فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تونس / من الماضي الى الحاضر / التفجيرات الإنتحارية في تونس تحفزّ الحملة الأمنية مع اقتراب الانتخابات

التفجيرات الإنتحارية في تونس تحفزّ الحملة الأمنية مع اقتراب الانتخابات

أقارب أحد ضباط الشرطة التونسية الذي قُتل في هجومٍ انتحاري، يبكون أثناء موكب جنازته في ضاحية سيدي حسين الغربية بالعاصمة تونس في 28 يونيو 2019. (Photo by FETHI BELAID / AFP) ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

مع بداية موسم الذروة السياحية في تونس وفي خضم الحملات الانتخابية للانتخابات الرئاسية في سبتمبر، تم تنفيذ هجومين انتحاريين في العاصمة التونسية تونس في 27 يونيو 2019.

حصلت الهجمات في تتابع سريع، مما أسفر عن جرح حوالي 10 أشخاص، إصابة اثنين منهما حرجة. استهدف التفجير الأول دوريةً للشرطة في وسط المدينة، مما أسفر عن مقتل ضابط. وبعد عشر دقائق، فجر مهاجمٌ آخر نفسه في ساحة انتظار السيارات بمركز شرطة الجرجاني، مما أسفر عن إصابة أربعة من ضباط الشرطة. أعلن تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية مسؤوليته عن الهجومين، لكنه لم يقدم أي دليل يدعم هذا الادعاء.

جاء رد رئيس الوزراء يوسف الشاهد حازماً، متعهداً بالانتقام الفوري والقوي. ففي اليوم التالي، قُبض على 25 مطلوباً لصلتهم المزعومة بجماعاتٍ إرهابية أو لمناصرتهم أعمالاَ إرهابية، بعد شن 493 غارة في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

وقال الشاهد إنه تم القضاء على آخر عضوٍ مفترض في الخلية الإرهابية وراء الهجمات. ومع ذلك، انتقد نشطاء حقوق الإنسان نهج رئيس الوزراء بعدم التسامح مطلقاً، قائلين إنه ينتهك سيادة القانون.

ففي صباح يوم الهجمات، أعدت وكالة الأنباء التونسية تقريراً عن محاولة “عناصر إرهابية” غير معروفة تخريب جهاز إرسالٍ لاسلكي على جبل أورباتا، على بعد حوالي 280 كلم جنوب تونس.

أعادت الإنفجارات التي هزت تونس الذاكرة إلى الانفجار الذي وقع يوم 29 أكتوبر 2018، والذي قامت به امرأة عاطلة عن العمل تبلغ من العمر 30 عاماً والتي تحمل شهادةً علمية متقدمة ولا تملك أي خلفيةٍ متشددة، بالقرب من دورية للشرطة في نفس المنطقة. كان هذا أول تفجيرٍ انتحاري غطته وسائل الإعلام على نطاق واسع منذ عام 2015، عندما قتلت ثلاثٍ هجمات كبيرة استهدفت أعضاء البرلمان وقوات الأمن والسائحين الأجانب حوالي 60 شخصاً.

وخلافاً لرأي خبراء الأمن الأجانب الذين يعزون تراجع العنف الإرهابي في تونس إلى “المهارات التقنية المتنامية وخبرة قوات الأمن،” صرح وزير الدفاع عبد الكريم الزبيدي أن “الصراعات السياسية الحالية هي المسؤولة عن 90% من مشاكل البلاد، بما في ذلك فشل الأمن.”

فقد وعد الشاهد، المعروف بكونه سياسي جاد، بشن حربٍ على الإرهاب في أعقاب الهجمات الأخيرة. وخلال عملية مطاردة خارج العاصمة، تعقبت الشرطة أيمن سميري، “العقل المدبر” المزعوم وراء التفجيرات الانتحارية، إلى ضاحية إنتلاكا للطبقة العاملة. ومع ذلك، فجر المشتبه فيه نفسه قبل أن تتمكن الشرطة من اعتقاله.

دفع هذا الهجوم الثالث الشاهد لحظر ارتداء النقاب في المؤسسات العامة لأسباب أمنية، بعد أن أفاد شهود عيان أن سميري، الذي تم وصفه بأنه متشدد يبلغ من العمر 23 عاماً فحسب، كان يرتدي النقاب للتمويه. من جهتها، نفت وزارة الداخلية هذه التقارير.

بالنسبة لأنصار الشاهد، فإن حظر النقاب قضيةٌ لا بد منها وإن أتت متأخرة، إذ حثوا البرلمان على تمديد العمل بالإجراء، بل وحتى إضفاء الطابع الرسمي عليه بتكريسه في القانون.

ومع ذلك، قال جمال مسلم، رئيس الرابطة التونسية للدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان، لوكالة فرانس برس للأنباء “يمكن أن يكون القرار مؤقتاً فقط ويجب مراجعته بمجرد عودة الوضع الأمني إلى طبيعته.”

