فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / الاقتصاد / المشاريع المفضلة للسلطان: مشاريع البُنية التحتية الضخمة في تركيا

المشاريع المفضلة للسلطان: مشاريع البُنية التحتية الضخمة في تركيا

Turkey- Istanbul New Airport
صورة كل من الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان (يمين) ومؤسس تركيا الحديثة مصطفى كمال أتاتورك (يسار) تشاهدان خلال حفل افتتاح مطار إسطنبول الثالث، مطار إسطنبول الجديد، في منطقة ارنافوتكوي على الجانب الأوروبي من إسطنبول في 29 أكتوبر 2018. Photo AFP

في عام 2017، ادعى رئيس وزراء تركيا آنذاك، بن علي يلدريم، أن ستة من “المشاريع العملاقة” العشرة التي كان من المقرر إنهاؤها في السنوات العشر الماضية جارٍ العمل عليها في تركيا. فقد وصف هذه المشاريع بأنها مقياسٌ لاستقرار تركيا، حيث تم بناء جميع هذه المشاريع باستثناء واحدٍ ضمن شراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص والتي تتطلب ملايين الدولارات من الاستثمارات الأجنبية. بينما يجادل آخرون بأن المشاريع العملاقة في عهد أردوغان كانت في أحسن الأحوال استراتيجيةً سياسية خطرة؛ في حال نجحت، في حين أنها في أسوأ الأحوال قد تشكل فقط سلسلةً من المشاريع باهظة الثمن التي تغذي غروره.

إن العديد من هذه المشاريع مستمدةٌ من خططٍ نشرت عام 2011 لتعزيز الناتج المحلي الإجمالي لتركيا، الذي بلغ 851 مليار دولار في عام 2017، إلى 2 تريليون دولار بحلول عام 2023. فقد وصف الرئيس أردوغان بنفسه هذه المشاريع، بكلٍ فخرٍ، بأنها “مجنونة.” فالمشاريع ضخمةٌ في تنوعها، تماماً كما هو حال حجمها، إذ تتمركز الكثير منها حول اسطنبول، أكبر مدن تركيا، حيث شغل الرئيس أردوغان منصب رئيس البلدية خلال التسعينيات. وهي تشمل جسراً ثالثاً يمتد فوق مضيق البوسفور، ونفق من ثلاثة طوابق يتضمن ممرات للسيارات وسكك حديدية أسفل مضيق البوسفور، وهو ثلاثة أضعاف حجم نظام المترو في اسطنبول، وأكبر مطار في العالم وقناة لتنافس تلك الموجودة في السويس وبنما.

التكلفة الاقتصادية

عصف عدم الاستقرار في تركيا، حتى أثناء حكم الرئيس أردوغان، الذي وقف في وجه كل تحدٍ لسلطته منذ عام 2002، بالتوقعات الاقتصادية في تركيا في السنوات الأخيرة، وخاصة منذ محاولة الانقلاب في عام 2016. ردت أنقرة على الإرتياب الذي تلى ذلك بين المستثمرين الأجانب من خلال تنفيذ حزمةٍ من الحوافز. تم انتقاد هذه الحزمة، إلى جانب سلسلةٍ من مشاريع البنية التحتية الضخمة والهِبات السخية ما قبل الانتخابات، باعتبارها تقوّض ضبط الميزانية في تركيا فضلاً عن تغذية تضخم الليرة التركية.

يفتخر الرئيس أردوغان بتغييره البنية التحتية للبلاد بالكامل منذ توليه منصبه، وخلال حملته الانتخابية عام 2018، وعد بإدارة مجموعةٍ من مشاريع البنية التحتية للاحتفال بالذكرى المئوية الأولى لتأسيس الجمهورية التركية عام 2023، والتي تم تمويلها جميعها من خلال خطة استثمارية تبلغ قيمتها 200 مليار دولار. ومع ذلك، أعرب صندوق النقد الدولي عن قلقه من انتشار هذه المشاريع، وحث على “الاختيار الدقيق” لمثل هذه النفقات في عام 2018.

ومن بين المشاريع مشروع جسر السلطان سليم الأول بطول 1,4 كيلومتر في اسطنبول، وهو ثالث جسرٍ يمتد فوق ممر البوسفور المائي والأكبر في العالم في فئته. ويقدم هذا الجسر الذي تبلغ تكلفته ثلاثة مليارات دولار مساراً يتألف من ثماني مسارب للطريق السريع بين اسطنبول وأزمير لتجاوز أزمة حركة المرور في المدينة. وفي حين أن تكلفته الضخمة قد تثير بعض التساؤلات حول القيمة التي يجلبها أي معبرٍ جديد على مضيق البوسفور، فإن المنافع الاقتصادية، بالنسبة لمدينةٍ آخذة في النمو وتعاني من الازدحام المروري، يجعل الأموال التي تم إنفاقها تستحق.

