فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تونس / الحكم / بزوغ وأفول نجم نداء تونس

بزوغ وأفول نجم نداء تونس

Tunisia- Nidaa Tounes
رئيسة قائمة حزب نداء تونس للإنتخابات البلدية في منطقة طبربة، إيناس بوستة (يمين)، تتحدث مع مواطنات تونسيات أثناء حملتها في طبربة، التي تبعد حوالي 35 كيلومتراً غرب العاصمة تونس، في 20 أبريل 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

عمت أجواء السرور تونس في أعقاب الإنتخابات الرئاسية والبرلمانية عام 2014، وهي أول انتخاباتٍ حرة في البلاد بعد سقوط المستبد زين العابدين بن علي في عام 2011. فاز حزب نداء تونس بـ86 مقعداً برلمانياً من أصل 217 مقعداً، كما تم إنتخاب مؤسس وزعيم الحزب، الباجي قائد السبسي للرئاسة. بينما جاء حزب النهضة الإسلامي الديمقراطي، الفائز في انتخابات 2011، في المرتبة الثانية بمجموع 69 مقعداً.

تمّيز السبسي، وهو سياسيٌ مخضرم، بلعب دورٍ رئيسي في أول حكومةٍ انتقالية في البلاد، كما خدم في ظل الحكومات المتعاقبة لكلٍ من الرئيس الحبيب بورقيبة وبن علي. ومن عجيب المفارقات أن رئاسة السبسي لم تكن في مصلحة حزبه ومهدت الطريق لدراما سياسية واقعية من بطولة حافظ، ابن السبسي (الذي تم ترشيحه عام 2013). وبدعمٍ من والده ومحاولة الحفاظ على نفوذ العائلة، وقف وجهاً لوجه أمام لاعبين بارزين آخرين في الحزب، ممن كانوا على نفس القدر من العزم لرفع مكانتهم في الحزب. كان الاقتتال الداخلي المطول السبب الرئيسي في عددٍ من الأزمات الحكومية التي عقدت جهود تونس في إيجاد مخرجٍ من مستنقعها الاقتصادي. ونتيجةً لذلك، منذ انتخابات 2014، خسر نداء تونس معظم مؤسسيه وقيادته الرئيسية وحوالي نصف الكتلة البرلمانية.

يمكن وصف حزب نداء تونس، وهو حزب علماني ووسطي تأسس في منتصف عام 2012، بأنه الحصيلة الناجحة لاستراتيجية “الجميع ضد النهضة،” التي يقودها ممثلو النظام القديم (التجمع الدستوري الديمقراطي)، ورجال الأعمال (الذين تمثلهم منظمة أصحاب العمل، الاتحاد التونسي للصناعة والتجارة والصناعات التقليدية)، واتحاد النخبة (ممثلين بـالاتحاد العام التونسي للشغل) وبدعمٍ من مجموعة واسعة من اليساريين والليبراليين.

وفي أعقاب أول انتخاباتٍ برلمانية ديمقراطية في تونس عام 2011، شكلّ ما يسمى بـ “ائتلاف الترويكا،” الذي يضم حزب النهضة (89 مقعداً) وحزبان آخران ديمقراطيان اجتماعيان مستقلان، هما حزب المؤتمر من أجل الجمهورية (29 مقعداً) وحزب التكتل الديمقراطي (26 مقعداً) – أغلبيةً برلمانية. فقد اجتثت الترويكا توازن القوى التاريخي في البلاد وبالتالي شكلت تهديداً على مراكز القوى القديمة التي اتحدت، خوفاً من تجريدها من امتيازاتها، حول “مشروعٍ ديمقراطي حديث،” الذي تم نسخه حرفياً من الرئيس السابق حبيب بن علي بورقيبة.

وعلى الرغم من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان الموثقة جيداً واضطهاده لخصومه، أصبح بورقيبة، أول رئيسٍ في تونس بعد الاستقلال ومسوّقاً بارعاً، رمزاً لمفهوم كون تونس”استثناءً ليبرالي في العالم العربي،” لا سيما فيما يتعلق بإصلاحات حقوق المرأة التي اعتبرها شرطاً أساسياً لتحديث تونس ودمج البلاد في حضارةٍ دولية، أي الفرنسية.

