فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تونس / وُجوه / الزعيم غير المتوقع: الرجل الذي لم يقدم أي وعودٍ إنتخابية يصبح رئيس تونس

الزعيم غير المتوقع: الرجل الذي لم يقدم أي وعودٍ إنتخابية يصبح رئيس تونس

kais saied
Photo: FETHI BELAID / AFP ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

إذا ما كان هناك شخصٌ يستحق جائزة الاكتشاف التونسي لهذا العام، فهو دون أدنى شك قيس سعيّد، الذي انتخب رئيساً للبلاد في 13 أكتوبر 2019.

فقد “أُختُرع” أستاذ القانون السابق البالغ من العمر 61 عاماً والمختص بالقانون الدستوري من قِبل الشباب التونسي كمرشحٍ رئاسي ملائم، وتحول سعيّد من دخيلٍ محافظٍ مستقل ليجسد المسؤولية ضد الفساد والسياسيين المتعطشيين للسلطة وغيرها من “الأوبئة” التي تنخر الديمقراطيات الليبرالية.

حصل على نسبة 18,4% من الأصوات في الجولة الأولى من الانتخابات التي بلغت نسبة إقبالها 49%، لكنه فاز في الجولة الثانية من الانتخابات بأغلبية ساحقة، ليظفر بما نسبته 72,71% من الأصوات، بأرقام مطلقة تقريباً ضعف سلفه الباجي قائد السبسي، بنسبة إقبال بلغت 58%.

وبتجاهله جميع قواعد الحملات الانتخابية في العصر الحديث، سيصنع المبتدىء السياسي، الملقب بـ”روبوكوب” أو الرجل الآلي بسبب جديته وصرامته، التاريخ بكل بُدّ باعتباره مرشحاً لا يتبع أي حزب ودون برنامجٍ إنتخابي أو حتى ميزانية.

“كنت وسأظل وسأبقى مستقلاً دوماً وأنا لم أخض حملةً إنتخابية بل حملةً توضيحية،” على حد تعبير سعيّد في مقابلةٍ له مع فرانس 24. وأضاف “هؤلاء، وبخاصة الشباب، الذين صوتوا لي يفهمون أنّا دخلنا حقبةً جديدة.”

ولد سعيّد في 22 فبراير 1958 في مدينة بني خيار الساحلية الشمالية الشرقية، وهو ابن موظف حكومي، حيث حصل على درجة علمية عليا في القانون الدولي العام من جامعة تونس (1985) ودبلوم من الأكاديمية الدولية للقانون الدستوري في تونس ودبلوم المعهد الدولي للقانون الإنساني في إيطاليا (1986). بدأ مسيرته المهنية في تدريس القانون بجامعة سوسة عام 1986، ثم تبعه بمنصبٍ في جامعة تونس من عام 1999 إلى حين تقاعده في عام 2018.

وبحسب ما قاله أحد زملاء سعيّد السابقين في جامعة تونس لنا في فَنَك، “في صفوفنا، لطالما تمتع قيس بسمعة كونه شخصاً حازماً ويتعذر تغييره،” وتابع “نعلم جميعنا أنه لم يحصل على درجة الدكتوارة لأنه رفض استكمال بعض التعديلات البسيطة التي طلبها فاحصيه.”

جمع سعيّد بين عمله الأكاديمي والعديد من مناصب اللجان في مجال القانون الدستوري. انخرط في السياسة لأول مرة في عام 2011، عندما شارك في اعتصامات ساحة القصبة التي أطاحت بحكومة ما بعد الثورة المؤقتة المؤلفة من وزراء من النظام القديم. وبصفته أحد الشخصيات الرائدة في القانون الدستوري، اشتهر بمداخلاته وتعليقاته المنتظمة لكلٍ من وسائل الإعلام المطبوعة والإذاعية.

وفي هذا الصدد، قالت مديرة مركز الأبحاث المستقل، مؤسسة ياسمين، تسنيم الشريشي لفَنَك “يجسد سعيّد النمط الأصيل للمواطن التونسي المثالي.” وأضافت “لطالما أولى التونسيون أهميةً كبيرة للخلفية الأكاديمية.”

بينما قال الفيلسوف يوسف صديق في مقابلة إذاعية: “لأول مرة في تاريخهم، لن يحكم التونسيون شخصية أبوية، بل ما يشبه الأخ أكبر، واحد من المواطنين.”

