فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تونس / من الماضي الى الحاضر / في تونس: ارتفاع معدلات الإنتحار حرقاً مع تراجع الاقتصاد

في تونس: ارتفاع معدلات الإنتحار حرقاً مع تراجع الاقتصاد

Tunsia- Arab spring tunsisa
تونسيون يُصلون في مدينة تونس القديمة في 17 ديسمبر 2013، يوم الذكرى السنوية الثالثة لإنتحار بائع متجول شاب حرقاً، والذي أشعل أول انتفاضةٍ في الربيع العربي. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ SALAH HABIBI

في عام 2010، ورد قيام عشرة أشخاص في تونس بإشعال النار في أجسادهم احتجاجاً على فساد الشرطة والمصاعب الاقتصادية، حيث توفوا جميعاً في وقتٍ لاحق متأثرين بجراحهم. فقد كان طارق محمد البوعزيزي، وهو بائعٌ متجول أشعل النار في نفسه أمام مبنى البلدية في مدينة سيدي بوزيد في 17 ديسمبر، آخرهم.

حفز انتحار البوعزيزي الاحتجاجات التي يُنسب إليها إشعال شرارة الربيع العربي، الذي أسقط في نهاية المطاف الأنظمة الاستبدادية لزين العابدين بن علي في تونس، وحسني مبارك في مصر، ومعمر القذافي في ليبيا. حصل البوعزيزي على لقب شخصية عام 2011 من مجلة تايم. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن أسماء الأشخاص التسعة الآخرين الذين أشعلوا النار في أنفسهم ما زالت مجهولة.

ومما يثير القلق أن عدد حالات الانتحار حرقاً قد تضاعف ثلاث مراتٍ منذ الثورة، إذ يبدو أن الإنتحار حرقاً أمام العامة في تونس قد أصبح أمراً طبيعياً.

وبحسب ما قاله مهدي بن خليل، الطبيب والباحث في مستشفى شارل نيكول في العاصمة تونس، لنا في فَنَك، “أمرٌ اعتيادي، هذا هو المقصود تماماً.” وأضاف “أصبح الانتحار حرقاً ثاني أكثر طرق الانتحار شيوعاً، بدلاً من الانتحار بالسم. ففي عام 2018، أدخلت وحدة الحروق الرئيسية في تونس ما يقدر بنحو 45 شخصاً قاموا بإضرام النار في أنفسهم، إذ لا يتضمن هذا عدد محاولات الانتحار حرقاً، التي قد تكون أعلى بسبع أو ثماني مرات.”

كما ذكر المنتدى التونسي للحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية، وهو منظمة مجتمع مدني، ورود أربع محاولاتٍ للانتحار حرقاً أثناء الاحتجاجات العفوية، بما في ذلك محاولة مجموعة كاملة الإنتحار حرقاً، في أبريل 2019 وحده.

إجمالاً، وصلت عدد حالات الانتحار في شمال تونس إلى الضعف تقريباً بعد ثورة 2011، من 1,8 إلى 3,12 حالة انتحار لكل 100 ألف شخص في عام 2016، وهو ما يقرب من المعدل الوطني البالغ 3,29 حالة انتحار لكل 100 ألف شخصٍ في السنة، وفقاً لوزارة الصحة؛ إذ يعتبر معدلاً يمكن مقارنته بالدول الأخرى في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، إلا أنه أقل من أوروبا.

لجأ البوعزيزي، الذي لم يكن حاصلاً على شهادة الدراسة الثانوية وكان عاطلاً عن العمل، إلى بيع الفاكهة والخضار على إحدى العربات لإعالة أسرته. فالقطاع غير الرسمي في تونس غير منظم إلى حدٍ كبير، ويقع الباعة تحت رحمة القرارات التعسفية من جانب السلطات المحلية والشرطة فضلاً عن المضايقات التي يتعرضون لها، مما يجعل من الصعب كسب لقمة العيش. وبعد سلسلةٍ من العداوات مع الشرطة، كانت مصادرة عربته ما دفع البوعزيزي أخيراً إلى احتجاجه المميت.

