فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الهولوكوست والنكبة: صدماتٌ متقاطعة

الهولوكوست والنكبة: صدماتٌ متقاطعة

Holocaust
زائر يتجول بين اللوحات الإسمنتية للنصب التذكاري للقتلى اليهود في أوروبا (نصب الهولوكوست التذكاري) في برلين- 26 أكتوبر 2019. Photo: John MACDOUGALL / AFP

عنوان الكتاب: الهولوكوست والنكبة: قواعد جديدة للصدمة والتاريخ. نيويورك. دار نشر جامعة كولومبيا، 2018.

بشير بشير وعاموس غولدبيرغ.

كانت المحرقة (الهولوكوست) والنكبة من الأحداث المؤلمة والصادمة للغاية في التاريخ اليهودي والفلسطيني. فقد كان للحدثين، المتفاوتين بمظهرهما وحدّتهما، تأثيرٌ حتمي على التاريخ اللاحق ووعي وهويات كلا الشعبين. أصبحت المحرقة عنصراً محورياً للهوية اليهودية، لا سيما في أواخر سبعينيات وثمانينيات القرن الماضي، في إسرائيل وحول العالم، بينما باتت النكبة وعواقبها المستمرة ركناً أساسياً من الهويات الفلسطينية والعربية منذ عام 1948.

بالنسبة للفلسطينيين، لا تتمحور النكبة فحسب حول هزيمتهم وتطهيرهم العرقي من فلسطين وخسارتهم وطنهم، ولا حتى أنهم باتوا شعباً يعيش الشتات كلاجئين خارج وطنهم وكأقليةٍ ممزقة تعيش في ظل احتلالٍ على أرضهم، بل تُمثل النكبة أيضاً خراب مئات القرى والأحياء الحضرية إلى جانب تدمير النسيج الثقافي والاقتصادي والسياسي والاجتماعي للشعب الفلسطيني. إنها التصدّع العنيف الذي لا يمكن جبره للتطور الحديث للثقافة والمجتمع والوعي الوطني الفلسطيني. إنها الاستعمار المتواصل لفلسطين والمستمر حتى يومنا هذا من خلال الممارسات والسياسات الاستعمارية مثل المستوطنات اليهودية، والإستيلاء غير القانوني على الأراضي، وفرض الحصار على غزة، وإخلاء القرى.

كانت المحرقة إبادةً جماعيةً متطرفة قُتل فيها ما بين خمسة إلى ستة ملايين يهودي على يد الألمان وآخرين خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية في اضطهاداتٍ قاسية وإعداماتٍ بالرصاص وغرف الغاز (خلال نفس الفترة، أُبيد أيضاً ملايين الأفراد من المجتمعات والجماعات العرقية الأخرى المستهدفة مثل غجر الروما والسنتي، والبولنديين، والمثليين، والشيوعيين، وأسرى الحرب السوفييت، والمعارضين السياسيين، وذوي الإعاقة). انتهت المحرقة في عام 1945 بهزيمة ألمانيا النازية، لكن حصولها وذِكراها وتداعياتها غيرت بشكلٍ كبير مسار التاريخ اليهودي والوعي اليهودي بشكلٍ عام. فقد تم تدمير حضارة غنية إلى حدٍ كبير في غضون فترة قصيرة من الزمن. وبدلاً من أوروبا، احتل مركزان يهوديان آخران، أحدهما في فلسطين (التي أصبحت دولة إسرائيل عام 1948) والآخر في الولايات المتحدة، مركز الصدارة.

لم يبدأ الصراع بين اليهود والعرب على فلسطين في منتصف القرن العشرين، فترة المحرقة والنكبة، بل في أواخر القرن التاسع عشر، مع تأسيس الحركة الصهيونية والاستيطان اليهودي الحديث في فلسطين. ومع ذلك، لا شك في أن أحداث الثلاثينيات والأربعينيات من القرن الماضي غيرت إلى حدٍ كبير مصير المجموعتين ووعيهما فيما يخصهما وفيما يخص الصراع بينهما. لا تمثل المحرقة ولا النكبة مجمل الهوية اليهودية أو الفلسطينية في أوائل القرن الحادي والعشرين؛ ومع ذلك، كلاهما مكونان محوريان، بل وربما حاسمان، في الهوية الجماعية والوعي لكلٍ من الشعبين. المحرقة لليهود والنكبة للفلسطينيين (والعديد من العرب) هي ما أطلق عليه المؤرخ ألون كونفينو مصطلح “مواضٍ تأسيسية،” أو ما أسماه عالم النفس الاجتماعي فاميك فولكان “الصدمات المختارة.” وعليه، فكلاهما هويتان وطنيتان يلعب فيهما بُعد الكارثة والصدمة دوراً مركزياً، وحيث يتمحور السرد الوطني بشكلٍ كبير حول تعزيز فكرة حالة الضحية والخسارة.

