فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تونس / وُجوه / السلطة بأيدي الجيل الجديد؟ صعود نجم الأمل الرئاسي التونسي، يوسف الشاهد

السلطة بأيدي الجيل الجديد؟ صعود نجم الأمل الرئاسي التونسي، يوسف الشاهد

Tunisia- Youssef Chahed
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

تحيا تونس! كان العنوان الرئيسي الذي تصدر الصفحات الرئيسية للصحف التونسية في 27 يناير 2019.

تحيا تونس هو أيضاً اسم أجدد حزبٍ سياسي في تونس، الذي تأسس في مدينة منستير الساحلية من قِبل أعضاء سابقين في حزب نداء تونس الحاكم. ويعد الحزب بتوحيد الأحزاب العلمانية حول “مشروع ديمقراطي حديث لقيادة الأمة والتنافس مع الإسلاميين.”

ولا بد أن العديد من التونسيين شعروا بنوعٍ من الديجافو، إذ يبدو أن الحركة السياسية الجديدة، التي يقودها رئيس الوزراء يوسف الشاهد، كانت محاولة منسقة استراتيجياً بنسخةٍ محسنة من نداء تونس.

فقد خرجت الحركة من رحم عداءٍ بين جيلين سياسيين داخل الحزب الحاكم، يجسّدها المؤسس البالغ من العمر 92 عاماً، الباجي قائد السبسي، من جهة، والشاهد، البالغ من العمر 43 عاماً، المحمي السابق والمعيّن من قبل السبسي، من جهة أخرى.

في الوقت الراهن، يبدو المستقبل زاهياً جداً بالنسبة للزعيم الحكومي الطموح. فالشاهد، أصغر رئيس وزراء في تونس على الإطلاق، على استعدادٍ لتحويل الديناميكيات السياسية للبلاد.

فقد تخرج الشاهد، المتزوج وأب لإبنة واحدة، في عام 1998 من المعهد الوطني للعلوم الفلاحية في تونس، وفي عام 2003، حصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الاقتصاد الزراعي من نفس المعهد. قد تكون أطروحته للدكتوراه، التي تحمل عنوان “قياس تأثير تحرير التجارة الزراعية على التجارة والرفاهية،” قد أرست الأسس لتقلده منصباً في قسم الخدمات الزراعية الخارجية في السفارة الأمريكية في العاصمة تونس، حيث عمل كخبير في السياسات الزراعية. وكشفت وثيقتان كتبهما وظهرتا في الصحافة بعد أن أصبح رئيساً للوزراء في عام 2016 موقفاً واضحاً “بالود تجاه الولايات المتحدة،” مما أثار التلميحات في وسائل الإعلام بأنه مستعد لـ”بيع تونس.”

وفي مقابلةٍ تلفزيونية مع قناة التاسعة، وهي قناة تلفزيونية خاصة، في ديسمبر 2018، لخص الشاهد خلفية عائتله: “نشأت في عائلة دستورية، وأسس عمي حسيب بن عمار، الذي كان المدير السابق للحزب الحر الدستوري الجديد، الرابطة التونسية للدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان.” إلا أنه “نسي” على نحو عملي، ذكر جدته الناشطة النسائية الشهيرة، راضية الحداد (التي تم تسمية أحد شوارع وسط العاصمة تونس باسمها)، والمعروفة بأنها من أشد المنتقدين لمؤسس الحزب الحر الدستوي الجديد، وأول رئيس للبلاد ما بعد الاستقلال، الحبيب بورقيبة، الذي أعلن نفسه أيضاً مهندس “تونس الحديثة.”

ومع انتظاره ضمنياً الانتخابات الرئاسية والبرلمانية المقرر أجراؤها في أكتوبر وديسمبر 2019 على التوالي، هذا التلاعب الخلاق بالحقائق كان محاولةً من الشاهد لوسم نفسه كقائد يمكن للناخبين أن يعهدوا له بمشروع تونس الحداثي، على غرار الحزب الحر الدستوري الجديد، الحركة التاريخية وراء الصورة الذاتية لتونس التقدمية (الغربية).

