فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تونس / الحكم والسياسة / تونس في حالة توقف بعد حجب البرلمان الثقة عن رئيس الوزراء

تونس في حالة توقف بعد حجب البرلمان الثقة عن رئيس الوزراء

تونس الحبيب الصيد تصويت البرلمان
رئيس الوزراء الحبيب الصيد يُلقي خطاباً خلال جلسة البرلمان قبل التصويت على الثقة في العاصمة تونس، تونس، 30 يوليو 2016. Photo Yassine Gaidi / Anadolu Agency

صوّت أعضاء البرلمان التونسي بحجب الثقة عن رئيس الوزراء حبيب الصيد، وتجريد حكومتة الائتلافية على نحوٍ فعّال. فقد حظي اقتراح حجب الثقة بأغلبية 118 صوتاً، أي أعلى بكثير من عتبة الـ109 صوتاً المطلوبة لإجراء التصويت في البلاد.

ففي 30 يوليو، كانت القاعة النصف دائرية في قصر باردو في العاصمة تونس مكتظة، إذ غالباً ما يكون الحضور البرلماني منخفضاً حتى في الجلسات المهمة. وعلاوة على ذلك، في هذا الوقت من السنة عندما يقترن الطقس الحار مع العطل المدرسية، يُفضل العديد من النواب البقاء في المنزل أو أخذ إجازة سنوية.

كانت جلسة السبت جديرةً بالذكر لعدة أسباب: فقد دعا الصيد بنفسه لجلسة التصويت، والتي تعدّ سابقة من نوعها في التاريخ الديمقراطي التونسي، على الرغم من معرفته المسبقة بتعرضه للخسارة.

ويبقى من غير الواضح بالضبط لمَ اختار القيام بهذه الخطوة الجريئة، على الرغم من أنه قد يتعرض لضغوطٍ لتقديم استقالته بعد أن دعا الرئيس الباجي قائد السبسي لتشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية جديدة في شهر يونيو، وسط اضطرباتٍ اقتصادية ومخاوف أمنية مستمرة.

فمع مرور الأيام، لم تظهر أي مؤشراتٍ على تنحي الصيد، وبدأت ترّوج شائعاتٌ حول تدهور العلاقة بين الرجلين. كما شرع أشخاصٌ مقربون من رئيس الوزراء، بما في ذلك المتحدث باسم الحكومة التونسية، خالد شوكت، بانتقاد السبسي علناً.

فقد قضى السبسي عدة أسابيع في محادثاتٍ مع مختلف الأحزاب والشخصيات السياسية حول الشكل الذي ينبغي للحكومة الجديدة أن تتخذه. تحققت جهوده في “اتفاق قرطاج،” الذي وقعته الأحزاب السياسية الرئيسية في تونس ومنظمات المجتمع المدني في 13 يوليو.

ولكن لسان حال الجميع كان: لمَ هذه المبادرة، ولمَ الآن؟

رُشح الصيد لمنصب رئيس الوزراء من قِبل حزب نداء تونس العلماني الذي يقوده السبسي في 5 يناير 2015 وطُلب منه تشكيل حكومة جديدة. وفي 2 فبراير 2015، أعلن الصيد عن ائتلافٍ يضم ممثلين عن نداء تونس، وحزب النهضة الإسلامي، والإتحاد الوطني الحر الليبرالي، وحزب آفاق تونس. وافق البرلمان على هذا التشكيل في 5 فبراير 2015 وأدى أعضاء المجلس الوزراي اليمين الدستورية في اليوم التالي.

يُعرف عن الصيد صدقه وصراحته، فقد أمضى معظم حياته المهنية في القطاع العام، ويُعتبر خبيراً في شؤونه الداخلية. شغل منصب رئيس ديوان وزير الداخلية في عهد الرئيس السابق زين العابدين بن علي، وعيّن مرتين كاتب دولة (للصيد البحري والبيئة)، وذلك أيضاً في ظل حكم بن علي، وفي أعقاب الثورة التونسية عام 2011، تولى حقيبة وزارة الداخلية في حكومة رئيس الوزراء آنذاك السبسي. وبالتالي، كان الصيد معروفاً في الأوساط السياسية، ولكن ليس للعامة، إذ جاء تعيينه في عام 2015 بمثابة مفاجأة للكثيرين.