فقد وصف سعيّد، الذي تشكّل سياسياً في الأيام التي أعقبت الإطاحة بالديكتاتور زين العابدين بن علي، مراراً وتكراراً ممثلي الديمقراطية التونسية بعدم تماشيهم مع العصر والأحزاب السياسية بالأحزاب التي عفا عليها الزمن. “يمكن الوثوق بالشعب التونسي ليحكم نفسه،” بحسب ما قاله للمجلة الفرنسية جون أفريك في الفترة التي سبقت الانتخابات في سبتمبر 2019، “وتتمثل مهمتي بتزويدهم بالأدوات اللازمة.”

في مايو 2011، عندما أشاد معظم التونسيين بأول قانون انتخابي بعد الثورة باعتباره انتصاراً ديمقراطياً، توقع سعيّد وعدة أشخاص آخرين إعادة ترتيب الديكتاتورية. وفي عام 2016، تم إنشاء شبكة “مؤسسون” عبر صفحةٍ على موقع فيسبوك لدعم هذه الفكرة. منذ ذلك الحين، كانت مجموعة متزايدة من الأعضاء تمهد الطريق للإنتقال إلى شكلٍ من أشكال الديمقراطية المباشرة.

“تخيل نمواً عضوياً، شفهياً، لعصابة من المتحمسين،” كما أوضح قيس قروي، المتخصص في تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات وعضو الشبكة، لفَنَك. وأضاف “كان قيس سعيّد الأكثر نشاطاً، طرق جميع الأبواب دون كلل، وكان يتردد على المناطق الفقيرة حيث نادراً ما يأتي السياسيون.”

يدافع سعيّد وشكبته عن إحياء المجالس المحلية، التي انبثقت بشكلٍ عفوي خلال ثورة عام 2011، في كل تفويض، حيث سيتم إنتخاب أعضائها عن طريق نظام تصويت الأكثرية وستكون مدة ولايتهم قابلة للإلغاء. كما سيمثلهم أحد الأعضاء، الذي يتم سحب اسمه بالقرعة، على المستوى الإقليمي.

ثم تنتخب المجالس الإقليمية ممثليها على المستوى المركزي، بحيث تتألف من 276 نائباً بدلاً من 217 نائباً في الوقت الحالي، لتعكس بشكلٍ أفضل الرغبات المحلية. يتوقع خليل عباس، الباحث في علم الاجتماع وعضو في شبكة “مؤسسون،” حدوث صدام بين الشعب التونسي والبرلمان على المدى المتوسط. “أنا متأكد من أن الأحزاب السياسية ستعارض مشروعنا، [بحجة أن] تبنيه [سيكون] بمثابة انتحار. لكن سعيّد مدعوم من المواطن. وبالاعتماد على الأصوت، يتمتع الرئيس بشرعية أكبر من جميع الأحزاب السياسية مجتمعة.”

أثرت لقاءات سعيّد مع الشباب في المناطق المهمشة، بؤرة ثورة 2011، على أفكاره حول الديمقراطية. “أنا لا أقدم أي وعود؛ سئم التونسيون من الوعود. أريد مخاطبة عقولهم،” صرحّ في المناظرة الرئاسية التي بثها التلفزيون قبل يومين من الجولة الثانية من التصويت. وأضاف “أتذكر التونسيين في القصرين ومكتر وماجل بلعباس. كانوا قادة المناقشات، والأشخاص الذين يحملون أفكاراً وخططاً وبرامج. يفكر هؤلاء المواطنون في حلول لخلق الثروة في منطقتهم.”

كما واصل انتقاد تطبيق القانون بشكلٍ تعسفي، والافتقار إلى الاستقلال القضائي والتشكيك في السيادة الوطنية، معبراً عن أهم ثلاث نقاط على قائمة الناخبين.

في حين قال لطفي حمدي، أحد أصحاب المشاريع الاجتماعية، في رسالةٍ وجهها عبر فيديو نشره على الفيسبوك بعد إدلائه بصوته “اخترت تونس بظلمٍ اجتماعي أقل، وعدم مساواةٍ أقل، ونظام قضائي عادل. بلدٌ يمكننا أن نتطور فيه في مناخٍ أكثر هدوءاً تضمنه دولة أكثر مسؤولية،” معبراً بذلك عن أصوات الغالبية العظمى من مؤيدي سعيّد.