ظهرت طموحات الشاهد السياسية في أعقاب الإطاحة بالزعيم زين العابدين بن علي في عام 2011. شارك الشاهد، المفعم بغبطة “كل شيء ممكن” من ذلك الوقت، بتأسيس الحزب الجمهوري الليبرالي/ الوسطي، مع صديقه وكاتم أسراره سليم العزابي، الذي أصبح اليوم الرئيس الصوري لتحيا تونس. ومع ذلك، قرر الرجل البراغماتي تغيير الحزب عندما بدا أن الحزب الجمهوري أكثر ضعفاً من أن ينافس النجم الصاعد، نداء تونس، الحزب الذي يسيطر عليه المشاهير السياسيون.

وعلى النقيض من صورته الخارجية المستقلة، استفاد الشاهد المستجد، على نحوٍ كبير، من شعار السبسي “أبقِها ضمن إطار العائلة،” الذي استنكره الشاهد بشدة فيما بعد. وعليه، قام السبسي، في محاولةٍ لوضع حدٍ للتنافسات المستمرة التي تعصف بالحزب، بترشيح وزير الخارجية المعين حديثاً، الشاهد، في عام 2015 كزعيم لجنةٍ “توافقية” للتوسط في صراع السلطة بين نائب الرئيس حافظ قائد السبسي (نجل الرئيس)، والأمين العام محسن مرزوق.

لربما لم يكن ذلك النجاح الذي أمله الشاهد وتوقعه، إذ أن 4 من أصل 13 عضواً انسحبوا من اللجنة، متهمين الشاهد بتفضيل الموالين للسبسي.

ومع ذلك، عين السبسي الشاهد رئيساً للوزراء في وقتٍ لاحق، في أعقاب الإطاحة بحبيب الصيد في تصويتٍ برلماني لسحب الثقة في 30 يوليو 2016. إن من شأن الصعود السياسي السريع للشاهد تحت جناح الرئيس تقويض مصداقيته السياسية للسنوات التالية.

الشاهد هو مشروع الرئيس، فهو من أوجده. في ذلك الوقت، أراد السبسي التخلص من حبيب الصيد، الذي بدأ عناده يصبح مزعجاً يوماً بعد يوم للقصر الرئاسي في قرطاج. وقال موقع ميدل ايست آي، الموقع الإخباري على الإنترنت، إنه لا يوجد خطر من هذا القبيل من أستاذٍ شاب في الاقتصاد الزراعي يعرف أكثر عن الأخشاب الفرنسية، حيث كان يدرس، عن ما يعرفه عن السياسة التونسية.

إلا أنه سرعان ما بدأ الإجماع المنشود بإظهار علاماتٍ على التوتر. فقد وجد الشاهد نفسه معزولاً كما يُقال مع تصدع علاقته بحافظ السبسي وظهور شكاويه من ممارسي عرقلة الأعمال السياسية داخل الحكومة والإدارة. باعتباره غريباً، انسحب الشاهد، الذي أظهر القليل من الصبر في ظل الحساسيات داخل نداء تونس وتأكيده مراراً وتكراراً أنه مضطر لتكريس جميع جهوده لمهامه كرئيس للوزراء، بعيداً عن خصومات الحزب المتعمقة وكافح من أجل الدفع بإصلاحاتٍ غير شعبية التي فرضها في الغالب صندوق النقد الدولي.

وبحسب ما قاله سليم خراط، المدير التنفيذي في البوصلة، وهي منظمة معروفة في المجتمع المدني، في مقابلةٍ مع ميدل إيست آي، “لم يجد الشاهد مكاناً له قط في نداء تونس؛ لم يتمكن من إثبات نفسه.”

في حين قدم رضوان مصمودي، مؤسس ورئيس مركز دراسة الإسلام والديمقراطية ومقره واشنطن، تفسيراً مختلفاً لفَنَك، إذ قال “أعتقد أنه أشار إلى أشخاص ينتمون للنظام القديم بالإضافة إلى “جماعات الضغط” أو لرجال الأعمال الفاسدين. هذا أمر طبيعي ومتوقع خلال فترة انتقالية من الديكتاتورية إلى الديمقراطية. أعتقد أنه يحاول بجد أكبر من أسلافه، منذ انتخابات 2014، لملاحقة الفساد والأفراد الفاسدين.”

كما أكدت مجموعة الأزمات الدولية وجهة النظر هذه في تقريرٍ نشر عام 2017، مشيرةً إلى “التأثير الخفي للنخبة الاقتصادية” في تونس الذين يعيقون قدرة الشاهد على تنفيذ الإصلاحات الضرورية.