ففي أواخر عام 2018، عندما عاني اقتصاد تركيا من العقوبات الأمريكية وتضخمٍ هائل، أشار الرئيس أردوغان إلى أن تركيا ستراجع خطط الاستثمار القائمة. وحتى مع ذلك، سيستمر العمل على المشاريع التي كانت توشك على الإنتهاء تقريباً وستظل تطلعاتها المستقبلية مضمونة. فعلى ما يبدو، لا توجد تكاليف باهظة لوحوش البنية التحتية الحديثة هذه.

المصادر: Wikipedia, istanbulinvestments.com, Andalou Agency, graphicnews.com. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack.com ©Fanack

التكلفة البشرية

يعتبر مطار اسطنبول الثالث أكثر هذه المشاريع تكلفةً، والذي افتتح رسمياً في 29 أكتوبر 2018. وبتكلفةٍ تصل إلى 12 مليار دولار، يتم وصفه باعتباره أكبر مطارٍ في العالم (بعد استكماله)، إذ يُقدر في نهاية المطاف عبور نحو 20 مليون مسافر عبر بواباته يومياً.

سيحل المطار الجديد محل مطار أتاتورك بإسطنبول، الذي يعدّ بوابةً محببة إلى العالم في المدينة. ومع ذلك، قد لا يكون المطار مجرد تحديثٍ لوسيلة النقل. ومن المستبعد أن يحمل المطار الجديد، الذي يهدف إلى التخلص من أحد أبرز المعالم في البلاد لمؤسس الجمهورية، مصطفى كمال أتاتورك، اسمه مجدداً. وبدلاً من ذلك، يقدم المشروع لحزب أردوغان الإسلامي الفرصة لتكريس الموقع لبطلٍ آخر يخصهم من العهد العثماني، وإعادة رسم خريطة الهوية التركية بمهارة. فقد تم بالفعل تسمية الجسر الثالث للمدينة باسم “سليم العابس،” وهو سلطان عثماني سيء السمعة بسبب حملاته القاتلة. وفي الوقت الذي لم تتم فيه بعد تسمية المطار، يعتبر عبد الحميد الثاني – السلطان العثماني الذي يحظى بالاحترام باعتباره سلف الإسلام السياسي في تركيا- المرشح الأوفر حظاً.

ومن المتوقع أن يعزز المطار اقتصاد تركيا بنسبة 5%، مما يعزز من مكانة اسطنبول- وتركيا بالمجمل- كمركزٍ للاقتصاد العالمي. ومن الواضح أن بناء المشروع كان بمثابة تعزيزٍ لاقتصاد المدينة، حيث قدم دفعةً اقتصادية حيوية في فترةٍ شهدت تدابير تقشف تجارية وضغطاً اقتصادي واضح. ولكن في نفس الوقت، اكتنفت هذه الطفرة الاقتصادية سحابة سوداء حول ظروف العمل أثناء بناء المطار، فقد مات العشرات من الموظفين خلال عملية البناء، وخرجوا في احتجاجاتٍ مراراً وتكراراً للتعبير عن غضبهم من ظروف العمل، وتأخر دفع الرواتب، وحتى جودة الطعام المقدم للعمّال. وفي حين كان المطار الجديد محور هذه المجموعة الجديدة من مشاريع البنية التحتية العملاقة في تركيا، إلا أنه كان أيضاً رمزاً للمشاكل التي طاردت معظم، إن لم يكن جميع، المشاريع الأخرى.

التكلفة البيئية

لم تقتصر انتقادات فورة بناء البنية التحتية على التكلفة البشرية. فلربما كان المشروع الأكثر إثارةً للجدل الذي قررته الحكومة التركية هو بناء قناة اسطنبول التي يبلغ طولها 45 كم.

فعندما ارتطمت سفينة شحنٍ في بأحد ضفاف البوسفور في عام 2018، كانت الحاجة إلى إيجاد طريق شحنٍ بديل واضحة للغاية بالنسبة للبعض. ومع ذلك، فإن مثل هذه الأحداث نادرة، فحتى مع اكتظاظ حركة المرور في مضيق البوسفور- فقد مرت في عام 2017، 53000 سفينة عبر المضائق، مما يجعلها واحدة من الممرات المائية الأكثر ازدحاماً في العالم. وفي نفس العام، مرت 18000 سفينة فقط من قناة السويس.