من الناحية العملية، تجاهل حمدي وغيره ممن يطلق عليهم “الليبراليين” حجج سعيد المثيرة للجدل المؤيدة لعقوبة الإعدام والمناهضة لحقوق المثليين وحقوق المساواة في الميراث للنساء. وفي هذا الصدد قال عباس، “يعكس سعيّد قيم التيار السائد في تونس.”

بينما كان آخرون أقل توافقاً، إذ قال الناشط المثلي والمحامي منير بعطور لموقع franceinfo Afrique، “يعاني سعيّد من رهاب المثلية الجنسية، وكراهية النساء، وكراهية الأجانب، هو شخص جاهل. إنه شخص متوحد تقريباً. يشكل هذا خطراً كبيراً على الديمقراطية في تونس!”.

من جهته اعترف عباس بالقول، “هناك بعض التنوع في وجهات النظر داخل شبكتنا بشأن هذه القضايا.” وأضاف “لن نتردد في إدراجها على جدول الأعمال. قيس سعيّد الأكثر توازناً واعتدالاً بيننا، وبالتالي الأكثر “رئاسة،” لكنه ليس “زعيم” شبكتنا.”

وعلى الرغم من عيوبه السياسية – خاصة افتقاره إلى الخبرة – أثبت سعيّد أنه سيد التوقيت السياسي. “قررنا تخطي الانتخابات الرئاسية لعام 2014 لأن سياستنا حددتها قضايا الهوية في السنوات الأولى بعد الثورة،” بحسب قول مناصر سعيّد، قروي. وأضاف “جاءت اللحظة الحاسمة بعد انتخابات 2014 عندما تشبث صبي، أو مراهق، بسعيّد وسأله وهو يبكي،‘لمَ خنتنا؟‘ شعر قيس سعيّد بأنه توسلٌ يائس [وقرر الترشح للرئاسة].”

يمكن أن يزعم المتهكمون أن الصبي لن يصاب بخيبة أملٍ ذلك أن سعيّد لم يُقدم أي وعودٍ للناخبين خلال حملته “التوضيحية.” ومن الناحية الواقعية، لا يُفضي السياق السياسي في تونس إلى النجاح، ولكن بالنسبة لبعض الناخبين على الأقل، يعدّ انتخاب سعيّد بحد ذاته انتصاراً.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Tunisia / Faces / The Unlikely Leader: The Man Who Made No Campaign Promises Becomes Tunisia’s President

The Unlikely Leader: The Man Who Made No Campaign Promises Becomes Tunisia’s President

kais saied
Photo: FETHI BELAID / AFP ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

If there is one person eligible for the Tunisian discovery of the year award, it is Kais Saied, who was elected president of the country on 13 October 2019.

The 61-year-old constitutionalist and former law professor was ‘invented’ by Tunisia’s youth as a viable presidential candidate. From unclassifiable conservative outsider, Saied metamorphosed into the embodied response to corruption, power-hungry politicians and other ‘diseases’ afflicting liberal democracies.

He won 18.4 per cent of the vote in the first round of the elections that had a turnout of 49 per cent, but won the run-off by a landslide, taking 72.71 per cent of the vote, in absolute figures almost twice as much as his predecessor Beji Caid Essebsi, with a turnout of 58 per cent.

Ignoring all the rules of modern-day campaigning, the political novice, nicknamed ‘Robocop’ for his stiff and dour manner, will in all probability make history as the candidate without a party, a programme or a budget.

“I was, I am and I will always be independent and I did not run an election campaign but an explanatory campaign,” Saied said in an interview with France 24. “Those, and especially the youth, who voted for me understood that we’ve entered a new era.”

Born on 22 February 1958 in the north-eastern coastal city Beni Khiar as a son of a civil servant, Saied earned an advanced degree in public law from the University of Tunis (1985) and a diploma from the International Academy of Constitutional Law in Tunisia and the International Institute of Human Law in Italy (1986). He started his career teaching law at the University of Sousse in 1986, followed by a position at the University of Tunis from 1999 to his retirement in 2018.

“In our ranks, Kais Saied has a reputation for being uncompromising and inexorable,” a former colleague in Tunis told Fanack. “We all know he never got his PhD because he refused to complete some minor amendments asked by his examiners.”

Saied combined his academic work with several committee positions in the field of constitutional law. He first engaged with politics in 2011, when he participated in the Kasbah sit-ins that ousted the post-revolution interim government made up of ministers from the old regime. As a leading authority on constitutional law, he was a regular commentator for both print and broadcast media.

