الصفحة الرئيسية / تركيا / وُجوه / أحمد سيك: يُعاقب على قول الحقيقة

أحمد سيك: يُعاقب على قول الحقيقة

turkey- Ahmet Şık
أحمد سيك. Photo Wiipedia

لا يزال أحمد سيك، وهو أحد أشهر وأجرأ الصحفيين في تركيا، محتجزاً رهن المحاكمة منذ ديسمبر 2016. فقد سطع نجمه بعد إعداده تقارير عن انتهاكات الدولة في شرق تركيا، حيث يشارك الجيش في عملياتٍ عنيفة لمكافحة التمرد تهدف إلى سحق حزب العمال الكردستاني. ويُتهم اليوم بنشر دعايةٍ إرهابية لصالح رجل الدين المنفي، فتح الله غولن، الذي يتهمه حزب العدالة والتنمية الحاكم بتدبير الإنقلاب الفاشل في 15 يوليو 2016.

ومنذ ذلك اليوم، شهدت البلاد تحولاً كبيراً. فقد غيّر رئيس البلاد، رجب طيب أردوغان، الدستور من نظامٍ برلماني إلى نظامٍ رئاسي، مما منحه السلطة المطلقة على السلطة القضائية والفرعين التشريعي والتنفيذي للحكومة. كما استخدم محاولة الانقلاب الفاشل كذريعة لفرض حالة الطوارىء في البلاد، مما مكنه من تطهير البلاد من المعارضة من خلال تصوير جميع خصومه باعتبارهم أعضاء في “منظمة فتح الله غولن الإرهابية.”

لم يسلم سيك بالرغم من سخافة التهم. ففي عام 2011، قام بنشر كتاب جيش الإمام، وهو كتابٌ كشف فيه كيف تسلل غولن وأتباعه في مؤسسات الدولة، بما في ذلك جهاز الشرطة.

فقد كان غولن وأردوغان حليفين وثيقين في ذلك الوقت. ومعاً، شنا حملة قمعٍ عنيفة على منظمة سرية مزعومة أخرى تعرف باسم إرغينيكون. أدين أكثر من 330 من الضباط العسكريين البارزين في عام 2012 بالتآمر للإطاحة بالحكومة. وادعى بعض النقاد أن المحاكمة كانت انتصاراً للديمقراطية، في حين شكك آخرون في أنها شكلت ذريعة لسجن حزب العدالة والتنمية لخصومه.

وبالنظر إلى الماضي قليلاً، يبدو أن الفرضية الثانية هي الصحيحة. فقد اتهم سيك، على سبيل المثال، بكونه أحد أعضاء منظمة إرغينيكون بعد نشره تحقيقاتٍ تخص حركة غولن. وبالرغم من عدم إدانته، إلا أنه أمضى 375 يوماً خلف القضبان.

وأشار دكستر فيلكنز، وهو صحفي في صحيفة نيو يوركر، إلى أنه في حين تمكنت حركة غولن من القبض على سيك، إلا أنهم لم يتمكنوا من حظر كتابه تماماً. فبعد فترةٍ وجيزة من اعتقاله، ظهر الكتاب على شبكة الانترنت، وعليه، اجتمع مجموعة من أصدقاء وزملاء سيك لطباعة الكتاب، وبيعت نسخه في معرض اسطنبول للكتاب في نوفمبر 2011.

بدأت علاقة أردوغان وغولن بالتداعي بحلول عام 2013، حيث بدأ اشتباكهما مع محاربة كلٍ منهما للآخر سعياً وراء السلطة على حساب الآخر. وبعد أكثر من ثلاث سنوات، ألقي القبض على سيك مجدداً لنشره تحقيقاً في صحيفة جمهوريت، وهي صحيفة معروفة منذ زمنٍ طويل بموقفها المعارض. وفي 30 ديسمبر 2016، اتهم رسمياً بنشر الدعاية لصالح منظمة فتح الله غولن الإرهابية، وهو التنظيم ذاته الذي عمل دون كللٍ أو ملل لفضحه.

لم يشكل اعتقاله مفاجأة، بالرغم من أن التهم أكثر غرابة مما وجه إليه في محاكمة قضية إرغينيكون، وفقاً لما تقوله مجموعات حقوقية تركية ودولية. فقد كان سيك، وزملائه في صحيفة جمهوريت، قد تلقوا بالفعل تهديداتٍ من مؤيدي حزب العدالة والتنمية المتشددين، محذرينهم بالتوقف عن التحقيق في العلاقات بين جهاز المخابرات الوطني التركي والفصائل الجهادية في سوريا، إلا أنهم لم يفعلوا ذلك بالطبع.