Nakba
فنانون يجهزون تماثيل صغيرة تمثل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في صالة عرض الحوش في القدس، تحضيراً لمعرض جين فرير بمناسبة ذكرى “النكبة” في 12 مايو 2008. Photo: AHMAD GHARABLI / AFP

تختلف الروايات الوطنية الصهيونية والفلسطينية السائدة اختلافاً كبيراً بالتأكيد، على الرغم من أنهما تشتركان بشكلٍ ملحوظ بالصيغة والقواعد. إحدى السمات المشتركة لكلا الروايتين التاريخيتين السائدتين هي أن كل واحدة تعتمد – إلى جانب تبني الكارثة التأسيسة – على الإنكار المتزامن والفعّال (الصريح أو الضمني) لكارثة الآخر. ومن هذا المنطلق، تعتبر رواياتٍ تستند إلى معارضة ثنائية، وهي سمة من سمات السيميائية البنيوية. فكل طرفٍ مقتنع بأنه الضحية الأساسية للتاريخ، بينما ينكر أو يقلل من معاناة الطرف الآخر من أجل إثبات صحة مطالبه.

الهدف من هذا الكتاب هو تخفيف وتحدّي الانقسام بين هاتين الروايتين السائدتين، إذ يسعى إلى تجاوز الحدود المزدوجة ثنائية التفرّع التي تفرضها هذه الروايات الوطنية على التاريخ والذاكرة والهوية لأخذ كلتا الروايتين بعين الاعتبار. نقترح سجلاً آخر للتاريخ والذاكرة – سجلاً يُكرّم تفرد كل حدثٍ وظروفه وعواقبه، فضلاً عن اختلافهما، بيد أنه سجلٌ يقدم أيضاً إطاراً تاريخياً ومفاهيمياً مشتركاً يمكن من خلاله معالجة كلتا الروايتين. نقترح صيغة وقواعد مختلفة تماماً للتاريخ والذاكرة، حيث يكون الجمع بين “المحرقة والنكبة” أو “النكبة والمحرقة” منطقياً تاريخياً وثقافياً وسياسياً.

نحن نؤمن أن النظرة العالمية الحصرية المزدوجة التي تقدمها الروايات الوطنية التقليدية، على الرغم من كونها متجذرة بعمق والقوة المهيمنة في تشكيل الهويات الوطنية المعارضة لليهود والفلسطينيين، هي وجهة نظر معيبة تاريخياً ومدمرة أخلاقياً وسياسياً. لذلك سعينا إلى تجاوز مثل هذه الصيغة الوطنية والحصرية- على المستوى الرمزي للروايات الوطنية والتاريخية، من ناحية، ولكن أيضاً (وليس أقل أهمية) على المستوى الأخلاقي – السياسي المتعلق بإدراك الحقوق الفردية والجماعية لكلا الشعبين. ومن هذا المنطلق، يهدف هذا الكتاب إلى “دفع التاريخ ضد التيار،” على حد تعبير والتر بنيامين. وعلى الرغم من أن كلمات بنيامين أصبحت مبتذلة إلى حدٍ ما، إلا أنها مناسبة تماماً في هذه الحالة، وتقدم وصفاً دقيقاً لما سعينا إلى القيام به في هذا المجلد.