يُعتقد على نطاقٍ واسع، أنّ ترشيح الصيد جاء بسبب ولائه للسبسي وطبيعته المنصاعه. وعلى الرغم من أن رئيس الوزراء يتمتع بسُلطة أكبر من الرئيس في الدستور التونسي، إلا أنّ الأخير أراد الاستحواذ على السيادة واحتاج إلى مسؤولٍ تنفيذي هادىء وليس لمنافس. قُبل الصيد من قِبل جميع الأطراف السياسية، واحترمه الكثير من أفراد المعارضة.

وعلى الرغم من موافقة البرلمان التونسي على حكومته بعدد أصواتٍ مريح، 166 إلى 30 صوتاً، إلا أن حكومة الصيد ورثت سلسلةً من المشاكل: اقتصادٌ راكد، وإنفاقٌ عامٌ مرتفع، واضطرباتٌ اجتماعية مستمرة، وفسادٌ متفشٍ، وهجماتٌ إرهابية متكررة، وبيئة إقليمية معادية، وذلك على سبيل العد لا الحصر.

وبعد عامٍ ونصف، باءت محاولات الحكومة لمعالجة هذه المشاكل بالفشل الذريع. وعلى الرغم من إحراز تقدمٍ بسيط لتحسين الوضع الأمني، إلا أن البلاد تعرضت لأسوء هجماتٍ إرهابية في تاريخها. وبالتالي، لم تتحقق الإصلاحات الاقتصادية والمالية الكبرى التي كانت متوقعةً من الصيد، إذ يجادل أنصاره بعدم منحه الوقت الكافي لذلك.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، يعاني الصيد من مشاكل صحية، فقد تم نقله إلى المستشفى ثلاث مرات، لأسبابٍ لم يُفصح عنها، كما أدخل في إحدى المرات إلى المستشفى لمدة تقارب الأسبوع.
ومن ناحيةٍ آخرى، كان الائتلاف متداعياً. فبحلول نهاية عام 2015، تسببت الخلافات الداخلية في حزب نداء تونس إلى انقسامه إلى حزبين. كم أن الاتحاد الوطني الحر كان يترنح في ظل سلسلةٍ من الاستقالات. هذه الصعوبات قوّضت بشكل مطرد سُلطة الصيد ووجد نفسه في عزلة متزايدة.

ويبقى سبب عدم تقديم استقالته لغزاً. ففي غضون الأسابيع القليلة الماضية، ظهر رئيس الوزراء، المُقل عادةً في ظهوره الإعلامي، في ثلاث لقاءات تلفزيونية حيث انتقد بصراحة مبادرة حكومة الوحدة التي أطلقها الرئيس. هل كان هذا تحدياً للسبسي؟ أم أنه في حقيقة الأمر اتفاقٌ بين الرجلين سيشهد تولي السبسي لمنصب رئيس الوزراء؟ وهل حصل على دعمٍ مسبق من النهضة قبل أن يتخلوا عنه؟

فقد طالب عشرات النواب في البرلمان بالتحدث خلال جلسة التصويت على الثقة، حيث أشاد غالبيتهم بشخصية الصيد وعمل حكومته. وبعد أن استجاب، حظيّ بتصفيقٍ حار وقوفاً مرتين. ولكن عندما حان وقت التصويت، لم يصوّت له سوى ثلاثة نواب فقط. الصيد؛ رئيس الوزراء الصادق والصريح، أطيح به من قِبل طبقةٍ سياسية غير صادقة.

كلّف الرئيس التونسي، السبسي، في 3 أغسطس 2016، يوسف الشاهد، الذي يشغل منصب وزير الشؤون المحلية منذ يناير 2016 وأحد أعضاء حزب نداء تونس، برئاسة الحكومة الجديدة. والآن، يُمنح البرلمان شهراً للموافقة على هذا الترشيح؛ وبمجرد الموافقة عليه، يحظى رئيس الوزراء بدوره بمهلة شهر لتعيين مجلس الوزراء الذي سيُعرض على البرلمان. عادت تونس مرةً أخرى إلى براثن أزمةٍ سياسية، والتي لن تؤدي سوى لتعميق المصائب الاقتصادية وتشجيع تصرف أولئك الذين يهدفون إلى إلحاق الأذى بأمنها.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Yassine Gaidi ©Hollandse Hoogte | Yassine Gaidi ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Tunisia / Governance & Politics / Tunisia in Limbo after Parliament Passes Vote of No Confidence in Prime Minister

Tunisia in Limbo after Parliament Passes Vote of No Confidence in Prime Minister

tunisia Habbib Essid parliament vote
Prime Minister Habib Essid delivers a speech during parliamentary session before the vote of confidence in Tunis, Tunisia, 30 July 2016. Photo Yassine Gaidi / Anadolu Agency

Tunisia’s parliament has passed a vote of no confidence in Prime Minister Habib Essid, effectively dismantling his coalition government. The no-confidence motion was passed by 118 votes, well above the country’s 109-vote threshold.

