فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة / الأدب الحديث

الأدب الحديث

 

الشاعر السوري أدونيس (Photo by MOHAMMED MAHJOUB / AFP)

للأدب العربي المعاصر أساس في النهضة، حركة النهضة الثقافية التي بدأت في مصر خلال القرن التاسع عشر، رغم أن بعض جذورها قد تعود إلى فترة سابقة. تطورت النهضة من حدثين متناقضين ظاهرياً: اللقاء مع الثقافة الأوروبية، وإعادة تقييم التراث الثقافي العربي الكلاسيكي. لعب المثقفون اللبنانيون والسوريون من خلفية مسيحية، الذين حافظوا تقليدياً على علاقات وثيقة مع الكنيسة الكاثوليكية الأوروبية، دوراً هاماً في الحركتين. نتيجة للاضطهاد السكان المسيحيين والدروز في الستينات، هاجروا بأعداد كبيرة إلى مصر، حيث ساهموا بشكل كبير في النهضة. كان من بين ممثلي النهضة الأدبية السوريين واللبنانيين الأوائل: سليم البستاني (1846-1884)، الذي ترجم بتصرّف الأدب الفرنسي بالدرجة الأولى؛ وفرنسيس المراش (1836-1873)، مؤلف قصائد نثرية أثرت بعمق في الشاعر الأمريكي اللبناني الشهير جبران خليل جبران؛ ومعروف أحمد أرناؤوط (1892-1948)، الذي قدم الرواية التاريخية إلى الطيف الأدبي.

 

الرواية السورية المعاصرة

يتفق العديد من النقاد والباحثين على أن أول رواية أدبية تستحق الجدارة كانت نهم (1937)، وهي عمل رومانسي للغاية، من تأليف شكيب الجابري (1912-1996). تميزت فترة الأربعينات والخمسينات بالتحول التدريجي والواضح من الرومانسية نحو الواقعية (الاجتماعية)، بتأثر من كتاب روس مثل مكسيم غوركي. ظهرت أول رواية واقعية عام 1954، من تأليف حنا مينا (حوالي 1924)، مؤيد متحمس لنظام البعث، والذي لعب دوراً رئيسياً في تطوير الرواية السورية من الخمسينات وحتى أيامنا هذه. كانت الاتجاهات الأدبية الأخرى في الستينات: ثورة دون أيديولوجية (حيدر حيدر) ، الروحانية الصوفية (عبد السلام العجيلي) ووهم بمضمون سياسي (وليد إخلاصي). كما شهدت نفس الفترة ظهور نساء في ميدان الأدب، بما فيهن ألفت إدلبي وغادة السمان وكوليت خوري، وكثيرات غيرهن، واللواتي ركزن بصفة عامة على وضع المرأة في المجتمع السوري. أسفرت النتائج الصادمة لحربي حزيران/يونيو 1967 وتشرين الأول/أكتوبر 1973 عن إعادة تعزيز النقد الاجتماعي في الأدب، والذي يمثله الكاتب السريالي زكريا تامر والكاتب الكردي سليم بركات، والذي تميزت رواياته بلمسة واقعية سحرية. هذا الموقف الساخط تجاه المجتمع العربي بشكل عام والسياسة السورية الداخلية على وجه الخصوص يتعقبه خالد خليفة في هذه الأيام، والذي انتقد بشدة العدوان السوري ضد الإخوان في الثمانينات في روايته مديح الكراهية الكراهية (2006)، كما يتعقبه الشاعر والكاتب خليل صويلح والكاتبة والصحفية ديما ونوس. في البداية بدا بشار الأسد، الذي تولى السلطة عام 2000، وكأنه يُظهر بعض التساهل تجاه المعارضين السياسيين من بين المثقفين السوريين، ولكن بعد ذلك بوقت قصير قام بشد الحزام مرة أخرى عن طريق قمع المنشورات وترهيب الكتاب الخارجين عن الخط، ومؤخراً من خلال حجب المواقع الناقدة.

الشعر السوري المعاصر

في النصف الثاني من القرن التاسع عشر، خضع الشعر السوري التقليدي والتقليدي الجديد الشكلي إلى تغيير جذري. في البداية التزم معظم الشعراء بالبنى الشعرية القديمة، ولكن اختيارهم للموضوعات الموضوعية كان مبتكراً. في العشرينات والثلاثينات كان الشكل الكلاسيكي التقليدي لا يزال محفوظاً، ولكن كان هناك موجة كبيرة من الشعر الرومانسي الفردي، جزئياً بتأثير التقليد الشعري البريطاني. فحرضت حركة المهجر (مجموعة من الشعراء والكتاب اللبنانيين الذين هاجروا إلى أمريكا الشمالية والجنوبية في أواخر القرن التاسع عشر) على التحرر من القيد الذي علق فيه معظم الشعراء. في البداية، كتب الشاعر والمفكر السوري الشهير نزار قباني (1923-1998) شعره بالأشكال الكلاسيكية، ولكن بعد عام 1956 تحول إلى الشعر التجريبي. وفي السبعينات، اتضحت أخيراً معالم الطريق لأشكال جديدة من الشعر، مثل الشعر الحر والقصيدة النثرية و “الاتجاه الصوفي الجديد”، حيث كان الشاعر المشهور عالمياً واليساري أدونيس (الاسم المستعار لعلي أحمد سعيد، 1930 ) الممثل الرائد له. من المستغرب، والمدهش في الأمر أن أدونيس نفسه، الذي تعاطف مع الثوار التونسيين والمصريين خلال ثورات كانون الثاني/يناير 2011 ، أظهرت في الآونة الأخيرة ولائه للرئيس السوري بشار الأسد بإرسال رسالة دعم مفتوحة له. بعد موجة من الانتقادات من قبل الكتاب السوريين والعرب، أعاد النظر في وجهة نظره ونصح الأسد بالتنحي، ولكن ليس دون اتهام المعارضة لكونها مجزأة وتهيمن عليها الجماعات الدينية.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MOHAMMED MAHJOUB / AFP ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Syria / Society, Media & Culture of Syria / Culture of Syria / Modern Literature in Syria