من الناحية السياسية، نعتقد أن فكرة “الفصل/ التقسيم” – النموذج السائد لمناقشة إسرائيل/ فلسطين منذ لجنة بيل في عام 1937 – فشلت. علاوةً على ذلك، فإن الانفصال هو فكرة غير أخلاقية ومستحيلة، إذ يجب تطوير الخطاب والسياسة الثنائية القومية بدلاً من ذلك (بثنائية القومية لا نعني بالضرورة دولة ثنائية القومية). في مواجهة التاريخ، تعني ثنائية القومية في أذهاننا، أولاً وقبل كل شيء أمران رئيسيان 1) أن النكبة هي جزءٌ أساسي من التاريخ الإسرائيلي والصهيوني الذي يتعين على الإسرائيليين تحمل المسؤولية عنه، في حين أن المحرقة – بطريقة مختلفة تماماً – هي أيضاً جزءٌ من التاريخ الفلسطيني ذلك أنه لا يمكن تجنب تداعياتها المحلية وأهميتها العالمية. 2) لا يملك الإسرائيليون ولا يمكنهم السيطرة على خطاب التاريخ والذاكرة والصدمة. وفي حين يستلزم هذا الإطار المنطقي القائم على المساواة إنهاء الاستعمار ورفع جميع أشكال التفوّق والإمتيازات اليهودية الصهيونية، فلا بد أن يكون بالغ الدقة وأن يفسح المجال لكلا الصدمتين برفض تراتبية المعاناة. ونعتقد أن طريقة التفكير هذه تدعم بل ويجب أن تؤدي إلى مصالحة تاريخية وحلول سياسية ثنائية القومية تتحدى “الفصل.” لكن يعدّ هذا بطريقةٍ ما مشروعاً جماعياً اجتمع فيه كبار العلماء العرب واليهود والدوليين لاستكشاف إمكانية إنشاء لغة مشتركة لمناقشة هذه الصدمات معاً.

إلى جانب المُقدمة الرئيسية المؤطرة، ينقسم هذا الكتاب إلى أربعة أجزاء تقترح جميعها أشكالاً مثمرة من الإرتباطات بين المحرقة والنكبة. الجزء الأول مخصص لتحديد وفحص الموارد الفكرية والمفاهيمية التي تمكن صياغة تاريخية وسياسية جديدة يمكن من خلالها التفكير في المحرقة والنكبة معاً بشكلٍ بنّاء. في حين يركز الجزء الثاني من الكتاب على التحديات الناجمة عن الجمع بين المحرقة والنكبة في الروايات التاريخية المهيمنة ومنهجياتها والآراء الشهيرة. بينما يُعنى الجزء الثالث بالترحال واستخدامات الرموز والدلالات المرتبطة بالصدمات في العلاقة بين المحرقة والنكبة في الأدب والشعر والفنون. الجزء الرابع مكرّس لأحدث روايات إلياس خوري، أولاد الغيتو: إسمي آدم، الرواية الأولى من ثلاثيته. في هذا العمل متعدد المستويات، يواصل خوري مساهمته الأدبية المحفزّة للتفكير حول تشابك المصائب اليهودية والفلسطينية.

نُشر عرض كتاب “الهولوكوست والنكبة: قواعد جديدة للصدمة والتاريخ”  لأول مرة باللغة الإنجليزية على ترافو- بلوج للدراسات عبر الأقاليم https://trafo.hypotheses.org/16427 في 19 يونيو 2019، ويتم إعادة نشره بموافقة المؤلفين والمنتدى للدراسات عبر الأقاليم في برلين.

المحرران:

  • بشير بشير بروفيسور زميل في قسم العلوم الاجتماعية والعلوم السياسية والإعلام في الجامعة المفتوحة في إسرائيل وزميل أبحاث مرموق في معهد فان لير في القدس.
  • عاموس غولدبيرغ بروفيسور زميل في قسم تاريخ الشعب اليهودي واليهوديّة المعاصرة، ويترأس معهد أبحاث اليهودية المعاصرة في الجامعة العبرية في القدس.

ملاحظة

الآراء الواردة في هذا المقال تعبّر عن آراء الكاتب (الكتّاب)، وليس المقصود منها التعبير عن آراء أو وجهات نظر فَنَك أو مجلس تحريرها.