فقد أشار السبسي، الذي مشى على خطى قائدٍ سابقٍ صلبٍ وجذاب، إلى أنه، على عكس حزب النهضة المنافس لنداء تونس، أراد مواصلة “مسار التحديث في تونس،” وأن ينقل تونس إلى القرن الواحد والعشرين.

وقبل الانتفاضات التي أدت إلى الإطاحة بالرئيس بن علي في 2010-2011، حظر كل من بورقيبة وبن علي حركة النهضة، ونجحا في تصويرها بأنها “حركة متعصبة ومتخلفة ستدمر الدولة التقدمية والمؤيدة للغرب التي كانا يبنيانها.” فقد عُززت صورة النهضة هذه، التي لم تقدم سوى الأخبار السيئة عن “القيم الحديثة” للبلاد، جزئياً في عام 2011 بسبب حركة النهضة ذات نفسها، وذلك بعد أن غازلت علانية قوانين الشريعة الإسلامية ودافعت عن إدراجها في الدستور الجديد، وهو موقفٌ أثار جدلاً وطنياً ساخناً وطويل الأمد بشأن هوية البلاد.

يقول خالد شوكت، وهو مؤسس مشارك يساري، عندما طلبنا منه في فَنَك توضيح الأساس المنطقي وراء نداء تونس: “كان علينا مواجهة صعود النهضة وإنقاذ البلاد من الإسلام السياسي.” وأضاف “كانت الأحزاب العلمانية القائمة منقسمة وضعيفة للغاية، لذلك كنا بحاجة إلى جبهةٍ موحدة حول زعيم يتمتع بشخصية جماهيرية،” وذلك لتوضيح الشعور بالإلحاح الذي يشعر به الكثيرون من أجل إنشاء حزبٍ آخر في المشهد السياسي الذي كان منتشراً في ذلك الوقت والذي يضم 80 حزباً سياسياً والمئات من المرشحين المستقلين. فقد أدى سوء الإدارة الداخلية، والتنافس الشخصي وعدم الرضا عن اتخاذ القرار من أعلى الهرم إلى أسفله، إلى تجزؤ الأحزاب العلمانية/ اليسارية وإضعافها مقارنةً بحزب النهضة الشعبي، المعروف بديمقراطيته الداخلية النابضة بالحياة.

Tunisia- Nidaa tounes party
أعضاء من حزب نداء تونس وحزب النهضة الإسلامي يحتفلون بعد اعتماد مشروع قانون المصالحة المتنازع عليه، مما يمنح العفو للموظفين المتهمين بالفساد أثناء حكم النظام السابق، في تونس العاصمة في 13 سبتمبر 2017. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

ومن وجهة نظر شوكت، لا ينبغي فهم ثورة 2010-2011 باعتبارها مقدمةً للثورة، وإنما كخطوة نحو نظامٍ سياسي آخر. وعندما سُئل عن التعاون المثير للجدل بين نداء تونس والنظام القديم، وضح أن “المصالحة جزءٌ لا يتجزأ من مشروع نداء تونس، إذ كان تكاملهما أمرٌ لا غنى عنه لتحقيق الاستقرار.”

مستفيداً من سلسلةٍ من الأحداث المزعزعة للاستقرار، بما في ذلك الهجوم على السفارة الأمريكية في تونس عام 2012 واغتيال اثنين من السياسيين البارزين، ظهر نداء تونس، الذي يعتمد على المال والقوة البشرية للنظام القديم، بسرعة في عام 2013 في مركز الطيف السياسي كحركةٍ معارضة لا يمكن تجاهلها. فقد اغتنم السبسي، الذي يعرف أن الحزب يستطيع الإعتماد على دعم ائتلافه الواسع المناهض للإسلاميين، فرصة ضمان ظهوره الإعلامي، إذ دعا إلى استقالة الحكومة واستبدال أول تجمعٍ انتقالي في تونس عبر البرامج التلفزيونية، حيث ألقى باللوم على الترويكا، وخاصة حزب النهضة، على سوء الحكم والتأجيل المتعمد للإصلاحات الضرورية. وعلى الرغم من عدم ثبوت ذلك، إلا أن العديد من العلمانيين واليساريين رأوا في الاغتيالات اللفظية تأكيداً واضحاً لما كانوا يؤمنون به دوماً: أن النهضة كان “ذئباً في ثياب حمل؛” حزبٌ سياسي يدعم الجهادية العنيفة وهو يرتدي قناع “الاعتدال.” وبدافعٍ من دعوات السبسي والنخب السياسية الأخرى، أشعلت هذه الاتهامات، خلال فصل الصيف، موجةً من الاحتجاجات الضخمة والاحتجاجات المضادة التي أضعفت حزب النهضة وشلت حكومة النهضة. تم حل الأزمة في نهاية المطاف من خلال إنشاء “الحوار الوطني لعام 2013” الحائز على جائزة نوبل، وأعقب ذلك تنحي الترويكا.