انشق الشاهد في مايو 2017، بشنه “حرباً على الفساد.” إذ قال في ذلك الوقت، “في الحرب على الفساد، لا يوجد خيار. إما الفساد أو الدولة. إما الفساد أو تونس.” بدأت “الحرب” بالقبض على اثنين من رجال الأعمال والسياسيين البارزين المقربين من نداء تونس وحزب النهضة، أحد الأحزاب السياسية الرئيسية الأخرى، من بينهم شفيق جراية، حليف حافظ قائد السبسي ومتبرع هام لنداء تونس.

كان قراراً جريئاً، فقبل فترةٍ وجيزة، كتب موقع Maghreb Confidential، وهو موقع إخباري أفريقي، أن العديد من الشخصيات ذات النفوذ المشتبه في فسادهم في الحزب الحاكم كانوا يستعدون لاستبدال رئيس الوزراء بأحد وزرائه، فاضل عبد الكافي.

ومع ذلك، من حيث التسويق، حققت الحرب على الفساد، بما لا يدع مجالاً للشك، نجاحاً كبيراً، مما جعلته يكسب تأييدا شعبياً واسع النطاق ورفعت مكانة الشاهد باعتباره نجماً، حتى وإن لم يدم ذلك طويلاً.

لكن النقاد وصفوا الحملة بأنها مجرد وسيلة لصرف الانتباه عن الاضطرابات الاجتماعية في أجزاء كثيرة من البلاد، خاصة في المناطق ذات حقول النفط مثل تطاوين في الجنوب.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، فإن تعيين شخصيات مثيرة للجدل من النظام القديم، واعتماد قانون للمصالحة يمنح العفو للمسؤولين المتهمين بالفساد أثناء حكم بن علي وتأجيل الانتخابات المحلية قد أضر بمصداقية الشاهد كمحاربٍ للفساد.

كما قوبلت بعض قراراته الأخرى بالمعارضة، فعلى سبيل المثال، تم انتقاد إقالته لعبد الجليل بن سالم، وزير الشؤون الدينية، في نوفمبر 2016، لربطه بين الوهابية والإرهاب، راضخاً لإرادة المملكة العربية السعودية، حيث الوهابية هي دين الدولة.

تلى ذلك عدد محدود من حالات الإقالة “الاستراتيجية،” التي يفترض أنها ترضي أحد الحلفاء الملائمين أو غيرهم أو تقضي على الأعداء. ومن خلال إقالة وزير الخدمة المدنية والمسؤول السابق في الاتحاد العام التونسي للشغل القوي، في فبراير 2016، أدى الشاهد إلى تفاقم العلاقة المتوترة بالفعل مع النقابات.

وبحسب ما صرح به نور الدين الطبوبي، زعيم الاتحاد العام التونسي للشغل فصيح اللسان، في مارس 2018، “ما يجعل رئيس الوزراء جيداً هو أن يتسم بالواقعية، وله دراية كاملة بتحديد الأولويات وأن يكون صاحب تجربة في إدارة الشأن العام ومتمتعاً بالقدرة على تسيير وتوظيف قدرات فريق عمل حكومي متجانس.” تعكس كلماته إحباطاً عاماً بسبب المصاعب الاقتصادية والوعود التي لم يتم الوفاء بها. فقد اكتسب الشاهد سمعة “مجرد كلام دون أفعال.” كما أسفر تصميمه العنيد، على ما يبدو، على تنفيذ إصلاحات صندوق النقد الدولي إلى زيادة المعارضة داخل حزبه ومن الأحزاب اليسارية، التي وقفت إلى جانب النقابات.

وفي شهر مايو 2018، أعرب حافظ قائد السبسي عن قلقه من أن نتائج نداء تونس الضعيفة في الانتخابات المحلية سيكون لها تداعيات وخيمة على انتخابات 2019، وحثّ الشاهد، وهو أطول رئيس وزراء في تونس، على الإستقالة، مما أشعل أزمة حكومية غير مسبوقة واستقالة العشرات من برلماني نداء تونس. ثم قاموا بتشكيل “الائتلاف الوطني،” الحزب السابق لتحيا تونس.

الخلاف المستمر بين الشاهد وأنصار السبسي اشتعل غضباً ليتحول إلى حربٍ مفتوحة. ووفقاً لمجموعة الأزمات الدولية، توصل الرئيس وقادة نداء تونس وحزب النهضة بالفعل إلى اتفاق لتنحية الشاهد خلال صيف عام 2017.