وضعه لم يكن فريداً من نوعه، ففي عام 2010، وصل معدل البطالة بين الشباب الذين لا يحملون شهادة الدراسة الثانوية إلى ما نسبته 40,5%. وفي السنوات التسعة التي تلت وفاة بوعزيزي، ارتفعت معدلات البطالة بين الشباب إلى 33,4%.

وفي هذا الصدد، قال بن خليل: “لم تكن قضية البوعزيزي استثنائية، ولكن بعد سقوط بن علي في 14 يناير 2011 على وجه التحديد، اختلق الإعلام قصةً جعلته رمزاً ثورياً.” وأوضح أن الصور التي نشرتها وسائل الإعلام لاحتراقه تعود في الأصل لراهبٍ بوذي أو تم التلاعب بها من الناحية الفنية.

فقد أظهرت أبحاث المقارنة بعد الثورة تأثيراً جانبياً مثيراً للقلق لخرافة قصة البوعزيزي. فقبل عام 2011، كان الإنتحار حرقاً الطريقة الثالثة أو الرابعة الأكثر شيوعا للانتحار، إذ كانت معظم هذه الحالات مرتبطةً بالمرض العقلي، والصراعات الزوجية (وخاصة النساء) والمشاكل المالية، وحدثت في منزل الضحية. وبعد الثورة، أفادت الدراسات نفسها زيادةً بنسبة ثلاثة أضعاف في حالات الإنتحار حرقاً. وعلى وجه التحديد، ارتفعت بسرعة حالات الإنتحار حرقاً في الأماكن العامة وخارج مباني الإدارة العامة. وفي الوقت نفسه، كان الدافع وراء المزيد من حالات الانتحار هو المصاعب المالية أو الصراع مع أحد ممثلي الدولة.

والجدير بالذكر أن الأشخاص الذين يلجأون إلى الانتحار حرقاً، مثل البوعزيزي، تتطابق معلوماتهم الشخصية مع المهاجرين غير الشرعيين أو المشاركين في الجهاد: ذكورٌ شباب، غير متزوجين أو متزوجين حديثاً، عاطلين عن العمل أو من عمال المياومة، دون أي اضطراباتٍ نفسية معروفة.

وأضاف بن خليل “التغطية الإعلامية واسعة النطاق تسببت في عددٍ كبير من [محاولات] الانتحار المقلدة.” وتابع “مع تلاشى افتتان وسائل الإعلام بالبوعزيزي، بات تحديد وقع التأثير جدياً: أصبح ضحايا الإنتحار حرقاً أشخاصٌ ‘مثلي ومثلك‘؛ أشخاصٌ يمكن للعديد من الشباب أن يضعوا أنفسهم مكانهم.”

وبحسب ما قالته نجمة عرفة، المدافعة عن الحقوق الاجتماعية والاقتصادية من المنتدى التونسي للحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية، لفَنَك، “أصبح شكلاً من أشكال الاحتجاج.” وأضافت “هؤلاء هم أشخاصٌ يحاولون بيأس تحسين ظروفهم المعيشية. إنه نداء استغاثة للسلطات؛ يريدون أن يتم إنقاذهم.”

وتابعت: “الأشخاص الذين نعمل معهم على استعدادٍ في نهاية المطاف لتعريض حياتهم للخطر. عندما تتحدث إليهم، يقولون، ‘لقد خسرت نفسي وروحي بالفعل، جسدي هو كل ما تبقى لي‘.”

وقال بن خليل “أعرّف التضحية بالنفس أمام العلن باعتباره شكلاً من أشكال التواصل، وليس بالضرورة انتحاراً.” وأضاف “الشباب – معظمهم – يبحثون عن وسيلة للتعبير عن يأسهم للمجتمع. علينا أن نعلّم المراهقين تقنياتٍ مختلفة للتغلب على التوتر والقلق.”

