فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تونس / وُجوه / المغنية ومؤلفة الأغاني آمال المثلوثي: “فيروز جيلها”

المغنية ومؤلفة الأغاني آمال المثلوثي: “فيروز جيلها”

في 11 ديسمبر 2015، جلس آلاف التونسيين متسمرين أمام شاشات التلفزيون، والدموع تنهمر على خدودهم والفخر يملأ قلوبهم، بينما كانوا يشاهدون آمال المثلوثي تغني “كلمتي حرّة” في حفل تقديم جائزة نوبل للسلام في أوسلو. حظي أداؤها بتصفيقٍ حار من الجمهور وثناء الصحافة الدولية، التي وصفتها بـ”المميزة” و”الرائعة.”

فمن هي آمال المثلوثي؟ وكيف تمكنت فتاةٌ من ضواحي تونس من تحقيق شهرةٍ عالمية؟

بدأت آمال، المولودة في 11 يناير 1982، الغناء في سن الخامسة عشرة، حيث أسست فرقة لموسيقى الهيفي ميتال، وهي من أشد المعجبين بهذا النوع الموسيقي فضلاً عن امتلاكها لأحبال صوتية قوية، في سن التاسعة عشرة. وبعد بضع سنوات، أصبحت ناشطة سياسياً حيث كان مغنون ناشطون في المجال الحقوقي أمثال جوان بيز، مُلِهميها.

في عام 2004، انفصلت آمال عن الفرقة وبدأت بكتابة أغانٍ سياسية، حيث أوصلتها أغنيتها الشهيرة “يا تونس يا مسكينة” إلى نهائيات جائزة راديو مونت كارلو “موين أورينت” الموسيقية، وهي مسابقة فرنسية للمواهب الشابة في الشرق الأوسط.

بعد ذلك بعامين، منعت الحكومة التونسية بث أغانيها في الإذاعة والتلفزيون، مما دفعها إلى الإنتقال إلى فرنسا. وعلى الرغم من الحظر، انتشرت فيديوهات عروضها في فرنسا على الإنترنت، مما جعلها أكثر شعبية باعتبارها “الفاكهة المحرمة.”

جذبت آمال انتباه الرأي العام على نطاقٍ واسع خلال ثورة الياسمين في تونس في عام 2011، عندما أسقطت الاحتجاجات الشعبية في نهاية المطاف الدكتاتور منذ فترةٍ طويلة، زين العابدين بن علي، وأشعلت فتيل ما يسمى بالربيع العربي في العديد من البلدان الأخرى في المنطقة.

سرعان ما أصبحت أغانيها نشيداً للثورة، ولا سيما أغنية “كلمتي حرّة،” وهي مزيجٌ من الإيقاع الإلكتروني والإيقاعات التقليدية، التي غنتها على مسرحٍ مرتجل في شارع الحبيب بورقيبة “ساحة الثورة،” في 22 يناير من العام نفسه.

إنتشر فيديو أدائها كالنار في الهشيم وأدى في النهاية إلى ظهورها في حفل توزيع جائزة نوبل للسلام لعام 2015، والتي ذهبت إلى اللجنة الرباعية للحوار الوطني التونسي لإسهامها الحاسم في بناء ديمقراطية تعددية في تونس في أعقاب ثورة الياسمين.

سرعان ما اكتسبت شهرةً عالمية وبدأت بتقديم الحفلات في جميع أنحاء العالم: في مصر والعراق وبلجيكا وفرنسا والمملكة المتحدة، حيث حظيت بإشادة كبيرة من النقاد أينما ذهبت، بما في ذلك التصفيق الحار من روّاد مهرجان سفينكس في بلجيكا بعد أن غنت نسختها من أغنية هالالويا للمغني ليونارد كوهين.

وفي عام 2013، وبعد أول حفلٍ لها في القاهرة منذ الثورة المصرية، وصفتها بوابة الأهرام بـ”فيروز جيلها.” كما اكتسبت شهرةً واسعة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا بمناصرتها للقضية الفلسطينية، بل إنها كتبت أغنيةً حملت عنوان “مولود في فلسطين.”