وفي الإنتخابات التي أعقبت عام 2014، حاصدين ثمار البذور التي زرعوها بعناية، ثبُت أن السجل السياسي للسبسي كان الورقة الرابحة لنداء تونس. فقد مكّن نداء تونس من استغلال التراجع الاقتصادي والعنف المتنامي، في حين أن دوره السابق كوزيرٍ تحت قيادة بورقيبة جعله “بورقيبة الثاني” المناسب، ووعد أنصاره “باستعادة هيبة الدولة وتوحيد تونس.”

ولا يحتاج طاهر ساهر، الذي كان أحد المؤيدين لنداء تونس منذ البداية والذي قرر مغادرة الحزب مؤخراً، إلى العديد من الكلمات للتعبير لنا في فَنَك عن ما يؤمن أن المستقبل يحمله في طياته: “لا شيء سوى الصراعات الشخصية والتسويات الداخلية.”

بيد أن الأمر بالنسبة لشوكت أكثر تعقيداً، إذ قال: “تعكس قضايا نداء تونس العقبات التي تعترض طريق الديمقراطية في تونس.” وأضاف ملخصاً الوضع الحالي، “قدم نداء تونس إسهاماتٍ غاية في الأهمية للدستور الديمقراطي التونسي. أكبر التحديات الداخلية التي تواجه الحزب هي استيعاب الخلافات، وكذلك تنظيم خلافة السبسي، ولكن يمكن حل هذه المشاكل.”

وعلى الرغم من استراتيجيته للمفهوم الذكي، إلا أن قرار السبسي المثير للجدل في عام 2013 لترشيح ابنه حافظ قائد السبسي كمديرٍ تنفيذي للحزب، والذي نظرت إليه مجموعة من مسؤولي الحزب على أنه تذكرةٌ بمحاباة الأقارب للنظام القديم، يمكن أن يتسم بسهولة، عند التفكير به ملياً، باعتباره خطأ أساسي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ظهر عاملان آخران للخلاف الداخلي مغيران لقواعد اللعبة في عام 2014.

فقد ترك صعود السبسي إلى الرئاسة فرغاً في السلطة داخل نداء تونس، ليجد الحزب نفسه في خضم حالةٍ من الفوضى، إذ كان هناك بالفعل انقساماتٌ عميقة تزداد سوءاً بسبب خطوة تشكيل ائتلاف مع حزب النهضة. فقد كان الحزب منقسماً بين أولئك الذين أولوا إهتماماً للإدماج والإجماع الوطني و”المتشددين” الذين شعروا بأن التعاون نوعٌ من الإستسلام.

فبعد الأزمة الحكومية الأولى في عام 2015، غادر الأمين العام للحزب آنذاك محسن مرزوق الحزب، مع مجموعةٍ من الأعضاء والنواب، لإنشاء حزب مشروع تونس. وفي نهاية المطاف، وصلت الاستقالات إلى الحد الذي انخفضت فيه كتلة نداء تونس النيابية من المركز الأول إلى المركز الثالث (58 مقعداً، في حين احتفظ النهضة بـ69 مقعداً).