إن افتراض حسن نية الحكومة له حدود، إذ قالت لنا في فَنَك أميمة مهدي من محامين بلا حدود “تستخدم الحكومة ‘الأمن‘ لإدخال قوانين تتعارض مع سيادة القانون، وكبح الحريات المدنية وكبح جماح المنظمات غير الحكومية.”

إذ كان يشير، من بين أمورٍ أخرى، إلى “إجراء إس 17” المثير للجدل والذي يتطلب من “المشتبه بهم” إبلاغ سلطات الحدود برحلتهم إلى الخارج وتحركاتهم داخل البلاد على حد سواء، مع إمكانية أن تمنعهم السلطات من السفر.

“القوانين واضحة،” قالت مهدي، وتابعت “نحن، تحالفٌ من تسع منظمات من منظمات المجتمع المدني، نشعر بقلقٍ خاص إزاء ما لا نعرفه. إن التعتيم الكامل لوزارة الداخلية يجعل من المستحيل بالنسبة لنا تكوين فكرة عن شرعية الإجراءات المتخذة رداً على التهديد الإرهابي.”

وأضاف: “لدينا بعض المؤشرات المثيرة للقلق رغم ذلك. على سبيل المثال، قال المفتش العام للسجون في عام 2018 إن 90% من نزلاء السجون كانوا رهن الاحتجاز قبل المحاكمة، متهمين الشرطة ضمنياً بالاعتقالات التعسفية والاحتجاز التعسفي. هذه الاعتقالات مصرحٌ بها بموجب قانون مكافحة الإرهاب الذي يحتوي على بعض البنود الغامضة والشاملة للغاية، والتي تستند إلى ‘نهج واحد يصلح للجميع‘.”

“إن تعريف الإرهاب في هذا القانون شامل للغاية، مما يجعل القانون ينطبق بشكلٍ أساسي على جميع أشكال الاحتجاج الاجتماعي،” أكد عمر الوسلاتي، وهو قاضٍ ومدافع عن حقوق الإنسان. وأضاف “علاوة على ذلك، يسمح القانون للسلطات باحتجاز المشتبه بهم لمدة أسبوعين دون السماح لهم الإتصال مع محامٍ ويُعيد العمل بعقوبة الإعدام. صحيح أنه كان هناك تعليق [لعقوبة الإعدام] منذ عام 1991، لكن ماذا لو قرر شخص مجنون تغيير ذلك؟ ”

كان قانون مكافحة الإرهاب التونسي، الذي تمت الموافقة عليه في يوليو 2015، بمثابة رد فعلٍ على الذعر الذي أعقب الهجمات الكبيرة في ذلك العام. وقالت منظمات حقوق الإنسان إن القانون يمكن أن يفتح الباب أمام ممارسات ترقى إلى مستوى التعذيب ويكون له رد فعل استبدادي.

فقد خلصت دراسة أجريت على 164 قضية أجرتها محامون بلا حدود بالتعاون مع منظمتين أخريين لحقوق الإنسان إلى حدوث انتهاكات منهجية للحق في محاكمةٍ عادلة والتأثير الضار لقانون مكافحة الإرهاب على نظام العدالة الجنائية بأكمله.

وفي يونيو 2019، أبرز تقريرٌ صادر عن مقرر الأمم المتحدة الخاص المعني بالحق في حرية التجمع السلمي وتكوين الجمعيات الانتهاكات الخطيرة والتهديدات لهذه الحقوق.

فقد قال الوسلاتي، “إن الدولة التونسية تنتج الإرهابيين،” وتابع “تُظهر السلطات إنكاراً لحق الشباب في الوجود، وخاصة أولئك الذين يعيشون في المناطق الفقيرة والمهملة. يتعرض الشباب الإسلاميون المتطرفون بشكلٍ منهجي للمضايقة والمطاردة من قبل ضباط الشرطة، كجزءٍ من سياسة غير رسمية.”

وأضافت مهدي: “إن عدم وجود إجماع برلماني على كل موضوع يمكن تصوره هو في الواقع نعمة في ثوب نقمة. على أي حال، سيكون من المستحيل اعتماد القانون الكارثي الجديد بشأن السلطات خلال حالة الطوارىء قبل انتخابات 2019.”

في الوقت نفسه، حذرت آمنة القلالي، مديرة مكتب هيومن رايتس ووتش في تونس، من أن “الصلاحيات غير المحدودة الممنوحة بموجب هذا القانون ستشكل خطوة إلى الوراء فيما يتعلق بالعديد من الحقوق التي ناضل التونسيون من أجلها منذ ثورة 2011.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Tunisia / Past to Present / Suicide Bombings in Tunisia Prompt Security Clampdown as Elections Near

Suicide Bombings in Tunisia Prompt Security Clampdown as Elections Near

Relatives of a Tunisian police officer killed in a suicide attack the previous day, mourn during his funeral procession in the Sidi Hassine western suburb of the capital Tunis on June 28, 2019. – Two blasts claimed by the Islamic State group killed a police officer in Tunis and wounded several other people on June 27, 2019. (Photo by FETHI BELAID / AFP) ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

At the beginning of the peak tourist season in Tunisia and in the midst of campaigning for presidential elections in September, two suicide attacks were carried out in Tunisia’s capital Tunis on 27 June 2019.