رفضت السلطات الإسرائيلية السماح لها بدخول رام الله في عام 2010، لذا غنت أمام كاميرا في الأردن وبثت العرض للجمهور في مسرح في رام الله. كما ألغت مشاركتها في مهرجان بوب كالتشر في برلين عام 2017، بعد اكتشافها أن المهرجان برعاية السفارة الإسرائيلية.

ولكن لكل نجاحٍ وجهٌ آخر، ففي مارس 2013، وفي أعقاب اغتيال الناشط التونسي شكري بلعيد، قامت آمال بتسجيل أغنية تحيةً له بعنوان “ما قتلو حد،” والتي ترجمتها إلى “من قتله” على موقعها الإلكتروني الرسمي، مما شكل بداية انفصالها عن الجمهور التونسي، الذي كان يعتز بها في السابق.

حظيت الأغنية بتعليقات سلبية على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، إذ كان هناك تعليقات قاسية مثل “هل آمال المثلوثي جاستين بيبر تونس؟” فقد اعتبرت الأغنية ضعيفة من الناحية الفنية. شهدت الإنتقادات تراجع شعبيتها في مهرجان قرطاج الدولي في تونس عام 2017، ولكن بفضل دعم الجماهير والصحافة المحلية، عادت لأمجادها السابقة.

على الرغم من هذه الإنتكاسات، تواصل آمال ازدهارها الفني وتكريس فنها للقضايا السياسية، كما ذكرت في مقابلةٍ لها مع مجلة Okay Africa: “لا يزال يتعين علينا الشعور بألم الآخرين. هذا هو أساس عدم خضوعنا للتجرد من الإنسانية. هذه هي نقطتي الأساسية. لهذا هي سياسية. أنا أكره كلمة سياسية اليوم أكثر من أي وقتٍ مضى لأنها قذرة جداً. يجب أن يجد الفن تعريفاً جديداً للقتال، ليرتبط به. أعتقد أن فني سيكون دوماً معنياً بالأمر. أشعر براحة أكبر بإضافة هذا [المصطلح] لفني من إضافة مصطلح سياسي.”

تعيش آمال اليوم في هارلم في نيويورك، حيث تقول إن لديها “حدود فنية أقل للتعبير عن فنها بشكلِ كامل.” وهي متزوجة من أميركي يعمل مؤلفاً لخطابات الأمم المتحدة ولديها ابنة صغيرة. واليوم، بعمر الـ36، تواصل صعودها وتستكشف المزيد من المسارات التجريبية والسوداوية.

فقد كان ألبومها الثاني، إنسان، الذي صدر في عام 2017، جهداً تعاونياً مع الفنانة الآيسلندية بيورك، الذي وصفته بأنه “رحلة داخل عقلي وروحي،” كما هو واضح في أول أغاني الألبوم “إنسان ضعيف،” التي أهدتها إلى “الأشخاص الذين يضطرون إلى تحمّل العبء وخوض الصراعات لتنعم نسبة صغيرة جداً منهم بالسلطة.”

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ ODD ANDERSEN

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Tunisia / Faces / Tunisian Singer-songwriter Emel Mathlouthi, ‘the Fairuz of Her Generation’

Tunisian Singer-songwriter Emel Mathlouthi, ‘the Fairuz of Her Generation’

On 11 December 2015, thousands of Tunisians sat glued to their televisions, tears running down their cheeks and pride filling their hearts, as they watched Emel Mathlouthi perform ‘‘Kelmti Horra’’ (‘My Word is Free’) at the Nobel Peace Prize award ceremony in Oslo. Her performance earned loud applause from the audience and praise in the international press, which described her as ‘outstanding’ and ‘just magnificent’.

So, who is Emel Mathlouthi? And how did a girl from the suburbs of Tunis achieve global fame?