وقال المحلل السياسي صلاح الدين الجورشي لصحيفة لاكروا الفرنسية “إنه صراع على الانتخابات المقبلة.” وأضاف “هذا منتشر في مصالح الجميع،” مكرراً الاتهامات من داخل وخارج نداء تونس بأن الشاهد يسيء استخدام منصبه لبناء حزبه السياسي الخاص.

“ليس صحيحاً،” هذا ما قاله صديق الشاهد، العزابي، عند إطلاق حزب تحيا تونس. “جميعنا ننتمي لنفس العائلة الديمقراطية والمتواضعة. لن يكون الحزب الجديد من القادة والأسماء البارزة،” في إشارةٍ إلى مزاعم المحسوبية الموجهة لأنصار السبسي.

أصاب الشاهد المستقل، منتهزاً فرصة الحكم الذاتي الدستوري الممنوح لرئيس الوزراء، كعب أخيل لدى السبسي.

فقد قال السبسي في مقابلة مع صحيفة Arab Weekly، “ينص الدستور التونسي على أن السلطة التنفيذية لها رئيسان: رئيس الجمهورية ورئيس الوزراء، لكل منهما امتيازاته الخاصة. يعدّ هذا جانباً سلبياً يحتاج إلى تعديل.”

أما فيما يتعلق بالعلاقة المفككة ما بين نداء تونس والشاهد، قال السبسي أن الأمر يتعلق برغبة الشاهد البقاء في السلطة.

ويبدو أن رئيس الوزراء الذي يعيش تسع حيوات قد قلب هذا الوضع لمصلحته الشخصية، حيث أظهر نفسه على أنه “وجه تونس الجديد.” كما أعلن وزير الفلاحة سمير الطيب في مقابلةٍ إذاعية: “سأصوت للشاهد عندما ينافس على الرئاسة،” لأنه “يمثل تجسيداً لمستقبل تونس وله مهمة واضحة لتونس.”

ويقول مؤيدو الشاهد ان قيادته لمكافحة الفساد والمحسوبية ستعني في النهاية خياراً للناخبين الباحثين عن سياسي يتمتع بالنزاهة. ويقول منتقدوه، العديد منهم من حزبه السابق، نداء تونس، إنه شخص مغفل استغل منصبه كرئيسٍ للوزراء لإنشاء حزبه السياسي، بهدف تعزيز فرصه في الانتخابات المقبلة.

في حين أن خالد شوكت، المؤسس المشارك اليساري لنداء تونس، كان أكثر تشككاً، إذ قال لنا في مقابلةٍ مع فَنَك، عن تجربته مع نداء تونس: “إن قيادة الدولة أمر، وإنشاء حزب سياسي أمر مختلف تماماً.” فقد أدى الاقتتال المستمر منذ تأسيس الحزب في عام 2012 إلى إثارة تساؤلاتٍ حول قدرة القيادة على التركيز على التحديات التي تواجه البلاد.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Tunisia / Faces / Power to the Next Generation? The Rise of Tunisia’s Presidential Hopeful Youssef Chahed

Power to the Next Generation? The Rise of Tunisia’s Presidential Hopeful Youssef Chahed

Tunisia- Youssef Chahed
Photo AFP

Tahya Tounes! (‘long live Tunisia’) was the headline that appeared on the front pages of Tunisia’s newspapers on 27 January 2019.

Tahya Tounes is also the name of Tunisia’s newest political party, founded in the coastal city of Monastir by former members of the ruling Nidaa Tounes party. It promises to unite secular parties around ‘a modern democratic project to lead the nation and to compete with the Islamists’.

Many Tunisians must have had a sense of déjà vu. The new political movement, to be led by Prime Minister Youssef Chahed, appeared to be a strategically orchestrated attempt at an improved version of Nidaa Tounes.

The movement emerged out of a feud between two political generations within the ruling party, embodied by the 92-year-old founder President Beji Caid Essebsi on the one side and 43-year-old Chahed, Essebsi’s former protégé and appointee, on the other.

For now, the future looks pretty rosy for the ambitious government leader. Tunisia’s youngest prime minister ever, Chahed is poised to shift the country’s political dynamics.