بل وبجرأة أكبر، كتب سيك سلسلة من المقالات الاستقصائية تناقض الرواية الحكومية لمحاولة الإنقلاب، التي ادعت أن العملية برمتها مؤامرةٌ لغولن فحسب. بدلاً من ذلك، كتب سيك أن تنفيذ المهمة جاء بتحالفٍ بجهدٍ مشترك بين أتباع غولن، والكماليين، والقومين المتطرفين. بل واشتبه أيضاً أن جهاز المخابرات الوطني التركي كان قد عقد صفقةً مع الكماليين والقوميين المتشددين، مما أوقف العملية برمتها. وقال سيك في بيانه الدفاعي في وقتٍ لاحق “تم سحق إنقلاب عسكري، إلا أن مجلساً عسكرياً تولى السلطة.”

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، بذلت زوجة سيك، يونكا فيرديوغلو، قصارى جهدها لإطلاق سراح زوجها، الذي التقت به في تسعينيات القرن الماضي، عندما كان سيك يعمل لصالح صحيفة يومية ليبرالية وكانت فيرديوغلو تعمل في إحدى منظمات حقوق الإنسان. كان الزوجان يتشاطران وجهات نظرٍ سياسية مماثلة: فقد كانا مستائين من الوضع السياسي، وأرادا أن تصبح تركيا دولةً ديمقراطية علمانية شفافة.

تراجعت هذه الطموحات بشكلٍ كبير عندما تعرض الصديق المقرب وزميل سيك، الصحفي متين غوكتيب، للاعتقال والتعذيب على أيدي الشرطة عام 1996. فقد ألقت الشرطة القبض عليه أثناء التقاطه صوراً لجنازة اثنين من السجناء السياسيين اللذين قتلا في شغبٍ في السجن. وعليه، توفي الصحفي في السجن. في البداية، أنكرت الشرطة ضلوعها بوفاته، مدعين سقوطه من أعلى المبنى. إلا أن سيك وغيره من الصحفيين حققوا في الواقعة، وساهموا في إثبات تعرض صديقهم للقتل.

دفعت وفاة غوكتيب سيك للمساعدة في تشكيل اتحادٍ للصحافة المستقلة، التي من شأنها أن تلعب دوراً هاماً في القتال من أجل الحقوق المدنية ومساءلة الدولة. وأشار ماكسيميليان بوب، الذي كتب قصة عن سيك في مجلة دير شبيغل الألمانية، إلى أن بعض معارضي سيك، في وقتٍ لاحق، استفادوا من نشاطه المبكر. فقد كان أردوغان بالطبع، أبرز هذه الشخصيات، الذي استفاد بدوره من الضغط المدني على الجيش، الذي أطاح بثلاث حكوماتٍ منتخبة في الماضي. كما سحب أردوغان في نهاية المطاف السلطة من أيدي الجيش من خلال محاكمة إرغينيكون، مما مكنه تدريجياً من تغيير وجه البلاد.

ومن نواحٍ كثيرة، فإن معركة فيرديوغلو لإطلاق سراح سيك ما هي إلا معركة لاستعادة مظاهر الديمقراطية في تركيا. ومرةً أخرى، فالديمقراطية في أنقى صورها – الانتخابات الحرة وسيادة القانون والتوزيع العادل للسلطة – لم تكن قائمةً هناك قط، كما يُزعم.

ومع ذلك، شعرت فيرديوغلو أن عليها نقل الصورة التي تعرفها عن زوجها إلى العالم. بل إنها تعاونت مع أصدقاء وزملاء زوجها لإصدار شريط فيديو يستعرض مشواره المهني. كان الهدف من الفيديو تعريف الجماهير كيف أدى سيك عمله. ويقول كان أتالاي، أحد أوائل المشاركين في احتجاجات حديقة جيزي عام 2013 لمجلة دير شبيغل، “لم يسمح أحمد قط بأن يفسده أحد، سواء بالسلطة أو بالمال.”

ويبدو أنه حتى السجن لا يستطيع مساومة أحمد على مثالياته. ففي بيان المحكمة الافتتاحية، الذي قدمه في 26 يوليو 2017، انتقد أردوغان لاضطهاده أولئك الذين يعتّدون بأفكارهم الشخصية. ثم أعلن أن الصحافة ليست جريمة، أياً كان ما يقوله حكام الأنظمة الشمولية وأجهزتهم القضائية والمتعاونين.

وقال أمام قاعة المحكمة “كنت صحفياً أمس، وأنا كذلك اليوم، وسأبقى صحفياً غداً.” وأضاف “لذلك، فإن الصراع الذي لا هوادة فيه بين [الصحفيين] وأولئك الذين يريدون قمع الحقيقة مستمر.”

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Turkey / Faces / Ahmet Sik: Punished for Telling the Truth

Ahmet Sik: Punished for Telling the Truth

Turkey- Ahmet Şık
Ahmet Şık. Photo Wikipedia

Ahmet Sik, one of the most renowned and defiant journalists in Turkey, has been languishing in pre-trial detention since December 2016. He made a name for himself reporting on state abuses in eastern Turkey, where the army was engaged in a violent counter-insurgency to crush the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK). He now stands accused of spreading terrorist propaganda in favour of exiled preacher Fethullah Gulen, whom the ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP) blames for orchestrating the failed coup on 15 July 2016.