إقرأ المزيد

يقوم موقع فنك بسبر أغوار هذا النزاع الطويل لتزويد القارئ بنظرةٍ م...
المستوطنات عبارة عن مجتمعات يهودية إسرائيلية مقامة على أراضٍ احت...
إسرائيل، بدورها، لن تكون قادرةً على الطعن في قرار المحكمة الجنائي...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: John MACDOUGALL ©AFP | John MACDOUGALL ©AFP | AHMAD GHARABLI ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / The Holocaust and the Nakba: Intersecting Traumas

The Holocaust and the Nakba: Intersecting Traumas

Holocaust
A visitor walks through the cement steles of the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe (Holocaust Memorial) in Berlin on October 26, 2019. Photo: John MACDOUGALL / AFP

Book Title: The Holocaust and the Nakba: A New Grammar of Trauma and History. New York: Columbia University Press, 2018.

By: Bashir Bashir and Amos Goldberg

The Holocaust and the Nakba were very painful and traumatic events in Jewish and Palestinian history. Both events, which differ in nature and in degree, have had a decisive impact on the subsequent history, consciousness, and identities of the two peoples. The Holocaust has become a central component of Jewish identity, particularly since the late 1970s and the 1980s, in Israel and around the world. The Nakba and its persisting consequences have become a crucial part of Palestinian and Arab identities since 1948.

For the Palestinians, the Nakba is not merely about their defeat, their ethnic cleansing from Palestine, and the loss of their homeland, nor even about having become a people living predominantly as refugees outside their land and as a fragmented minority living under occupation in their own land. The Nakba also represents the destruction of hundreds of villages and urban neighborhoods, along with the cultural, economic, political, and social fabric of the Palestinian people. It is the violent and irreparable disruption of the modern development of Palestinian culture, society, and national consciousness. It is the ongoing colonization of Palestine that continues to the present through colonial practices and polices like Jewish settlements, illegal land acquisition, imposing siege on Gaza, and the evacuation of villages.

The Holocaust was an extreme genocide in which five and a half to six million Jews were murdered by the Germans and by others during World War II in harsh persecutions, shootings, and gas chambers (during the same period many millions of people from other targeted communities and ethnic groups, such as Roma and Sinti, Poles, homosexuals, communists, Soviet prisoners of war, political dissidents, and the disabled, were also exterminated). It ended in 1945 with the defeat of Nazi Germany, but its occurrence, memory, and ramifications substantially changed the course of Jewish history and Jewish consciousness in general. A rich civilization was largely destroyed within a short period of time. In place of Europe, two other Jewish centers, one in Palestine (which in 1948 became the State of Israel) and the other in the United States, took central stage.

The struggle between Jews and Arabs over Palestine did not begin in the mid-twentieth century, the period of the Holocaust and the Nakba, but rather in the late nineteenth century, with the founding of the Zionist movement and the modern Jewish settlement in Palestine. There is no doubt, however, that the events of the 1930s and 1940s greatly altered the fate of the two groups and their consciousness with regard to themselves and with regard to the conflict between them. Neither the Holocaust nor the Nakba represents the totality of Jewish or Palestinian identity in the early twenty-first century; however, both are central, perhaps even crucial, components in the collective identity and consciousness of each of the two peoples. The Holocaust for Jews and the Nakba for Palestinians (and many Arabs) are what the historian Alon Confino termed “foundational pasts,” or what the social psychologist Vamik Volkan called “chosen traumas.” Both are thus national identities in which the dimension of catastrophe and trauma play a central role and in which the national narrative revolves largely around motifs of victimhood and loss.

Nakba
Artists prepare figurines representing Palestinian refugees in Jerusalem’s Al-Hoash art gallery for Jane Frere’s exhibition marking the “Nakba” on May 12, 2008. Photo: AHMAD GHARABLI / AFP

The Zionist and Palestinian mainstream national narratives are very different, to be sure, although they do share a remarkably similar syntax and grammar. One trait common to both dominant historical narratives is that each relies—alongside the adoption of a foundational catastrophe—on the simultaneous and forceful negation (explicit or implicit) of the catastrophe of the other. In this sense, they are narratives based on binary opposition, characteristic of structuralist semiotics. Each side is convinced that they are history’s ultimate victim, while denying or downplaying the suffering of the other side in order to validate their own claim.