“Saied personifies the archetype of the ideal Tunisian citizen,” Tasnim Chrichi, the director of independent think tank The Jasmine Foundation, told Fanack. “Tunisians have always attached great importance to academic background.”

“For the first time in their history, Tunisians will not be ruled by a paternal figure but by a sort of ‘older brother’, a fellow citizen,” philosopher Youssef Sedick said in a radio interview.

Politically shaped in the days following the overthrow of autocrat Zine el-Abidine Ben Ali, Saied repeatedly called Tunisia’s representative democracy anachronistic and political parties obsolete. “The Tunisian people can be trusted to govern themselves. And It’s my job to provide them with the necessary tools,” he told French magazine Jeune Afrique in the run-up to the elections in September 2019.

In May 2011, when most Tunisians were hailing the first post-revolutionary electoral law as a democratic victory, Saied and several others predicted a remake of the dictatorship. In 2016, the Mouassissoun (‘founders’) network was created via a Facebook page to support this idea. Since then, a growing group of members has been preparing the ground for a switch to a form of direct democracy.

“Imagine an organic growth, by word of mouth, of a gang of enthusiasts,” Kais Karoui, an ICT specialist and member of the network, explained to Fanack. “Kais Saied was the most vigorous, went tirelessly door to door and frequented underprivileged areas where politicians seldom come.”

Saied and his network advocate a revitalization of local assemblies, which emerged spontaneously during the 2011 revolution, in each delegation. Their members would be elected via a first-past-the-post voting system and their terms of office would be revocable. One of their members, drawn by lot, would represent them at the regional level.

The regional councils would then elect their representatives at the central level, to be composed of 276 deputies instead of the current 217, to better reflect local wishes. Khalil Abbess, a sociological researcher and Mouassissoun member, predicts a clash between the Tunisian people and parliament in the medium term. “I am sure political parties will oppose our project, [arguing that] adopting [it] would be suicidal. But Saied is backed by the citizenry. Counted in votes, the president has more legitimacy than all the political parties together,” he said.

Saied’s meetings with young people in the marginalized regions, the epicentre of the 2011 revolution, affected his ideas on democracy. “I don’t make promises; Tunisians are tired of promises. I want to talk to their minds,” he stated in the televised presidential debate two days before the second round of voting. “I remember the Tunisians in Kasserine, Makther, Majel Bouabbes. They were the leaders in the debates, the people with ideas, plans, programmes. Those citizens are thinking about solutions to create wealth in their own region.”

He went on to criticize the arbitrary law enforcement, lack of judicial independence and disbelief in national sovereignty, articulating voters’ top three concerns.

“I chose a Tunisia with less social injustice, less inequality and a fair justice system. A country in which we can develop in a more peaceful climate guaranteed by a more responsible state,” social entrepreneur Lotfi Hamdi said in a video message on Facebook after casting his vote, echoing the vast majority of Saied’s supporters.

Pragmatically, Hamdi and other so-called ‘liberals’ shrugged aside Saied’s controversial arguments in favour of the death penalty and against LGBTQ+ rights and equal inheritance rights for women. “Saied mirrors the values of mainstream Tunisia,” said Abbass.

Others were less accommodating. “Saied is homophobic, misogynous, xenophobic, ignorant. He’s almost autistic. This is a very great danger to democracy in Tunisia!” said LGBTQ+ activist and lawyer Mounir Baatour to franceinfo Afrique.

“There is some diversity of viewpoints within our network about these issues,” Abbass acknowledged. “We won’t hesitate to place them on the agenda. Kais Saied is the most balanced and mediagenic of us, and hence the most ‘presidential’, but not ‘the leader’ of our network.”

Despite his political shortcomings – notably his lack of experience – Saied has proven he is a master of political timing. “We decided to skip the 2014 presidential elections because our politics were defined by identity issues in the first years after the revolution,” Saied loyalist Karoui said. “The decisive moment came after the 2014 elections when there was a boy, a teenager, who clung to Saied and asked crying, ‘Why did you betray us?’ Kais Saied felt that as a desperate plea [and decided to run for president].”

Cynics could argue that the boy cannot be disappointed since Saied made voters no promises during his ‘explanatory’ campaign. Realistically, Tunisia’s political context is not conducive to success, but for some voters at least, Saied’s election is a victory in itself.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID | ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.