يتخطى الـ20,000 (الأونروا, مايو 2014).

عند نشوب الثورة السورية في العام 2011، تصاعد التوتر في اليرموك بين السكان الفلسطينيين الموالين لنظام الأسد والمناهضين له. وفي أوائل شهر آب/أغسطس من العام 2012، اشتدت حدة التوتر لتتحول إلى اشتباكات بين الأحزاب الأساسية في الصراع في سوريا.وقد قُتل أكثر من 21 لاجئاً مدنياً في شهر آب/أغسطس عندما هاجم الجيش السوري مخيم اليرموك. وفي شهر كانون الأول/ ديسمبر 2012، شهد مخيم اليرموك قتالاً عنيفاً مع قيام الجيش السوري بإلقاء القذائف على المخيم للمرة الأولى. وصرح الناشطون بأن القذائف استهدفت مدرسة ومسجداً يأويان لاجئين ما أدى إلى مقتل 23 من المدنيين. وفي 17 كانون الأول/ ديسمبر، تمكن الثوار من السيطرة على مخيم اليرموك وعلى مخيم فلسطيني آخر بمساعدة ناشطين فلسطينيين مناهضين لنظام الأسد، فأخلوه من المقاتلين الفلسطينيين الموالين للنظام. وفي 20 كانون الأول/ ديسمبر، صرح الجيش السوري الحر بأنه أرغم المقاتلين الموالين للنظام كافة على مغادرة اليرموك وأنه أعاد المخيم للفلسطينيين. وبعد فترة وجيزة، اتفق كل من الحكومة وممثلي الثوار على وجوب انسحاب كافة المجموعات المسلحة من اليرموك وتحويل المنطقة إلى منطقة حيادية، إلا أن متحدثاً باسم شبكة مخيم اللاجئين الفلسطينيين الموالية للمتمردين قال إن “تنفيذ الهدنة طرح إشكاليات عديدة بسبب القصف “المتقطع” الذي كان يتعرض له المخيم من قبل الحكومة بالإضافة إلى الاشتباكات في ضواحيه.

وقد نجحت القوات الموالية لنظام الأسد بالسيطره على المخيم في شهر شباط/فبراير من العام 2013. وتم إنشاء نقاط تفتيش لإتاحة دخول المساعدات والسماح للسكان بالهروب ولكن في شهر تموز/يوليو من العام 2013، بدأت القوات الحكومية تمنع الدخول إلى المخيم وهو محاصر منذ ذلك الحين. ومع استمرار الحصار، أصبح الوضع الإنساني في المخيم مذرياً. وبحسب تصريح صادر عن وكالة الأونروا، لا يحصل السكان المتبقون على الغذاء أو العلاج الطبي الملائم وثمة حالات وفاة لنساء أثناء الولادة. ووفقاً لتقرير صادر عن مجموعة القوى العاملة الفلسطينية في سوريا، تسبب الجوع في وفاة أكثر من 140 مدنياً في شهر نيسان/أبريل من العام 2014. وفي 13 كانون الثاني/يناير 2014، تعرض موكب تابع لوكالة الأونروا, ينقل الغذاء لستة آلاف شخص إلى جانب عشرة آلاف جرعة من لقاحات شلل الأطفال-, للقصف ما ادى اللى عدم تمكنه من  دخول المخيم. وبعد مرور أسبوع، تم إرسال حوالى 138 حصة من الأغذية إلى المخيم كما سُمح بإدخال خمس مئة حصة في أوائل شهر نيسان/أبريل من العام 2014. وحتى شهر كانون الثاني/يناير 2014، لم يكن قد تم توفير مساعدات غذائية إلى المخيم منذ شهر أيلول/سبتمبر من العام 2013.

