فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / سوريا / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / المرأة

المرأة

سوريا امرأة
نساء في سوريا في احدى الزيارات للمقامات الدينية

تتمتع النساء في سوريا بحقوق أقل من الرجال، كما هو الحال في العديد من البلدان العربية الأخرى. فعلى سبيل المثال، ترث المرأة المسلمة نصف ما يرث الذكر. وهذا يعيق أيضاً العدد الصغير والمتزايد من النساء اللواتي يترأسن أعمال الأسرة (حيث تسعة من أصل عشرة شركات تعود ملكيتها للأسرة). للمسيحيات الحق في الميراث؛ لكنهن محرومات من حق الطلاق. وفي بعض المناطق لا يمكن للمرأة أن ترث الأرض. ليس القانون من يمنعهن من ذلك، وإنما العادات والتقاليد المحلية.

كما تميل النساء لأن يكن أكثر فقراً وأقل تعليماً. وتمثل مشاركة المرأة في القوى العاملة 18%. وهذه هي الأرقام الرسمية، دون أخذ القطاع غير الرسمي بالاعتبار – حيث تعمل النساء بالأكثر (أكثر من الرجال)، مما يعني أن ليس لهن استقرار وظيفي أو حماية اجتماعية. وفي حال حصولهن بالفعل على وظيفة “نظامية”، فإن لهن نفس الحقوق والواجبات التي للرجال، على الأقل من الناحية النظرية. ومدة إجازة الأمومة للموظفات النظاميات 50 يوماً، مع دفع صاحب العمل 70% من الراتب.

في بعض المناطق (ولاسيما الشمال والشمال الشرقي)، يمكن أن يمنع الزوج زوجته من الذهاب إلى طبيب ذكر؛ وهناك قصص معروفة لنساء مُتنَ في المخاض لأن أزواجهن لم يريدوا أخذهن إلى المستشفى حتى لا يلدن على يد طبيب ذكر. وبالتالي، يبقى عدد وفيات الرضع والأمهات هو الأعلى في هذه المناطق من أي مكان آخر، كما أن موانع الحمل وتنظيم الأسرة أقل تطبيقاً.

تعزيز مكانة المرأة

مع هذا، يبدو أن الحكومة – بمساعدة منظمات دولية مثل برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي أو UNFEM، فضلاً عن عدد متزايد من المنظمات غير الحكومية – تحاول تغيير الأمور. كما أن سيدة سوريا الأولى أسماء الأسد نشطة جداً في هذا المجال؛ فهي تترأس صندوق الأمانة السورية للتنمية، والذي يعتبر تعزيز مكانة المرأة جانباً هاماً من جوانب التنمية.

في الواقع، يعتبر وضع المرأة في سوريا أفضل نوعاً ما من أي مكان آخر في الشرق الأوسط، ربما يعود ذلك إلى التوجه “الاشتراكي” لسوريا في العقود الماضية. عام 2006، كانت نائبة الرئيس السوري، نجاح العطار، أول امرأة تصل إلى هذا المنصب الرفيع في العالم العربي. عام 1979، كان لسوريا أول وزيرة أنثى في المنطقة بأسرها (تضم الحكومة حالياً ثلاث نساء فقط من أصل 32 وزيراً). ومنذ الانتخابات العامة الأخيرة عام 2007، 31 من أصل 250 عضواً في مجلس الشعب من النساء (12,4%) مقارنة مع نسبة تمثيل المرأة في البرلمان في العالم العربي (8%)، وهي الأدنى في العالم، وفق برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي. وتأتي سوريا في هذا الخصوص بعد العراق وتونس مباشرة.

لا تزال نسبة العضوات النساء في المجالس المحلية منخفضة، على الرغم من أنها ارتفعت من 27 عضواً عام 1975 إلى 189 عام 1999، و 797 عام 2005. لكن بشكل عام، لا تزال مشاركة المرأة من المراكز الحكومية القيادية صغيراً، وهي تمثل 7% من الوزراء، و 7% من السفراء، و 20% من النقابات المهنية.

بالنسبة للتعليم، التحاق وإكمال البنات أقل من البنين في مرحلة التعليم الابتدائي (88% من الفتيات فقط يكملن مرحلة التعليم الابتدائي)، ولكن بعد اجتيازهن مرحلة معينة، تحصّل الفتيات أفضل من الفتيان؛ فأكثر من نصف خريجي الجامعات من الفتيات.

(المصادر: التقرير الوطني الثاني عن أهداف التنمية للألفية في الجمهورية العربية السورية، 2005. برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائيالفقر في سوريا. الحكومة السورية. المرأة، وقائع وأرقام. إدخال التعميم الجنسي في التجارة والاقتصاد. تجربة برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي في سوريا: دليل الأدوات والمصادر. منظمة العمل الدولية: البرامج القطرية للعمل اللائق، سوريا).

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Shutterstock ⁃ Olga Kolos

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Syria / Society, Media & Culture of Syria / Society / Women in Syria

Syrian Women

Photo Shutterstock

As in many other Arab countries, women in Syria enjoy fewer rights than men in many domains. The inheritance of Muslim women, for instance, is 50 percent of what a male receives. This hampers the small but increasing number of women heading family businesses (nine out of ten businesses are family owned). Christian women are denied the right to divorce. In some regions, women are also prevented from inheriting as a result of local customs and traditions.

Women also tend to be poorer and less educated. Women’s participation in the labour force is 18 percent. This is the official figure, which does not take into account the informal sector – in which women are predominant. In the informal sector they have no job security or social protection. Those who do have a regular job, enjoy the same rights and duties as male workers, at least in theory. Maternity leave for women who are regularly employed is 50 days, with 70 percent of their wages paid by the employer.

In some regions (particularly in the north and north-east), a husband may forbid his wife to see a male doctor; women in labour have been known – even in recent years – to bleed to death because the husband did not want them to go to hospital in case they were treated by a male doctor. Consequently, infant mortality and maternal mortality remain higher in these regions than elsewhere, and contraception and family planning are less practised.

Empowerment of women

However, the government – with the help of international organizations like United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) or UN Women, as well as an increasing number of NGOs – is trying to implement changes. Syria’s First Lady, Asma al-Assad, is very active in this field. She heads the Fund for Integrated Rural Development of Syria, which places great value in the empowerment of women.

Possibly due to Syria’s socialist orientation in past decades, the situation of women in Syria is slightly better than elsewhere in the Middle East. In 2006, Syria’s Najah al-Attar was the first woman in the Arab world to become Vice President. In 1979, the first female minister in the whole region was Syrian (today, the cabinet includes just three women out of a total of 32 members). Since the last general elections in 2007, 31 out of 250 Members of Parliament (12.4 percent) are women. In comparison, the proportion of female parliamentary representatives in the Arab world is 8 percent, the lowest in the world, according to UNDP. In this respect, Syria comes immediately after Iraq and Tunisia.

The proportion of female members in local councils is still low, although it increased from 27 in 1975, to 189 in 1999, and 797 in 2005. In general, however, women continue to fill only a small share of leading governmental posts, accounting for 7 percent of the ministries and embassies, and 20 percent in trade unions.

The enrolment and achievement of girls is lower than that of boys in basic education (88 percent of girls reach the basic education level), but once they pass a certain threshold, girls seem to do better than boys; more than half of university graduates are females.

(Sources: Second National Report on the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) in the Syrian Arab Republic 2005; UNDP;  Poverty in Syria, UNDP; Woman Facts and Numbers, Syrian Government; Decent Work Country Programme Syria, ILO)

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Shutterstock ⁃ Olga Kolos

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.