فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الاقتصاد الخفي بين الاعتراف به ومكافحته

الاقتصاد الخفي بين الاعتراف به ومكافحته

cocaine lebanon
عرض الكوكايين الخام المصادر في دائرة الجمارك في ميناء العاصمة اللبنانية بيروت في 17 أيار 2010. Photo: Joseph EID / AFP

بقلم: عادل مجاهد (باحث في التخطيط الاقتصادي والتعاون الدولي)

الاقتصاد الخفي، مصطلحٌ، لو أخذناه على عموميته، فهو يشمل كافة الأنشطة الاقتصادية التي لا تتضمنها دفاتر وسجلات الدولة، ولا تخضع لرقابة وتوجيه وإشراف الدولة. بيد أنها أنشطة اقتصادية تعمل بشكلٍ موازٍ لأنشطة الاقتصاد الرسمي الذي تخطط له وتنظمه وتوجهه وترصد نتائجه مؤسسات الدولة.

لذا يطلق على الاقتصاد الخفي تسميات مختلفة، من بينها: الاقتصاد غير الرسمي، اقتصاد الظل، الاقتصاد الأسود، الاقتصاد الموازي.. إلى غير ذلك من تسميات.

والنشاط الاقتصادي الخفي موجود في معظم الاقتصادات، إلا أنه أوسع انتشاراً وتوحشاً في اقتصادات الدول النامية والأسواق الناشئة، ومن بينها دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، والذي يقدره البنك الدولي بنحو الثلث من إجمالي الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، فيما يقدر نسبة العاملين في النشاطات الاقتصادية غير الرسمية في الدول النامية بنحو 70% من سوق العمل.

ولا يقتصر النشاط الاقتصادي الخفي، على النشاطات غير الرسمية التي لا تعمل ضمن النظام القانوني، لأسباب تتعلق بانتشار البيروقراطية والمحسوبية وتصلب القوانين، لكنها تمارس أنشطتها في أسواق العمل وتجارة السلع والخدمات، وسوق رأس المال والائتمان؛ بل قد تتعداها إلى أنشطة إجرامية كالإتجار بالبشر بمختلف أنواعه، وتجارة المخدرات، وعمليات تهريب السلع عبر الحدود، والنهب من ميزانية الدولة، والرشوة، وتجارة السلاح خارج سلطة القانون.

وعدم الاعتراف بمساهمة الاقتصاد الخفي، في عجلة الاقتصاد الوطني، وخاصة في جانبه الغير إجرامي، يهدد الجهود التنموية، ويؤدي إلى إحداث تشوهات في المؤشرات الاقتصادية العامة الكلية والجزئية للبلاد. فمن جهة مؤشرات الاقتصاد الكلي يؤدي عدم الاعتراف بمساهمة الاقتصاد الخفي، إلى تشوه مؤشراتٍ هامة، كمؤشرات الناتج المحلي الإجمالي GDP، الناتج القومي الإجمالي GNP، الاستثمار، والبطالة، وغيرها. ومن جهة مؤشرات الاقتصاد الجزئي، تتشوه المؤشرات المتعلقة بقياس العرض والطلب، وتحليل سلوك المستهلك. هذا، فضلاً عن ضياع حقوق العمال الذين يعملون تحت المظلة غير الرسمية، وفقدان خزينة الدولة لجانب مهم من الموارد المالية، نتيجة التهرب الضريبي.

ويعود عدم اعتراف معظم الدول بالاقتصاد الخفي، خاصة دول الشرق الأوسط، إلى عدة أسباب، من بينها غياب الدراسات المتخصصة لقياس حجم الاقتصاد غير الرسمي، وعدم توفر الآليات لتنظيمه، وضعف بيئة ريادة الأعمال؛ إلى جانب انعدام الشفافية، وانتشار الفساد، فضلاً عن الأعراف والقيم العامة السائدة التي تحول دون اعتراف الدولة ببعض هذه النشاطات على أراضيها، لأسباب عقائدية.

ولا شك أنه، من إيجابيات الاقتصاد الخفي، مساهمته بتوفير بعض السلع والخدمات بأسعار ملائمة، لأصحاب الدخول المحدودة، إلى جانب المساهمة في تخفيف حدة البطالة، ما يجعله محاطاً بحماية اجتماعية نوعاً ما.