Since that day, the country has undergone a major transformation. Turkey’s leader Recep Tayyip Erdogan has altered the constitution from a parliamentary system to a presidential one, giving him near absolute power over the judiciary and the legislative and executive branches of government. He has also used the failed coup as a pretext to impose a state of emergency, enabling him to purge the country of dissidents by framing all his opponents as members of the ‘Fethullah Terrorist Organization’ (FETO).

Sik has not been spared despite the absurdity of the charges. In 2011, he published The Imam’s Army, a book that exposed how Gulen and his followers infiltrated state institutions, including the police force.

Gulen and Erdogan were close allies at the time. Together, they were cracking down on another alleged clandestine organization known as Ergenekon. More than 330 high-profile military officers were convicted in 2012 for plotting to overthrow the government. Some critics claimed that the trial was a victory for democracy. Others suspected that it was a pretext for the AKP to imprison its opponents.

Looking back, it appears it was the latter. Sik, for one, was charged of being a member of Ergenekon after publishing his investigations into Gulen’s movement. Although he was not convicted, he spent 375 days in prison.

Dexter Filkins, a journalist for The New Yorker, noted that while Gulenists managed to get Sik, they could not completely ban his book. Soon after his arrest, the publication appeared on the internet. A group of friends and colleagues then mobilized to print the book, selling copies at the Istanbul Book Fair in November 2011.

The relationship between Erdogan and Gulen began to whither in 2013. The two started to clash as they fought to accumulate power at the other’s expense. More than three years later, Sik was arrested again for publishing investigative pieces in Cumhuriyet, a long-standing opposition newspaper. On 30 December 2016, he was officially charged with spreading propaganda for FETO, which was the very organization he had worked tirelessly to expose.

The arrest was not a surprise, although the charges are even more ludicrous than the ones he had faced in the Ergenekon trial, say Turkish and international rights groups. Sik, along with his colleagues at Cumhuriyet, were already receiving threats from hardline AKP supporters, warning them to stop investigating links between Turkey’s National Intelligence Service (MIT) and jihadist factions in Syria. They did not, of course.

Even more daringly, Sik wrote a series of investigative articles that contradicted the government’s narrative of the coup attempt, which claimed that the entire operation was merely a Gulen plot. Instead, Sik wrote that those who conceived the mission were a cross alliance of Gulenists, Kemalists and ultra-nationalists. He further suspected that MIT made a deal with the Kemalists and ultra-nationalists, effectively halting the entire operation. “A military coup was squashed, but a junta came to power,” Sik later declared in his defence statement.

Sik’s wife, Yonca Verdioglu, has fought tirelessly for her husband’s release. The two met in the 1990s, when Sik was reporting for a liberal daily paper and Verdioglu worked at a human rights foundation. The couple shared similar political views: they were both displeased with the political situation and wanted Turkey to become a secular and transparent democracy.

Those ambitions suffered a major setback when Sik’s close friend and fellow journalist, Metin Goktepe, was arrested and tortured by police on 8 January 1996. Authorities seized him while he was taking pictures of a funeral of two political prisoners who were killed in a prison riot. He died in police custody. Initially, the police denied any role in his death, claiming he fell off a building. But after Sik and other journalists investigated the incident, they helped prove that their friend had been killed.

Goktepe’s death compelled Sik to help form a union for independent journalism, which would play a significant role in fighting for civil rights and state accountability. Maximillian Popp, who wrote a story about Sik for Germany’s Der Spiegel, noted that some of Sik’s future opponents benefited from his early activism. The most notable figure, of course, was Erdogan, who capitalized on civil pressure on the army, which had overthrown three elected governments in the past. Erdogan eventually wrestled power away from the military through the Ergenekon trial, enabling him gradually to change the face of the country.

In many ways, Verdioglu’s fight for Sik’s release is a fight to reinstall a semblance of democracy in Turkey. Then again, democracy in its purest form – free elections, rule of law and equitable distribution of power – arguably never existed there.

Verdioglu nonetheless felt compelled to present her husband, the way she knows him, to the world. She even teamed up with Sik’s friends and colleagues to release a video of her husband’s career. The point of the video was to show the public how Sik went about his work. “Ahmet has never allowed himself to be corrupted, either by power or money,” Can Atalay, one of the initiators of the 2013 Gezi Park protests, told Der Spiegel.

It appears that not even prison can make Sik compromise his ideals. In his opening court statement, which he gave on 26 July 2017, he blasted Erdogan for persecuting those who think for themselves. He then declared that journalism is not a crime despite what the rulers of totalitarian regimes, their judiciaries and collaborators may say.

“I was a journalist yesterday, and I’m still one today and will remain as such tomorrow,” he told the packed courtroom. “Therefore, the uncompromising conflict between [journalists] and those who want to suppress the truth will continue.”

image_pdfimage_print