قبولهم في البلدان المجاورة

ترفض الحكومات الأردنية واللبانية والمصرية والتركية منح اللاجئين الفلسطينيين السوريين حق اللجوء، الأمر الذي يحرمهم من حماية ومساعدة منظمة UNHCR. مع أنه في أيلول/سبتمبر 2002، أعادت منظمة UNHCR تفسير المادة 1د من اتفاقية عام 1951 المتعلقة بوضع اللاجئين. في السابق، استثنت المادة الفلسطينيين الذين يتلقون مساعدة من الأونروا. واليوم تشدد منظمة UNHCR على الفقرة الثانية، والتي تنص على أن اللاجئين الفلسطينيين هم لاجئون بحكم الواقع ويجب حمايتهم من قبل منظمة UNHCR في حال توقفت هيئات أخرى في الأمم المتحدة من تقديم المساعدة والحماية لهم. وهذا يعني أن الفلسطينيين ينبغي أن تشملهم حماية منظمة UNHCR.

تم إرجاع أسر اللاجئين الفلسطينيين السوريين الذين يطلبون حق اللجوء في الأردن من الحدود، كونهم يحملون “وثائق سفر سورية خاصة باللاجئين الفلسطينيين”، وبالتالي لا يحملون الجنسية السورية. في 27 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2012، أدلى رئيس الوزراء الأردني عبد الله النسور بتصريح لصحيفة الحياة، يقول فيه إن “الاردن اعتمد قراراً سيادياً واضحاً وصريحاً بعدم السماح لعبور قبل إخواننا الفلسطينيين الذين يحملون وثائق سفر سورية إلى الأردن”. وفق الأونروا، بلغ عدد اللاجئين الفلسطينيين السوريين الذين فروا إلى الأردن 4569 شخصاً بحلول آذار/مارس 2013. في الأردن، لم يعد مخيم الزعتري الأردني يستقبل أي شخص دون أوراق ثبوتية سورية. وتم إرسال الفلسطينيين إلى مدن تقنية المعلومات والصناعة (Cyber City)، حيث يتم احتجازهم هناك حتى يتم قبولهم كلاجئين. المنشأة تالفة، والذين بداخلها محظور عليهم الخروج وراء جدرانها ولو لدقيقة.

مع أن الأردن لم توقّّع أو تصادق على اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951، إلا أن المادة 3 من اتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب وغيره من ضروب المعاملة القاسية أو اللاإنسانية أو المهينة تنص على عدم جواز طرد أو إعادة أو تسليم شخص ما إلى دولة أخرى إذا توفرت أسباب حقيقية تدعو إلى الاعتقاد بأنه سيتعرض لخطر التعذيب. أفادت هيومن رايتس ووتش أنه “منذ نيسان/أبريل 2012، قامت السلطات الأردنية تلقائياً باعتقال جميع الفلسطينيين الذين يدخلون الأردن دون المرور عبر نقطة حدودية رسمية، ودون احتمال الإفراج عنهم. وهذه السياسة لا تنطبق على آلاف السوريين الذين يدخلون بنفس الطريقة. فالفلسطينيون يصلون تحت ذات الظروف التي يمر بها السوريون الفارون، ولا ينبغي أن يواجهوا خطر العودة القسرية”.

أيضا في لبنان، السوريون الفلسطينيون غير مؤهلين للحصول على المساعدة من منظمة UNHCR. تقول الأونروا إنه هناك ما يقرب من 32,000 لاجئ في لبنان بحلول آذار/مارس 2013. ففي بلد يعيش فيه أكثر من 400,000 لاجئ فلسطيني في الأساس، فإن لبنان ليس مستعداً أو على استعداد لاستيعاب المزيد من الفلسطينيين، وبالتالي رفض منحهم حق إقامة مخيمات جديدة على الأراضي اللبنانية، مما خلق مشكلة أمام الإيواء الفوري للنازحين. تحاول وكالة UNHCR تزويد العائلات بالمال.