On 30 July, the hemicycle of the Bardo Palace in the capital Tunis was packed. Parliamentary attendance is usually low, even for important sessions. Moreover, at this time of the year when hot weather is coupled with school holidays, many MPs prefer to stay at home or take annual leave.

Saturday’s session was notable for several other reasons: Essid himself called the vote, which is the first of its kind in Tunisia’s democratic history, and he knew beforehand that he would lose.

It remains unclear exactly why he opted for this bold move, although he had been under pressure to resign after President Beji Caid Essebsi called for a new national unity government in June, amid ongoing economic turmoil and security concerns.

As the days went by, and Essid showed no signs of stepping down, rumours began to circulate that the relationship between the two men had deteriorated. People close to the prime minister, including his spokesperson Khaled Chouket, began to criticize Essebsi publicly.

Essebsi spent several weeks in talks with different political parties and figures about the shape a new government should take. His efforts were realized in the ‘Carthage Pact’, signed on 13 July by Tunisia’s main political parties and civil society organizations.

But the question on everyone’s lips was: why this initiative, and why now?

Essid was nominated as prime minister by Essebsi’s secular Nidaa Tounes party on 5 January 2015 and asked to form a new government. On 2 February 2015, Essid announced a coalition whose members included representatives from Nidaa Tounes, the Islamist Ennahda party, and the liberal Free Patriotic Union (UPL) and Afek Tounes parties. This formation was approved by parliament on 5 February 2015 and the cabinet members were sworn in a day later.

Essid is reputed to be honest and straightforward. He has spent most of his career in the public sector, and is considered a connoisseur of its inner workings. He served as the cabinet director at the Ministry of the Interior under former dictator Zine al-Abidine Ben Ali, was twice appointed secretary of state (for Fishing and the Environment), also under Ben Ali, and, following the Tunisian Revolution in 2011, was named as interior minister in the government of then Prime Minister Essebsi. Essid was thus well known in political circles, but not to the general public, and his 2015 appointment came as a surprise to many.

It was widely believed that Essid was nominated because of his loyalty to Essebsi and for his docile nature. Although the prime minister has more power than the president in Tunisia’s constitution, the latter wanted to take the ascendency and needed a quiet executive, not a challenger. Essid was accepted by all political parties, and respected by many in the opposition.

Despite being approved by Tunisia’s parliament in a comfortable 166-30 vote, Essid’s cabinet inherited a litany of problems: a stagnating economy, high public spending, ongoing social unrest, widespread corruption, frequent terrorist attacks and a hostile regional environment, to name a few.

A year and a half later, the government’s attempts to address these problems had largely failed. While some progress had been made to improve security, the country was hit by the worst terrorist attacks in its history. The major economic and fiscal reforms Essid was expected to deliver did not materialize. His supporters argue that he was not given enough time.

Furthermore, Essid has had health problems. He was rushed to hospital three times, for undisclosed reasons, and was once hospitalized for almost a week.Moreover, the coalition was faltering. By the end of 2015, disagreements within Nidaa Tounes has split the party in two. UPL was also reeling from a series of resignations. These difficulties steadily undermined Essid’s authority and he found himself increasingly isolated.

Why he did not simply resign remains a mystery. In the last few weeks, the normally media-shy PMr made three television appearances, openly criticizing the president’s unity government initiative. Was this an act of defiance against Essebsi? Or was it in fact an agreement between the two men that will see Essebsi take over the premiership? Did he get prior backing from Ennahda before they ditched him?

Dozens of MPs asked to speak during the confidence vote. Most of them praised Essid’s character and the work of his government. After he had responded, he was given two standing ovations. Yet when it came time to vote, only three voted for him. Essid, the honest, straightforward PM, had been ousted by a crooked political class.

On 3 August 2016 President Essebsi nominated Youssef Chahde, Minister of Local Affairs since January 2016 and member of the Nidaa Tounes party, as new prime minister. The parliament now has a month to approve nomination. Once approved, the prime minister has in turn a month to appoint a cabinet which will be presented to parliament. Tunisia is once again in political limbo, which will only serve to deepen its economic woes and encourage those intent on harming its security to act.

 

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Yassine Gaidi ©Hollandse Hoogte | Yassine Gaidi ©Hollandse Hoogte

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update