ذروةٌ أخرى أسفرت عن نتائج لثلاث سنواتٍ قادمة ولمع بعدها نجم يوسف الشاهد، وهو فتى جديد يُضرب به المثل في التكتل عندما عينه السبسي كاتب دولة للصيد البحري في عام 2015. كان مسار الشاهد نحو رئاسة الوزراء في عام 2016 صاروخياً، في محاولةٍ لاستبدال رئيس الحكومة السابق الحبيب الصيد. فقد حافظ على نمط إلتزام الصمت خلال الأشهر الأولى للصيد كرئيسٍ للوزراء، ولكن في السنة الثانية، سرعان ما سرت شائعاتٌ حول الخلافات مع الرئيس في وسائل الإعلام. تم تداول العديد من الروايات حول القصة نفسها لتفسير الحبكة الرئيسية، إلا أن هناك العديد من المؤشرات على أن الاستياء السياسي من السبسي الأصغر ما دفع رئيس الوزراء إلى الإبتعاد عن نداء تونس.

في الواقع، بدأ الشاهد بالتصرف وكأنه رئيس الوزراء الفعلي، ليحوّل الصراع إلى صراعٍ بين الأفرع التنفيذية، أي الرئيس والحكومة، بينما تجاهل، بصبر، دعوات عشيرة السبسي بالإنسحاب، مما حفز انقساماً آخر في الحزب، وأسفر عن هجرةٍ جماعية لممثلي نداء تونس من مخيم السبسي إلى مخيم الشاهد وبالعكس. دفع هذا الرئيس إلى إعلان نهاية حكومة التوافق الإئتلافية مع حزب النهضة، الذي وقف إلى جانب يوسف الشاهد.

تطورت القصة أكثر فأكثر عندما أصبح سليم الرياحي، مؤسس وزعيم الحزب الليبرالي- الاتحاد الوطني الحر، زعيم الحزب بعد اندماج حزبه مع نداء تونس. الريحاني الذي اشتهر أيضاً بـ”مشاريعه التجارية الفاسدة،” شرع منذ دخوله بإجراءاتٍ قانونية ضد رئيس الوزراء ومسؤولين آخرين، متهماً رئيس الوزراء ومسؤولين آخرين بمحاولة الانقلاب ضد الرئيس.

جاءت هذه الخطوة رداً على التعديل الوزاري الجزئي الذي أجراه يوسف الشاهد، دون الحصول على موافقة السبسي أو نداء تونس.

وعليه، دعا الحزب الحاكم أعضاءه في البرلمان إلى مقاطعة التغييرات الوزارية. وبدلاً من ذلك استقال عددٌ منهم من الحزب وصوتوا لصالح التعديل. ومع مقاطعة كتلة نداء تونس النيابية التصويت على الثقة لحكومة الشاهد الجديدة، انتقلت، من الناحية العملية، إلى المعارضة.

واليوم، يبدو أن الناخبين قد ضاقوا ذرعاً. فقد يكون انخفاض نسبة المشاركة في أول انتخاباتٍ محلية في تونس، والتي عقدت في مايو 2018، والتي انخفضت من أكثر من 90% في عام 2011 إلى 66% في عام 2014 إلى 33,7% فقط من الناخبين المسجلين، نذير شؤم. ينبغي أن يكون هذا مصدر قلقٍ أكبر لمستقبل نداء تونس. فهل تتجه تونس إلى ديمقراطيةٍ خالية من الناخبين؟

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID | ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Tunisia / Governance & Politics / The Rise and Fall of Nidaa Tounes

The Rise and Fall of Nidaa Tounes

Tunisia- Nidaa Tounes
Head of Nidaa Tounes party list for the municipal elections in the Locality of Tebourba, Ines Boussetta (R) speaks with Tunisian citizens as she campaigns in Tebourba, some 35 kilometers west of the capital on April 20, 2018. Photo AFP

There was an atmosphere of jubilation following Tunisia’s 2014 presidential and parliamentary elections, the country’s first free elections after the fall of autocrat Zine El-Abidine Ben Ali in 2011. The newly formed Nidaa Tounes won 86 of the 217 parliamentary seats and Nidaa’s founder and leader, Beji Caïd Essebsi, was elected to the presidency. Muslim-democratic Ennahda, winners of the 2011 elections, came in second with 69 seats.

A veteran politician, Essebsi had distinguished himself by playing a key role in country’s first transitional government, as well as having served under the successive governments of both President Habib Bourguiba and Ben Ali. Ironically, Essebsi’s presidency was not in the best interest of his party and set the scene for a real-life political drama starring Essebsi’s son Hafedh (nominated in 2013). Backed by his father and in an attempt to maintain the family’s influence, he went head-to-head with other leading party players who were equally determined to elevate their own status. The prolonged infighting was the primary cause of a number of government crises complicating Tunisia’s efforts to find a way out of its economic quagmire. As a result, since the 2014 elections, Nidaa Tounes has lost most of its founders, its principal leadership and nearly half of the parliamentary bloc.