في أيلول/سبتمبر 2012، أصدر الرئيس السابق محمد مرسي قراراً بمنح حقوق استثنائية للاجئين السوريين في مصر، بما في ذلك الحق في الحماية وتصاريح الإقامة ودخول المدارس الحكومية. فتحت مفوضية UNHCR وشركاؤها أبوابها أمام السوريين في مصر ووسعت جهودها ومستوى الدعم لهم. لكن المرسوم الرئاسي لا يشمل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين السوريين الذين واجهوا واقعاً قاسياً لحظة وصولهم إلى مطار القاهرة. وسمح فقط للعائلات المحظوظة بالدخول، وذلك بتأشيرات سياحية قصيرة الأجل. وتم ترحيل العديد من الرجال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18-40 على الفور، وأعيدوا إلى دمشق. رفضت السلطات المصرية الاعتراف بالوضع الخطر الذي فروا منه، كأقرانهم السوريين، وأرسلوهم لمواجهة عدم ثقة السلطات السورية تجاه طالبي اللجوء الذين رفضت طلباتهم في مصر.

في مصر، وبحلول شهر آذار/مارس 2013، بدأت عمليات الترحيل والاعتقالات تصبح أكثر انتظاماً بحق الفلسطينيين السوريين. وبحلول نهاية آذار/مارس 2013، بلغ عددهم نحو 11,000 أو ما يقرب من 1900 عائلة قادمة من مخيم اليرموك والمخيمات الأخرى في سوريا. لا تساعد الأونروا الفلسطينيين في مصر، ويفتقرون إلى الحماية الرسمية للمفوضية. وكدولة موقعة على الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان وغيره من معاهدات الحقوق المدنية والسياسية، فإن مصر ملزمة بضمان الحقوق الأساسية للاجئين الفلسطينيين.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Fanack | ANWAR AMRO ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Syria / Population of Syria / Palestinian Refugees

Palestinian Refugees

Residents of the besieged Yarmouk camp south of Damascus wait to receive food aid distributed by the UN (Photo HH)

When the Syrian protests erupted in March 2011, most Palestinian refugees initially remained on the sidelines, although a small number joined the protests against President Bashar Assad. As the regime began to use heavy violence against protesters and shelled cities, the popular uprising escalated into armed resistance against the Syrian regime. With battles taking place in the outskirts of Damascus, many Syrian residents from the shelled neighbourhoods sought refuge in the Yarmouk refugee camp, which first remained a relative safe haven away from the violence.

Since mid-2013, the UNRWA and other UN agencies and international organizations have expressed their concerns about the impact of the armed conflict in Syria on the Palestinian refugees residing in the country, especially Yarmouk camp in Damascus, which hosted at least 130,000 before the outbreak of the conflict in Syria and is thought to be the largest community of Palestinians refugees in Syria. Now, fewer than 20,000 refugees remain in the desolate camp (UNRWA, May 2014).

At the beginning of the Syrian uprising, in 2011, tensions arose in Yarmouk between pro- and anti-Assad Palestinian residents. Beginning in August 2012, the tensions deteriorated into clashes between the main parties of the conflict in Syria. More than 21 civilian refugees were reported killed in August, when the Syrian Army shelled Yarmouk. In December 2012, fierce fighting took place in Yarmouk, involving Syrian army jets, which bombed the camp for the first time. Activists reported that a school and mosque sheltering refugees were hit and that at least 23 were killed, all civilians. On 17 December, rebel forces gained full control of Yarmouk and of another Palestinian camp, with help from anti-Assad Palestinians, pushing out the pro-government Palestinian fighters. On 20 December, the Free Syrian Army said it had forced all pro-government fighters out of Yarmouk and handed it back to the Palestinians. Shortly thereafter, government and rebel representatives agreed that all armed groups should withdraw from Yarmouk and leave it a neutral zone, but a spokesman for the pro-rebel Palestine Refugee Camp Network said that “the implementation of the truce has been problematic” because of “intermittent” government shelling of Yarmouk and clashes on its outskirts.

Forces loyal to al-Assad succeeded in controlling access to the camp in February 2013. Military checkpoints opened to allow aid to enter and residents to escape, but in July 2013, government forces began blocking access, and Yarmouk has since been under siege. As the blockade has drawn on, the humanitarian situation in the camp has become increasingly dire. According to a UNRWA statement, remaining residents do not have access to adequate food or medical treatment, and there are cases of women dying in childbirth. More than 140 civilians died from starvation, according to an April 2014 statement by the Workforce for Palestinians in Syria group. On 13 January 2014, an UNRWA convoy carrying food for six thousand people—along with ten thousand doses of polio vaccine and other medical supplies—was forced to turn back when it came under fire while trying to enter the camp. One week later, about 138 food parcels had been delivered to the camp, and five hundred food parcels were allowed to enter in early April 2014. Up to January 2014, food aid had not been delivered to the camp since September 2013.