وفي محاولةٍ لتسريع وتيرة تطوير هذه المشاريع، باتت المخاوف البيئية خارج المعادلة؛ وتعدّ القناة أفضل مثالٍ على ذلك. فقد قال خبراء البيئة إن القناة ستدمر الأحواض المائية والمساحات الخضراء الآخذة بالتقلص باستمرار حول اسطنبول، إضافةً إلى تغيير مستويات الأكسجين في البحر، الأمر الذي يمكن أن يكون له عواقب وخيمة على الحياة البحرية. ستعبر قناة اسطنبول ما مساحته 350 هكتاراً من الغابات الرئيسية، التي أدى دورها في التخفيف من تلوث الهواء في المدينة إلى اكتسابها لقب “رئتي اسطنبول،” وستشرد أكثر من مليون شخص. ومع ذلك، تعتبر أنقرة أن هذه تكلفةً تستحق الدفع.

ويبدو أن المطار والقناة يعطلان أحواض المياه التي تغذي صنابير المياه في اسطنبول، بما في ذلك أنظمة قنوات المياه التي وضعها المعماري العثماني في القرن السابع عشر معمار سنان. كما أثيرت أسئلةٌ حول جدوى مشروع القناة، حيث تضمن معاهدة 1936 مجانية مرور السفن عبر مضيق البوسفور. ولا يزال يتعين على الحكومة التركية أن تعلن عن الكيفية التي ستقنع بها شركات الشحن بالدفع مقابل المرور عبر القناة الجديدة.

ومع ذلك، ليست جميع المشاريع، بالضرورة، مضرةً بالبيئة، إذ توشك تركيا على تدشين سلسلةٍ من محطات الطاقة الشمسية الكبرى، والتي تعدّ الأكبر من نوعها في البلاد. واعتباراً من عام 2018، أكملت البلاد أولى خطواتها لتحقيق هدفها المتمثل في أن تستمد 30% من طاقتها من الطاقة الشمسية بحلول عام 2023 كجزءٍ من مبادرة إعمار البلاد في الذكرى المئوية للجمهورية التركية. وحتى مع ذلك، فإن مبادرات الطاقة المتجددة، رغم أنها ضرورية لرفاهية الكوكب، لن تعالج الضرر الذي تسببه علاقة حب تركيا الجديدة للمد الخرساني.

مستقبل مبطن بالخرسانة

قال الرئيس أردوغان لآلاف الأتراك الذين جاءوا لرؤية افتتاح الجسر: “عندما يموت الرجل يترك وراءه نصباً تذكارياً.” وعلى الرغم من التكاليف، ولربما بسببها، فإن هذه السلسلة من المشاريع العملاقة عززت مكانته في تاريخ تركيا وفي أفق تركيا على حد سواء.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: BULENT KILIC ©AFP | BULENT KILIC ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Turkey / Economy / The Pet Projects of a Sultan: Turkey’s Mega Infrastructure Projects

The Pet Projects of a Sultan: Turkey’s Mega Infrastructure Projects

Turkey- Istanbul New Airport
Turkish president Recep Tayyip Erdogan (R) and modern Turkey’s founder Mustafa Kemal Ataturk’s (L) pictures are seen during the opening ceremony of Istanbul’s third airport, the Istanbul New Airport, in the Arnavutkoy district on the European side of Istanbul on October 29, 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ BULENT KILIC

In 2017, Turkey’s then-Prime Minister, Binali Yildirim, claimed that six of the ten “megaprojects” of the past ten years were underway in Turkey. He touted the projects as a measure of Turkey’s stability, as all but one have been built in a public-private partnership that requires millions of dollars of foreign investment. Others argue that the megaprojects of the Erdogan era have been at best a dangerous, if successful, political strategy while at worst may just constitute a series of phenomenally expensive ego projects.

Many of these projects stem from plans published in 2011 to bolster Turkey’s GDP, which in 2017 stood at $851 billion, to $2 trillion by 2023. President Erdogan himself boasted of these projects as being “crazy”. The projects have been as grand in diversity as they have been in scale. Many have centred around Istanbul, Turkey’s largest city and where President Erdogan served as mayor during the 1990s. They include a third bridge spanning the Bosphorus, a three-storey tunnel for road and rail transit under the Bosphorus, a tripling of the length of Istanbul’s metro system, the world’s largest airport and a canal to rival those at Suez and Panama.

The Economic Cost

Instability in Turkey, even during the iron-grip rule of President Erdogan – who has staved off every challenge to his power since 2002 – has plagued the economic outlook of Turkey in recent years, but especially since the attempted coup in 2016. Ankara responded to the ensuing wariness among foreign investors by implementing a stimulus package. This package, combined with the series of mega infrastructure projects and generous pre-election giveaways, has been criticised as undermining Turkey’s budgetary discipline as well as stoking inflation of the Turkish Lira.

President Erdogan prides himself on having transformed the country’s infrastructure since taking charge, and during his 2018 election campaign he promised a slew of infrastructure projects to celebrate the 2023 centenary of the Turkish republic, all funded by a $200 billion government decade-long investment plan. However the International Monetary Fund (IMF) has expressed concern at the spread of these projects, urging a “strict selection” for such expenditure in 2018.