The attacks unfolded in quick succession, injuring about ten people, two of them fatally. The first bomber targeted a police patrol in the centre of the city, killing one officer. Ten minutes later, another bomber blew himself up in the parking lot of the el-Gorjani police station, injuring four police officers. Islamic State claimed responsibility for both attacks but did not provide any evidence to support the claim.

Prime Minister Youssef Chahed responded promptly, vowing immediate and forceful retribution. The next day, 25 people wanted for alleged links with terrorist groups or for advocating terrorist acts were arrested, after a total of 493 raids throughout the country.

Chahed said the supposed last member of the terrorist cell behind the attacks had been eliminated. However, human rights activists have been critical of the PM’s zero-tolerance approach, saying it violates the rule of law.

On the morning of the attacks, Tunisia’s state news agency reported an attempt by unidentified ‘terrorist elements’ to sabotage a radio transmitter on Mount Orbata, about 280 kilometres south of Tunis.

The blasts in Tunis recalled the explosion on 29 October 2018, carried out by an unemployed 30-year-old woman with an advanced degree and no militant background, near a police patrol in the same area. It was the first suicide bombing broadly covered in the media since 2015, when three major attacks targeting parliament members, security forces and foreign tourists killed around 60 people.

In contrast to the opinion of foreign security experts who attribute the decline in terrorist violence in Tunisia to ‘growing technical skills and experience of the security forces’, Defence Minister Abdelkrim Zbidi stated that the “current political conflicts are responsible for 90 per cent of the country’s problems, including its failing security”.

Chahed, known for being a no-nonsense politician, promised a war on terror following the most recent attacks. During a manhunt outside the capital, police tracked Aymen Smiri, the alleged ‘brain’ behind the suicide bombings, to the working-class suburb of Intilaka. However, the suspect blew himself up before the police could apprehend him.

This third attack prompted Chahed to ban the wearing of the face veil in public institutions for security reasons, after eyewitnesses reported that Smiri, described only as a wanted 23-year-old militant, had worn the veil as a disguise. The Interior Ministry denied these reports.

For Chahed’s supporters, the ban is a case of better late than never. They urged parliament to extend the measure and even formalize it by enshrining it in law.

However, Jamel Msallem, president of the Tunisian Human Rights League, told the AFP news agency that “the decision could only be temporary and should be reviewed as soon as the security situation has returned to normal”.

Giving the government the benefit of the doubt has its limits. “The government uses ‘security’ to introduce laws inconsistent with the rule of law, to curb civil liberties and to restrain NGOs,” Oumayma Mehdi of Lawyers Without Borders told Fanack.

He was referring, among others, to the controversial ‘S17 procedure’ requiring ‘suspects’ to inform the border authorities of both their trips abroad and their movements within the country, with the possibility that the authorities can prohibit them from travelling.

“Laws are visible,” Mehdi continued. “We, a coalition of nine civil society organizations, are particularly concerned about what we don’t know. The Interior Ministry’s complete opacity makes it impossible for us to form an idea of the legitimacy of the actions undertaken in response to the terrorist threat.”

He added, “We do have some worrisome indications though. The inspector general of prisons, for example, said in 2018 that 90 per cent of the prison population were in pre-trial detention, implicitly accusing the police of arbitrary arrests and detention. Those arrests are authorized by the anti-terrorism law that contains some very vague and extensive articles, based on a ‘one size fits all approach’. “

“The definition of terrorism in this law is extremely broad, which makes the law applicable to basically all forms of social protest,” confirmed Omar Weslati, a judge and human rights advocate. “Furthermore, the law allows the authorities to detain suspects for two weeks without allowing them any contact with a lawyer and reintroduces the death penalty. It’s true that there has been a moratorium [on the death penalty] since 1991, but what if someone crazy decides to change that?”

Tunisian’s anti-terrorism law, approved in July 2015, was a reaction to the panic following the major attacks that year. Human rights organizations said that the law could open the door to practices tantamount to torture and have an authoritarian backlash.

A study of 164 cases by Lawyers Without Borders in collaboration with two other human rights organizations found systematic violations of the right to a fair trial and a perverse effect of the anti-terrorism law on the entire criminal justice system.

In June 2019, a report by the United Nations special rapporteur on the rights to freedom of peaceful assembly and of association highlighted serious violations of and threats to these rights.

“The Tunisian state is producing terrorists,” Weslati stated. “Authorities display a denial of the right of young people to exist, particularly those who live in the pauperized, neglected areas. Supposedly Islamic radicalized youth are systematically being harassed and chased by police officers, as part of an unofficial policy.”

Mehdi added, “The absence of parliamentary consensus on every imaginable topic is actually a blessing in disguise. In any case, it will be impossible to adopt the catastrophic new law on powers during a state of emergency before the 2019 elections.”

At the same time, Amna Guellali, director of the Tunisian office of Human Rights Watch, warned, “The unlimited powers granted by this bill would constitute a step back in terms of many of the rights that Tunisians have been fighting for since the 2011 revolution.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID | ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.