Reception in Neighbouring Countries

Palestinian-Syrian refugees in Egypt

The governments of JordanLebanonEgypt and Turkey are refusing to grant Palestinian refugees from Syria the refugee status, stripping them of their right to protection and aid from the UNHCR. This despite the fact that in September 2002, UNHCR reinterpreted Article 1D of the 1951 Convention relating to the Status of Refugees. Previously the article excluded Palestinians in light of the fact that they were receiving assistance from UNRWA. UNHCR now emphasized the second paragraph, which clarifies that Palestinian refugees are ipso facto refugees and are to be protected by UNHCR if assistance or protection from another UN body terminated. This means that Palestinians should fall under the UNHCR protection mandate.

Palestinian-Syrian families seeking asylum in neighbouring Jordan have been turned away at the border, as Palestinian-Syrian refugees carry a ‘Syrian Travel Document for Palestinian Refugees’ and thus lack Syrian citizenship. On 27 October 2012, Jordanian Prime Minister Abdullah al-Nsour issued a statement in the Arabic-language daily al-Hayat that ‘Jordan has made a clear and explicit sovereign decision to not allow the crossing to Jordan by our Palestinian brothers who hold Syrian documents’. According to UNRWA, the number of Palestinian-Syrian refugees who had fled to Jordan reached 4,569 individuals by March 2013. In Jordan, theZaatari camp has stopped accepting those without Syrian identification, and Palestinians are directed to Cyber City, where they are detained until approved for asylum status. The facility is worn-down and its occupants forbidden from stepping outside its walls for any length of time.

Although Jordan has not signed or ratified the 1951 Refugee Convention, Article 3 of the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CAT) also provides that no state shall expel, return (‘refouler’) or extradite a person to another state where there are substantial grounds for believing that he or she would be in danger of being subjected to torture. Human Rights Watch stated that ‘Since April 2012, Jordanian authorities have automatically detained all Palestinians who enter Jordan without passing through an official border post, without the possibility of release. No such policy exists for thousands of Syrians entering the same way. The Palestinians are arriving under the same circumstances as the fleeing Syrians and should not face threats of forced return.’

Palestinian-Syrians in Lebanon are likewise not eligible for assistance from UNHCR. UNRWA states that approximately 32,000 refugees were in Lebanon by March 2013. In a country already home to 400,000 Palestinian refugees, Lebanon is not ready or willing to accommodate more Palestinians, and has therefore denied them the right to set up new camps on Lebanese soil, complicating the challenge to immediately shelter the displaced. UNRWA is trying to provide families with cash and access to medical and education services, yet these are meager resources as aid agencies are strapped for cash.

Former President Mohammed Morsi of Egypt issued a decree in September 2012 granting exceptional rights to Syrian refugees in Egypt, including the right to protection, residency permits and access to government schools. UNHCR and partners opened their doors to the Syrians in Egypt and expanded their outreach efforts and level of assistance. But the presidential decree did not include Palestinian-Syrians refugees. At Cairo airport, some families were allowed entry on short-term tourist visas. Many young men between the ages of 18 and 40 were however sent straight back to Damascus to face the mistrust of the Syrian authorities towards asylum seekers rejected by Egypt.

In Egypt, by March 2013, deportations and arrests of Palestinian-Syrians started to become more regular. By the end of March 2013, their number was estimated at 11,000 or approximately 1,900 families, arriving from the Yarmouk refugee camp and other camps in Syria. Palestinians in Egypt are not assisted by UNRWA and lack formal UNHCR protection. As a signatory of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and several other covenants on civil and political rights, Egypt has the obligation to ensure basic rights to Palestinian refugees.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.