Among the projects is Istanbul’s 1.4-km-long Yavuz Sultan Selim bridge, the third to span the Bosphorus waterway and the largest in the world in its class. The $3 billion bridge offers an eight-lane route for the Istanbul-Izmir highway to skip past the city’s infamous traffic. While its hefty price tag may leave some questioning its worth, for a growing city troubled by congested traffic, the economic benefits that any new crossing of the Bosphorus bring make it a price worth paying.

In late 2018, as Turkey’s economy struggled with US sanctions and staggering inflation, President Erdogan signalled that Turkey would review existing investment plans. Even so, the nearly-completed projects would still be finished and their future looks assured. There is no cost too great, it seems, for these monsters of modern infrastructure.

Turkey mega projects
Sources: Wikipedia, istanbulinvestments.com, Andalou Agency, graphicnews.com. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

The Human Cost

Most expensive among these projects has been Istanbul’s third airport, which was officially opened on 29 October 2018. Costing a whopping estimated $12 billion, it is billed as the world’s largest airport (once completed), with an estimated $20 million eventually estimated to pass through its doors each day.

It replaces Istanbul’s Ataturk airport, a long-loved gateway to the world for the city. However, the airport may not just be a transport upgrade. Doing away with one of the country’s most prominent monuments to the Republic’s founder, Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, it is highly unlikely that the new airport will bear his name again. Instead, the project offers Erdogan’s Islamist party the chance to dedicate the site to another Ottoman-era hero of theirs, subtly reshaping the Turkish identity map. Already the city’s third bridge is named after ‘Selim the Grim’ an Ottoman sultan infamous for his murderous campaigns. While the airport has not yet been named, Abdul Hamid II – the Ottoman sultan who is revered as a forefather of political Islam in Turkey – is viewed as a frontrunner.

The airport is expected to boost Turkey’s economy by 5%, further cementing Istanbul’s – and Turkey’s – place as a hub in the global economy. The construction of the project has obviously been an enhancement to the city’s economy, providing vital economic boosts in a period of broad commercial belt-tightening and economic strain. But at the same time, this economic boom has been shadowed by dark clouds around the conditions of labour on the airport’s construction. Dozens of employees have died during the construction process and protests have repeatedly been called in anger at working conditions, late payment of salaries and even the quality of food provided to workers. While the new airport has been the centrepiece of this new collection of Turkish mega infrastructure projects, it has also been a figurehead for the problems that have beleaguered most, if not all, of its cousins.

The Environmental Cost

Criticisms of the infrastructure-building spree has not been limited to the human cost. Perhaps the most controversial project slated for construction by the Turkish government is the 45-km-long Istanbul Canal.

When a shipping vessel crashed into the bank of the Bosphorus in 2018, the need for an alternate shipping route was all too clear for some. However, such events are a rarity, even if traffic in the Bosphorus is on the rise – in 2017, some 53,000 ships passed through the straits, making it one of the most crowded waterways in the world. Only 18,000 ships traversed the Suez Canal in the same year.

In a bid to fast-track the development of these projects, environmental concerns have fallen by the wayside; the canal is the best example of this. Environmentalists have said that the canal will destroy water basins and ever-shrinking green spaces around Istanbul, as well as altering oxygen levels in the sea, which can have serious consequences for marine life. The Istanbul Canal will run through 350 hectares of prime forest, whose role in mitigating the city’s air pollution has earned them the nickname “the lungs of Istanbul,” and will displace more than one million people. This is all a cost that Ankara deems worth paying.

The airport and canal seem set to disrupt the water basin that feeds Istanbul’s taps, including aqueduct systems put in place by 17th century Ottoman architect Mimar Sinan. Questions have also been raised over the viability of the canal project, as a 1936 treaty guarantees free passage for ships via the Bosphorus. The Turkish government has yet to publicly address how it would convince shipping companies to pay for passage through the new canal.

But not all the projects are necessarily bad for the environment. Turkey is inaugurating a series of large solar power plants, the largest ever planned in the country. As of 2018, the country is well on its way to reaching its target of deriving 30% of its energy from solar energy by 2023 as part of Turkish Republic’s centenary construction initiative. Even so, renewable energy initiatives, while essential for the planet’s well-being, will not remedy the damage that Turkey’s new concrete love affair is doing.

A Concrete-Lined Future

“When man dies he leaves behind a monument,” President Erdogan told the thousands of Turks who came to see the bridge opening. Despite – and perhaps because of – the costs, this string of megaprojects has cemented his place in Turkey’s history and on the Turkish landscape.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ BULENT KILIC | ©AFP ⁃ BULENT KILIC

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.