الصحفي التونسي عبد الرزاق الزرقي، الذي أشعل النار بنفسه في مدينة القصرين في 24 ديسمبر 2018، نشر رسالةً عبر شريط فيديو قبل وفاته يعبر فيها عن خيبة أمله من الربيع العربي ويدعو إلى ثورةٍ أخرى. أشعلت دعوته أياماً من الاحتجاجات والاشتباكات مع الشرطة.

أولئك الذين لا يفقدون أرواحهم بعد محاولة الإنتحار حرقاً يواجهون عواقب وخيمة، إذ قالت عرفة “تصبح ظروفهم المعيشية مُتعبة أكثر بعد محاولة الإنتحار مما كانت عليه.” وأضافت، “تتجاهل السلطات (المحلية) والحكومة احتياجات المواطنين ولا تقدم سوى الإسعافات الأولية لإنقاذ الضحايا، لكن لا توجد أي رعاية بعد ذلك.”

فقد قالت أن تحولاً جذرياً مطلوبٌ بشدة، “نحتاج إلى كسر النزعة القبلية السياسية وإنشاء نظام ديمقراطي أكثر شمولية. وعلى الاتحاد الأوروبي أن يفتح حدوده.”

وفي الوقت نفسه، تتمثل استراتيجية المنتدى التونسي للحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية في حشد المواطنين وخوض المعركة معاً، وتزويد الناس ببديلٍ للعزلة التي يعيشونها.

بن خليل، وهو عضو في لجنة منع الانتحار التابعة لوزارة الصحة، طمأننا بعض الشيء، إذ قال “يتم تغطية الانتحار عن طريق التضحية بالنفس بشكلٍ عام في أجندة الرعاية الصحية العامة. فقد وضعت الوزارة استراتيجيةً لمنع الانتحار. دربنا أخصائيي علم النفس على ترجمة إشارات الانتحار ونقوم بإجراء مزيدٍ من الأبحاث.”

بيد أنه يُشاطر عرفة مخاوفها، إذ قال “تحسين الأوضاع الاقتصادية أمرٌ بالغ الأهمية. إن استراتيجية الوقاية من الإنتحار لن تجدي نفعاً إذا ما استمر الاقتصاد التونسي بالتراجع.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ SALAH HABIBI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Tunisia / Past to Present / In Tunisia, Self-immolation Soars as Economy Tanks

In Tunisia, Self-immolation Soars as Economy Tanks

Tunsia- Arab spring tunsisa
Tunisians pray in the old city of Tunis on December 17, 2013, as they mark the third anniversary of the self-immolation of a young street vendor that sparked the first Arab Spring uprising. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ SALAH HABIBI

In 2010, ten people in Tunisia reportedly set fire to themselves in protest against police corruption and economic hardship. They later died of their injuries. Tarek Mohamed Bouazizi, a street vendor who set himself alight in front of a municipal building in the city of Sidi Bouzid on 17 December, was the last of them.

Bouazizi’s suicide catalyzed protests that are credited with sparking the Arab Spring, eventually bringing down the authoritarian regimes of Zine el-Abidine Ben Ali in Tunisia, Hosni Mubarak in Egypt and Muammar Qaddafi in Libya. Bouazizi was named Time Magazine’s 2011 person of the year. The names of the other nine people who set themselves alight remain unknown.

Disturbingly, the number of suicides by self-immolation has tripled since the revolution. Public self-immolation in Tunisia seems to have been normalized.

“’Normalization’, that’s exactly the point,” Mehdi Ben Khelil, a doctor and researcher at the Charles Nicolle Hospital in the capital Tunis, told Fanack. “Self-immolation has become the second most common suicide method, instead of toxic ingestion. In 2018, the main burn unit in Tunisia admitted an estimated 45 people who had set themselves on fire. That’s not counting the number of attempts, which might be seven or eight times higher.”

The Tunisian Forum for Economic and Social Rights (FTDES), a civil society organization, reported four self-immolation attempts during spontaneous protests, including one group self-immolation, in April 2019 alone.

