فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / مواطن الاختلال

مواطن الاختلال

يوجد اختلالات توازن – إقليمية وغيرها – ملحوظة في سوريا فيما يتعلق بتوزيع السن والعمل والثروة و – عكسياً – الفقر. وفق برنامج الأمم المتحدة (الفقر في سوريا، تقرير عام 2005، بيانات 2003 و 2004)، فإن ما يقرب من مليوني نسمة في سوريا (11,4% من السكان) لا يستطيعون الحصول على حاجاتهم الغذائية وغير الغذائية الأساسية. وباستخدام تعريف أوسع للفقر، يمكن اعتبار 30,1% من السكان فقراء (5,3 مليون شخص).

الفقر أكثر انتشاراً في المناطق الريفية منه في المناطق الحضرية (62% في المناطق الريفية)، ولكن الاختلافات الأكبر هي جغرافية. للمناطق الريفية والحضرية الشمالية الشرقية (إدلب وحلب والرقة ودير الزور والحسكة) معدل الفقر هو الأكثر عمقاً وشدة، بينما المنطقة الجنوبية الحضرية هي الأقل. انخفض الفقر بين عامي 1996 و 2004 في سوريا ككل، ولكن مرة أخرى، كانت الأنماط الإقليمية مختلفة. انخفض معدل انتشار الفقر بتسارع في المناطق الجنوبية والوسطى، ولكنه في الواقع ارتفع في المناطق الريفية شمال شرق البلاد.

على الصعيد الوطني، استفاد غير الفقراء من النمو الاقتصادي أكثر من الفقراء نسبياً. وزاد عدم المساواة. في 2003-2004، استهلك الـ 20% الأدنى من السكان 7% من جميع النفقات في سوريا، بينما استهلك الـ 20% الأعلى 45%. ومرة أخرى، كانت نفس الاختلافات الإقليمية كبيرة. ولكن الاختلافات بين الريف والحضر كانت ملحوظة كالمثل: ازداد عدم المساواة في المناطق الحضرية بشكل كبير، ولكنه لم يتغير في المناطق الريفية.

معظم الفقراء في سوريا تحت خط الفقر مباشرة. ويرتبط التعليم ارتباطاً وثيقاً بالفقر، حيث أن أكثر من 18% من السكان الفقراء أميون، وهؤلاء هم أكثر الناس تضرراً بالفقر.

كما يتفاعل الفقر مع الجنس. هناك معدل منخفض بشكل مقلق في التحاق الفتيات الفقيرات بالمدارس. فللفتيات في الأسر الفقيرة في المناطق الريفية أعلى احتمال ليكنّ أميات.

للعاملين في الزراعة والبناء تمثيل زائد ضمن الطبقات الفقيرة، كما أصحاب العمال الحرة. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن الفقراء أكثر احتمالاً للعمل في القطاع غير الرسمي، والذي يوظف 48% منهم فقراء. والأرامل، أرباب الأسر والذين عندهن أولاد، من المرجح أن يكنّ فقيرات، وبهذا يصبحن فئة مستضعفة ومستهدفة.

( المصدر، الفقر في سوريا، 2005، برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي).

سوريا نقل مواصلات
الحنطور, احدى وسائل النقل القديمة في سوريا
سوريا سكان
الاماكن المأهولة في سوريا

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Shutterstock ⁃ Olga Kolos

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / Society, Media & Culture of Syria / Society / Imbalances in Syria

Imbalances in Syria


There are notable – regional and other – imbalances in Syria in regard to the distribution of age, work, wealth and – inversely – poverty. According to the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP, Poverty in Syria, data for 2003-2004), almost two million inhabitants (11.4 percent of the population) cannot meet their basic food and non-food needs. Using a broader definition of poverty, 30.1 percent of the population (5.3 million individuals) may be considered poor.

Poverty is generally more prevalent in rural than in urban areas (62 percent in rural areas), but the greatest differences are geographic. The north-east (Idlib, Aleppo, al-Raqqa, Deir al-Zor and al-Hassaka), in both rural and urban regions, has the greatest incidence, depth and severity of poverty, while the southern urban region has the least. Poverty decreased between 1996 and 2004 for Syria as a whole, but again, regional patterns varied. The incidence of poverty declined rapidly in the central and southern regions, but it actually rose in the rural parts of the north-east.

At the national level, the non-poor benefited proportionally more than the poor from economic growth. Inequality rose. In 2003-2004, the bottom 20 percent of the population consumed 7 percent of all expenditure in Syria, and the top 20 percent consumed 45 percent. Again, the same regional variations were significant. However, rural-urban variations were equally noticeable: inequality in urban areas increased significantly, but it did not change in rural areas.

Most poor people in Syria live only just below the poverty line. Education is strongly correlated to poverty. More than 18 percent of the poor population is illiterate, and these are most severely affected by poverty. Poverty also interacts with gender. There is a disturbingly low rate of school enrolment among poor girls. Girls in poor households in rural areas are most likely to be illiterate.

Agriculture and construction workers are overrepresented within poor groups, as are the self-employed. Moreover, the poor are more likely to work in the informal sector, which employs 48 percent of the poor. Widows as heads of household, with children, are often poor, and thus can be a targeted vulnerable group (Poverty in Syria, UNDP).

Transport in the old city of Damascus (Photo HH)


© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Shutterstock ⁃ Olga Kolos

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.