The aim of this book is to mitigate and challenge the dichotomy between these two mainstream narratives. It seeks to transcend the binary, dichotomous confines that these national narratives impose on history, memory, and identity in order to consider the two narratives together. We propose another register of history and memory—one that honors the uniqueness of each event, its circumstances and consequences, as well as their differences, but also offers a common historical and conceptual framework within which both narratives may be addressed. We are suggesting a wholly different syntax and grammar of history and memory, in which the combination of “Holocaust and Nakba” or “Nakba and Holocaust” makes historical, cultural, and political sense.

We believe that the dichotomous, exclusive worldview offered by the traditional national narratives, although deeply rooted and a powerful force in the shaping of the oppositional national identities of Jews and Palestinians, is historically flawed and ethically and politically damaging. We have thus sought to transcend such exclusive national syntax—on the symbolic plane of national and historical narratives, on the one hand, but also (and no less importantly) on the ethico-political plane pertaining to the realization of the individual and collective rights of both peoples. In this sense, this book is intended, in the words of Walter Benjamin, “to brush history against the grain.” Although Benjamin’s words have become somewhat hackneyed, in this case they are entirely apt, offering a precise description of what we have sought to do in the present volume.

Politically speaking, we think that the idea of “separation/partition”—the dominant paradigm for discussing Israel/Palestine since the Peel Commission in 1937—failed. Moreover, separation is an immoral and impossible idea; binational politics and discourse should be developed instead. (By binational, we do not necessarily mean a binational state). In encountering history, binationalism means to our mind, first and foremost two major things 1) that the Nakba is a fundamental part of Israeli and Zionist history for which Israelis have to take responsibility, while the Holocaust is—in a very different way—also a part of Palestinian history because its local consequences and its global significance could not be avoided. 2) The Israelis do not own and cannot dominate the discourse of history, memory and trauma. While this egalitarian discursive framework entails decolonization and the dismantling of all forms of Jewish Zionist supremacy and privileges, it has to be sensitive and to make room for both traumas rejecting hierarchies of suffering. This way of thinking, we believe, supports and should even lead to historical reconciliation and binational political solutions that defy “separation”. But this is in a way a group project in which leading Arab, Jewish, and international scholars came together to explore the possibility of creating a shared language for discussing these traumas together.

Besides the main, framing introduction, this book is divided into four parts, all of which propose productive forms of engagement between the Holocaust and Nakba. The first part is devoted to identifying and examining the intellectual and conceptual resources that enable a new historical and political syntax in which the Holocaust and the Nakba can be thought together constructively. The book’s second part focuses on the challenges posed from bringing the Holocaust and Nakba together to dominant accounts of history and their celebrated methodologies and voices. The third part of the book is concerned with the travel and deployment of traumatic signifiers and symbols in the connection between the Holocaust and the Nakba in literature, poetry, and the arts. The fourth part is dedicated to Elias Khoury’s most recent novel, Children of the Ghetto: My Name Is Adam, the first of a trilogy. In this multilayered work, Khoury continues his thought-provoking and inspiring literary contribution on the entanglement of the Jewish and the Palestinian catastrophes.

About the Writers

This review of the book “The Holocaust and the Nakba: A New Grammar of Trauma and History” appeared first in English on 19. June 2019 on TRAFO – Blog for Transregional Research https://trafo.hypotheses.org/16427 and is republished with the consent of the authors and the Berlin-based Forum Transregionale Studien.”

  • Bashir Bashir is an associate professor at the Department of Sociology, Political Science, and Communication at the Open University of Israel and a senior research fellow at the Van Leer Jerusalem Institute.
  • Amos Goldberg is an associate professor of Jewish History at the Department of Jewish History and Contemporary Jewry at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Disclaimer

The opinions expressed in this article are those of the writer(s). They do not purport to reflect the opinions or views of Fanack or its Board of Editors.

Further reading

Fanack presents in-depth insight into several topics concerning the conflict, including Arab-Israeli negotiations, Arab-...
Settlements are Jewish-Israeli communities established on territories that Israel occupied during the 1967 June War. The...
Israel would, in turn, not be able to appeal the ICC’s decision as it is not a member of the court. Whether a third pa...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: John MACDOUGALL ©AFP | John MACDOUGALL ©AFP | AHMAD GHARABLI ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!