وحقيقة الأمر أن اعتراف الدول بحجم عوائد عوامل الانتاج، الناتجة عن أنشطة الاقتصاد الخفي، حتى وإن كانت هذه الأنشطة ذات طابع إجرامي، لا يعني التوقف عن مكافحة الجريمة بكافة أشكالها.

وإلى أن تجد الدول النامية والاقتصادات الناشئة سبلاً للحد من انتشار هذه الأنشطة، عليها العمل على تقدير الدخول الناتجة عنها، والاعتراف بها، وإدراجها ضمن المؤشرات العامة للاقتصاد الكلي، لإزالة بعض التشوه في هذه المؤشرات، وجعلها أكثر ملائمة وتمثيلاً لاقتصاداتها.

“الآراء الواردة في هذه المقالة تعبّر عن وجهة نظر الكاتب ولا تعبّر بالضرورة عن وجهة نظر فنك”.

ملاحظة

الأفكار الواردة في هذه التدوينة تعبّر عن آراء المدوّن ولا تعبّر بالضرورة عن أفكار موقع فنك.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JOSEPH EID ©AFP | JOSEPH EID ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / The hidden economy: between recognizing it and fighting it

The hidden economy: between recognizing it and fighting it

cocaine lebanon
Confiscated raw cocaine is diplayed at the customs office in the harbour of the Lebanese capital Beirut on May 17, 2010. Photo: Joseph EID / AFP

Adel Mojahed 

The hidden economy is a term that generally refers to all economic activities not recorded in a state’s books. They are also not subject to the state’s monitoring, direction and supervision. However, they are economic activities operating parallel to the official economy activities that are planned, organized, directed and monitored by the state’s institutions.

The hidden economy goes by different terms, such as informal economy, shadow economy, black economy, parallel economy, etc.

The hidden economy exists in most economies. However, it is more widespread and more brutal in economies of developing countries and newly emerging markets. This includes countries of the Middle East and North Africa.

According to the World Bank, the hidden economy’s amounts to a third of the total GDP of these countries. Furthermore, the active working force in the developing countries’ informal economy is estimated at 70% of the total labor market.

For reasons related to the spread of bureaucracy, nepotism and inflexible laws, the hidden economy is not exclusive to informal activities operating out of the legal system. However, it operates in labor markets, goods and services markets, in addition to capital and credit markets. It may even operate through criminal activities such as human trafficking of all kinds, drug dealing, smuggling goods across borders, embezzlement from the state budget, bribery, and arms dealing outside of the law’s authority.

When the contributions of the hidden economy are not recognized as a part of the national economy, development efforts are threatened. This applies especially to these contributions that occur in a non-criminal form.

Furthermore, this leads to malformations in the general microeconomic and macroeconomic indicators of the state. At the macroeconomics level, not adding these contributions distorts important indicators such as the GDP, the GNP, investment, unemployment, etc. At the microeconomics level, it distorts indicators related to supply and demand measurement, and consumer behavior analysis. In addition, workers in this unofficial economy lose their rights, and the state treasury also loses a significant monetary resource due to tax evasion.

Not acknowledging the hidden economy in most countries – especially Middle East countries – is attributed to several reasons. These reasons include the lack of specialized studies to measure its size, the lack of tools to organize it, the weak entrepreneurship environment; the lack of transparency, and the spread corruption, in addition to public values and norms preventing the state from acknowledging some of these activities for religious reasons.

There is no doubt that the hidden economy has its pros; it provides goods and services at reasonable prices for low-income individuals, as it also contributes to reducing unemployment, which gives it some kind of social protection.

In reality, countries acknowledging the size of production returns from informal economic activities – even if it’s generated from criminal activities – does not mean stopping the fight against all kinds of crimes.

Until developing countries and new markets find means to restrict these activities, they have to work on measuring the incomes they generate, acknowledging them, and enlisting them into the macroeconomic indicators. This will ensure removing some of the distortions caused by these indicators, making them more relevant and representative of their economies.

Disclaimer

The opinions expressed in this publication are those of our bloggers. They do not purport to reflect the opinions or views of Fanack or its Board of Editors.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JOSEPH EID ©AFP | JOSEPH EID ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!