Nidaa Tounes, a centrist, secular party founded in mid-2012, can best be described as the successful outcome of an ‘everyone-against-Ennahda’ strategy, led by representatives of the old regime (the Constitutional Democratic Rally, or RCD) alongside businessmen (represented by the employers’ organization UTICA), the union elite (represented by the UGTT) and supported by a broad range of leftists and liberals.

Following Tunisia’s first democratic parliamentary elections in 2011, the so-called ‘Troika coalition’, comprising Ennahda (89 seats) and two other non-establishment, social democratic parties – the Congress for the Republic (29 seats) and Ettakatol (26 seats) – formed a parliamentary majority. The Troika uprooted the country’s historical power equilibrium and therefore posed a threat to the old centres of power who, afraid of being stripped of their privileges, united around a ‘modern democratic project,’ copied verbatim from former president Habib Ben-Ali Bourguiba.

Despite well-documented human rights violations and the oppression of his adversaries, Bourguiba, Tunisia’s first post-independence president and an excellent marketer, became the symbol of Tunisia’s brand as the “Liberal exception in the Arab world,” particularly based on his women’s rights reforms, which he viewed as a basic condition to modernize Tunisia and integrate the country into an international, i.e. French, civilisation.

Following in the footsteps of the former charismatic and durable leader, Essebsi noted that he, unlike Nidaa’s rival Ennahda, wanted to continue “Tunisia’s modernization path” and bring Tunisia into the 21st century.

Before the uprisings that led to the ousting of President Ben Ali in 2010-11, Ennahda had been banned by both Bourguiba and Ben-Ali, successfully portrayed as “backward fanatics who would destroy the progressive and pro-Western country they were building.” This image of Ennahda, as promising nothing but bad news for the country’s ‘modern values,’ was partly reinforced in 2011 by the freshly-elected Ennahda itself, when openly flirting with Sharia law and defending its inclusion in the new constitution, a position that provoked a long-standing, heated national debate on the identity of the country.

“We had to counter the rise of Ennahda and save the country from political Islam,” says Khaled Chouket, a left-wing co-founder, when asked by Fanack to explain the rationale behind Nidaa Tounes. “The existing secular parties were split and too weak, so we needed a united front around a charismatic leader,” he added, to further clarify the sense of urgency felt by many to create another party in the then already-proliferating political landscape of 80 political parties and hundreds of independent candidates. Internal mismanagement, personal rivalries and dissatisfaction with top-down decision-making had fragmented the secular/leftist parties and weakened them in comparison with grassroots party Ennahda, known for their lively internal democracy.

Tunisia- Nidaa tounes party
Members of Tunisia’s Nidaa Tounes party and the Islamist Al-Nahdha party celebrate after a contested reconciliation bill was adopted granting amnesty to officials accused of corruption during the rule of the former regime, in Tunis on September 13, 2017. Photo AFP

In Chouket’s view, the revolt of 2010-11 must not be understood as a prelude to a revolution, but rather as a stepping stone towards another political system. When asked about the controversial collaboration of Nidaa Tounes with the old regime, he explains that “reconciliation was part and parcel of Nidaa’s project; their integration was indispensable to stabilisation.”

Strategically capitalizing on a series of destabilizing events, including the 2012 attack on the US embassy in Tunis and two high-profile political assassinations, Nidaa Tounes, relying on the money and manpower of the old regime, emerged quickly in 2013 at the centre of the political spectrum as the opposition movement that could not be ignored. Essebsi, knowing the party could count on the support of its broad anti-Islamist coalition, seized on his guaranteed media exposure. He called for the resignation of the government and the replacement of Tunisia’s first transition assembly in televised shows, blaming the Troika, especially Ennahda, for poor governance and deliberately postponing necessary reforms. Though unproven, many secularists and leftists saw the verbal assassinations as clear confirmation of what they had always believed: that Ennahda was a ‘sheep in wolf’s clothing;’ a political party supporting violent jihadism masked by their ‘moderate’ face. Fostered by the calls from Essebsi and other political elites, these accusations sparked a summer of massive protests and counter-protests that weakened Ennahda and crippled the Ennahda government. The crisis was eventually resolved by the establishment of the Nobel prize-winning ‘2013 national dialogue’ and followed by the Troika stepping down.