Chahed, married and the father of a daughter, graduated in 1998 from the National Agriculture Institute of Tunisia. In 2003, he received his PhD in agricultural economics from the same institute. His doctoral thesis, titled ‘Measuring the impact of agricultural trade liberalization on trade and welfare’, may have laid the groundwork for a position at the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) at the US embassy in the capital Tunis, where he worked as an expert in agricultural policies. Two documents he wrote that appeared in the press after he became prime minister in 2016 revealed a distinctly ‘US-friendly’ slant, fuelling insinuations in the media that he would be willing ‘to sell Tunisia’.

In a televised interview with Ettasia TV, a private television channel, in December 2018, Chahed summarized his family background: “I was raised in a Destourian family and my uncle Hassib Ben Ammar, ex-director of the Neo Destour party, founded the Tunisian Human Rights League.” He conveniently ‘forgot’ to mention his famous feminist activist grandmother Radhia Haddad (after whom a street in downtown Tunis is named), known as a critic of Neo Destour’s founder and the country’s first post-independence president, Habib Bourquiba, also the self-proclaimed architect of ‘modern Tunisia’.

Tacitly anticipating the presidential and parliamentary elections scheduled for October and December 2019 respectively, this creative manipulation of the facts was an attempt by Chahed to brand himself as a leader to whom voters could entrust Tunisia’s modernist project, modelled on the Neo Destour party, the historical movement behind Tunisia’s progressive (‘Western’) self-image.

Chahed’s political ambitions emerged in the wake of the ouster of long-time leader Zine el-Abidine Ben Ali in 2011. Chahed, infused with the ‘everything is possible’ euphoria of the time, co-founded the liberal/centrist Dal Joumhouri party, with his friend and confidant Slim Azzabi, now the figurehead of Tahya Tounes. Yet he pragmatically decided to switch parties when Dal Joumhouri appeared too weak to compete with rising star Nidaa Tounes, a catch-all party driven by political celebrities.

In contrast to his maverick outsider image, neophyte Chahed largely benefitted from Essebsi’s brand of ‘keeping it in the family’ recruitment that Chahed would later so fervently denounce. Essebsi, in an attempt to put an end to ongoing rivalries plaguing the party, nominated freshly appointed Secretary of State Chahed in 2015 as leader of a ‘consensus’ commission to mediate a power struggle between Vice President Hafedh Caid Essebsi (the president’s son) and Secretary General Mohsen Marzouk.

It was probably not the success Chahed had hoped for and expected; four of the 13 members left the commission, accusing Chahed of favouring the Essebsis.

Nevertheless, Essebsi appointed Chahed as prime minister soon after, following the ouster of Habid Essid in a parliamentary vote of no confidence on 30 July 2016. Chahed’s meteoric political rise under the president’s wing would undermine his political credibility for the following years.

‘Chahed is the project of the president; he created him. At the time, Essebsi wanted to get rid of Habib Essid, whose stubbornness started to become more and more annoying to the presidential palace in Carthage. No such risk with a young professor in agricultural economics who knew more about the French woods, where he had taught, then about Tunisian politics,’ the Middle East Eye, a news website, noted.

Yet the desired consensus quickly began to show signs of strain. Chahed found himself reportedly isolated as the relationship with Hafedh Caid Essebsi cracked and his complaints against obstructionists within the government and administration emerged. An outlier, Chahed, showing little patience for the sensitivities within Nidaa Tounes and repeatedly emphasizing that he had to devote all his efforts to his duties as PM, pulled away from the deepening party rivalries and struggled to push through unpopular reforms mostly imposed by the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

“Chahed never really found his place in Nidaa Tounes; he didn’t manage to establish himself,” said Selim Kharrat, executive director at al-Bawsala, a well-known Tunisian civil society organization, in an interview with Middle East Eye.

Radwan Masmoudi, founder and president of the Washington-based Center for the Study of Islam and Democracy, offered Fanack a different explanation. “I think he referred to people who belonged to the old regime as well as ‘lobbies’ or to corrupt business people. This is normal and to be expected during a period of transition from dictatorship to democracy. I think he is trying harder than his predecessors, since the 2014 elections, to go after corruption and corrupt individuals.”

The International Crisis Group confirmed this view in a 2017 report, pointing to ‘the hidden influence of the economic elite’ in Tunisia who are impeding Chahed’s ability to implement necessary reforms.

Chahed broke ranks in May 2017, launching a ‘war on corruption’. “In the war on corruption, there’s no choice. It’s either corruption or the state. Either corruption or Tunisia,” he said at the time. The ‘war’ started with the arrest of a couple of prominent businessmen and politicians close to Nidaa Tounes and Ennahda, another of the main political parties, among them Chafik Jarraya, an ally of Hafedh Caid Essebsi and an important Nidaa Tounes donor.