Overall, the number of suicides in northern Tunisia almost doubled after the 2011 revolution, from 1.8 to 3.12 suicides per 100,000 people in 2016, coming close to the national average of 3.29 suicides per 100,000 people per year, according to the Ministry of Health. It is a rate comparable to other countries in the MENA region but lower than Europe.

Bouazizi, who did not have a high school diploma and was unemployed, resorted to selling fruit and vegetables from a cart to support his family. Tunisia’s informal sector is largely unregulated, and vendors are at the mercy of arbitrary decisions by and harassment from the local authorities and police, making it difficult to earn a living. Following a series of run-ins with the police, it was the confiscation of his cart that finally drove Bouazizi to his lethal act of protest.

His situation was not unique. In 2010, the unemployment rate for young men without a high school diploma was 40.5 per cent. In the nine years since Bouazizi’s death, youth unemployment has further increased to 33.4 per cent.

“Bouazizi’s case was not exceptional,” Ben Khelil said, “but particularly after the fall of Ben Ali on 14 January 2011, the media fabricated a narrative in which it made him a revolutionary icon.” The fire images that the media spread were allegedly of a Buddhist monk or otherwise technically manipulated, he explained.

Post-revolution comparative research showed a worrying side-effect of Bouazizi’s mythification. Before 2011, self-immolation was the third or fourth most common method of suicide. Most of these cases were related to mental illness, marital conflicts (especially women) and financial problems, and took place in the victim’s home. After the revolution, the same studies reported a threefold increase in self-immolation. Specifically, self-immolation in public spaces and outside public administration buildings rapidly expanded. Simultaneously, more suicides were motivated by financial hardship or a conflict with a state representative.

Notably, people who turn to self-immolation, like Bouazizi, match the same profile as undocumented migrants or those participating in jihad: they are young, male, single or recently married, unemployed or a day worker, with no known psychiatric disorders.

“The widespread media coverage triggered a significant number of copycat suicide (attempts),” Ben Khelil said. “Whereas the media’s fascination with Bouazizi has faded, an identification effect has taken hold: victims of self-immolation have become people ‘like you and me’; people with whom many youth can identify.”

“It is a form of protest,” Najla Arfa, a social and economic rights defender at FTDES, told Fanack. “These are people desperately trying to improve their living conditions. It is a cry for help to the authorities; they want to be saved.”

She continued: “The people we work with are eventually willing to jeopardize their lives. When you talk to them, they say, ‘I have already lost my spirit and my soul, my body is all that’s left of me.”

“I define self-immolation in public as a form of communication, not necessarily as a suicide,” Ben Khelil said. “The – mostly – young men are seeking a way to express their desperation to society. We have to teach teens different techniques to cope with stress and anxiety.”

Tunisian journalist Abderrazak Zorgui, who set himself on fire in the city of Kasserine on 24 December 2018, posted a video message before his death expressing his disillusionment with the Arab Spring and calling for another revolution. His call set off days of protests and clashes with police.

Those who do not die from self-immolation face cruel consequences. “Their living conditions are even more burdensome after an attempt than before,” Arfa said. “(Local) authorities and the government ignore citizens’ needs and only provide first aid to save the victims, but there is no after-care.”

A radical shift is required, she said. “We need to break political tribalism and create a more inclusive democratic system. And the EU must open up its borders.”

Meanwhile, FTDES’ strategy is to mobilize citizens and fight the battle together, providing people with an alternative to the isolation they experience.

Ben Khelil, who is a member of the Ministry of Health’s committee on suicide prevention, offered some reassurance. “Suicide by self-immolation is generally covered in the public health care agenda. The ministry has put a suicide prevention strategy in place. We have trained psychologists to interpret suicide signals and are doing further research.”

However, he shares Arfa’s concerns. “Improving the economic situation is paramount. A suicide prevention strategy will do little if the Tunisian economy continues to slow down.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ SALAH HABIBI | ©AFP ⁃ SALAH HABIBI

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.