In the elections that followed in 2014, nurturing the seeds they had carefully planted, Essebsi’s political track record proved to be Nidaa’s trump card. He enabled Nidaa Tounes to exploit the economic downturn and the growing violence, while his previous role as a minister under Bourguiba made him the perfect ‘Bourguiba the second,’ promising his supporters “to restore the prestige of the state and to unite Tunisia.”

Tahar Saher, said to be a supporter of Nidaa from the very beginning but who recently decided to quit, doesn’t need many words to explain to Fanack what he believes will follow: “nothing but personal conflicts and internal settlements.”

To Chouket, however, it is a more complex story: “Nidaa’s issues reflect the obstacles on the path of Tunisia’s democratization,” he says. “Nidaa has made important contributions to the constitution of Tunisia’s democracy. The biggest internal challenges facing the party are accommodating differences, as well as the organisation of Essebsi’s succession, but these problems can be solved,” he summarized the current situation.

Despite his smart-brand strategy, Essebsi’s controversial decision in 2013 to nominate his son Hafedh Caïd Essebsi as the party’s executive director, viewed by a group of party officials as reminiscent of the nepotism of the old regime, can, in hindsight, easily be characterized as a cardinal mistake. In addition, two other game-changing items of internal discord emerged in 2014.

Essebsi’s ascension to the presidency left a power vacuum within Nidaa Tounes and the party found itself in a state of disarray. There were already deepening divides made worse by the step of forming a coalition with Ennahda. The party was divided between those who prioritised inclusion and national consensus and the ‘hardliners’ for whom collaboration felt like capitulation.

After the first government crisis in 2015, the party’s then secretary-general Mohsen Marzouk left the party, together with a group of members and deputies, to create the Machrou Tounes party. Eventually, the resignations reached the point at which Nidaa Tounes’ parliamentary bloc dropped from first place to third (58 seats, whereas Ennahda retained 69 seats).

A second climax would take three years to come to fruition and starred Youssef Chahed, a proverbial new kid on the block when Essebsi parachuted him into the role of Minister of State for Fishing in 2015. Chahed had a meteoric trajectory towards the position of prime minister (PM) in 2016 in a bid to replace the former head of government Habib Essid. He maintained a low-key style during Essid’s first months as PM, but in the second year, rumours about disagreements with the president quickly arose in the media. Many versions of the same story circulated to explain the big plot twist, yet there are a number of indications that political discontent with the younger Essebsi motivated the prime minister to move away from Nidaa Tounes.

In effect, Chahed began to act as actual prime minister, transforming the conflict into one between the executive branches, i.e. the president and the government, while stoically ignoring the call of the Essebsi’s clan to quit, catalysing yet another schism in the party, which resulted in an exodus of Nidaa Tounes representatives from the Essebsi Camp to the Chahed Camp and back. This prompted the president to announce the end of the consensus government with coalition party Ennahda, which sided with Youssef Chahed.

The story moved developed further when Slim Riahi, originally the founder and leader of the liberal Free Patriotic Unity, became party leader after his party merged with Nidaa Tounes. Also known for his ‘corrupt businesses,’ he made his entrance by starting legal proceedings against the PM and other officials, charging the PM and other officials with an attempted coup against the president.

This move came in response to a partial cabinet reshuffle by Youssef Chahed, without obtaining the consent of neither Essebsi senior nor Nidaa Tounes. The ruling party had called on its members in parliament to boycott the cabinet changes. Instead a number of them resigned from the party and voted in favour of it. With Nidaa’s parliamentary bloc boycotting the vote of confidence regarding Chahed’s new cabinet, it manoeuvred itself, practically speaking, into the opposition.

Voters now seem to have had enough. The low turnout in Tunisia’s first local elections, held in May 2018, falling from more than 90 per cent in 2011 to 66 per cent in 2014 to only 33.7 per cent of registered voters, might be a bad omen. This should arguably be a bigger concern than the future of Nidaa Tounes. Is Tunisia heading to a democracy without voters?

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.