Modern Literature in Syria

Contemporary Arabic literature has its basis in the Nahda, the movement of cultural revival which began in Egypt during the 19th century, although some of its roots can be traced back to an earlier period. The Nahda accrued from two seemingly contradictory developments: the encounter with European culture and the revaluation of the classical Arabic cultural heritage. Lebanese and Syrian intellectuals with a Christian background, who traditionally maintained close ties with the European Roman Catholic Church, played an important role in both movements. As a result of the persecution of the Christian and Druze populations in the 1860s, they migrated in large numbers to Egypt, where they contributed greatly to the Nahda. Among the foremost Syrian-Lebanese representatives of the literary Nahda were Salim al-Bustani (1846-1884), who translated and adapted mainly French literature, Francis al-Marrash (1836-1873), author of prose poems who deeply influenced the world famous American-Lebanese poet Gibran Khalil Gibran, and Maruf Ahmad al-Arnaut (1892-1948), who introduced the historical novel into the literary spectrum.

Nizar Qabbani
Abd al-Salam al-Ujayli
Hanna Mina
Khayri al-Dhahabi

The contemporary Syrian novel

Many critics and scholars agree that the first fully fledged novel of literary merit was Naham (Desire, 1937), a highly romantic work, written by Shakib al-Jabri (1912-1996). The 1940s and 1950s were marked by a gradual but clear shift from romanticism towards (socialist) realism, influenced by Russian authors like Maxim Gorky. The first realistic novel appeared in 1954, written by Hanna Mina (ca. 1924), a fervent supporter of the Baath regime, who played a major role in the development of the Syrian novel from the 1950s to present times. Other literary trends in the 1960s were: revolt without ideology (Haydar Haydar), mystic spiritualism (Abd al-Salam al-Ujayli) and fantasy with a political content (Walid Ikhlasi). The same period witnessed the emergence of women in the literary field, including Ulfa Idlibi, Ghada al-Samman, Colette Khoury and many others, who generally focused on the position of women in the Syrian society. The traumatizing outcome of the wars of June 1967 and October 1973 resulted in a reinforcement of social criticism in literature, represented by the surrealist writer Zakariya Tamir and the Kurdish writer Salim Barakat, whose novels are marked by a magic realist touch. This disaffected attitude towards Arab society in general and internal Syrian politics in particular, is nowadays pursued by Khaled Khalifa, who heavily criticized the Syrian aggression against the Muslim Brotherhood in the 1980s in his novel Madih al-Karahiya (In Praise of Hatred, 2006), the poet-writer Khalil Suwailih and the writer and journalist Dima Wannous. Bashar al-Assad, who assumed power in 2000, initially seemed to show some leniency towards the political opponents among the Syrian intellectuals, but shortly thereafter he tightened the reins again by suppressing publications, intimidating dissident writers, and lately by blocking critical websites.

Contemporary Syrian poetry

In the second half of the 19th century the so far traditional and formalistic neoclassical Syrian poetry underwent a radical change. Initially most poets kept to the old poetical structures, but their choice of topical themes was innovative. In the 1920s and 1930s the classical form was still maintained, but there was a substantial wave of individualistic, romantic poetry, partly influenced by the British poetic tradition. It was the Mahjar movement (a group of Lebanese poets and writers who had migrated to North and South America in the late 19th century) that instigated the liberation from the straightjacket in which most poets were caught. The famous Syrian poet and intellectual Nizar Qabbani (1923-1998) first wrote his poetry in classic forms, but after 1956 he turned to experimental poetry. In the 1970s the way was finally cleared for new forms of poetry, such as the free verse, the prose poem and the mystical ‘neo Sufi trend’, of which the world-famous poet and leftist cosmopolitan Adunis (alias of Ali Ahmad Said, 1930) was the leading exponent. Surprisingly, this same Adunis, who sympathized with the Tunisian and Egyptian rebels during the uprisings of January 2011, lately showed his loyalty to the Syrian President Bashar al-Assad by sending him an open letter of support. After a wave of criticism by Syrian and Arab writers he reconsidered his point of view and advised al-Assad to step down, but not without accusing the opposition for being fragmented and dominated by religious groups.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.