Born on 11 January 1982, Mathlouthi started singing at the age of 15. A huge fan of heavy metal and blessed with powerful vocal chords, she formed a metal band at the age of 19. A few years later, she became politically active and was deeply inspired by engaged artists like Joan Baez.

She quit the band and began writing political songs in 2004. One of the best known is ‘Ya Tounes Ya Meskina’ (‘Poor Tunisia’), which in 2006 took her to the finals of RMC Moyen-Orient Musique, a French competition for young Middle Eastern talent.

Two years later, the Tunisian government banned her songs from radio and TV, instigating her move to France. Despite the ban, bootlegs of her performances in France circulated on the internet, earning her even more popularity as a ‘forbidden fruit’.

She gained widespread public attention during Tunisia’s Jasmine Revolution in 2011, when popular protests eventually toppled longtime dictator Zine el-Abidine Ben Ali and sparked the so-called Arab Spring in many other countries in the region.

Her songs quickly became anthems for the revolution, particularly ‘Kelmti Horra’, a mix of electronica and traditional rhythms, which she sang on an improvised stage on Habib Bourguiba avenue, ‘the revolution arena’, on 22 January the same year.

The video of her performance when viral and eventually led to her appearance at the award ceremony of the 2015 Nobel Peace Prize, which went to the Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet for its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the Jasmine Revolution.

She quickly rose to international fame and began giving concerts worldwide: Egypt, Iraq, Belgium, France, United Kingdom. She received critical acclaim everywhere she went, including a standing ovation at the Sfinks Festival in Belgium for her cover of Leonard Cohen’s ‘Hallelujah’.

In 2013, following her first concert in Cairo since the Egyptian revolution, Ahram Online proclaimed her ‘‘the Fairuz of her generation’. She also gained popularity throughout the MENA region by supporting the Palestinian cause, even writing a song called ‘‘Naci en Palestina’ (‘I was born in Palestine’). The Israeli authorities refused to let her enter Ramallah to perform in 2010, so she sang in front of a camera in Jordan and broadcast the performance to the audience in a theatre in Ramallah. She also cancelled her appearance at the Pop-Kultur Festival in Berlin in 2017, after finding out it was sponsored by the Israeli embassy.

But every success has a flip side. In March 2013, following the assassination of the Tunisian activist Chokri Belaid, Mathlouthi recorded a tribute song called ‘‘Ma Katlou Had’’ (literally ‘No One Killed Him’ but which she translated as ‘Who Killed Him’ on her official website), marking the beginning of her break with the Tunisian public, which had previously cherished her.

The song received negative attention on social networks and generated harsh comments such as, ‘Is Emel Mathlouthi the Tunisian Justin Bieber?’ The song was considered artistically bad. The criticism saw her dropped from the line-up of the 2017 Carthage international Festival in Tunisia. With public and local media support, however, she was reinstated.

Despite these setbacks, Mathlouthi continues to thrive professionally and dedicate her art to political causes, as she stated in an interview for Okay Africa. “We have to still feel the pain of others. That’s the basis of us not going towards dehumanization. That’s my big point. So that’s political. I just hate the word political today more than ever because it’s so dirty. Art has to find a new definition to fight, to be associated with. I think that my art is always going to be concerned. I feel more comfortable adding [that term] to my art than adding the term political.”

Mathlouthi now lives in Harlem, New York where she says she has “fewer artistic boundaries to fully express her art”. She is married to an American who is a speechwriter for the United Nations and has a young daughter. Now 36, she continues her ascent and is exploring more experimental and melancholic paths.

Her second album, Ensen, released in 2017, was a collaborative effort involving artists such as Björk. She describes it as “a trip into my psyche and soul”, as is evident from the first single off the album ‘Ensen Dhaif’ (‘Weak Person’), which is dedicated to the “people that have to carry the weight and all the struggles so that a very small percentage can enjoy the power”.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ODD ANDERSEN

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.