It was a bold decision. Shortly before, Maghreb Confidential, a pan-African news site, wrote that several of the influential figures suspected of corruption in the ruling party were preparing to replace the prime minister with one of his ministers, Fadel Abdelkafi.

In terms of marketing, however, the war on corruption was undeniably a big success, whipping up massive popular support and elevating Chahed to the status – albeit short-lived – of a rock star.

Critics, however, described the campaign as merely a way to divert attention from the social unrest in many parts of the country, especially in regions with oilfields such as Tataouine in the south.

Moreover, the appointment of controversial figures from the old regime, the adoption of a reconciliation law granting amnesty to officials accused of corruption during Ben Ali’s rule and the postponement of local elections damaged Chahed’s credibility as a corruption warrior.

Some of his other decisions have also been met with opposition. For example, the dismissal of Abdeljelil Ben Salem, the minister of religious affairs, in November 2016, for making a connection between Wahhabism and terrorism, was criticized as bowing to the will of Saudi Arabia, where Wahhabism is the state religion.

A small number of ‘strategic’ dismissals, commonly supposed to please one or other convenient ally or eliminate enemies, followed. By firing Abid Briki, civil service minister and former official of the powerful national workers union UGTT, in February 2016, Chahed exacerbated the already strained relationship with the unions.

“What makes a good head of government is realism, an excellent sense of priorities, experience and the ability to build a cohesive team,” an eloquent Noureddine Taboubi, leader of the UGTT, said in March 2018. His words reflected general frustration over economic hardships and unfulfilled promises. Chahed acquired an ‘all talk and no action’ reputation. His apparently stubborn determination to implement the IMF reforms ramped up opposition within his own party and from the left-wing parties, which had sided with the unions.

In May 2018, Hafehd Caid Essebsi, concerned that Nidaa Tounes’ poor results in local elections would have severe repercussions for the 2019 elections, urged Chahed, already Tunisia’s longest serving prime minister, to quit, catalyzing an unprecedented government deadlock and the resignation of dozens of Nidaa Tounes parliamentarians. They went on to form ‘the national coalition’, the forerunner of Tahya Tounes.

The ongoing feud between Chahed and the Essebsis boiled over into open warfare. According to the International Crisis Group, the president and leaders of Nidaa Tounes and Ennahda had already reached an agreement to remove Chahed during the summer of 2017.

“It’s a conflict over the upcoming elections,” said political analyst Salaheddine al-Jourchi to French newspaper La Croix. “It is omnipresent in everyone’s interests,” he added, echoing accusations from both within and outside Nidaa Tounes that Chahed is abusing his position to build his own political party.

“Not true,” said Chahed’s friend Azzabi at the launch of Tahya Tounes. “All of us belong to the same democratic and modest family. The new party will not be one of leaders and names,” he said, referring to the nepotism allegations against the Essebsis.

An independent Chahed, seizing the constitutional autonomy granted to the prime minister, hit Essebsi’s Achilles heel.

“The Tunisian constitution stipulates that the executive branch has two heads: the president of the republic and the prime minister, each having their own prerogatives. This is a negative aspect that needs to be modified,” Essebsi said in an interview with The Arab Weekly.

As to the dysfunctional relationship between Nidaa Tounes and Chahed, Essebsi said that the matter was related to Chahed’s desire to remain in power.

The prime minister with nine lives seems to have turned the situation to his own advantage, casting himself as ‘Tunisia’s new face’. “I will vote for Chahed when he runs for president,” declared Minister for Agriculture Samir Taieb in a radio interview, “because he is the incarnation of the future of Tunisia and has a clear mission for Tunisia.”

Chahed’s backers say his anti-corruption and anti-nepotism leadership will finally mean a choice for voters seeking a politician with integrity. His detractors, many from his former party, Nidaa Tounes, say he is a nitwit who has abused his position as prime minister to create his own political party, with the aim of bolstering his chances in the upcoming elections.

Khaled Chouket, a left-wing co-founder of Nidaa Tounes, is more skeptical. “Leading a country is one thing, building up a political party is something else,” he said in an interview with Fanack, about his experiences with Nidaa Tounes. The continuous infighting since the party’s establishment in 2012 raised questions about the leadership’s ability to focus on the country’s challenges.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.