Fanack Home / Tunisia / Past to Present / The Tunisian Revolution / The Marzouki government

The Marzouki government

Tunisian constitute assembly
Photo: @Fanack

The elections held on 23 October 2011 resulted in the establishment of coalition government consisting of Ennahda (Islamists; 89 seats), Congress for the Republic (CPR, secular, social democrats; 29) and the Democratic Forum for Labour and Liberties (secular, social democrats; 20) – commonly referred to as ‘the Troika’ (with 138 out of 217 seats).

Since the Tunisian revolution and especially following the October 2011 elections, the balance of power between the various state entities has shifted: in favour of the Prime Minister (currently Ali Laarayedh, of the Ennahda ruling party) and at the expense of the President (currently Moncef Marzouki of the CPR).

As a consequence, the President’s decisions have, in several cases, been overruled by the Prime Minister, causing friction within the ruling coalition. With the drafting of a new Constitution, the future of Tunisia’s political system is still to be settled. Ennahda is pressing for a parliamentary system, while other parties favour a presidential or semi-presidential system.

As Ennahda has the most seats in the Constituent Assembly, a parliamentary system is currently the most likely outcome.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Tunisia country file provides a comprehensive overview about Tunisia, its history, politics, culture, economy...
After the success of the Tunisian revolution, Tunisia was able to live a democratic transition of power through three pr...
Political disillusionment, caused by fierce police suppression and economic hardship – most evident in the high povert...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Fanack ©Fanack | ©Fanack

"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!